Status of the Application
This non-final first office action is in response to the preliminary claim amendment filed on 4/4/2025. Claim 1 has been cancelled. Claims 2-21 have been added. Claims 2-21 are currently pending and have been examined below. This is the first action on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2-5, 7, 10-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20070047797 (“Vilella”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20030204289 (“Banerjee”).
Claim 2
As per claim 2, Vilella teaches a kiosk for evaluating an electronic device, the kiosk comprising:
a housing ([0039] “The station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.”);
a support surface positioned within the housing and configured to receive and support the electronic device ([0039] “The station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.” And, [0040] “The conveyor receives the board through an aperture in a side wall, then positions it under the camera . . . The inspection cavity is accessible . . . through a pair of access doors. During manual operation individual boards may be loaded for inspection through these doors.” Examiner interprets the lower surface within the inspection cavity as the support surface.”);
one or more cameras ([0040] “receives the board through an aperture in a side wall, then positions it under the camera.”);
one or more processors configured to:
cause relative movement between the support surface and at least one of the one or more cameras to facilitate an evaluation of the electronic device within the kiosk, the evaluation including a visual evaluation of one or more images obtained via the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” Examiner notes that the camera can move relative to the electronic device and the electronic device can be moved via the conveyer relative to the camera. And, [0053] “The vision system performs a scan of the board to obtain an image for analysis.” And, [0031] “analyzing image data received via a data line from the camera in order to detect . . . defects.” And, [0048] “operator can observe the image being viewed on the image monitor.”).
Vilella does not explicitly teach but Banerjee teaches:
provide, to a user, an offer to purchase the electronic device for a price based at least partially on the evaluation ([0034] “The AVM can receive a description and make an evaluation of a price which the AVM provider is willing to pay for such an item.” And, [0030] “An item for sale can include almost any tangible item . . . includ[ing] electronic equipment.” And, [0071] “receive an offer for purchase of the item for sale.” And, [0028] “the description can . . . photo image or video image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Vilella to include provide, to a user, an offer to purchase the electronic device for a price based at least partially on the evaluation as taught by Banerjee in order to “facilitate determining . . . fair market value” (Banerjee [0056]) and in order to “facilitat[e] a bargain and sale of an item placed for sale by a member of the public, as well as a delivery vehicle to consummate the sale” (Banerjee [0006]).
Claim 3
As claim 3, Vilella further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the support surface and configured to cause the support surface to move relative to the at least one of the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets a controller as a processor coupled to the support surface (via the electronics bay) to cause the support surface to move relative to the camera).
Claim 4
As claim 4, Vilella further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the at least one of the one or more cameras and configured to cause the at least one of the one or more cameras to move relative to the support surface ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets a controller as a processor coupled to the support surface (via the electronics bay) to cause the camera to move relative to the support surface).
Claim 5
As claim 5, Vilella further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the support surface and configured to cause the support surface to move relative to the housing to position the electronic device within a field of view of one or more of the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets the conveyer moving the board under the camera as causing the support surface (e.g., the conveyer) to move relative to the housing to position the electronic device (i.e., the board) within a field of under of the one or more cameras (i.e., to a position under the camera)).
Claim 7
As claim 7, Vilella further teaches:
obtain, via the one or more cameras, the one or more images of the electronic device ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0053] “The vision system performs a scan of the board to obtain an image for analysis.” And, [0031] “analyzing image data received via a data line from the camera in order to detect . . . defects.” And, [0048] “operator can observe the image being viewed on the image monitor.”).
determine a physical condition of the electronic device based at least partially on the visual evaluation of the one or more images ([0031] “analyzing image data received via a data line 93 from the camera 20 in order to detect board defects.” And, [0033] “Defects are discovered using digital image analysis techniques well-known in the art such as by testing the scanned images.”);
Vilella does not explicitly teach but Banerjee teaches:
determine the price based at least partially on the physical condition of the electronic device ([0038] “data descriptive of the item can be received by an appraisal apparatus, which can return a market price appraisal. Information in this example might include . . . the condition of the card.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combination of Vilella and Banerjee to include determine the price based at least partially on the physical condition of the electronic device as taught by Banerjee in order to “facilitate determining . . . fair market value” (Banerjee [0056]) and in order to “facilitat[e] a bargain and sale of an item placed for sale by a member of the public, as well as a delivery vehicle to consummate the sale” (Banerjee [0006]).
