DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Applicant’s preamble including “a soundproofing cover,” it is noted that the claims do not recite any limitations having to do with soundproofing, or details of what constitutes a cover having the function of “soundproofing”. The Examiner will use the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) and will interpret the preamble language as any cover element that could contribute to a reduction in sound emanating into or out of a cover element, so long as the material of the cover does not explicitly teach against its ability to absorb/insulate sound. Any material known to have utility in sound absorbing or sound reflection would suffice, as no level of soundproofing is disclosed or present in the claims. For example, an extremely thin material that yields only an infinitesimal level of sound-reduction/soundproofing of a sound wave present as compared to a sound wave that does not encounter a cover element will satisfy the claim language. Essentially any material will be capable of being “soundproofing” as long as it does not amply sound in some way. Note that an absorptive or reflective material will contribute to soundproofing into or out of a closed container.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitations “first cover portion that is fashioned in a shape of a housing, and of which a part of a first outer edge portion makes up a first arcuate outer edge portion, the first arcuate outer edge portion including a first notch portion”; a second cover portion that is fashioned in a shape of a housing, and of which a part of a second outer edge portion makes up a second arcuate outer edge portion, the second arcuate outer edge portion including a second notch portion”, and “in which the hinge portion is configured such that… a middle region in a circumferential direction of at least the first arcuate outer edge portion and the second arcuate outer edge portion is deformed into a protruding shape that protrudes to an inward side of the first cover portion and the second cover portion” are indefinite.
First, the limitations “first/second cover portion that is fashioned in a shape of a housing” is indefinite, as it is unclear what “a shape of a housing” means. Is Applicant attempting to claim a specific shape? Or, is Applicant merely attempting to claim that the cover portions can form a housing? Applicant should clarify the language, as there is no commonly understood “housing” shape, nor is it defined in the disclosure.
Second, from the Examiner’s understanding of Applicant’s disclosure, the first/second arcuate outer edge portions are part of the first/second cover parts, respectively, and the hinge links the cover portions and closes off the notch portions. The requirement that “the hinge portion is configured such that… a middle region in a circumferential direction of at least the first arcuate outer edge portion and the second arcuate outer edge portion is deformed into a protruding shape that protrudes to an inward side of the first cover portion and the second cover portion” is confusing, as the hinge is a separate component from the first/second arcuate portions and defines the elastically deformable element, but the claims then require that “a middle region in a circumferential direction of at least the first arcuate outer edge portion and the second arcuate outer edge portion is deformed into a protruding shape that protrudes to an inward side of the first cover portion and the second cover portion”. As far as the Examiner understands Applicant’s disclosure, it is the hinge #12 that is deformed into a protruding shape that protrudes to an inward side of the first cover portion and the second cover portion, not the first/second arcuate outer edge portions “26A/36A, and the claims will be interpreted in this way. It is further noted that the first and second cover portions only face each other when the cover is in a closed state as in Figure 2A/B, and when opened as in Figure 3A/B, they are at a 90-degree angle to one another are not facing one another as claimed, and the claims will be interpreted in this way. Applicant must amend or clarify the indefinite claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garg (7,246,714).
With respect to claim 1, Garg teaches a soundproofing cover (Figures 1-5 and 9A-E, # 6) comprising: a first cover portion (8) that is fashioned in a shape of a housing, and of which a part of a first outer edge portion (32) makes up a first arcuate outer edge portion (See annoted view of Figure 3 provided below, defined by arcuate side portion of first outer edge portion extending between the denoted “end of arcuate portions”), the first arcuate outer edge portion including a first notch portion (defined by well portion #50 attached to/included with the first arcuate portion); a second cover portion (10) that is fashioned in a shape of a housing, and of which a part of a second outer edge portion (30) makes up a second arcuate outer edge portion (See annoted view of Figure 3 provided below, defined by arcuate side portion of second outer edge portion extending between the denoted “end of arcuate portions”), the second arcuate outer edge portion including a second notch portion (defined by well portion #50 attached to/included with the second arcuate portion), in which the second outer edge portion (30) is abuttable against the first outer edge portion (32) in a state in which the first notch portion (52) and the second notch portion (50) face each other (see Figure 9E); and a hinge portion (40) that is elastically deformable, linking the first cover portion (8) and the second cover portion (10), and also closing off the first notch portion (52) and the second notch portion (50) facing each other (when arranged as in Figure 9E), in which the hinge portion (40) is configured such that, when the second cover portion (10) is opened to a predetermined angle of less than 180 degrees with respect to the first cover portion (8) (as seen in Figure 9B), a middle region (region including hinge structure #12) in a circumferential direction of at least the first arcuate outer edge portion and the second arcuate outer edge portion is deformed into a protruding shape (see portion #40) that protrudes to an inward side of the first cover portion (8) and the second cover portion (10) (clearly seen in Figure 9B). Regarding the “soundproofing” ability of cover #6, note that it can be made of thermoplastic polyolefins (Col. 2, Lines 32-47), which are well known to have utility in sound absorbing/soundproofing, and are therefore considered to make cover #6 a “soundproofing” cover in accordance with the claim interpretation noted above.
With respect to claim 2, Garg teaches wherein when opening the second cover portion (10) to the predetermined angle of less than 180 degrees with respect to the first cover portion (8), an end portion of the hinge portion (defined by left/right ends of portion #40) in the circumferential direction of the first arcuate outer edge portion and the second arcuate outer edge portion assumes an arc shape (see arc shape of portion #40).
With respect to claim 3, Garg teaches wherein the hinge portion (40) is configured such that, when the second cover portion (10) is closed (See Figure 9E) with respect to the first cover portion (10), at least the middle region (region including hinge structure #12) in the circumferential direction of the first arcuate outer edge portion and the second arcuate outer edge portion is deformed into a protruding shape (see portion #40 in Figure 9E) that protrudes to an outward side from the first cover portion (8) and the second cover portion (10).
With respect to claim 4, Garg teaches wherein a plate thickness of the hinge portion (40) is constant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837