DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 07/20/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Terminal Disclaimer filed and approved on 07/20/2026.
Claims 21-22, 24, 26, 28-31, and 33-34 have been amended.
Claims 21-31 and 33-40 are pending in Instant Application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections: Applicant’s amendment to claims 21-22 and 33-34 have overcome the claim objections raised in the previous action; therefore the claim objections are hereby withdrawn.
Regarding Double Patenting rejection: Applicant’s filing and approval of the Terminal Disclaimer has overcome the Double Patenting rejection raised in the previous action; therefore the Double Patenting rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding 102/103 rejections: Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Zhan fails to teach the amended claimed feature of "predict an effect of the user input on the current tipping moment of the mobile crane; and when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the current tipping moment of the mobile crane past a predetermined amount, restrict the response to the command of the user input", recited in claim 22. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant is reminded that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. The claim limitation merely states that the system determines a current tipping moment that becomes greater than a known amount, and once the current tipping moment becomes greater than the already known amount, the system will limit/pause (restrict) the user input. Examiner interprets this as that the input will be limited based on determination of the current tipping moment. With that said, Examiner would like to point to paragraph [0043] of the Zhan reference where it states that “W hen (P_A or P_B) > 90% and (P_A and P_B) < 100%, a sound and light alarm signal will be emitted to remind the operator that the load or moment load is large and the operator should operate with caution. W hen (P_A or P_B) > 102%, the tilt will be cut off. Dangerous actions in the direction of increasing turning moment” and paragraph [0044] where it states “Preferably, after stopping the action of increasing the tipping moment, the torque control method also includes: judging whether the first ratio and the second ratio are less than 100%, and if so, sending a recovery signal to resume increasing the tipping moment”. This indicates that when the tipping moment (current tipping moment) is greater than 102% (past a predetermined amount), it will cut off the tilt, which the action of increasing the tipping moment is stopped. The stopping action in Zhan does not actually reflect a stopping response, as mentioned on pages 8-9 of the remarks. However, the stopping action is just a pause/limit (restriction) to the user input until the ratio is back to less than 100% (below the predetermined amount) and then resumes the tipping moment. Zhan provides a restriction to the user input for a certain moment until the danger is not present any longer, and resumes user input as provided. Therefore, Zhan does teach "predict an effect of the user input on the current tipping moment of the mobile crane; and when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the current tipping moment of the mobile crane past a predetermined amount, restrict the response to the command of the user input" and as such meets the scope of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Determinator is operable/adaptor to in claims 21, 22
Determinator - Figure 7 - item 112, page 12, line 25
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-24, 26-28, 30, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhan (CN102259799B). As per claim 22, Zhan discloses a system for controlling an operation of a mobile crane, the system comprising: a user operable control, the user operable control generating a user input comprising a command, wherein a response to the command actuates an actuator for changing a configuration of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0037; wherein operation prompt information is obtained after calculation based on the acquired operating data, which helps the operator accurately grasp the working conditions during the installation working conditions and make correct decisions operation); and a determinator (see at least paragraph 0017; wherein torque control device) adapted to determine a current tipping moment of the mobile crane, the current tipping moment comprising a moment about a tipping line of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0038; wherein a1.Collect the tipping moment and hoisting weight of the crawler crane during installation conditions); predict an effect of the user input on the current tipping moment of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein the overturning moment is compared with the preset maximum stable moment, and the hoisting weight is compared with the preset maximum hoisting weight with preset data, and different prompt information is output according to the comparison results, including: b1.Calculate the ratio of the overturning moment to the preset maximum stable moment, which is called the first ratio, and calculate the ratio of the hoisting weight to the maximum preset hoisting weight, which is called the second ratio); and