Claim 10
As per claim 10, Vilella teaches a system for evaluating an electronic device, the system comprising:
a kiosk ([0039] “[t]he station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.”) including: a housing ([0039] “The station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.”);
an inspection area within the housing ([0039] “The station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.”);
a support surface positioned within the housing, wherein the support surface is configured to receive the electronic device from a user and support the electronic device within the inspection area ([0039] “The station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.” And, [0040] “The conveyor receives the board through an aperture in a side wall, then positions it under the camera . . . The inspection cavity is accessible . . . through a pair of access doors. During manual operation individual boards may be loaded for inspection through these doors.” Examiner interprets the lower surface within the inspection cavity as the support surface.”);
one or more cameras having a field of view that includes at least a portion of the inspection area ([0040] “receives the board through an aperture in a side wall, then positions it under the camera.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0053] “The vision system performs a scan of the board to obtain an image for analysis.” And, [0041] “[0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity.”);
one or more processors ([0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.”) configured to:
cause relative movement between the support surface and at least one of the one or more cameras to facilitate an evaluation of the electronic device within the kiosk, the evaluation including a visual evaluation of one or more images obtained via the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” Examiner notes that the camera can move relative to the electronic device and the electronic device can be moved via the conveyer relative to the camera. And, [0053] “The vision system performs a scan of the board to obtain an image for analysis.” And, [0031] “analyzing image data received via a data line from the camera in order to detect . . . defects.” And, [0048] “operator can observe the image being viewed on the image monitor.”).
Vilella does not explicitly teach but Banerjee teaches:
provide, to the user, an offer to purchase the electronic device for a price, wherein the price is based at least partially on the evaluation ([0034] “The AVM can receive a description and make an evaluation of a price which the AVM provider is willing to pay for such an item.” And, [0030] “An item for sale can include almost any tangible item . . . includ[ing] electronic equipment.” And, [0071] “receive an offer for purchase of the item for sale.” And, [0028] “the description can . . . photo image or video image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Vilella to include provide, to the user, an offer to purchase the electronic device for a price, wherein the price is based at least partially on the evaluation as taught by Banerjee in order to “facilitate determining . . . fair market value” (Banerjee [0056]) and in order to “facilitat[e] a bargain and sale of an item placed for sale by a member of the public, as well as a delivery vehicle to consummate the sale” (Banerjee [0006]).
Claim 11
As claim 11, Vilella further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the support surface and configured to cause the support surface to move relative to the at least one of the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets a controller as a processor coupled to the support surface (via the electronics bay) to cause the support surface to move relative to the camera).
Claim 12
As claim 12, Vilella further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the support surface and configured to cause the support surface to move relative to the inspection area to position the electronic device within the field of view of one or more of the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets the conveyer moving the board under the camera as causing the support surface (e.g., the conveyer) to move relative to the inspection area to position the electronic device (i.e., the board) within a field of under of the one or more cameras (i.e., to a position under the camera).
