DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 16, 2026.
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-8 are pending, claim 1 is independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (CN103203567A Google Patents machine translation of March 05, 2026), hereinafter Wu (original and translation provided herewith).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Wu teaches an alloy powder where the surplus is iron and trace impurity (unavoidable impurities; iron-based) in weight percent of the composition shown below in Table 1 (Pg. 4 Embodiment 6 [1]). One of ordinary skill in the art reasonably understands trace impurities to overlap with “unavoidable impurities”.
Table 1 (wt%)
Instant claim 1
Instant claim 2
Wu (Pg. 4 Embodiment 6 [1])
Cr
7-12
6-15
Ni
3.0-9.0
4-6
Mn
Total 8.5-14
0.3-1.5
1-7
Calculates to total of 4-20
V
1.5-5.0
1-3
Si
0.3-1.8
1-5
C
5.0-7.5
1-5
Iron
70-80
Surplus, calculates to 22-79.5
Unavoidable impurities
present
Trace present
Mo
1-10
W
2-10
Ti
1-3
Rare earth
0.5-2
Nb
1-10
F
1-2
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Claim(s) 1 is additionally/alternatively rejected and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamentgen et al. (EP-3428300-A1 Google Patents machine translation of March 05, 2026), hereinafter Hamentgen (original and translation provided herewith).
Regarding claim 1, Hamentgen teaches an alloy of a core region having a composition shown below in Table 2 including residual Fe (iron-based material) (Pg. 2 [7] to Pg. 3 [1]). One of ordinary skill in the art reasonably understands “production-related” impurities are equivalent to “unavoidable”.
Table 2(wt%)
Instant claim 1
Hamentgen (Pg. 2 [7] to Pg. 3 [1]).
Cr
7-12
0-18
Ni
3.0-9.0
0-15
Mn
Total 8.5-14
0.2-18
Calculates to 0.32-26.6
V
0.01-5
Si
0.1-1.6
C
0.01-2.0
Iron
70-80
Residual, at least 40% calculates to max of 99
Unavoidable impurities
present
Production-related (unavoidable)
Mo
0.2-5.0
W
0.01-15
Co
0.1-8
N
0.01-0.25
Nb/Ta
0.01-5
P
0.001-0.1
S
0.001-0.1
Pb
0.001-0.1
Cu
0-1.2
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 8, Hamentgen teaches each limitation of claim 1, as discussed above, and further teaches a composite body formed of an outer region, a core region and an interface between them (Pg. 8 [5]; Fig. 2) and Fig. 2 shows the outer region and core region and interface are layers (Fig. 2), the outer region is steel (considered the “base material”; Pg. 3 [5]), the core layer is the composition above in Table 2 (considered to be the “hard” layer) (Pg. 2 [7] to Pg. 3 [1]) of a steel (Pg. 3 [4]) with a hardness of at most 53 HRC (567 HV; Pg. 3 [7]; as the hardness overlaps that claimed it is considered “hard”). As the base and hard layers are metals (steel), this is understood to be a “metal structure”.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Regarding claim 5, Hamentgen teaches each limitation of claims 1 and 3, as discussed above, and further teaches the core layer composition above in Table 2 (Pg. 2 [7] to Pg. 3 [1]), the outer layer contains 3-31 weight% Cr, at least 40 weight% Fe, and 0-10 weight% Ni (Pg. 5 [2]) and the outer and core regions are bonded by hot isostatic pressing (Pg. 6 [4]). One of ordinary skill in the art reasonably understands where these two layers are bonded to form the interface layer the elements will mix at the interface layer. Therefore, Cr and Fe values overlapping that claimed are in the scope of this mixing. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
If Ni is limited in the core region to that of claim 1, the Ni range would be close but not overlapping to that claimed. However, no criticality to this Ni range has been shown by applicant or the prior art of record. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Hamentgen teaches each limitation of claims 1 and 3, as discussed above, and further teaches a composite body formed of an outer region, a core region and an interface between them (Pg. 8 [5]; Fig. 2) and Fig. 2 shows the outer region and core region and interface are layers (Fig. 2), the core layer is the composition above in Table 2 (considered to be the “hard” layer) (Pg. 2 [7] to Pg. 3 [1]), the core layer has a thickness of at least 3% the radius of the roll, which has a diameter of 50 mm-1200 mm (Pg. 4 [4]-[5]) and the separating body of steel (between the core and outside areas; i.e. interface) is 1-5 mm (Pg. 7 [1]). The core layer is at least 3% of a radius 25-600mm, at 3% this calculates to 0.75-18mm.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The proportions disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements (MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hattori et alinterface layer) to an outer layer of a chemical composition in mass% of 1-3% C, 0.4-3% Si, 0.3-3% Mn, 1-5% Ni, 2-7% Cr, 3-8% Mo, 3-7% V, 0.01-0.12% B, the balance being Fe and inevitable impurities (Abstract) with an outer layer hardness of 500 HV or more ([0018])
/KATHERINE A CHRISTY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784