DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “locking member” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a spring glide mounted to the mounting area and configured to dampen vibration transmitted from either the first rail or the second rail; and a damper assembled to an internal surface of the spring glide and configured to prevent deformation of the spring glide.” The limitations are considered unlimited functional language. For example, what structure allows the spring glide to perform the function? Are all spring glides capable of performing the function? The claim further recites “a damper…configured to prevent deformation of the spring glide”. Is the damper the element that provides for the damping function of the spring glide?
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “A bearing assembly for a vehicle in a rail structure in which two rails slide by being rail-coupled to each other, wherein the two rails, either of which having a mounting area, comprise a first rail and a second rail, the first rail being configured to slide along the second rail, the bearing assembly comprising:”. As written, the scope of the claim is unclear. For example, are the rails considered part of the ‘bearing assembly’ or not? Applicant should rewrite the claim making clear what structure is intended to be part of ‘the bearing assembly.
Claim 12 recites “inclined”, however the claim does not recite from what reference datum the inclination is measured.
Claim 12 recites “to release contact”. As written, it is unclear if how the guide members release contact.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitani JP 4743812.
Re clm 1, Mitani discloses a bearing assembly (Fig. 6) for a vehicle ([0001]) in a rail structure in which two rails (7 and 27, Fig. 1) slide by being rail-coupled to each other, wherein the two rails, either of which having a mounting area (at 11, Fig. 1), comprise a first rail and a second rail, the first rail being configured to slide along the second rail, the bearing assembly comprising: a spring glide (18, Fig. 6) mounted to the mounting area and configured to dampen vibration transmitted from either the first rail or the second rail; and a damper (for example, any of 24, 20 and 26) assembled to an internal surface of the spring glide and configured to prevent deformation of the spring glide.
The limitations “for a vehicle in a rail structure in which two rails slide by being rail-coupled to each other, wherein the two rails, either of which having a mounting area, comprise a first rail and a second rail, the first rail being configured to slide along the second rail” are intended use of the bearing assembly and therefore given little or no patentable weight. Furthermore, the vehicle and rails are outside the scope of the “bearing assembly” and are therefore given little or no patentable weight. Furthermore, Mitani discloses the two rails (Fig. 5 and 7)
Re clm 2, Mitani further discloses the damper is made of an elastic material (resin, [0029]; springs such as 18 are inherently elastic).
Re clm 3, Mitani further discloses the damper comprises: a main portion (20, Fig. 6) mounted to the mounting area (via 12 being mount into notch 11, Fig. 1); a side extension (for example either 24 or one of 26s) protruding from a side surface (both 24 and 26 protrude from an upper or lower side of 20) of the main portion; and a lower extension (both 26s or the other 26) protruding from a lower end of the main portion (upper and lower have no frame of reference in the claim, thus they can be arbitrarily chosen).
Re clm 4, Mitani further discloses the second rail includes at least one groove (11, Fig. 1) in a length-wise direction of the second rail, and the damper is inserted into the at least one groove.
Re clm 5, Mitani further discloses the spring glide comprises: a body portion (body of 12) mounted to the mounting area; a first shaped portion (top 17, Fig. 4) protruding from an upper surface of the body portion and brought into contact with the first rail to dampen vibration in a first direction transmitted to the body portion; and a second shaped portion (19) protruding from a side surface of the body portion and brought into contact with the first rail to dampen vibration in a second direction transmitted to the body portion.
Re clm 7, Mitani further discloses the first shaped portion is made of an elastic material (spring) and has an arch shape (shown in Fig. 4) and configured to be compressed when vibration occurs in a vertical direction.
Re clm 8, Mitani further discloses the second shaped portion is made of an elastic material (spring) and has an arch shape and configured to be compressed when vibration occurs in a lateral direction (Fig. 4).
Re clm 9, Mitani further discloses the body portion comprises: a plurality of mounting members (left and right ends of 12 with U-shaped void, Fig. 6) stretchable (plastic is stretchable) to correspond to a width (thickness, for example) of the mounting area; and a bottom member (bottom surface of 12, Fig. 6) configured to support a bottom surface of the mounting area and to contact the second rail.
Re clm 10, Mitani further discloses the plurality of mounting members have an elasticity (Young’s modulus), and are stretched outward to guide the body portion to press-fit to the mounting area.
Re clm 11¸ Mitani further discloses the plurality of mounting members each comprise locking members (locking claws 14, Fig. 7) which are bent from the body portion and protrude to face each other to correspond to a shape of the mounting area. It is noted that “are bent” is a product-by-process limitation and thus given little or no patentable weight. The locking members must merely protrude from the body portion to meet the claim limitation.
Re clm 12, Mitani further discloses the bottom member comprises a plurality of guide members (left and right bottom ends of 12, Fig. 6) inclined (relative to an arbitrary plane) at a front and a rear to release contact from the first rail in a length-wise direction.
Re clm 14, Mitani further discloses the first shaped portion is integrated with an upper surface of the body portion (top 17, Fig. 4) and the second shaped portion (19) is integrated with a side surface of the body portion, and either one of or both of the first shaped portion and the second shaped portion is coupled to the mounting area provided in the second rail in a length-wise direction.
Re clm 15, Mitani further discloses the rail structure is any one of a seat rail, a table rail, and an armrest rail (console box 1, Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617