DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20, line 4 recites “while fastening the beam”. It appears it should recite “while fastening the joist”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stromberg, US 2,008,087 in view of Dayton et al., US 2014/0075875 and 1,899,799.
Regarding claims 1 and 15:
Stromberg discloses a skeletal building system and a method of installing the system within a facility (a building) comprising:
fabricating a plurality of brackets, each bracket of the plurality of brackets including a support portion, a brace portion, and a joint portion;
securing, prior to arrive at the facility (building), the joint portion of the first and second brackets to a respective column and beam (col. 2, ll. 15-18 – welding at a factory before transport to the field);
erecting the column extending vertically;
a beam extending horizontally from the column within a space defined by the first bracket, the beam fixed to the column by a first bracket of the plurality of brackets such that the beam is horizontally supported by the support portion of the first bracket and vertically braced by the brace portion of the first bracket;
a joist extending horizontally from the beam, the joist fixed to the beam by a second bracket of the plurality of brackets such that the joist is horizontally supported by the support portion of the second bracket and vertically braced by the brace portion of the second bracket;
wherein the joint portion of the first bracket is welded to the column (via 18),
wherein the joint portion of the second bracket is welded to the beam,
wherein the beam is fastened to the first bracket, and wherein the joist is fastened to the second bracket (they are firmly secured via the front flanges of the bracket that capture the beams and joists in place).
Stromberg does not expressly disclose wherein the skeleton building system is specifically a mezzanine system.
Dayton discloses beam/column/joist floor systems wherein the skeleton building systems may form a mezzanine system (Figs. 48-50 and para. 0243-0246).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to use the system of Stromberg as a mezzanine system as suggested by Dayton in order to support an intermediate floor within a building.
Regarding claim 2:
Stromberg discloses wherein the joist is a first joist of a plurality of joists extending horizontally from the beam, and wherein each joist of the plurality of joists is fixed to the beam by a respective bracket of the plurality of brackets.
Regarding claim 13:
Stromberg discloses wherein the first bracket is welded to the column and wherein the second bracket is welded to the beam. With regards to the method of making the structure, the determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process.
Regarding claim 14:
Stromberg implies wherein the column, the beam and joist are each one of a plurality of each (so as to form a building structure).
Regarding claim 16:
Stromberg discloses wherein securing the joint portion of the first bracket includes welding (18) the joint portion of the first bracket to the first column.
Regarding claim 17:
Stromberg discloses wherein securing the joint portion of the second bracket includes welding (18) the joint portion of the second bracket to the first beam.
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stromberg, US 2,008,087 in view of Dayton et al., US 2014/0075875 and 1,899,799 as applied to claim 2, further in view of Carroll, US 4,274,239.
Regarding claims 3-6:
Stromberg does not expressly disclose decking extending along an upper side of the plurality of joists.
Carroll discloses a building structure comprising decking (28) extending along an upper side of a plurality of joists (25); and a plate (26) disposed between the plurality of joists and the decking, wherein the decking is corrugated (refer to Fig. 3); and further comprising a concrete floor (33) disposed over the decking.
Claims 1, 7, 10-12, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiragaki, US 2006/0265992 in view of Stromberg, US 2,008,087 and Dayton et al., US 2014/0075875.
Regarding claims 1 and 15:
Hiragaki discloses a skeletal framing system (Fig. 1) and a method of installing the system comprising:
fabricating a plurality of brackets, each bracket of the plurality of brackets including a support portion, a brace portion, and a joint portion;
securing, prior to arrive at the facility (building), the joint portion of the first and second brackets to a respective column (31);
erecting the column (2 and 31) extending vertically;
a beam (4) extending horizontally from the column within a space defined by the first bracket, the beam fixed to the column by a first bracket of the plurality of brackets such that the beam is horizontally supported by the support portion of the first bracket and vertically braced by the brace portion of the first bracket;
wherein the joint portion of the first bracket is welded to the column,
wherein the beam is fastened to the first bracket.
Hiragaki does not expressly disclose wherein the skeleton building system is specifically a mezzanine system.
Dayton discloses beam/column/joist floor systems wherein the skeleton building systems may form a mezzanine system (Figs. 48-50 and para. 0243-0246).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to use the system of Hiragaki as a mezzanine system as suggested by Dayton in order to support an intermediate floor within a building.