when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the current tipping moment of the mobile crane past a predetermined amount, restrict the response to the command of the user input (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 23, Zhan discloses wherein the predetermined amount is evaluated with respect to one or more of: one or more tipping lines of the mobile crane; a distance between a center of gravity of the mobile crane and the one or more tipping lines; and a load being carried by the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein the overturning moment is compared with the preset maximum stable moment, and the hoisting weight is compared with the preset maximum hoisting weight with preset data, and different prompt information is output according to the comparison results, including: b1.Calculate the ratio of the overturning moment to the preset maximum stable moment, which is called the first ratio, and calculate the ratio of the hoisting weight to the maximum preset hoisting weight, which is called the second ratio). As per claim 24, Zhan discloses wherein the response to the command of the user input is further restricted when a rate of change of the configuration of the mobile crane exceeds a predetermined rate (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 26, Zhan discloses wherein the actuator actuated by the command of the user input corresponds to a function of the mobile crane, the function having a function speed and wherein the restricted response to the command of the user input comprises reducing the function speed (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 27, Zhan discloses wherein the function of the command of the user input corresponds to one or more of the following: a speed of the mobile crane; a luff angle of a boom of the mobile crane; an extension of the boom of the mobile crane; an articulation of a front chassis of the mobile crane relative to a back chassis of the mobile crane; an activation of a winch of the mobile crane; a lateral articulation angle of the boom of the mobile crane; a pitch of a chassis of the mobile crane; and a roll of a chassis of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0040; wherein the sensor transmits the detected angle, wire rope tension, length and other signals to the central controller (CPU). The central controller dynamically calculates the main arm mast angle, hoisting weight, and tipping moment). As per claim 28, Zhan discloses further comprising one or more sensors for determining one or more of: a position, a velocity, and an acceleration of the load or the boom, (see at least paragraph 0049; wherein an angle position sensor 6, which is arranged on the main boom mast 5 of the crawler crane and is used to collect angle data of the main boom mast 5) and wherein the determinator restricts the response to the command of the user input based on this determination (see at least paragraph 0050; wherein it can be seen that by collecting the operating data of the crawler crane installation conditions, calculating the real-time tipping moment, and judging the safety status of the crawler crane based on the comparison of the tipping moment and the maximum stable moment, and making correct operations, it can ensure The moment is safe when lifting heavy loads, and the mast can achieve a larger safe working range when the load is light). As per claim 30, Zhan discloses wherein the determinator is adapted to further restrict a response to the command of the user input when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the tipping moment of the mobile crane past a further predetermined amount (see at least paragraph 0039; wherein determine whether the first ratio or the second ratio is between the preset ratios, and if so, send an alarm signal; b3 determines whether the first ratio or the second ratio is greater than the preset maximum ratio, and if so, Stop actions that increase the tipping moment). As per claim 34, Zhan discloses wherein the system is incorporated into a pick and carry crane (see at least paragraph 0009; wherein a torque control method for installing a crawler crane).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan (CN102259799B) in view of Bonnet et al. (USPGPub 2019/0033158). As per claim 25, Zhan does not explicitly mention wherein the configuration of the mobile crane comprises a location of a center of gravity of the mobile crane relative to one or more tipping lines of the mobile crane. However Bonnet does disclose: wherein the configuration of the mobile crane comprises a location of a center of gravity of the mobile crane relative to one or more tipping lines of the mobile crane (see at least paragraph 0044; wherein the righting moment is therefore determined using the weight of the pipelayer machine 10 and the horizontal distance between where the center of gravity of the pipelayer machine 10 is acting on the ground surface and the tipping fulcrum of the pipelayer machine 10 minus the weight of the boom 40 and the horizontal distance between the center of gravity of the boom 40 and the tipping fulcrum of the pipelayer machine 10). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Bonnet with the teachings as in Zhan. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide stability of a vehicle having a load suspended from the vehicle, see Bonnet paragraph 0006.
