DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/926087 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dobrovolskiy et al (USPN 9,367,671).
Re claim 1: Dobrovolskiy teaches a system comprising: a hardware platform comprising physical computer hardware, the physical computer hardware including one or more processing units and one or more memories; a virtual machine monitor configured to virtualize the physical computer hardware of the hardware platform to instantiate a plurality of framework-secure virtual machines; and a root framework-secure virtual machine instantiated by the virtual machine monitor, the root framework-secure virtual machine configured to control access to the hardware platform by the plurality of framework-secure virtual machines instantiated by the virtual machine monitor (col. 1, lines 27 through col.2, lines 53, col. 7, lines 3-15, claim 1).
Re claim 2: Dobrovolskiy teaches, wherein the root framework-secure virtual machine is instantiated with permissions that are not granted to the plurality of framework-secure virtual machines (col. 3, lines 30-33).
Re claims 4-7, and 15: Dobrovolskiy teaches wherein the virtual machine monitor is configured to instantiate the root framework-secure virtual machine by transmitting an initialization message that causes the root framework-secure virtual machine to generate an attestation report that is useable by the hardware platform to authenticate the root framework-secure virtual machine; wherein the attestation report comprises information describing at least one of an authoring entity associated with the root framework-secure virtual machine, a security version of the root framework-secure virtual machine, or a memory page to be loaded by the hardware platform for the root framework-secure virtual machine; wherein the virtual machine monitor is configured to authenticate the root framework-secure virtual machine by generating a cryptographic measurement of the memory page to be loaded by the hardware platform for the root framework-secure virtual machine; wherein the virtual machine monitor is configured to authenticate the root framework-secure virtual machine by obtaining a security certificate from the authoring entity associated with the root framework-secure virtual machine and compare the cryptographic measurement against the security certificate (col. 5, lines 31-38; col. 6, lines 19-21).
Re claims 13 and 19: Dobrovolskiy teaches wherein the virtual machine monitor is configured to instantiate the root framework-secure virtual machine by providing data describing a status and configuration information for the hardware platform to the root framework-secure virtual machine (col. 7, lines 6-8).
Re claim 14: Dobrovolskiy teaches a method comprising: launching, by a computing device, a virtual machine; authenticating, by the computing device, the virtual machine by generating a cryptographic measure of at least one memory page loaded by the virtual machine; configuring, by the computing device, the virtual machine as a root framework-secure virtual machine that is configured to control access to the computing device by at least one other virtual machine; and executing, using hardware resources of the computing device, at least one command issued by the root framework-secure virtual machine on behalf of the at least one other virtual machine (col. 2, lines 49-53, col. 3, lines 30-33, col. 5, lines 31-38, col. 6, lines 19-21, col. 7, lines 4-5, claims 1 and 17).
Re claim 20: Dobrovolskiy teaches a method comprising: receiving, by a virtual machine, an initialization message from a virtual machine monitor of a hardware platform; sending, by the virtual machine and to the virtual machine monitor, an attestation report in response to receiving the initialization message, the attestation report comprising information describing at least one of an authoring entity of the virtual machine, a security version of the virtual machine, or a memory page to be loaded into memory of the hardware platform for the virtual machine; receiving, by the virtual machine and from the virtual machine monitor, data that permits the virtual machine to control access, to the hardware platform, by at least one other virtual machine instantiated by the virtual machine monitor; and executing, by the virtual machine and using resources of the hardware platform, at least one command on behalf of the at least one other virtual machine (col. 2, lines 49-53, col. 3, lines 30-33, col. 5, lines 22-23, 31-38, col. 6, lines 19-21, col. 7, lines 4-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobrovolskiy in view of O’Brien (USPAP 2004/0158720).
Re claim 3: Dobrovolskiy does not explicitly teach, but O’Brien teaches, wherein the root framework-secure virtual machine is configured to implement a security framework for the plurality of framework-secure virtual machines (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dobrovolskiy to include this feature as taught by O’Brien in order to enhance the security of the system/process.
Claims 8-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobrovolskiy in view of Sahita et al. (USPN 8,862,853).
Re claim 8: Dobrovolskiy does not explicitly teach, but Sahita teaches, wherein the one or more memories include an isolated memory region that is accessible to the root framework-secure virtual machine and inaccessible to the plurality of framework-secure virtual machines (col. 14, lines 11-14; claim 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dobrovolskiy to include this feature as taught by Sahita in order to enhance the security of the system/process.
Re claims 9 and 16: Dobrovolskiy does not explicitly teach, but Sahita teaches wherein the virtual machine monitor is configured to instantiate the root framework-secure virtual machine by writing a unique identifier for the root framework-secure virtual machine to the isolated memory region (col. 14, lines 5-10; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dobrovolskiy to include this feature as taught by Sahita in order to enhance the security of the system/process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shanbhogue et al. (USPN 11,669,335)
Nakajima et al. (USPAP 2017/0090963).
/OLABODE AKINTOLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691