DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on 10/25/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 21-31 and 33-34 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 and 32 have been canceled.
Claims 35-40 have been newly added.
Claims 21-31 and 33-40 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of U.S. Patent Application Serial No. 17/769,566 filed on April 15, 2022, which is the U.S. national phase of PCT Application No. PCT/AU2020/05 1118 filed on October 16, 2020, which claims priority to Australian Patent Application No. AU 2019903922 filed on October 17, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Determinator is operable/adaptor to in claims 21, 22
Determinator - Figure 7 - item 112, page 12, line 25
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 7 and 9, the claim states "...the tipping moment...", however the applicant disclosed in line 7 "a current tipping moment...” The examiner interprets that the applicant is referring to the previously disclosed current tipping moment. Appropriate correction is required (i.e., "the current tipping moment").
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 9 and 11, the claim states "...the tipping moment...", however the applicant disclosed in line 9 "a current tipping moment...” The examiner interprets that the applicant is referring to the previously disclosed current tipping moment. Appropriate correction is required (i.e., "the current tipping moment").
Claim 33 recites “A pick and carry crane” and introduces a new embodiment; therefore, it is an independent claim. However, language such as “according to claim 21” is indicative of dependent-type claims in the new “a pick and carry crane” embodiment. Since claim 21 explicitly recites “A user display system” embodiment, it is considered a separate and distinct embodiment than the “A pick and carry crane”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites “A pick and carry crane” and introduces a new embodiment; therefore, it is an independent claim. However, language such as “according to claim 22” is indicative of dependent-type claims in the new “a pick and carry crane” embodiment. Since claim 22 explicitly recites “A system” embodiment, it is considered a separate and distinct embodiment than the “A pick and carry crane”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the "same invention" type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that "whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process ... may obtain a patent therefor ..." (Emphasis added). Thus, the term "same invention," in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957); and In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the conflicting claims so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 21-31 and 33-40 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory non-obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of Atherden, U.S. Patent 12,221,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distant from each other because they are drawn to obvious variations.
In view of the above, since the subject matters recited in the claims 21-31 and 33-40 of the instant application were fully disclosed in and covered by the claims 1-20 of US Patent 12,221,327, allowing the claims to result in an unjustified or improper timewise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24, 26-28, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhan (CN102259799B). As per claim 22, Zhan discloses a system for controlling an operation of a mobile crane, the system comprising: a user operable control, the user operable control generating a user input comprising a command to actuate an actuator for changing a configuration of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein operation prompt information is obtained after calculation based on the acquired operating data, which helps the operator accurately grasp the working conditions during the installation working conditions and make correct decisions operation); and a determinator (see at least paragraph 0017; wherein torque control device) adapted to determine a current tipping moment of the mobile crane, the tipping moment comprising a moment about a tipping line of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein a1.Collect the tipping moment and hoisting weight of the crawler crane during installation conditions); predict an effect of the user input on the tipping moment of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein the overturning moment is compared with the preset maximum stable moment, and the hoisting weight is compared with the preset maximum hoisting weight with preset data, and different prompt information is output according to the comparison results, including: b1.Calculate the ratio of the overturning moment to the preset maximum stable moment, which is called the first ratio, and calculate the ratio of the hoisting weight to the maximum preset hoisting weight, which is called the second ratio); and when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the tipping moment of the mobile crane past a predetermined amount, alter a response to the command of the user input (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 23, Zhan discloses wherein the predetermined amount is evaluated with respect to one or more of: one or more tipping lines of the mobile crane; a distance between a center of gravity of the mobile crane and the one or more tipping lines; and a load being carried by the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein the overturning moment is compared with the preset maximum stable moment, and the hoisting weight is compared with the preset maximum hoisting weight with preset data, and different prompt information is output according to the comparison results, including: b1.Calculate the ratio of the overturning moment to the preset maximum stable moment, which is called the first ratio, and calculate the ratio of the hoisting weight to the maximum preset hoisting weight, which is called the second ratio). As per claim 24, Zhan discloses wherein the response to the command of the user input is further altered when a rate of change of the configuration of the mobile crane exceeds a predetermined rate (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 26, Zhan discloses wherein the actuator actuated by the command of the user input corresponds to a function of the mobile crane, the function having a function speed and wherein the altered response to the command of the user input comprises reducing the function speed (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 27, Zhan discloses wherein the function of the command of the user input corresponds to one or more of the following: a speed of the mobile crane; a luff angle of a boom of the mobile crane; an extension of the boom of the mobile crane; an articulation of a front chassis of the mobile crane relative to a back chassis of the mobile crane; an activation of a winch of the mobile crane; a lateral articulation angle of the boom of the mobile crane; a pitch of a chassis of the mobile crane; and a roll of a chassis of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the sensor transmits the detected angle, wire rope tension, length and other signals to the central controller (CPU). The central controller dynamically calculates the main arm mast angle, hoisting weight, and tipping moment). As per claim 28, Zhan discloses further comprising one or more sensors for determining one or more of: a position, a velocity, and an acceleration of the load or the boom, (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein an angle position sensor 6, which is arranged on the main boom mast 5 of the crawler crane and is used to collect angle data of the main boom mast 5) and wherein the determinator alters a response to the command of the user input based on this determination (see at least paragraph 0050; wherein it can be seen that by collecting the operating data of the crawler crane installation conditions, calculating the real-time tipping moment, and judging the safety status of the crawler crane based on the comparison of the tipping moment and the maximum stable moment, and making correct operations, it can ensure The moment is safe when lifting heavy loads, and the mast can achieve a larger safe working range when the load is light). As per claim 30, Zhan discloses wherein the determinator is adapted to further alter a response to the command of the user input when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the tipping moment of the mobile crane past a further predetermined amount (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 34, Zhan discloses a pick and carry crane incorporating the system for controlling an operation of a mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0009; wherein a torque control method for installing a crawler crane) according to claim 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan (CN102259799B) in view of Bonnet et al. (USPGPub 2019/0033158). As per claim 25, Zhan does not explicitly mention wherein the configuration of the mobile crane comprises a location of a center of gravity of the mobile crane relative to one or more tipping lines of the mobile crane. However Bonnet does disclose: wherein the configuration of the mobile crane comprises a location of a center of gravity of the mobile crane relative to one or more tipping lines of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0044; wherein the righting moment is therefore determined using the weight of the pipelayer machine 10 and the horizontal distance between where the center of gravity of the pipelayer machine 10 is acting on the ground surface and the tipping fulcrum of the pipelayer machine 10 minus the weight of the boom 40 and the horizontal distance between the center of gravity of the boom 40 and the tipping fulcrum of the pipelayer machine 10). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bonnet with the teachings as in Zhan. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide stability of a vehicle having a load suspended from the vehicle, see Bonnet paragraph 0006.