Claim 16
As per claim 16, Vilella teaches a method of evaluating an electronic device at a kiosk having one or more cameras, the method comprising:
receiving, from a user, the electronic device on a support surface within a housing of the kiosk ([0039] “The station comprises a housing having an inner inspection cavity with a lower surface.” And, [0040] “The conveyor receives the board through an aperture in a side wall, then positions it under the camera . . . The inspection cavity is accessible . . . through a pair of access doors. During manual operation individual boards may be loaded for inspection through these doors.”);
causing, via one or more processors operably associated with the kiosk, relative movement between the support surface and at least one of the one or more cameras to facilitate an evaluation of the electronic device within the kiosk, the evaluation including a visual evaluation of one or more images obtained via the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” Examiner notes that the camera can move relative to the electronic device and the electronic device can be moved via the conveyer relative to the camera. And, [0053] “The vision system performs a scan of the board to obtain an image for analysis.” And, [0031] “analyzing image data received via a data line from the camera in order to detect . . . defects.” And, [0048] “operator can observe the image being viewed on the image monitor.”).
Vilella does not explicitly teach but Banerjee teaches:
provide, to the user, an offer to purchase the electronic device for a price, wherein the price is based at least partially on the evaluation ([0034] “The AVM can receive a description and make an evaluation of a price which the AVM provider is willing to pay for such an item.” And, [0030] “An item for sale can include almost any tangible item . . . includ[ing] electronic equipment.” And, [0071] “receive an offer for purchase of the item for sale.” And, [0028] “the description can . . . photo image or video image.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Vilella to include provide, to the user, an offer to purchase the electronic device for a price, wherein the price is based at least partially on the evaluation as taught by Banerjee in order to “facilitate determining . . . fair market value” (Banerjee [0056]) and in order to “facilitat[e] a bargain and sale of an item placed for sale by a member of the public, as well as a delivery vehicle to consummate the sale” (Banerjee [0006]).
Claim 17
As claim 17, Vilella further teaches:
wherein causing the relative movement includes causing the support surface to move relative to the at least one of the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets a controller as a processor coupled to the support surface (via the electronics bay) to cause the support surface to move relative to the camera).
Claim 18
As claim 18, Vilella further teaches:
wherein causing the relative movement includes causing the support surface to move relative to the housing to position the electronic device within a field of view of one or more of the one or more cameras ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.” Examiner interprets the conveyer moving the board under the camera as causing the support surface (e.g., the conveyer) to move relative to the inspection area to position the electronic device (i.e., the board) within a field of under of the one or more cameras (i.e., to a position under the camera).
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20070047797 (“Vilella”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20030204289 (“Banerjee”) as applied to claims 2, 10, and 16 above, and in further view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20090245616 (“Ballina”).
Claims 6, 13, and 19
As per claims 6, 13, and 19 Vilella does not explicitly teach but Ballina teaches:
wherein the one or more cameras include a first camera and a second camera, and wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the support surface and configured to cause the support surface to move relative to the housing and position the electronic device between the first camera and the second camera ([0031] “visiometry system has a second camera 12 disposed symmetrically to camera 10.” And, see Fig. 4 showing the product on the conveyer belt moving between the two cameras. And, [0026] “The conveyor belt 3 moves the products 4 in a direction parallel to the X axis.” And, [0020] “a commercial camera can be used that includes in the same housing.” And, [0050] “computer system then processes the selective-control signals of said deflector plates in a direction parallel to the X axis so that the product 4 opposite the plate in question can be directed according to whether or not it has characteristics conforming to preset criteria.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combination of Vilella and Banerjee to include wherein the one or more cameras include a first camera and a second camera, and wherein the one or more processors are operably coupled to the support surface and configured to cause the support surface to move relative to the housing and position the electronic device between the first camera and the second camera as taught by Ballina because by using two cameras “[o]nce the images IMG1 and IMG2 have been merged, the image of the product 4 concerned is complete and accurate, particularly the totality of its contours and the totality of its reliefs, and, as stated before, its volumes” (Ballina [0044]) improving the accuracy of the product evaluation.
Claims 8, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20070047797 (“Vilella”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20030204289 (“Banerjee”) as applied to claims 2, 10, and 16 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 7321766 (“Liu”).
