Claims 1-279 are canceled. Claims 280-299 are pending and under consideration.
Priority: This application is a CON of U.S. Application 18502473, filed November 6, 2023, abandoned, which is a CON of U.S. Application 17868077, filed July 19, 2022, abandoned, which is a CON of U.S. Application 17015011, filed September 8, 2020, now U.S. Patent 11426466, which is a CON of PCT/US2019/021474, filed March 8, 2019, which claims priority to provisional applications 62/640168, filed March 8, 2018, 62/640188, filed March 8, 2018, 62/640194, filed March 8, 2018, and 62/756889, filed November 7, 2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 280-299 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mrsny (US 7713737). Mrsny discloses a delivery construct comprising a receptor binding domain; a transcytosis domain; a peptide, polypeptide or protein to be delivered to a subject; and a cleavable linker, and compositions comprising the delivery construct (at least col. 91 claim 1, col. 94 claim 28). It is disclosed that the receptor binding domain is selected from Pseudomonas exotoxin A (PE), where the receptor binding domain is domain Ia of PE (at least col. 93 claim 7), and the transcytosis domain is selected from transcytosis domains besides PE, including botulinum toxin, diptheria toxin, pertussis toxin, cholera toxin, heat labile E. coli enterotoxin, Shiga toxin, and shiga-like toxin (at least col. 93 claim 9). Mrsny discloses that Pseudomonas exotoxin A or PE is a protein composed of three prominent globular domains (I, II, III) and one small subdomain (Ib) that connects domains II and III; domain Ia is believed to mediate cell binding and spans amino acids 1-252; domain II of PE is believed to mediate transcytosis and spans amino acids 253-364; domain Ib has no known function; domain III mediates cytotoxicity of PE (see also col. 5 line 58 to col. 6 line 32, col. 12 lines 12-39, col. 15 lines 55-66). It is disclosed that the composition comprising said delivery construct further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent excipient, vehicle or carrier, wherein the composition is formulated for nasal or oral administration (at least col. 96 claims 29-30) and/or administration to mucosal membranes including the lungs (at least col. 33 lines 30-35). Mrsny discloses macromolecules for delivery include among others cytokines (at least col. 17 lines 41-43, col. 18 lines 21-23, col. 20 lines 18-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed pharmaceutical composition comprising a delivery construct comprising a domain consisting of domain I of a PE (Pseudomonas endotoxin) and a cytokine coupled to the PE domain I, where the delivery construct is configured to deliver the cytokine via transcytosis, and where the pharmaceutical composition is formulated for intra-nasal administration (instant claims 280, 282). The motivation to do so is given by the prior art. In this instance, Mrsny discloses a delivery construct comprising individual or specific domains for delivery of macromolecules by transcytosis, including domain Ia of PE, and coupled to macromolecules for delivery. Therefore, the recited “carrier” can be deemed to be a domain consisting of the recited PE domain I. Therefore, one of ordinary skill would have reasonable motivation to arrive at the claimed delivery construct comprising a domain (or carrier) consisting of domain I of a PE and a cytokine coupled to the domain(s) in the delivery construct because the claimed delivery construct was already disclosed by the prior art. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the structure and domains for a delivery construct to deliver macromolecules, including cytokines, by transcytosis were known.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill that the domain (or carrier) consisting of domain I of a PE and a cytokine coupled to the domain in the delivery construct as suggested in Mrsny above does not comprise a domain Ib, a domain II, and a domain III of PE because as noted above in the Mrsny teachings, Mrsny discloses the delivery construct comprises a domain Ia of PE, where the delivery construct comprises a transcytosis domain that is not from PE and therefore lacks all portions of a domain II of PE, does not comprise domain Ib of PE, and does not comprise domain III of PE.
Regarding instant claim 281, Mrsny discloses that an amino-terminal methionine assists in expression of the construct (at least col. 36 lines 60-61).
Regarding instant claim 283, Mrsny discloses cytokines, including IL-1, IL-10 (at least col. 20 lines 18-22).
Regarding instant claim 284, Mrsny discloses the cytokine is IL-10 (at least col. 20 line 22). It is disclosed in the instant specification that SEQ ID NO: 217 is the amino acid sequence of IL-10.
Regarding instant claim 285, Mrsny discloses the delivery construction compositions are vaccine compositions (at least col. 39 lines 61-65).
