DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/25/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 and 05/23/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 13 and 14 recite “three clamping diodes” and “further clamping diodes” this should be change to “three secondary clamping diodes” and “further secondary clamping diodes”. Claim 15 recites “is detected” this should be “detected”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu CN 210431240.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) a three phase resonant DC-DC converter (Fig. 1) for converting a first DC voltage to a second DC voltage (input to output voltage), wherein the converter comprises: a transformer (Tr) device comprising three primary windings and three secondary windings (Tr1-Tr3), each primary winding (Tr1-1 to Tr3-1) comprising a first primary terminal and a second primary terminal and each secondary winding (tr1-2 tr3-2) comprising a first secondary terminal and a second secondary terminal; a switching circuit (101) having a first side comprising a first positive terminal (I1) and a first negative terminal (l2) forming first terminals of the converter, and a second side comprising a first SC node, a second SC node and a third SC node (J1-J3) connected to the primary windings of the transformer device respectively; a rectifying circuit (d1-d6) having a first side comprising RC nodes to the secondary windings (nodes between diodes d1-d6) of the transformer device respectively and a second side comprising a second positive terminal and a second negative terminal (o1 and o2) forming second terminals of the converter; a resonant tank device (L1-L3 and Cr1-Cr3) comprising a primary side resonant tank device connected between the first SC node, the second SC node and the third SC node of the switching circuit (J1-J3) and the primary terminals of the three primary windings of the transformer device (at Tr1-1 to Tr3-1); a secondary capacitor (c2) connected between the second positive terminal and the second negative terminal; a control circuit (controlling the 101 switches) for controlling the switching circuit; wherein the first DC voltage is defined as the voltage (at Vin) between the first positive terminal and the first negative terminal; wherein the second DC voltage (Vout) is defined as the voltage between the second positive terminal and the second negative terminal; wherein: the primary side resonant tank device comprises a first resonant inductor (L1) connected between the first SC node of the switching circuit and the first primary terminal of the first primary winding (see fig. 1), a second resonant inductor (L2) connected between the second SC node of the switching circuit and the first primary terminal of the second primary winding (see fig. 1), and a third resonant inductor (L3) connected between the third SC node of the switching circuit and the first primary terminal of the third primary winding (See fig. 1); the primary side resonant tank device comprises a first resonant capacitor (Cr1) connected between a resonant tank node and the second primary terminal of the first primary winding (see fig. 1), a second resonant capacitor (cr2) connected between the resonant tank node and the second primary terminal of the second primary winding (see fig. 1), and a third resonant capacitor (cr3) connected between the resonant tank node and the second primary terminal of the third primary winding (see fig. 1); the converter comprises three clamping diodes (d7,d9 and d11) between each of the second primary terminals of the primary windings and the first positive terminal (see fig. 1); the converter comprises three further clamping diodes (d8, d10 and d12) between the first negative terminal and each of the second primary terminals of the primary windings (see fig. 1). (For example: See par. 1-13 of the description)
Regarding Claim 2, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the three clamping diodes (d7,d9 and d11) between each of the second primary terminals of the primary windings and the first positive converter terminal (see fig. 1) comprise: a first clamping diode (d7) connected with its anode to the second primary terminal of the first primary winding and with its cathode connected to the first positive converter terminal; a second clamping diode (d11) connected with its anode to the second primary terminal of the second primary winding and with its cathode connected to the first positive converter terminal; a third clamping diode (d11) connected with its anode to the second primary terminal of the third primary winding and with its cathode connected to the first positive converter terminal; and wherein the three further clamping diodes (d8, d10 and d12) between the first negative converter terminal and each of the second primary terminals of the primary windings (see fig. 1) comprise: a fourth diode (d8) connected with its anode to the first negative converter terminal and with its cathode connected to the second primary terminal of the first primary winding; a fifth diode (d10) connected with its anode to the first negative converter terminal and with its cathode connected to the second primary terminal of the second primary winding; a sixth diode (d12) connected with its anode to the first negative converter terminal and with its cathode connected to the second primary terminal of the third primary winding. (For example: See par. 1-13 of the description)
Regarding Claim 4, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the transformer device (Tr) comprises: a first transformer core (of Tr1) onto which the first primary winding and the first secondary winding are wound; a second transformer core (of Tr2) onto which the second primary winding and the second secondary winding are wound; a third transformer core (Tr3) onto which the third primary winding and the third secondary winding are wound (see fig. 1). (For example: See par. 1-13 of the description)
