DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Amendments/REMARKS, filed on, 05/19/2026.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Mahadevia” et al. (US 10630698 B2) in view of “Jeffords” et al. (US 12381876 B2), and further in view of “Shasha” et al. (US 2015/0206152 A1).
Mahadevia discloses claim 1/13/14. An attack detection apparatus/method/ non-transitory computer readable medium comprising: processing circuitry:
to execute for each of a plurality of pieces communication data as subject data, an attack detection process to determine whether or not the subject data complies with one of rules included in an authorization list that includes a plurality of rules to each of which a unique identifier has been assigned [Mahadevia discloses “The data store may include a plurality of signatures defining a set of rules to detect attacks or intrusive activities on a network that can occur through the process”, wherein “the signature includes a unique signature identification code” (col.2, line 66-col.3, line 21); “If any vulnerability is found, the intrusion prevention unit 314 may respond back to the calling process with signature rule identification information” (col.26, lines 41-43 with FIG.3). See also FIG.2, where Mahadevia disclose intrusion prevention unit with signature DB 224, plurality of signatures 226 defining set of rules having unique code (col.24, lines 34-65)];
when the subject data complies with one of the rules included in the authorization list, to execute a pattern determination process to determine whether or not an identifier corresponding to a rule with which the subject data complies conforms to an appearance pattern of identifiers, Mahadevia discloses, “The intrusion prevention unit may be further configured to verify the information from the pattern matching unit against the plurality of signatures stored in the database to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activities”, and “the pattern matching unit includes an application process information database containing unique a signature identification code, a signature name, an applicable process name, and an applicable process version. In some implementations, the pattern matching unit is further configured for matching the signature identification code in the verification report with the signature identification code stored in the application process information database” (column 2, line 60 to col.3, line 17). See also FIG.2, where Mahadevia disclose pattern matching unit 212 that includes DB 230 (col.24, line 64 to col.25, line 29)];
Mahadevia does not; but, Jeffords, analogues art, disclose pattern identifiers derived from a model and using the model [“using machine learning models based on historic patterns” (Abstract), Machine Learning Model 214 (Figs. 2, 4) and Access Patterns 316 (Fig.3) of Jeffords].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mahadevia by incorporating the machine learning model of Jeffords to implement defense in depth for mitigating cybersecurity risk from requests for access to services or other resources.
Mahadevia in view of Jeffords further disclose,
and when the pattern determination process is executed, to determine whether the subject data is normal or not, using a determination result by the attack detection process and a determination result by the pattern determination process [Mahadevia discloses, “The intrusion prevention unit may be further configured to verify the information from the pattern matching unit against the plurality of signatures stored in the database to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activities”, “The method may include verifying, by the intrusion prevention unit, the information against a plurality of signatures stored in a database of the intrusion prevention unit to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activity” (col.2, line 60 to col.3, line 10 and col.3, line 52 to col.4, line 14). See also detection process in FIG.2-3 (with col.24, line 25 to col.27, line 3); and FIGS. 11-13 (with col.30, line 8 to col.31, line 19)].
Mahadevia discloses “a plurality of signatures to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activities” (Abstract) as unique identifier corresponding to a characteristic of communication. Mahadevia in view of Jeffords may not; but, Shasha, analogues art, discloses wherein the appearance of the identifiers is based on a sequence of the identifiers, a histogram of identifiers or a geometric pattern of identifiers [Shasha discloses, “In one embodiment, the item may further be associated with a group identifier and/or a product identifier. As an example of an illustrative implementation, pill package can have an identifier (e.g. a large number, alphanumeric sequence, or geometric pattern) that is unique to that package and that is preferably difficult to guess” (par.0014)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Mahadevia/ Jeffords by incorporating the teaching of Shasha for implementing anti-counterfeiting technique via attributes.
Mahadevia in view of Jeffords, and further in view of Shasha further disclose claim 2. The attack detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the subject data has been determined in the attack detection process not to comply with any of the rules included in the authorization list, the processing circuitry determines that the subject data is not normal [Mahadevia discloses, “The intrusion prevention unit may be further configured to verify the information from the pattern matching unit against the plurality of signatures stored in the database to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activities”, and “the pattern matching unit includes an application process information database containing unique a signature identification code, a signature name, an applicable process name, and an applicable process version. In some implementations, the pattern matching unit is further configured for matching the signature identification code in the verification report with the signature identification code stored in the application process information database” (column 2, line 60 to col.3, line 17). See also FIG.2, where Mahadevia disclose pattern matching unit 212 that includes DB 230 (col.24, line 64 to col.25, line 29)], and when the identifier corresponding to the rule with which the subject data complies has been determined in the pattern determination process not to conform to the appearance pattern derived from the model at a time when the subject data has been determined in the attack detection process to comply with one of the rules included in the authorization list, the processing circuitry determines that the subject data is not normal [Mahadevia discloses, “The intrusion prevention unit may be further configured to verify the information from the pattern matching unit against the plurality of signatures stored in the database to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activities”, “The method may include verifying, by the intrusion prevention unit, the information against a plurality of signatures stored in a database of the intrusion prevention unit to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activity” (col.2, line 60 to col.3, line 10 and col.3, line 52 to col.4, line 14). See also detection process in FIG.2-3 (with col.24, line 25 to col.27, line 3); and FIGS. 11-13 (with col.30, line 8 to col.31, line 19)].
Mahadevia in view of Jeffords, and further in view of Shasha further disclose claim 3 and 5. The attack detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry to select a method of that learns the model [“Anomalous access requests are detected using machine learning models based on historic patterns” (Abstract), Machine Learning Model 214 (Figs. 2, 4) and Access Patterns 316 (Fig.3). See also Cybersecurity risk mitigation method 600 (Fig.6) of Jeffords],
using a plurality of pieces of communication data determined to be normal and an depending on classification of appearance pattern of identifiers each of which corresponds to each of the plurality of pieces of communication data determined to be normal [Mahadevia discloses, “The intrusion prevention unit may be further configured to verify the information from the pattern matching unit against the plurality of signatures stored in the database to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activities”, “The method may include verifying, by the intrusion prevention unit, the information against a plurality of signatures stored in a database of the intrusion prevention unit to identify and detect a known vulnerability in network activity” (col.2, line 60 to col.3, line 10 and col.3, line 52 to col.4, line 14). See also detection process in FIG.2-3 (with col.24, line 25 to col.27, line 3); and FIGS. 11-13 (with col.30, line 8 to col.31, line 19)].
The motivation to combine is the same as that of claim 1 above.
Mahadevia in view of Jeffords, and further in view of Shasha further disclose claim 7. The attack detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein when the processing circuitry collates the subject data with each rule included in the authorization list, the processing circuitry collates a hash value corresponding to the subject data with a value corresponding to each rule included in the authorization list [Mahadevia discloses, “The pattern matching unit 312 may put a wrapper (e.g., a Hashvalue of a combination of MAC ID & Source IP Address), on every packet to associate it with the respective device 308” (col.26, lines 29-32 with FIG.3)].
Claim 4 is rejected for the same rationale applied in rejecting claim 3.
Claim 6 is rejected for the same rationale applied in rejecting claim 5.
Claims 8-12 are rejected for the same rationale applied in rejecting claim 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/AMARE F TABOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434