DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/24/2024 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 16/539,818, filed 09/24/2018, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being discloses by Grey (US 2018/0210205, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Grey discloses a display (see Fig 3) comprising: a waveguide configured to propagate light (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a waveguide 12 is configured to propagate light); a first diffractive grating on the waveguide and configured to diffract at least some of the light (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a first diffractive grating H1 is configured to diffract at least some light), wherein the first diffractive grating has a first grating vector extending from a first momentum space region to a second momentum space region, and a second grating vector extending from a third momentum space region to a fourth momentum space region parallel to the first grating vector (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a first grating H2 has a vector G3 extending from a surface of the angled grating outward and a diffractive vector 1R as seen in Fig 8 which extends from a plane of grating H1 through the grating H2 and outward; each diffraction vector is characterized by an extension from one k-space to distinct k-space) and a second diffractive grating on the waveguide, overlapping the first diffractive grating, and configured to diffract at least some of the light, wherein the second diffractive grating has a third grating vector extending from the first momentum space region to the third momentum space region, and a fourth grating vector extending from the second momentum space region to the fourth momentum space region parallel to the third grating vector (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a second grating H1 has a vector G2 extending from a surface of the angled grating H1 outward and a diffractive vector 1R as seen in Fig 11 which extends from a plane of grating H2 through the grating H2 and outward; each diffraction vector is characterized by an extension from one k-space to distinct k-space).
Regarding claim 2, Grey discloses the display of claim 1. Grey further discloses wherein the first and second diffractive gratings are configured to couple the light out of the waveguide (see Fig 14; Para [0057]; both gratings H1 and H2 are configured to couple light out of the waveguide 12).
Regarding claim 3, Grey discloses the display of claim 2. Grey further discloses wherein the first and second diffractive gratings are configured to direct the light towards an eye box (see Fig 20; Para [0065]; waveguide may be configured in a head-up display directing light towards the eyes of a user).
Regarding claim 4, Grey discloses the display of claim 3. Grey further discloses wherein the light includes images of virtual objects (see Fig 14; Para [0062]; light used to create augmented reality images).
Regarding claim 5, Grey discloses the display of claim 1. Grey further discloses wherein the waveguide comprises a grating medium, the first diffractive grating is in a volume of the grating medium, and the second diffractive grating is superimposed with the first diffractive grating in the volume of the grating medium (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; H1 is superimposed with the first grating H2 and disclosed in a volume of the grating medium as seen in annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Grey discloses the display of claim 5. Grey further discloses wherein the grating medium has a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface opposite the first lateral surface, the first diffractive grating extends from the first lateral surface to the second lateral surface, and the second diffractive grating extends from the first lateral surface to the second lateral surface (see Fig 15B; Para [0058]; gratings 17 extend from a similar first lateral surface to a second lateral surface as seen in the annotated Figure below).
Annotated Figure 15B of Grey showing first and second lateral surfaces
Regarding claim 7, Grey discloses the display of claim 1. Grey further discloses further comprising: an input coupler configured to couple the light into the waveguide (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; an input coupler H0 configured to couple light into the waveguide).
Regarding claim 10, Grey discloses a display system (see Fig 3) comprising: a waveguide configured to propagate light (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a waveguide 12); a first set of diffractive gratings on the waveguide (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a first diffractive grating H2 on the waveguide); and a second set of diffractive gratings overlapping the first set on the waveguide (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a second diffractive grating H1 overlapping the first set H2 on waveguide 12), wherein the first and second sets are configured to diffract the light out of the waveguide (see Fig 3; Para [0051]; first and second sets H2 and H1 are configured to diffract light out of the waveguide), the first set is characterized by first grating vectors extending from a first k-space region to a second k-space region and by second grating vectors extending from a third k-space region to a fourth k-space region (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a first grating H2 has a vector G3 extending from a surface of the angled grating outward and a diffractive vector 1R as seen in Fig 8 which extends from a plane of grating H1 through the grating H2 and outward; each diffraction vector is characterized by an extension from one k-space to distinct k-space), and the second set is characterized by third grating vectors extending from the first k-space region to the third k-space region and by fourth grating vectors extending from the second k-space region to the fourth k-space region (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a second grating H1 has a vector G2 extending from a surface of the angled grating H1 outward and a diffractive vector 1R as seen in Fig 11 which extends from a plane of grating H2 through the grating H2 and outward; each diffraction vector is characterized by an extension from one k-space to distinct k-space).
Regarding claim 11, Grey discloses the display system of claim 10. Grey further discloses wherein the first grating vectors extend parallel to the second grating vectors (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a first grating H2 has vectors G3 and 1R which are parallel as seen in Fig 8).
Regarding claim 12, Grey discloses the display system of claim 11. Grey further discloses wherein the third grating vectors extend parallel to the fourth grating vectors (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a second grating H1 has vectors G2 and 1R which are parallel as seen in Fig 11).
Regarding claim 13, Grey discloses the display system of claim 10. Grey further discloses wherein the third grating vectors extend parallel to the fourth grating vectors (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a second grating H1 has vectors G2 and 1R which are parallel as seen in Fig 11).