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the switching circuit (101) comprises: a first switch (q5) connected with its source terminal connected to the first SC node and with its drain terminal connected to the first positive converter terminal (see fig. 1); a second switch (q6) connected with its source terminal connected to the first negative converter terminal and with its drain terminal connected to the first SC node (see fig. 1); a third switch (q3) connected with its source terminal connected to the second SC node and with its drain terminal connected to the first positive converter terminal (see fig. 1); a fourth switch (q4) connected with its source terminal connected to the first negative converter terminal and with its drain terminal connected to the second SC node (see fig. 1); a fifth switch (q1) connected with its source terminal connected to the third SC node and with its drain terminal connected to the first positive converter terminal (see fig. 1); a sixth switch (q2) connected with its source terminal connected to the first negative converter terminal and with its drain terminal connected to the third SC node (see fig. 1). (For example: See par. 1-13 of the description)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Liu US 2011/0007527 (herein Liu2).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the three phase resonant DC-DC converter.
Liu does not teach wherein the converter comprises a capacitor circuit connected between the resonant tank node and the first negative terminal.
Liu2 teaches (Figure 12) wherein the converter comprises a capacitor circuit (Cr1b) connected between the resonant tank node (at Cr1-Cr3 common node) and the first negative terminal (- terminal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein the converter comprises a capacitor circuit connected between the resonant tank node and the first negative terminal, as taught by Liu2 to avoided that the power loss of the power conversion circuit is increased and the operating efficiency thereof is reduced.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Jang US 2006/0186981.
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the first transformer core, the second transformer core and the third transformer core (of Tr1-Tr3).
Liu does not teach the transformer cores are electromagnetically independent from each other.
Jang teaches the transformers core are electromagnetically independent from each other (Claim 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include the transformers core are electromagnetically independent from each other, as taught by Jang to cause the two winding not to be magnetically independent of each other.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Huber 2025/0132686.
Regarding Claim 7, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) The three phase resonant DC-DC.
Liu does not teach wherein the rectifier circuit comprises: a first switch connected between the first RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a second switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the first RC node; a third switch connected between the second RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a fourth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the second RC node; a fifth switch connected between the third RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a sixth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the third RC node; a seventh switch connected between the fourth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; an eight switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the fourth RC node; a ninth switch connected between the fifth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a tenth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the fifth RC node; an eleventh switch connected between the sixth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a twelfth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the sixth RC node.
Huber teaches (Figure 20) wherein the rectifier circuit (110) comprises: a first switch (sa1) connected between the first RC node (a1) and the second positive converter terminal (+); a second switch (s’a1) connected between the second negative converter terminal (-) and the first RC node (a1); a third switch (sa2) connected between the second RC node (a2) and the second positive converter terminal (+); a fourth switch (s’a2) connected between the second negative converter terminal (-) and the second RC node (a2); a fifth switch (sb1) connected between the third RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a sixth switch (s’b1) connected between the second negative converter terminal and the third RC node; a seventh switch (sb2) connected between the fourth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; an eight switch (s’b2) connected between the second negative converter terminal and the fourth RC node; a ninth switch (sc1) connected between the fifth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a tenth switch (s’c1) connected between the second negative converter terminal and the fifth RC node; an eleventh switch (sc2) connected between the sixth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a twelfth switch (s’c2) connected between the second negative converter terminal and the sixth RC node (see fig. 20). (For Example: Par. 79-80)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein the rectifier circuit comprises: a first switch connected between the first RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a second switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the first RC node; a third switch connected between the second RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a fourth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the second RC node; a fifth switch connected between the third RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a sixth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the third RC node; a seventh switch connected between the fourth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; an eight switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the fourth RC node; a ninth switch connected between the fifth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a tenth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the fifth RC node; an eleventh switch connected between the sixth RC node and the second positive converter terminal; a twelfth switch connected between the second negative converter terminal and the sixth RC node, as taught by Huber to enable further degrees of freedom for the operation of the rectifier.
