Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20240094357 A1), hereinafter Smith.
Regarding claim 1, Smith teaches a frequency-modulated continuous-wave laser radar ranging and speed measuring system ([0096] Alternatively, a lidar system 100 may be configured to operate as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system; [0093] The autonomous-vehicle driving system may analyze the received point clouds to sense or identify targets 130 and their respective locations, distances, or speeds, and the autonomous-vehicle driving system may update control signals based on this information), comprising:
a signal generation module, configured to provide an input laser signal in a first polarization state composed of a first laser signal, a second laser signal, a third laser signal and a fourth laser signal with different frequencies ([0349] The light source 110 emits LO light 430 having a substantially constant optical frequency of f0 and pulses of light 400 having four different optical frequencies (f1,f2,f3,f4) and four different frequency offsets (Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, Δf4). The output beam 125 includes four emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d, which are produced by optical amplification of the four respective seed-light temporal portions 441 a, 441 b, 441 c, and 441 d. Each of the emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d has a respective frequency offset of Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, and Δf4 with respect to the LO light 430),
wherein the first laser signal has a fixed frequency, the second laser signal is subjected by frequency modulation ([0096] Alternatively, a lidar system 100 may be configured to operate as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system; [0262] While a light source 110 may emit pulses of light 400 having different frequency offsets, the optical frequency of each emitted pulse of light may have a particular frequency offset that is substantially fixed or constant with time; [0349] Frequency-detection channel 368-1 includes an adjustable-frequency electronic LO 616-1 that produces an electronic LO signal 366-1 at two oscillator frequencies FLOb and FLOd. The frequency of the electronic LO signal 366-1 is switched between the two oscillator frequencies FLOb and FLOd at times that are synchronized with the emission of pulses of light 400 a and 400 b.),
the third laser signal and the fourth laser signal are generated based on the first laser signal and the second laser signal, both a frequency of the third laser signal and a frequency of the fourth laser signal have a corresponding relationship with a frequency of the first laser signal and a frequency of the second laser signal respectively ([0349] The output beam 125 includes four emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d, which are produced by optical amplification of the four respective seed-light temporal portions 441 a, 441 b, 441 c, and 441 d. Each of the emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d has a respective frequency offset of Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, and Δf4 with respect to the LO light 430...At or around the time when a pulse of light with a frequency offset of Δf2 is emitted (e.g., pulse 400 b), the electronic LO signal 366-2 may be switched to oscillator frequency FLOa, and at or around the time when a pulse of light with a frequency offset of Δf4 is emitted (e.g., pulse 400 d)),
and an optical power of the first laser signal is different from an optical power of the second laser signal ([0169] The seed light produced by the multiple seed laser diodes may be combined and sent to an optical amplifier, or the seed light produced by each seed laser diode may be separately amplified by a corresponding optical amplifier.);
a silicon optical chip, configured to divide the input laser signal into a detection signal and a local oscillation signal, send out the detection signal ([0112] FIG. 6 illustrates an example lidar system 100 with a light source 110 that emits pulses of light 400 and local-oscillator (LO) light 430), and
receive an echo signal of a reflected signal component in a second polarization state orthogonal to a first polarization state in the reflected signal of the target object ([Fig. 32]; [0249] FIG. 32 illustrates an example receiver 140 that includes two polarization beam-splitters 710. In particular embodiments, a receiver 140 may include an LO-light polarization splitter 710 that splits LO light 430 into two orthogonal polarization components (e.g., horizontal and vertical)),
then convert the echo signal in the second polarization state into the echo signal in the first polarization state, followed by performing a frequency mixing with the local oscillation signal to generate a beat frequency signal ([0253] a lidar system 100 may include (i) a polarization-insensitive receiver 140 (e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 32 ) or (ii) an optical polarization element (e.g., polarization element 335 in FIG. 33 ) to ensure that at least a portion of the LO light 430 and input beam 135 have the same polarization.); and
a signal processing module, configured to perform decoupling according to the beat frequency signal to obtain both distance information and instantaneous speed information of the target object ([0096] An FMCW lidar system may use frequency-modulated light to determine the distance to a remote target 130; [0364] The radial speed Sr refers to the component of the relative velocity of the target 130 along a line connecting the lidar system 100 and the target 130.).