Claims 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhan (CN102259799B) in view of Cherney et al. (USPGPub 2020/0071908). As per claim 29, Zhan does not explicitly mention further comprising determining an acceleration of the boom and restriction the response to the command of the user input based on this determination. However Cherney does disclose: further comprising determining an acceleration of the boom and restriction the response to the command of the user input based on this determination (see at least paragraphs 0054-055; wherein acceleration logic 262 can generate control signals to control the acceleration of the movable elements (such as bucket 110 and/or boom 112) to avoid an unstable condition. For instance, if machine 100 would enter an unstable condition if the operator raised the bucket with a relatively high rate of acceleration, then acceleration control logic 262 can generate control signals that limit the rate at which actuators 180 can be controlled to accelerate bucket 110). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cherney with the teachings as in Zhan. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform stability control to reduce the likelihood that it enters an unstable condition, or to move it out of an unstable condition, see Cherney paragraph 0023. As per claim 31, Zhan does not explicitly mention wherein the determinator is further configured to predict characteristics of terrain which the mobile crane may traverse, wherein the user input comprises acceleration or deceleration, and wherein restriction the response to the command of the user input comprises reducing, increasing, or preventing the acceleration or deceleration. However Cherney does disclose: wherein the determinator is further configured to predict characteristics of terrain which the mobile crane may traverse (see at least paragraph 0023; wherein machine 100 is traveling over sloped terrain. In that case, the center of gravity of machine 100 may be located in a position that renders it unstable, and in danger of tipping. Thus, in one example, the sensor signals output by sensors 124 can be used in controlling machine 100, automatically, to perform stability control to reduce the likelihood that it enters an unstable condition, or to move it out of an unstable condition), wherein the user input comprises acceleration or deceleration, and wherein restriction the response to the command of the user input comprises reducing, increasing, or preventing the acceleration or deceleration (see at least paragraph 0030; wherein if the center of gravity indicates that machine 100 is in an unstable condition, then stability control system 164 can generate control signals to control propulsion system 170 to reduce the speed of machine 100 to inhibit machine 100 from entering an unstable condition, or to address an unstable condition once it has been detected). Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Cherney with the teachings as in Zhan. The motivation for doing so would have been to perform stability control to reduce the likelihood that it enters an unstable condition, or to move it out of an unstable condition, see Cherney paragraph 0023.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 33, and 35-40 is allowed.
The closest prior art of record is Zhan [CN102259799B], hereinafter referred to as Zhan.
As per claim 21, the closest prior art of record taken either individually or in combination with other prior art of record fails to teach or suggest:The prior art fails to explicitly teach or suggest or render obvious automatically alter a response of the mobile crane to the user input when the predicted effect of the user input is to increase the current tipping moment of the mobile crane past a predetermined amount; designate a first range of the effect of the user input as a safe range and a second range of the effect of the user input as a warning range; and cause the user display to display the first portion and the second portion in dependence on a relation between the first range of the effect relative and the second range of the effect; wherein the one or more mobile crane characteristics correspond to one or more of the following: (a) a pitch of a chassis of the mobile crane, and (b) a roll of a chassis of the mobile crane; wherein the user display comprises a terrain display adapted to display terrain the mobile crane may traverse, wherein the displayed terrain is divided into at least two portions wherein a first portion corresponds to a safe range of the pitch and/or the roll and a second portion corresponds to a warning range of the pitch and/or the roll, and wherein the determinator is adapted to display the first portion in a first colour and the second portion in a second colour. Claims 33 and 35-40 would also be allowed by virtue of their dependency.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: USPGPub 2022/0356050 – Provide a mobile crane having an articulated body and an elongate boom attached to the body, the boom being for carrying a load when the crane is stationary and while the crane is mobile. The boom is articulated to provide a movement for lifting and lowering an end of the boom, and the boom is further articulated to provide a movement of the boom laterally. A further embodiment relates to controlling swing of a load carried at the end of a boom of a mobile crane by varying lateral orientation of the boom. USPGPub 2020/0199851 – Provides a shovel includes a traveling body, a turning body turnably mounted on the traveling body, an attachment attached to the turning body and including a boom, an arm, and a bucket, and a hardware processor. The hardware processor is configured to output a warning about the operation of at least one of the traveling body, the turning body, and the attachment when the shovel is on sloping ground or is likely to enter sloping ground.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD S ISMAIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662