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the converter.
Liu does not teach wherein: the first RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding, the second RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding, the third RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding, the fourth RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding, the fifth RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding, the sixth RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding.
Huber teaches (Figure 20) wherein: the first RC node (a1) of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding (108), the second RC node (a2) of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding (108), the third RC node (b1) of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding (108), the fourth RC node (b2) of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding (108), the fifth RC node (c1) of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding (108), the sixth RC node (c2) of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding (108). (For example: 79-80)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein: the first RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding, the second RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding, the third RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding, the fourth RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding, the fifth RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding, the sixth RC node of the rectifier circuit is connected directly to the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding, as taught by Huber to enable further degrees of freedom for the operation of the rectifier.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gadelrab US 20230122794.
Regarding Claims 9-11, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the converter.
Liu does not teach wherein the resonant tank device further comprises a secondary side resonant tank device on the secondary side of the transformer device; wherein the secondary side resonant tank device comprises a fourth resonant capacitor, a fifth resonant capacitor and a sixth resonant capacitor, and further comprises a fourth resonant inductor, a fifth resonant inductor and a sixth resonant inductor; wherein: the fourth resonant capacitor and the fourth resonant inductor are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and the first RC node of the rectifier circuit; the fifth resonant capacitor and the fifth resonant inductor are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and the third RC node of the rectifier circuit; the sixth resonant capacitor and the sixth resonant inductor are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and the fifth RC node of the rectifier circuit.
Gadelrab teaches (Figures 1 and 7) wherein the resonant tank device further comprises a secondary side resonant tank device (at Trs) on the secondary side of the transformer device (at 703a); wherein the secondary side resonant tank device comprises a fourth resonant capacitor, a fifth resonant capacitor and a sixth resonant capacitor, and further comprises a fourth resonant inductor, a fifth resonant inductor and a sixth resonant inductor (Cr1-Cr3 and Lr1-Lr3); wherein: the fourth resonant capacitor and the fourth resonant inductor are connected in series (cr1 and lr1) between the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding (trs1) and the first RC node of the rectifier circuit (see fig. 1); the fifth resonant capacitor and the fifth resonant inductor are connected in series (Lr2-cr2) between the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding (trs2) and the third RC node of the rectifier circuit (see fig. 1); the sixth resonant capacitor and the sixth resonant inductor (lr3-cr3) are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding (trs3) and the fifth RC node of the rectifier circuit (see fig. 1). (For example: par. 16-22 and 58-61)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein the resonant tank device further comprises a secondary side resonant tank device on the secondary side of the transformer device; wherein the secondary side resonant tank device comprises a fourth resonant capacitor, a fifth resonant capacitor and a sixth resonant capacitor, and further comprises a fourth resonant inductor, a fifth resonant inductor and a sixth resonant inductor; wherein: the fourth resonant capacitor and the fourth resonant inductor are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and the first RC node of the rectifier circuit; the fifth resonant capacitor and the fifth resonant inductor are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and the third RC node of the rectifier circuit; the sixth resonant capacitor and the sixth resonant inductor are connected in series between the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and the fifth RC node of the rectifier circuit, as taught by Gadelrab to reduce the RMS currents and hence minimize the winding loss.
Regarding Claim 12, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the converter.