Regarding claim 2, Smith teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein the signal generation module comprises a light source module, an optical amplification module and a nonlinear medium module ([0068] In particular embodiments, light source 110 may include a pulsed or CW laser diode followed by one or more optical-amplification stages),
wherein the light source module is configured to transmit the first laser signal and the second laser signal with different frequencies ([0096] Alternatively, a lidar system 100 may be configured to operate as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system; [0262] While a light source 110 may emit pulses of light 400 having different frequency offsets, the optical frequency of each emitted pulse of light may have a particular frequency offset that is substantially fixed or constant with time;),
the first laser signal has a first frequency fixed to a first initial frequency without modulation ([0262] While a light source 110 may emit pulses of light 400 having different frequency offsets, the optical frequency of each emitted pulse of light may have a particular frequency offset that is substantially fixed or constant with time;),
the second laser signal has a second frequency generated by performing a linear sawtooth wave frequency modulation onto a second initial frequency ([0262] An FMCW lidar system may emit frequency-modulated optical signals in which each optical signal has an optical frequency that varies over the duration of the optical signal (e.g., the optical frequency of an optical signal may vary linearly with time or may exhibit a sawtooth or triangle-wave frequency variation with time).),
the optical amplification module is configured to amplify the first laser signal and the second laser signal before inputting into the nonlinear medium module, while ensuring an optical power of the first laser signal having been amplified less than that of the second laser signal having been amplified ([0135] As another example, an optical amplifier may include an optical modulator as well as a SOA or a fiber-optic amplifier...Alternatively, the optical modulator may be located after the SOA 460, and the optical modulator may be operated in a pulsed mode to transmit the emitted pulses of light 400; [0169] The seed light produced by the multiple seed laser diodes may be combined and sent to an optical amplifier, or the seed light produced by each seed laser diode may be separately amplified by a corresponding optical amplifier.),
the nonlinear medium module is configured to make the first laser signal and the second laser signal have an interaction happened ([0174] The pump-laser light from a pump laser 510 may be coupled into gain fiber 501 via a pump wavelength-division multiplexer (WDM) 520. A pump WDM 520 may be used to combine or separate pump light and the pulses of light 400 i that are amplified by the gain fiber 501.), and
generating a third laser signal having a third frequency and a fourth laser signal having a fourth frequency based on a four-wave mixing effect, so as to form the input laser signal before coupling to the silicon optical chip ([0210] For example, in a light source 110 that includes a seed laser diode 450 and a SOA 460, one or more of the following effects occurring in the seed laser diode 450 or the SOA 460 may cause spectral broadening in an emitted pulse of light: four-wave mixing, Kerr nonlinear optical effect, self-phase modulation, coupled-cavity effects between the seed laser diode and the SOA, stimulated Raman scattering (SRS), stimulated Brillouin scattering (SBS), and plasma dispersion effect.),
wherein the third frequency has a first correspondence with the first frequency and the second frequency, while the fourth frequency has a second correspondence with the first frequency and the second frequency ([0349] The output beam 125 includes four emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d, which are produced by optical amplification of the four respective seed-light temporal portions 441 a, 441 b, 441 c, and 441 d. Each of the emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d has a respective frequency offset of Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, and Δf4 with respect to the LO light 430...At or around the time when a pulse of light with a frequency offset of Δf2 is emitted (e.g., pulse 400 b), the electronic LO signal 366-2 may be switched to oscillator frequency FLOa, and at or around the time when a pulse of light with a frequency offset of Δf4 is emitted (e.g., pulse 400 d)).
