DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1A,1B and figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vollmer et al (US 2018/0337462 A1) [cited by applicant].
Vollmer et al disclose a dual polarity antenna (para73), the dual polarity antenna comprising: a first radiator 1,3 for radiating or for receiving a first radio-frequency (RF) wave having a first linear polarization (para103); and a second radiator 21,23 for radiating or for receiving a second RF wave having a second linear polarization orthogonal to the first linear polarization (para105, fig1), wherein the first radiator comprises one or more electrically conductive parts 1’,1”,3’,3” (para96) and the second radiator is provided by one or more slots 21,23 in the one or more electrically conductive parts, wherein the first RF wave and the second RF wave have a same frequency (para18), the dipole antenna comprising a first dipole arm 1 and a second 3 dipole arm, wherein the one or more slots comprise a first slot 21 formed in the first dipole arm and a second slot 23 formed in the second dipole arm, wherein the first slot and the second slot extend along a common axis of the first dipole arm and the second dipole arm (fig1), wherein the first slot has an open end at an outer end of the first dipole arm, and the second slot has an open end at an outer end of the second dipole arm (fig1), a first feeding point 32 located between the two dipole arms, the first feeding network being coupled to the first radiator at the first feeding point (fig1,18A, para103,159), the first radiator and the second radiator being arranged on one side of the reflector, wherein the one or more electrically conductive parts of the first radiator are arranged in a substantially planar structure the reflector that is substantially parallel to the substantially planar structure (fig15B, para153) and a printed circuit board 50.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vollmer et al in view of the publication of Li et al “High port…patch antenna” [both cited by applicant].
Vollmer et al had been discussed but fail to teach each of the one or more slots has a closed end and an open end, a first feeding network for exciting the first radiator with a first (RF) signal; and a second feeding network for exciting the second radiator with a second (RF) signal, wherein the one or more slots are two or more slots, and wherein the second feeding network is configured to excite the two or more slots in phase. However, the publication of Li et al teach each of the one or more slots has a closed end and an open end (fig1), a first (RF) and a second feeding network (fig.1, section II) and the one or more slots are two or more slots (fig1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Vollmer et al with each of the one or more slots has a closed end and an open end, a first feeding network for exciting the first radiator with a first (RF) signal; and a second feeding network for exciting the second radiator with a second (RF) signal, wherein the one or more slots are two or more slots, and wherein the second feeding network is configured to excite the two or more slots in phase for the purpose of improving the antenna gain.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Vollmer et al in view of Li et al (US2020/0373671 A1) [both cited by applicant].
Vollmer et al had been discussed but fail to teach the first radiator further comprises one or more electrically conductive flaps extending in a direction substantially normal to the substantially planar structure, wherein one or more electrically conductive flaps extend from an edge of the substantially planar structure. However, Li et al teach one or more electrically conductive flaps 134,136 extending in a direction substantially normal to the dipole arms (fig3,5, para73-74). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide Vollmer et al with the first radiator further comprises one or more electrically conductive flaps extending in a direction substantially normal to the substantially planar structure, wherein one or more electrically conductive flaps extend from an edge of the substantially planar structure for the purpose of improving the radiation properties of the dual polarity antenna.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The patents to Li, Aviv, Segador, Sundararajan, Boutayeb and Yona are cited as of interested and illustrated a similar structure to a dual polarity antenna.
/THO G PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845