Regarding instant claim 286-287, Mrsny discloses the macromolecule for delivery can be a nucleic acid (at least col. 17 lines 30-32), where nucleic acid includes DNA and RNA (at least col. 6 lines 33-54).
Regarding instant claim 288, Mrsny discloses the macromolecule for delivery can be a polypeptide (at least col. 17 lines 30-32).
Regarding instant claim 289-290, Mrsny discloses macromolecules for delivery include among others antibodies and therapeutic antibodies (at least col. 18 lines 6-9, col. 20 line 60).
Regarding instant claim 291-292, it is disclosed in the instant specification that instant SEQ ID NO: 137 is domain I of PE, amino acids 1-252 (specification paragraph 0283). Mrsny discloses domain Ia of PE spans amino acids 1-252 (col. 6 line 2). Therefore, Mrsny can reasonably be deemed to disclose the PE domain I in the delivery construct has at least about 80% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 137.
Regarding instant claim 293-294, Mrsny discloses the macromolecule (i.e. cytokines, antibodies) to be delivered is connected to the delivery construct by a linker (at least col. 22 lines 20-40, col. 91 claims 1, 7). Therefore, it would be obvious that the macromolecule delivered to the subject is covalently coupled to the delivery construct domain(s).
Regarding instant claim 295, as noted above, Mrsny discloses compositions comprising the delivery construct (at least col. 91 claim 1, col. 94 claim 28). It is disclosed that the composition comprising said delivery construct further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent excipient, vehicle or carrier, wherein the composition is formulated for nasal or oral administration (at least col. 96 claims 29-30). Mrsny discloses macromolecules for delivery include among others cytokines and antibodies (at least col. 18 lines 6-9, lines 21-23, col. 20 lines 1-27, line 60). Therefore, it would have been obvious to incorporate the delivery construct comprising a domain consisting of a PE domain I and a cytokine or antibody coupled to the PE domain I of Mrsny noted above into a composition comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, where the composition is formulated for intra-nasal administration.
Regarding instant claims 296, 298, Mrsny discloses macromolecules for delivery include among others cytokines and antibodies (at least col. 18 lines 6-9, lines 21-23, col. 20 lines 1-27, line 60). Mrsny also discloses compositions comprising said delivery construct and the macromolecule further comprises a pharmaceutically acceptable diluent excipient, vehicle or carrier, wherein the composition is formulated for nasal or oral administration (at least col. 96 claims 29-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to deliver a cytokine or antibody to a subject by administering to the subject by intra-nasal administration, a composition comprising the delivery construct comprising a domain (carrier) consisting of domain I of a PE and an antibody or cytokine coupled to the domain(s) in the delivery construct.
Regarding instant claim 297, it is disclosed in the instant specification that instant SEQ ID NO: 137 is domain I of PE, amino acids 1-252 (specification paragraph 0283). Mrsny discloses domain Ia of PE spans amino acids 1-252 (col. 6 line 2). Therefore, Mrsny can reasonably be deemed to disclose the PE domain I in the delivery construct has at least about 80% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 137.
Regarding instant claim 299, Mrsny discloses the macromolecule for delivery can be a nucleic acid (at least col. 17 lines 30-32), where nucleic acid includes DNA and RNA (at least col. 6 lines 33-54).
Double Patenting
Claims 280-299 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11426466 (‘466) in view of Mrsny (supra). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the ‘466 patent claims are drawn to a delivery construct comprising PE domain I and a heterologous cargo (or macromolecules), compositions comprising said delivery construct, and methods for delivering the heterologous cargo to a subject comprising administering said delivery construct to the subject. The ‘466 patent claims differ from the instant claims by not explicitly reciting that the heterologous cargo is a cytokine. However, it is disclosed in the specification of the ‘466 patent that a heterologous cargo includes among others, cytokines, antibodies, diabodies, TNFα antibody, adalimumab (at least col. 107-116). Alternatively, in view of the teachings of Mrsny noted above, it would have been obvious to incorporate a cytokine, cytokine comprising IL-10, an antibody, antibody comprising a diabody, a TNFα antibody, adalimumab, for the heterologous cargo recited in the ‘466 patent claims. One of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success because the heterologous cargo recited in the ‘466 patent claims include cytokines, antibodies, etc.
No claim is allowed.
/Marsha Tsay/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1656