Regarding claim 9, Smith teaches a method of ranging and speed measurement for a frequency-modulated continuous-wave laser radar ([0096] Alternatively, a lidar system 100 may be configured to operate as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system; [0093] The autonomous-vehicle driving system may analyze the received point clouds to sense or identify targets 130 and their respective locations, distances, or speeds, and the autonomous-vehicle driving system may update control signals based on this information), comprising:
providing an input laser signal in a first polarization state composed of a first laser signal, a second laser signal, a third laser signal and a fourth laser signal with different frequencies ([0349] The light source 110 emits LO light 430 having a substantially constant optical frequency of f0 and pulses of light 400 having four different optical frequencies (f1,f2,f3,f4) and four different frequency offsets (Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, Δf4). The output beam 125 includes four emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d, which are produced by optical amplification of the four respective seed-light temporal portions 441 a, 441 b, 441 c, and 441 d. Each of the emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d has a respective frequency offset of Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, and Δf4 with respect to the LO light 430),
wherein the first laser signal has a fixed frequency, the second laser signal is subjected by frequency modulation ([0096] Alternatively, a lidar system 100 may be configured to operate as a frequency-modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) lidar system; [0262] While a light source 110 may emit pulses of light 400 having different frequency offsets, the optical frequency of each emitted pulse of light may have a particular frequency offset that is substantially fixed or constant with time; [0349] Frequency-detection channel 368-1 includes an adjustable-frequency electronic LO 616-1 that produces an electronic LO signal 366-1 at two oscillator frequencies FLOb and FLOd. The frequency of the electronic LO signal 366-1 is switched between the two oscillator frequencies FLOb and FLOd at times that are synchronized with the emission of pulses of light 400 a and 400 b.), ;
the third laser signal and the fourth laser signal are generated based on the first laser signal and the second laser signal, both a frequency of the third laser signal and a frequency of the fourth laser signal have a corresponding relationship with a frequency of the first laser signal and a frequency of the second laser signal respectively ([0349] The output beam 125 includes four emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d, which are produced by optical amplification of the four respective seed-light temporal portions 441 a, 441 b, 441 c, and 441 d. Each of the emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d has a respective frequency offset of Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, and Δf4 with respect to the LO light 430...At or around the time when a pulse of light with a frequency offset of Δf2 is emitted (e.g., pulse 400 b), the electronic LO signal 366-2 may be switched to oscillator frequency FLOa, and at or around the time when a pulse of light with a frequency offset of Δf4 is emitted (e.g., pulse 400 d)),
an optical power of the first laser signal is further different from an optical power of the second laser signal ([0169] The seed light produced by the multiple seed laser diodes may be combined and sent to an optical amplifier, or the seed light produced by each seed laser diode may be separately amplified by a corresponding optical amplifier.)
dividing the input laser signal into a detection signal and a local oscillation signal, sending out the detection signal ([0112] FIG. 6 illustrates an example lidar system 100 with a light source 110 that emits pulses of light 400 and local-oscillator (LO) light 430), and
receiving an echo signal of a reflected signal component in a second polarization state orthogonal to a first polarization state in the reflected signal of the target object ([Fig. 32]; [0249] FIG. 32 illustrates an example receiver 140 that includes two polarization beam-splitters 710. In particular embodiments, a receiver 140 may include an LO-light polarization splitter 710 that splits LO light 430 into two orthogonal polarization components (e.g., horizontal and vertical)),
then converting the echo signal in the second polarization state into the echo signal in the first polarization state, followed by performing a frequency mixing with the local oscillation signal to generate a beat frequency signal ([0253] a lidar system 100 may include (i) a polarization-insensitive receiver 140 (e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 32 ) or (ii) an optical polarization element (e.g., polarization element 335 in FIG. 33 ) to ensure that at least a portion of the LO light 430 and input beam 135 have the same polarization.);
performing decoupling according to the beat frequency signal to obtain both distance information and instantaneous speed information of the target object ([0096] An FMCW lidar system may use frequency-modulated light to determine the distance to a remote target 130; [0364] The radial speed Sr refers to the component of the relative velocity of the target 130 along a line connecting the lidar system 100 and the target 130.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Liu et al (United States Patent Application Publication 20250283980 A1), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 3, Smith teaches the system according to claim 2, further comprising: a trans-impedance amplification module ([0120] The amplifier 350 may include a transimpedance amplifier),
the light splitting unit is configured to divide the input laser signal being coupled to the silicon optical chip into the detection signal and the local oscillation signal, then input respectively to the polarization separation unit and the optical frequency mixing unit, while ensuing a beam splitting ratio of the detection signal larger than that of the local oscillation signal ([0160] the splitter 470 may reflect 10% or less of the incident seed-laser output light 472 to produce the LO light 430, and the remaining 90% or more of the output light 472 may be transmitted through the splitter 470 to produce the seed light 440.),
the transceiving antenna unit is configured to send the detection signal coming from the polarization separation unit out to a free space, and receive the echo signal reflected from the target object ([0062] Once the output beam 125 reaches the downrange target 130, the target may scatter or reflect at least a portion of light from the output beam 125, and some of the scattered or reflected light may return toward the lidar system 100.),
Smith fails to teach the system wherein the silicon optical chip comprises a light splitting unit, a transceiving antenna unit, a polarization separation unit, a polarization rotation unit, an optical frequency mixing unit, and a photoelectric detection unit, the polarization separation unit is configured to separate the detection signal and the echo signal, the polarization rotation unit is configured to convert the echo signal in the second polarization state coming from the polarization separation unit into the echo signal in the first polarization state, so that both the echo signal and the local oscillation signal have same of the first polarization state, the optical mixing unit is configured to mix the echo signal coming from the polarization rotation unit with the local oscillation signal, input four of the beat frequency signals being generated to the photoelectric detection unit to further obtain a beat frequency current signal, and the trans-impedance amplification module is configured to further convert the beat frequency current signal having been input into a beat frequency voltage signal having been amplified, and input into the signal processing module for decoupling, so as to obtain the distance information and the instantaneous speed information of the target object.