Claims 8, 14, and 20
As per claims 8, 14, and 20 Vilella further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to perform the evaluation including the visual evaluation of the one or more images and perform the inspection while the electronic device is in the second position (And, [0053] “The vision system performs a scan of the board to obtain an image for analysis.” And, [0031] “analyzing image data received via a data line from the camera in order to detect . . . defects.” And, [0048] “operator can observe the image being viewed on the image monitor.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.”);
cause the support surface to move the electronic device from a first position within the housing to a second position within the housing ([0041] “video camera is mounted to a movable, motorized carriage attached via a track to the ceiling of the cavity. The carriage allows for directed width and depth movements of the camera in a plane substantially parallel to the plane of the board being inspected.” And, [0051] “The conveyor moves the board to a beginning position under the camera.” And, [0042] “carriage controller that induces incremental rotational movement of each motor.” And, [0043] “an electronics bay housing components of the vision subsystem and the various controllers and interfaces necessary for signaling the components of the station, such as the conveyor and carriage controllers.” And, [0046] “a pneumatically driven conveyor and its controller and interfaces, the carriage and its controller.”).
Vilella does not explicitly teach but Liu teaches:
wherein the evaluation further includes an electrical inspection of the electronic device and the inspection is an electrical inspection ([col. 3, lines 28-36] “[a] test application running on external controller sends commands, such as an AT command, to device via serial port hardware 105' and 105. These commands cause the telephone to send diagnostic results to the controller via serial port drivers 104. Once those diagnostic results are obtained by the external controller, the results are analyzed to determine the status of the telephone.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combination of Vilella and Banerjee to include wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone and wherein the support surface is configured to support the mobile phone thereon for the evaluation as taught by Liu in order to “to determine if there are problems with the cellular telephone” (Liu col. 1, lines 30-35]) that could impact the offer price.
Claims 9, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20070047797 (“Vilella”) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number 20030204289 (“Banerjee”) as applied to claims 2, 10, and 16 above, and in further view of US Patent Publication Number 7646193 (“Suzuki”)
Claims 9 and 15
As per claims 9 and 15, Vilella does not explicitly teach but Suzuki teaches
wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone and wherein the support surface is configured to support the mobile phone thereon for the evaluation ([col. 6, lines 28-32] “FIG. 2 is a perspective view illustrating the cellular phone 1, which is mounted on the adapter unit 2. The adapter unit 2 comprises a base plate 21, an inclined plate 22, a release guide panel 23, and a pair of side plates 24.” And, [col. 7, lines 13-16] “cellular phone 1 to be evaluated.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combination of Vilella and Banerjee to include wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone and wherein the support surface is configured to support the mobile phone thereon for the evaluation as taught by Suzuki in order “ensure[] that the cellular phone can be inspected/evaluated without being opened/closed” (Suzuki [col. 8, lines 35-40]).
Claim 21
As per claim 21, Vilella does not explicitly teach but Suzuki teaches
wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone and wherein receiving the electronic device on the support surface includes receiving the mobile phone on the support surface ([col. 6, lines 28-32] “FIG. 2 is a perspective view illustrating the cellular phone 1, which is mounted on the adapter unit 2. The adapter unit 2 comprises a base plate 21, an inclined plate 22, a release guide panel 23, and a pair of side plates 24.” And, [col. 7, lines 13-16] “cellular phone 1 to be evaluated.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the combination of Vilella and Banerjee to include wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone and wherein receiving the electronic device on the support surface includes receiving the mobile phone on the support surface as taught by Suzuki in order “ensure[] that the cellular phone can be inspected/evaluated without being opened/closed” (Suzuki [col. 8, lines 35-40]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication Number 20080109746 (“Mayer”) discloses a kiosk that evaluates an electronic device, including a housing, an inspection area and a detector system that can inspect an electronic device’s RFID tag or barcode or inspection through other optical detection means
US Patent Application Publication Number 20040184651 (“Nordbryhn”) discloses placing an object onto a conveyer where an insertion analyzer can analyze the object using a video camera to determine whether to accept the object.
/ALLAN J WOODWORTH, II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622