Regarding claim 14, Grey discloses the display system of claim 10. Grey further discloses wherein the waveguide is configured to direct the light towards an eye box (see Fig 20; Para [0065]; waveguide may be configured in a head-up display directing light towards the eyes of a user).
Regarding claim 16, Grey discloses the display system of claim 10. Grey further discloses wherein the first and second sets of diffractive gratings comprise transmission-type gratings (see Fig 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; gratings are both reflective and transmissive depending on the diffractive order).
Regarding claim 17, Grey discloses the display system of claim 10. Grey further discloses wherein the first and second sets of diffractive gratings comprise reflection-type gratings (see Fig 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; gratings are both reflective and transmissive depending on the diffractive order).
Regarding claim 18, Grey discloses an electronic device (see Fig 3) comprising: a waveguide configured to propagate light towards an eye box (see Fig 20; Para [0065]; waveguide may be configured in a head-up display directing light towards the eyes of a user); a first diffractive structure on the waveguide (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a first diffractive grating H2 on the waveguide), wherein the first diffractive structure has a first set of one or more grating vectors extending from a first region of k-space to a second region of k-space, and a second set of one or more grating vectors extending from a third region of k-space to a fourth region of k-space (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a first grating H2 has a vector G3 extending from a surface of the angled grating outward and a diffractive vector 1R as seen in Fig 8 which extends from a plane of grating H1 through the grating H2 and outward; each diffraction vector is characterized by an extension from one k-space to distinct k-space); and a second diffractive structure on the waveguide and overlapping the first diffractive structure (see Fig 3; Para [0048]; a second diffractive grating H1 overlapping the first set H2 on waveguide 12), wherein the second diffractive structure has a third set of one or more grating vectors extending from the first region of k-space to the third region of k-space, and a fourth set of one or more grating vectors extending from the second region of k-space to the fourth region of k-space (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a second grating H1 has a vector G2 extending from a surface of the angled grating H1 outward and a diffractive vector 1R as seen in Fig 11 which extends from a plane of grating H2 through the grating H2 and outward; each diffraction vector is characterized by an extension from one k-space to distinct k-space).
Regarding claim 19, Grey discloses the electronic device of claim 18. Grey further discloses wherein the first set of one or more grating vectors extends parallel to the second set of one or more grating vectors (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a first grating H2 has vectors G3 and 1R which are parallel as seen in Fig 8).
Regarding claim 20, Grey discloses the electronic device of claim 19. Grey further discloses wherein the third set of one or more grating vectors extends parallel to the fourth set of one or more grating vectors (see Figs 8 and 11; Para [0050-0053]; a second grating H1 has vectors G2 and 1R which are parallel as seen in Fig 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grey (US 2018/0210205, of record) in view of Pavlopoulos (US 2010/0271587, of record).
Regarding claim 8, Grey discloses the display of claim 7. Grey does not disclose further comprising: a projector configured to generate the light; and optics configured to direct the light from the projector to the input coupler. Grey and Pavlopoulos are related because both disclose display systems.
Pavlopoulos discloses a display system (see Fig 7), further comprising: a projector configured to generate the light; and optics configured to direct the light from the projector to the input coupler. (see Fig 7; Para [0074, 0121]; a lens may be used with a display 11 to direct light onto a waveguide as seen in Fig 4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify Grey in view of Popovich with further comprising: a projector configured to generate the light; and optics configured to direct the light from the projector to the input coupler of Pavlopoulos for the purpose of properly displaying an image to a user with high optical quality without the need for large optical components (Para [0006])
Regarding claim 9, Grey in view of Pavlopoulos discloses the display of claim 8. Grey further discloses wherein the light contains a virtual object (see Fig 14; Para [0062]; light used to create augmented reality images).
Grey does not disclose the projector is configured to output the virtual object in the light with a parity, and the first and second diffractive gratings are configured to invert the parity of the virtual object.
Pavlopoulos discloses a display system (see Fig 7), comprising: the projector is configured to output the virtual object in the light with a parity, and the first and second diffractive gratings are configured to invert the parity of the virtual object (see Fig 7; Para [0053, 0128]; elements 52 and 53 are used in conjunction with lens 54, to invert otherwise reversed image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify Grey in view of Popovich with wherein the first and second sets of diffractive gratings are configured to invert a parity of a virtual object in the light of Pavlopoulos for the purpose of properly displaying an image to a user with high optical quality without the need for large optical components (Para [0006])
Regarding claim 15, Grey discloses the display system of claim 10. Grey does not disclose wherein the first and second sets of diffractive gratings are configured to invert a parity of a virtual object in the light. Grey and Pavlopoulos are related because both disclose display systems.
Pavlopoulos disclose a display system (see Fig 7), wherein the first and second sets of diffractive gratings are configured to invert a parity of a virtual object in the light (see Fig 7; Para [0053, 0128]; elements 52 and 53 are used in conjunction with lens 54, to invert otherwise reversed image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify Grey in view of Popovich with wherein the first and second sets of diffractive gratings are configured to invert a parity of a virtual object in the light of Pavlopoulos for the purpose of properly displaying an image to a user with high optical quality without the need for large optical components (Para [0006])
Conclusion
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872