DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8-9, 13, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20170164440 A1) in view of Baddela (US 20130063035 A1).
With regards to claim 1. Hu disclose(s):
A light driver (figs 1-9) comprising:
a phase-cut detector (630) configured to determine whether phase-cut dimming is present at an input of the light driver and to generate a phase-cut detection signal in response to presence of the phase-cut dimming ([0057]); and
a channel controller (616) coupled to the phase-cut detector [0052] and configured to perform:
receiving a current the current value
in response to receiving the phase-cut detected signal from the phase-cut detector, disregarding the current value current value at the output light and adjusting an intensity of the output light based on a level of phase-cutting at the input of the light driver (see [0066-0067] for “default” dimming; see table 1 in [0067] for default dimming scheme being Type 1 such phase cut dimming).
Hu does not disclose(s):
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver
Baddela teaches:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] fog driver being EXM055 which is compatible with multiple dimming protocols)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Hu by implementing the receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light drive as disclosed by Baddela in order to simulate the color temperature changes of incandescent lamps as dimming levels change as taught/suggested by Baddela ([008]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of changing CCT values based on dimming current values of Baddela to the know device receiving dimming current values of Hu yielding the predictable result of changing CCT values based on received dimming current values.
With regards to claim 5. Hu as modified disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 1,
Hu further disclose(s):
wherein the channel controller is further configured to perform: receiving a dimmer level for adjusting an intensity the output light of the light source (see dimming based on phase cut [0066]); and in response to receiving the phase-cut detected signal from the phase-cut detector, disregarding the dimmer level by not adjusting the intensity of the output light based on the dimmer level (see [0066-0067] for “default” dimming; see table 1 in [0067] for default dimming scheme being Type 1 such phase cut dimming).
With regards to claim 6. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 5,
Hu further disclose(s):
further comprising: a dimmer receiver (see 624; fig 6; [0064]) configured to receive a dimmer control signal from a dimming control device, and to generate the dimmer level for transmission to the channel controller, wherein the dimmer receiver comprises a 0-10V dimmer having a rocker interface, a tap interface, a slide interface, or a rotary interface (see 418; fig 4; [0043]).
With regards to claim 8. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 1,
Hu further disclose(s):
wherein the channel controller is further configured to perform: in response to not receiving the phase-cut detected signal from the phase-cut detector, adjusting the CCT of the output light based on the current
Baddela further discloses:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] for driver being EXM055 )
With regards to claim 9. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 1,
Baddela further discloses:
Hu further disclose(s):
wherein the phase-cut detector comprises:
a pulse generator circuit (630; fig 6) configured to generate a pulsed signal (signal 1 and signal 2) based on a rectified input line voltage (602); a dimming detection circuit configured to determine whether phase-cut dimming is present at the input of the light driver based on the pulsed signal and to generate the phase-cut detection signal [0057].
With regards to claim 13. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 1,
Hu further disclose(s):
wherein an input of the light driver is coupled to a phase-cut dimmer configured to perform phase-cutting of an input line voltage based on a dimmer setting [0052].
With regards to claim 14. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 1,
Hu further disclose(s):
further comprising: a rectifier (602; fig 6) configured to rectify an input line voltage (Line , Neutral) to generate the rectified input line voltage (output of 602); and a converter configured to convert the rectified input line voltage into a drive signal (614, 606, 604; 608; [0050]) for powering a light source (612) coupled to the light driver, wherein the input line voltage from which the rectified input line voltage is generated is from
Hu as modified does not disclose(s):
The Vac voltage being 100 Vac to 277 Vac.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have configured the Vac voltage being 100 Vac to 277 Vac, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have design the input Vac voltage being 100 Vac to 277 Vac in order to comply with local residential voltage requirements.
With regards to claim 15. Hu disclose(s):
A lighting system (figs 1-9) comprising:
a rectifier (602) configured to receive a phase-cut input line voltage (output of 622) from a phase-cut dimmer (622) at an input of the rectifier and configured to generate a rectified input line voltage (output of 602); and
a light driver (604, 606-610, 614, 616, 626, 624) configured to drive a light source (612), and comprising:
a phase-cut detector (630) configured to determine whether phase-cut dimming is present at an input of the light driver based on the rectified input line voltage and to generate a phase-cut detection signal in response to presence of the phase-cut dimming ([0057]); and
a channel controller (616) coupled to the phase-cut detector and configured to perform:
receiving a current
in response to receiving the phase-cut detected signal from the phase-cut detector, disregarding the current value current value at the output light and adjusting an intensity of the output light based on a level of phase-cutting at the input of the light driver (see [0066-0067] for “default” dimming; see table 1 in [0067] for default dimming scheme being Type 1 such phase cut dimming).
Hu does not disclose(s):
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver
Baddela teaches:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] fog driver being EXM055 which is compatible with multiple dimming protocols)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Hu by implementing the receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light drive as disclosed by Baddela in order to simulate the color temperature changes of incandescent lamps as dimming levels change as taught/suggested by Baddela ([008]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of changing CCT values based on dimming current values of Baddela to the know device receiving dimming current values of Hu yielding the predictable result of changing CCT values based on received dimming current values.