However, Liu teaches the system wherein the silicon optical chip comprises a light splitting unit, a transceiving antenna unit, a polarization separation unit, a polarization rotation unit, an optical frequency mixing unit, and a photoelectric detection unit ([0404] the combined signal light is input into a first-stage SOA for amplification, and amplified signal light is beam-split into a plurality of channels (for example, four channels); [0405] The detection signal light of the four channels separately enters a second-stage SOA for amplification, and amplified detection signal light is output after sequentially passing through a PBSR, an edge coupler, and the like, and then is emitted to space after passing through a lens (optional, not shown in the figure) and a QWP... The two pieces of sub return signal light separately enter a corresponding frequency mixer, are frequency-mixed with corresponding sub local oscillation light, and are output to a detector (for example, a PD) for detection),
the polarization separation unit is configured to separate the detection signal and the echo signal, the polarization rotation unit is configured to convert the echo signal in the second polarization state coming from the polarization separation unit into the echo signal in the first polarization state, so that both the echo signal and the local oscillation signal have same of the first polarization state ([0339] a polarization state of detection signal light is a TE polarization state. The detection signal light enters the PSGC through the port 1 and is emitted outwards. After passing through a lens (not shown in the figure) and a QWP (not shown in the figure), the detection signal light is reflected by a target and forms an echo, and the echo passes through the QWP and the lens again and arrives at a PBSG. In this case, a polarization state of return signal light is changed to a TM polarization state after passing through the QWP.),
the optical mixing unit is configured to mix the echo signal coming from the polarization rotation unit with the local oscillation signal, input four of the beat frequency signals being generated to the photoelectric detection unit to further obtain a beat frequency current signal ([0443] The sub return signal light on which beam splitting is performed is separately transmitted to two frequency mixing units, to be frequency-mixed with respective corresponding local oscillation signal light.), and
the trans-impedance amplification module is configured to further convert the beat frequency current signal having been input into a beat frequency voltage signal having been amplified, and input into the signal processing module for decoupling, so as to obtain the distance information and the instantaneous speed information of the target object ([0339] For example, the detector may obtain a beat frequency signal based on an output result of the frequency mixer, and resolve a speed and distance information.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Smith to comprise the polarization and mixing unit similar to Liu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of maximizing signal detection and decoding speed and distance information from the returned signal.