Hiragaki does not expressly disclose joists.
Stromberg discloses a system wherein brackets are attached to the columns for supporting beams and brackets of the same general construction are attached to the beams for supporting joists that are of the same general construction as the beams.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to provide brackets on the beams and to add joists to the system of Hiragaki as suggested by Stromberg in order to support flooring in a building.
Regarding claim 10:
Hiragaki discloses wherein each bracket of the plurality of brackets is U-shaped.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 19:
Hiragaki does not expressly disclose wherein each bracket includes first and second bodies welded together to define the U-shape, wherein the bodies are each L-shaped.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to construct the U-shaped brackets of Hiragaki of two pieces as claimed, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. There would be no unexpected or unpredictable result obtained from constructing the U-shaped bracket of Hiragaki of two discrete pieces, as the change in construction has no impact on the final structure or its functionality.
Regarding claim 18:
Hiragaki in view of Stromberg discloses wherein fastening the beam to the first bracket includes inserting a plurality of fasteners through corresponding holes in the brace portion of the first bracket, and wherein fastening the joist to the second bracket includes inserting a second plurality of fasteners through corresponding holes in the brace portion of the second bracket (refer to Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20:
Hiragaki in view of Stromberg discloses further comprising supporting the end of the beam with the support portion of the of the first bracket while fastening the beam to the first bracket; and supporting the end of the joist with the support portion of the second bracket while fastening the joist to the second bracket. Refer to Figs. 3-4, first the beam/joist is inserted into the bracket and supported, then it is fastened in place.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiragaki, US 2006/0265992 in view of Stromberg, US 2,008,087 and Dayton et al., US 2014/0075875 as applied to claim 7, further in view of Fingerson, US 5,605,017.
Regarding claims 8 and 9:
Hiragaki in view of Stromberg discloses tubular framing members but does not expressly disclose wherein the beam and the joists are sealed.
Fingerson discloses a tubular beam for structures wherein ends are sealed shut (via end caps 50) to isolate inner portions of the beam.
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to substitute the sealed beam construction of Fingerson for the beams of Hiragaki in order to seal the interior of the beams and joists preventing moisture intrusion (16th paragraph of Fingerson).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Stromberg does not disclose wherein the beam and the joist of Stromberg are fastened because the beam/joist are positioned by being slid into place on respective brackets 14 and 15, claim terms are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In this instant case, “fasten” is defined as:
The beam and joist are attached and made fast and secure. The wedge shape with the flanges secures them in place with the only option for removal being a deliberate, significant, upward force applied against gravity. They cannot be pulled apart outwardly because they are fastened together. “Fasten” does not denote permanence nor does it require the use of welding, adhesive or mechanical fasteners. For example, a ball and socket joint provide fastening even though members fastened together with a ball and socket joint are free to rotate relative to each other. Further, a ball and socket joint can often be separated with deliberate pulling force applied. The fact that force can be used to unfasten two connected members does not preclude them from being fastened to each other. The examiner finds that the complementary shapes of the brackets with respective beam and joist provide for fastening.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Hiragaki’s coupling member 3 fits over a column via a sleeve 31 that wraps around the column’s outer periphery, the assessment of Hiragaki is accurate. However, the characterization misrepresents the stated rejection. Member 31 is a column as set forth by the rejection. Applicant dismisses that identification of the column in the rejection and instead identifies the column as a sleeve. The two are not mutually exclusive. A hollow column is a sleeve. Member 31 is a column. The brackets are welded to the column.
Applicant identifies several differences between Hiragaki and Stromberg, for example the fit between beams and joists. The individual deficiencies of the secondary reference to Stromberg that differentiate it from the primary reference and the instant invention do not preclude Stromberg from being relied upon to modify the base reference.
In response to Applicant’s argument that there is no suggestion to substitute the cup shaped brackets of Stromberg for the brackets of Hiragaki, that substation was not made by the rejection. Stromberg was relied upon to teach the obviousness of using brackets with joists.
In response to Applicant’s argument that Hiragaki does not disclose securing prior to arriving at the facility, such construction is implicit in the background discussion. The brackets are welded to the column to form a coupling member. Then the member is slid into place on site onto the steel column 2 and beams are fastened thereto.
Applicant’s arguments unaddressed have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633