With regards to claim 16. Hu disclose(s):
A method (figs 1-9) of driving a light source by a light driver, the method comprising:
receiving a current current
determining whether phase-cut dimming (630) is present at an input of the light driver ([0057]); and
in response to determining that the phase-cut dimming is present at the input, disregarding the current
Hu does not disclose(s):
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver
Baddela teaches:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] fog driver being EXM055 which is compatible with multiple dimming protocols)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Hu by implementing the receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light drive as disclosed by Baddela in order to simulate the color temperature changes of incandescent lamps as dimming levels change as taught/suggested by Baddela ([008]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the known technique of changing CCT values based on dimming current values of Baddela to the know device receiving dimming current values of Hu yielding the predictable result of changing CCT values based on received dimming current values.
With regards to claim 17. Hu disclose(s):
The method of claim 16,
wherein determining that the phase-cut dimming is present at the input comprises: receiving a phase-cut detection signal (logic signals 1 and 2 in fig 6) in response to phase-cut dimming at the input of the light driver (see output of 622).
With regards to claim 19. Hu disclose(s):
The method of claim 16,
Hu further disclose(s):
further comprising: receiving a dimmer level for adjusting an intensity the output light of the light source (see dimming based on phase cut [0066]); and in response to determining that the phase-cut detected signal is received, disregarding the dimmer level by not adjusting the intensity of the output light based on the dimmer level (see [0066-0067] for “default” dimming; see table 1 in [0067] for default dimming scheme being Type 1 such phase cut dimming).
With regards to claim 20. Hu disclose(s):
The method of claim 16,
further comprising: in response to determining that the phase-cut dimming is not received at the input, adjusting the
Baddela further discloses:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] for driver being EXM055 )
Claim(s) 7, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20170164440 A1) in view of Baddela (US 20130063035 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Brandt (US 20160330808 A1)
With regards to claim 7. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 6,
Hu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the dimmer receiver comprises an antenna configured to be wirelessly connected to the dimming control device.
Brandt teaches.
wherein the dimmer receiver (110; fig 1; [0035]) comprises an antenna configured to be wirelessly connected to the dimming control device ([0035]; the examiner takes the position that wireless connection such a smartphone involves an antenna).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Hu by implementing the dimmer receiver comprises an antenna configured to be wirelessly connected to the dimming control device as disclosed by Brandt in order to receive dimming instructions from a remote located device as taught/suggested by Brandt ([0035]).
With regards to claims 10 and 12. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 9,
Hu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the pulsed signal is a pulse-width-modulated (PWM) signal having a duty cycle corresponding to a phase-cut of the rectified input line voltage.
Brandt teaches.
wherein the pulsed signal is a pulse-width-modulated PWM signal having a duty cycle corresponding to a phase-cut of the rectified input line voltage (see fig 9; [0072]; see 112 in fig 1; [0033]; see fig 6; [0064]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Hu by implementing the pulsed signal is a pulse-width-modulated (PWM) signal having a duty cycle corresponding to a phase-cut of the rectified input line voltage as disclosed by Brandt in order to decode dimming instructions from phase cut dimming signals as taught/suggested by Brandt ([0033]).
With regards to claim 11. Hu disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 10,
Brandt further disclose(s):
further comprising: a first voltage divider (R20 and R28; fig 6) configured to generate an attenuated rectified voltage (604) based on the rectified input line voltage (rectified input in fig 6), wherein the pulse generator circuit is configured to receive the attenuated rectified voltage and to generate the pulsed signal (voltage at 610) based on a comparison of the attenuated rectified voltage (604) and a reference signal (603).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20170164440 A1) in view of Baddela (US 20130063035 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (US 10178729 B2)
With regards to claim 3. Hu as modified disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 1,
Hu as modified does not disclose(s):
further comprising:
a CCT receiver configured to receive a CCT control signal from a CCT control device, and to generate the current CCT value for transmission to the channel controller, wherein the CCT control device is a CCT clamp or a CCT adjustment device.
Yang teaches:
a
Baddela discloses:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] fog driver being EXM055 which is compatible with multiple dimming protocols)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20170164440 A1) in view of Baddela (US 20130063035 A1) and Yang (US 10178729 B2) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Brandt (US 20160330808 A1)
With regards to claim 4. Hu as modified disclose(s):
The light driver of claim 3,
Hu as modified does not disclose(s):
wherein the CCT receiver comprises an antenna configured to be wirelessly connected to the CCT control device.
Brandt teaches.
wherein the
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device/method/system of Hu by implementing the wherein the receiver comprises an antenna configured to be wirelessly connected to the control device as disclosed by Brandt in order to receive dimming instructions from a remote located device as taught/suggested by Brandt ([0035]).
Baddela further discloses:
receiving a current value is for modifying a current correlated color temperature CCT value for adjusting CCT of an output light of a light source coupled to the light driver (see change in CCT in [0037]; see [0029] fog driver being EXM055 which is compatible with multiple dimming protocols)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2 and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RENAN LUQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896