Regarding claim 6, Smith teaches the system according to claim 2, wherein the light source module comprises a first laser and a second laser ([0349] The light source 110 emits LO light 430 having a substantially constant optical frequency of f0 and pulses of light 400 having four different optical frequencies (f1,f2,f3,f4) and four different frequency offsets (Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, Δf4). The output beam 125 includes four emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d, which are produced by optical amplification of the four respective seed-light temporal portions 441 a, 441 b, 441 c, and 441 d. Each of the emitted pulses of light 400 a, 400 b, 400 c, and 400 d has a respective frequency offset of Δf1, Δf2, Δf3, and Δf4 with respect to the LO light 430),
the first laser is configured to generate a first initial laser signal with the first initial frequency in the first polarization state, so as to form the first laser signal with a first frequency having a same fixed frequency as the first initial laser signal ([0169] A fixed-frequency laser diode may include any suitable laser diode configured to operate at one particular optical frequency without switching to different frequencies during operation.),
the second laser is configured to generate a second initial laser signal with a second initial frequency in the first polarization state, and performing a linear sawtooth wave frequency modulation onto the second initial laser signal to form a second laser signal with a second frequency having a modulated frequency different from the second initial laser signal ([0188] Other voltage signals (e.g., linear voltage ramp, square wave, sawtooth wave, or triangle wave) applied to the electrode 496 may result in other frequency changes. For example, a linear voltage ramp may produce a shift of Δf in the frequency of the seed light 440 to an optical frequency f0+Δf or f0−Δf),
the optical amplification module comprises an optical fiber amplifier, configured to amplify the first laser signal coming from the first laser and the second laser signal coming from the second laser, before inputting into the non-linear medium module at a same time ([0068] In particular embodiments, an optical amplifier may include a fiber-optic amplifier or a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA); [0174] The pump-laser light from a pump laser 510 may be coupled into gain fiber 501 via a pump wavelength-division multiplexer (WDM) 520. A pump WDM 520 may be used to combine or separate pump light and the pulses of light 400 i that are amplified by the gain fiber 501.),
Smith fails to teach the non-linear medium module comprises a non-linear optical fiber, the non-linear optical fiber is coupled to the silicon optical chip through an edge coupler or a lens, so as to couple the input laser signal to the silicon optical chip.
However, Liu teaches the non-linear medium module comprises a non-linear optical fiber, the non-linear optical fiber is coupled to the silicon optical chip through an edge coupler or a lens, so as to couple the input laser signal to the silicon optical chip ([0405] passing through a PBSR, an edge coupler, and the like, and then is emitted to space after passing through a lens (optional, not shown in the figure) and a QWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Smith to comprise the non-linear medium module similar to Liu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating highly specific laser frequencies of the lasers.
Regarding claim 7, Smith, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein
the light splitting unit comprises an optical splitter ([0072] As an example, lidar system 100 may include one or more...optical splitters,),
the transceiver antenna unit comprises a transceiver antenna and a collimating lens, the transceiver antenna comprises a grating antenna or an optical waveguide based end-fire antenna, or the transceiver antenna unit comprises an optical phased array ([0072] As an example, lidar system 100 may include one or more lenses, mirrors, optical filters (e.g., band-pass or interference filters), beam-splitters, optical splitters, polarizers, polarizing beam-splitters, wave plates (e.g., half-wave or quarter-wave plates), diffractive elements, holographic elements, isolators, couplers, detectors, beam combiners, or collimators; [0080] For example, a solid-state scanner 120 may include one or more of the following: an optical phased array scanning device),
the optical mixing unit comprises an optical mixer ([0304] a first stage of optical mixing followed by a second stage of electronic mixing),
the photoelectric detection unit comprises a balanced photoelectric detector ([0081] A receiver 140 may include or may be referred to as a photoreceiver, optical receiver, optical sensor, detector, photodetector, or optical detector. In particular embodiments, lidar system 100 may include a receiver 140 that receives or detects at least a portion of input beam 135 and produces an electrical signal that corresponds to input beam 135.); and
the trans-impedance amplification module comprises a trans-impedance amplifier ([0120] The amplifier 350 may include a transimpedance amplifier).
Smith fails to teach the polarization separation unit comprises a polarization separator, wherein the polarization rotation unit comprises a polarization rotator,
However, Liu teaches the polarization separation unit comprises a polarization separator, wherein the polarization rotation unit comprises a polarization rotator ([0404] the combined signal light is input into a first-stage SOA for amplification, and amplified signal light is beam-split into a plurality of channels (for example, four channels); [0405] The detection signal light of the four channels separately enters a second-stage SOA for amplification, and amplified detection signal light is output after sequentially passing through a PBSR, an edge coupler, and the like, and then is emitted to space after passing through a lens (optional, not shown in the figure) and a QWP... The two pieces of sub return signal light separately enter a corresponding frequency mixer, are frequency-mixed with corresponding sub local oscillation light, and are output to a detector (for example, a PD) for detection),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Smith to comprise the polarization separator and polarization rotator similar to Liu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of splitting the laser into the desired two beams for emission and reference.