Claims 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan (CN102259799B) in view of Cherney et al. (USPGPub 2020/0071908). As per claim 29, Zhan does not explicitly mention further comprising determining an acceleration of the boom and altering a response to the command of the user input based on this determination. However Cherney does disclose: further comprising determining an acceleration of the boom and altering a response to the command of the user input based on this determination (see at least paragraphs 0054-055; wherein acceleration logic 262 can generate control signals to control the acceleration of the movable elements (such as bucket 110 and/or boom 112) to avoid an unstable condition. For instance, if machine 100 would enter an unstable condition if the operator raised the bucket with a relatively high rate of acceleration, then acceleration control logic 262 can generate control signals that limit the rate at which actuators 180 can be controlled to accelerate bucket 110). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cherney with the teachings as in Zhan. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform stability control to reduce the likelihood that it enters an unstable condition, or to move it out of an unstable condition, see Cherney paragraph 0023. As per claim 31, Zhan does not explicitly mention wherein the determinator is further configured to predict characteristics of terrain which the mobile crane may traverse, wherein the user input comprises acceleration or deceleration, and wherein altering a response to the command of the user input comprises reducing, increasing, or preventing the acceleration or deceleration. However Cherney does disclose: wherein the determinator is further configured to predict characteristics of terrain which the mobile crane may traverse (see at least paragraph 0023; wherein machine 100 is traveling over sloped terrain. In that case, the center of gravity of machine 100 may be located in a position that renders it unstable, and in danger of tipping. Thus, in one example, the sensor signals output by sensors 124 can be used in controlling machine 100, automatically, to perform stability control to reduce the likelihood that it enters an unstable condition, or to move it out of an unstable condition), wherein the user input comprises acceleration or deceleration, and wherein altering a response to the command of the user input comprises reducing, increasing, or preventing the acceleration or deceleration (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein if the center of gravity indicates that machine 100 is in an unstable condition, then stability control system 164 can generate control signals to control propulsion system 170 to reduce the speed of machine 100 to inhibit machine 100 from entering an unstable condition, or to address an unstable condition once it has been detected). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cherney with the teachings as in Zhan. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform stability control to reduce the likelihood that it enters an unstable condition, or to move it out of an unstable condition, see Cherney paragraph 0023.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 33, and 35-40 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under Double Patenting, set forth in this Office action.
The closest prior art of record is Zhan [CN102259799B], hereinafter referred to as Zhan.
As per claim 21, the closest prior art of record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest:The prior art fails to explicitly teach or suggest or render obvious automatically alter a response of the mobile crane to the user input when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the current tipping moment of the mobile crane past a predetermined amount; designate a first range of the effect of the user input as a safe range and a second range of the effect of the user input as a warning range; and cause the user display to display the first portion and the second portion in dependence on a relation between the first range of the effect relative and the second range of the effect; wherein the one or more mobile crane characteristics correspond to one or more of the following: (a) a pitch of a chassis of the mobile crane, and (b) a roll of a chassis of the mobile crane; wherein the user display comprises a terrain display adapted to display terrain the mobile crane may traverse, wherein the displayed terrain is divided into at least two portions wherein a first portion corresponds to a safe range of the pitch and/or the roll and a second portion corresponds to a warning range of the pitch and/or the roll, and wherein the determinator is adapted to display the first portion in a first colour and the second portion in a second colour. Claims 33 and 35-40 would also be allowed by virtue of their dependency.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2022/0356050 – Provide a mobile crane having an articulated body and an elongate boom attached to the body, the boom being for carrying a load when the crane is stationary and while the crane is mobile. The boom is articulated to provide a movement for lifting and lowering an end of the boom, and the boom is further articulated to provide a movement of the boom laterally. A further embodiment relates to controlling swing of a load carried at the end of a boom of a mobile crane by varying lateral orientation of the boom. USPGPub 2020/0199851 – Provides a shovel includes a traveling body, a turning body turnably mounted on the traveling body, an attachment attached to the turning body and including a boom, an arm, and a bucket, and a hardware processor. The hardware processor is configured to output a warning about the operation of at least one of the traveling body, the turning body, and the attachment when the shovel is on sloping ground or is likely to enter sloping ground.
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662