Liu does not teach wherein: the fourth resonant inductor is connected between the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and the first RC node of the rectifier circuit; the fourth resonant capacitor is connected between the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and a second resonant tank node; the fifth resonant inductor is connected between the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and the second RC node of the rectifier circuit; the fifth resonant capacitor is connected between the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and the second resonant tank node; the sixth resonant inductor is connected between the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and the third RC node of the rectifier circuit; the sixth resonant capacitor is connected between the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and the second resonant tank node.
Gadelrab teaches (Figures 1 and 7) wherein: the fourth resonant inductor (Lr1, see 703b) is connected between the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding (Trs1) and the first RC node of the rectifier circuit (see fig. 1); the fourth resonant capacitor (cr1) is connected between the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding (trs1) and a second resonant tank node (delta connection node); the fifth resonant inductor (Lr2, see 703b) is connected between the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding (trs2) and the second RC node of the rectifier circuit (see fig. 1); the fifth resonant capacitor (cr2) is connected between the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding (trs2) and the second resonant tank node (delta connection node); the sixth resonant inductor (lr2) is connected between the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding (trs2) and the third RC node of the rectifier circuit (see fig. 1); the sixth resonant capacitor (cr3) is connected between the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding (trs3) and the second resonant tank node (delta connection node). (For example: par. 16-22 and 58-61)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein: the fourth resonant inductor is connected between the first secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and the first RC node of the rectifier circuit; the fourth resonant capacitor is connected between the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and a second resonant tank node; the fifth resonant inductor is connected between the first secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and the second RC node of the rectifier circuit; the fifth resonant capacitor is connected between the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and the second resonant tank node; the sixth resonant inductor is connected between the first secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and the third RC node of the rectifier circuit; the sixth resonant capacitor is connected between the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and the second resonant tank node, as taught by Gadelrab to reduce the RMS currents and hence minimize the winding loss.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Gadelrab US 20230122794 and further in view of Liu US 20230130296 (herein Liu3).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the converter.
Liu does not teach wherein the converter comprises three clamping diodes between each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings and the second positive terminal; and three further clamping diodes between the second negative terminal and each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings.
Liu3 teaches (Figures 4-5) wherein the converter comprises three clamping diodes (at 313-314) between each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings (at 210) and the second positive terminal (400); and three further clamping diodes (at 315 and 323) between the second negative terminal (500) and each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings (at 210). (For example: See par. 41-52)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein the converter comprises three clamping diodes between each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings and the second positive terminal; and three further clamping diodes between the second negative terminal and each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings, as taught by Liu3 to provide a constant power output in a wide voltage range.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Yang (Topology Investigation for front end dc/dc power conversion for distributed power system).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu teaches (Figures 1-4) the converter.
Liu does not teach wherein the control circuit is configured to increase a current flowing out from the second positive terminal for a period of time in response to a short circuit situation is detected by the control circuit.
Yang teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to increase a current flowing out from the second positive terminal for a period of time in response to a short circuit situation is detected by the control circuit. (see section 5.2.2 and Figure 5.32)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Liu to include wherein the control circuit is configured to increase a current flowing out from the second positive terminal for a period of time in response to a short circuit situation is detected by the control circuit., as taught by Yang to provide protection to the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claim 14; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…a seventh clamping diode connected with its anode to the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding and with its cathode connected to the second positive converter terminal; an eight clamping diode connected with its anode to the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding and with its cathode connected to the second positive converter terminal; a ninth clamping diode connected with its anode to the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding and with its cathode connected to the second positive converter terminal; and wherein the three further clamping diodes between the second negative converter terminal and each of the second secondary terminals of the secondary windings comprise: a tenth diode connected with its anode to the second negative converter terminal and with its cathode connected to the second secondary terminal of the first secondary winding; an eleventh diode connected with its anode to the second negative converter terminal and with its cathode connected to the second secondary terminal of the second secondary winding; a twelfth diode connected with its anode to the second negative converter terminal and with its cathode connected to the second secondary terminal of the third secondary winding.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838