Regarding claim 8, Smith, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein a difference between the optical power of the second laser signal and the optical power of the first laser signal is greater than 3 dB ([0066] As an example, output beam 125 may have an average power of approximately 1 milliwatt (mW), 10 mW, 100 mW, 1 watt (W), 10 W, or any other suitable average power.), and/or,
the input laser signal is divided into the detection signal and the local oscillation signal according to a beam splitting ratio of 90:10 ([0160] The optical splitter 470 in FIG. 10 is a free-space optical splitter that receives the seed-laser output light 472 as a free-space optical beam and produces two free-space beams: seed light 440 and LO light 430...For example, the splitter 470 may reflect 10% or less of the incident seed-laser output light 472 to produce the LO light 430, and the remaining 90% or more of the output light 472 may be transmitted through the splitter 470 to produce the seed light 440.), and/or
a difference between the second initial frequency and the first initial frequency is greater than 10 GHz, and/or, the first polarization state comprises a TE polarization state, while the second polarization state comprises a TM polarization state ([0204] and each emitted pulse of light 400 may have a frequency offset of approximately −10 GHz with respect to the LO light).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Liu, further in view of Shah et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 20230111486 A1), hereinafter Shah.
Regarding claim 4, Smith, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein the signal processing module generates correspondingly a spectrum signal containing at most four signal peaks according to the beat frequency voltage signal,
Smith fails to teach the system wherein the module analyzes and determines a correspondence between an amount of the signal peaks and a signal intensity of each of the signal peaks, so as to realize decoupling the distance and the speed of the target object in any cases.
However, Liu teaches the system design so as to realize decoupling the distance and the speed of the target object in any cases ([0399] so as to realize decoupling the distance and the speed of the target object in any cases.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Smith to comprise the speed and distance determination similar to Liu, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a doppler prioritized method of Lidar to simultaneously determine the distance and speed to an object consistent with the previously addressed design.
Smith, as modified by Liu, fails to teach the system wherein the module analyzes and determines a correspondence between an amount of the signal peaks and a signal intensity of each of the signal peaks.
However, Shah teaches the system wherein the module analyzes and determines a correspondence between an amount of the signal peaks and a signal intensity of each of the signal peaks ([0176] The output signal 145 b produced by the frequency-detection circuit 600 in FIG. 19 in response to the voltage signal 360 in FIG. 20 may include the amplitude values A2, A1, A2, and A2 (which corresponds to the amplitudes of the respective frequencies fa, fb, fc, and fM).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Smith to comprise the peak and intensity analysis similar to Shah, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of generating clear coherent signals with multiple laser sweeps to further the goal of accurately determining the speed and distance of an object.
Regarding claim 5, Smith, as modified, teaches the system according to claim 4, wherein when an amount of the signal peaks is two, the signal processing module determines that the target object is in a static state ([0224] The optical frequencies f1 and F1 of the emitted and received pulses of light may be approximately equal, or the two optical frequencies may differ based on a Doppler frequency shift of the received pulse of light 410; [0226] For example, the frequency offset Δf and the frequency component ΔF may be approximately equal or may differ based on a Doppler frequency shift of the received pulse of light 410.), and
when the amount of the signal peaks is four, the signal processing module determines that the target object is in a motion state ([0349] The light source 110 emits LO light 430 having a substantially constant optical frequency of f0 and pulses of light 400 having four different optical frequencies (f1,f2,f3,f4); [0364] When an emitted pulse of light 400 is scattered from a target 130 that is moving with respect to the lidar system 100, the resulting scattered pulse of light 410 has its frequency shifted due to the Doppler effect), and
further determines if the target object is moving closer or moving away, according to a correspondence between the signal intensities of the signal peaks; thus, according to a corresponding relationship between the frequency of each signal peak and the beat frequency signal when the target object is in a different state, a relationship between a Doppler frequency shift of the target object and a time of flight used for implementing distance measurement and speed measurement is obtained, so as to calculate the distance and the speed of the target object in any case ([0364] A positive value for the radial speed Sr corresponds to the lidar system 100 and target 130 moving toward each other and results in a positive value for the Doppler frequency shift FD. In this case, the frequency of the received pulse of light 410 is upshifted by FD with respect to the emitted pulse of light 400. Similarly, a negative value for the radial speed Sr corresponds to the lidar system 100 and target 130 moving away from each other and results in a negative value for the Doppler frequency shift FD. In this case, the frequency of the received pulse of light 410 is downshifted by |FD|.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 would be allowable for disclosing a method wherein the first laser signal of a first frequency f1′ having a same fixed frequency as a first initial laser signal is formed by generating the first initial laser signal in the first polarization state having a first initial frequency f1, and satisfying f1′=f1, the second laser signal of a second frequency f2′ having a different modulated frequency according to a second initial laser signal is formed by generating the second initial laser signal in the first polarization state having a second initial frequency f2, and by performing a frequency linear sawtooth modulation on the second initial laser signal, and satisfying: f2′=f2+ετ, ε is a frequency modulation slope, t is time; by amplifying both the first laser signal and the second laser signal before inputting into a nonlinear optical fiber synchronously, and ensuring an optical power of the first laser signal having been amplified less than that of the second laser signal having been amplified, the first laser signal and the second laser signal interact in the non-linear optical fiber, and generate a third laser signal having a third frequency f3′ and a fourth laser signal having a fourth frequency f4′ based on a four-wave mixing effect, so as to form the input laser signal, wherein the third frequency has a first correspondence with the first frequency and the second frequency, satisfying: f3′=2f1′−f2′=2f1−f2−ετ, while the fourth frequency has a second correspondence with the first frequency and the second frequency, satisfying: f4′=2f2′−f1′=2f2−f1+2ετ, when dividing the input laser signal into the detection signal and the local oscillation signal, a beam splitting ratio of the detection signal is greater than a beam splitting ratio of the local oscillation signal.
Smith teaches the first laser signal of a first frequency f1′ having a same fixed frequency as a first initial laser signal is formed by generating the first initial laser signal in the first polarization state having a first initial frequency f1, and satisfying f1′=f1 ([0071] In particular embodiments, an output beam of light 125 emitted by light source 110 may be unpolarized or randomly polarized, may have no specific or fixed polarization (e.g., the polarization may vary with time), or may have a particular polarization (e.g., output beam 125 may be linearly polarized, elliptically polarized, or circularly polarized).; [0262] While a light source 110 may emit pulses of light 400 having different frequency offsets, the optical frequency of each emitted pulse of light may have a particular frequency offset that is substantially fixed or constant with time;),
the second laser signal of a second frequency f2′ having a different modulated frequency according to a second initial laser signal is formed by generating the second initial laser signal in the first polarization state having a second initial frequency f2, and by performing a frequency linear sawtooth modulation on the second initial laser signal ([0349] Frequency-detection channel 368-1 includes an adjustable-frequency electronic LO 616-1 that produces an electronic LO signal 366-1 at two oscillator frequencies FLOb and FLOd. The frequency of the electronic LO signal 366-1 is switched between the two oscillator frequencies FLOb and FLOd at times that are synchronized with the emission of pulses of light 400 a and 400 b.), and
when dividing the input laser signal into the detection signal and the local oscillation signal, a beam splitting ratio of the detection signal is greater than a beam splitting ratio of the local oscillation signal ([0066] As an example, output beam 125 may have an average power of approximately 1 milliwatt (mW), 10 mW, 100 mW, 1 watt (W), 10 W, or any other suitable average power.).
However, Smith fails to teach satisfying: f2′=f2+ετ, ε is a frequency modulation slope, t is time; by amplifying both the first laser signal and the second laser signal before inputting into a nonlinear optical fiber synchronously, and ensuring an optical power of the first laser signal having been amplified less than that of the second laser signal having been amplified, the first laser signal and the second laser signal interact in the non-linear optical fiber, and generate a third laser signal having a third frequency f3′ and a fourth laser signal having a fourth frequency f4′ based on a four-wave mixing effect, so as to form the input laser signal, wherein the third frequency has a first correspondence with the first frequency and the second frequency, satisfying: f3′=2f1′−f2′=2f1−f2−ετ, while the fourth frequency has a second correspondence with the first frequency and the second frequency, satisfying: f4′=2f2′−f1′=2f2−f1+2ετ,
Therefore, the method as described by claim 10 is considered to be allowable.
Claim 11 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 10.
Claim 12 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 11.
Claim 13 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 12.
Claim 14 would be allowable because it is dependent on claim 13.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645