DETAILED ACTION
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Claims 1-18, drawn to a defibrillation/cardioversion electrode device with spaced apart electrodes.
Claims 19-20, drawn to a method of selectively activating electrodes.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The method of claim 19 using selective activation of electrodes can be practiced differently from the apparatus claims 1 and 18.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Ashley Preston-Hinez on 8/27/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group 1, claims 1-18. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 1208333 B2, claims 1-22 of US 9855414 B2, claims 1-18 of US 10661073 B2, claims 1-21 of US 11534603 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the Application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 11-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostroff (US 2013/0150942 A1) In view of Dahl (US 5455202), further in view of Scheiner (US 6321122 B1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Ostroff discloses a system comprising: an extravascular implantable lead comprising: a proximal portion comprising a connector configured to connect the extravascular implantable lead to an implantable medical device (eg. Fig. 1, Para. 44-45 with header 18); and a distal portion configured for extravascular implantation and anterior cardiac placement (eg. Para. 51, 54-57, claim 1), the distal portion comprising: a first electrode configured to deliver defibrillation or cardioversion shock therapy (eg. Para. 2, 9-10, 44-45, 51, 61, 78-83 electrodes 14 and 14’ or 50 and 52); a second electrode configured to deliver defibrillation or cardioversion shock therapy (eg. Para. 2, 9-10, 44-45, 51, 61, 78-83 electrodes 14 and 14’ or 50 and 52), but does not disclose the second electrode being spaced from the first electrode by a distance within a range from 1 centimeter (cm) and 3 cm; and a third electrode located between the first electrode and the second electrode configured to one or more of sense cardiac electrical signals or deliver pacing.
Dahl teaches a defibrillation electrode system that has 3 electrodes spaced by at least 1.5 cm (eg. Col. 2, Ln. 29-45, Col. 4, Ln. 65 – Col. 5, Ln. 8, Col. 9, Ln. 30-51, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Ostroff with the electrode distancing as taught by Dahl to provide the predictable result of improving electrode performance in terms of reduced impedance and uniformity of electrical field (eg. Dahl, Col. 9, Ln. 20-31).
Scheiner teaches a defibrillation device with a pacing lead for pacing and sensing (eg. Col. 5, Ln. 15 – Col. 7, Ln. 15 electrode 161: atrial sensing and pacing electrode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Ostroff and Dahl with the third sensing/pacing electrode as taught by Scheiner since defibrillation and cardioversion/sensing electrodes being used in the body are commonly known in the art (eg. Scheiner, Col. 1, Ln. 20 – Col. 3, Ln. 14).
Regarding claims 2, and 13, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the first electrode and the second electrode are configured to be activated concurrently to form a common anode or a common cathode (Eg. Dahl, Col. Col. 2, Ln. 28 – 45, Col. 3, Ln. 30-50, Col. 5, Ln. 65 – Col. 6, Ln. 20).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the first electrode comprises a first segment of a defibrillation coil and the second electrode comprises a second segment of the defibrillation coil (eg. Dahl, Col. 9, Ln. 9-20, claim 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the distal portion of the extravascular implantable lead further comprises a fourth electrode on an opposite side of one of the first electrode or the second electrode from the third electrode, wherein the extravascular implantable lead is configured to sense the cardiac electrical signals via the third electrode and the fourth electrode (eg. Scheiner, Col. 5, Ln. 15-46).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the distal portion of the extravascular implantable lead further comprises a fourth electrode on an opposite side of one of the first electrode or the second electrode from the third electrode, wherein the extravascular implantable lead is configured to deliver cardiac pacing via the third electrode and the fourth electrode (eg. Scheiner, Col 5, Ln. 15-46, Col. 6, Ln. 22-63).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the distance is no greater than 2 cm (eg. Dahl, Col. 2, Ln. 29-45, Col. 4, Ln. 65 – Col. 5, Ln. 8, Col. 9, Ln. 30-51, claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the system further comprises the implantable medical device (eg. Ostroff, Para. 45-46).
Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostroff (US 2013/0150942 A1) In view of Dahl (US 5455202), further in view of Scheiner (US 6321122 B1), further in view of Brown (US 2005/0021093 A1).
Regarding claim 3, and 14, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose first electrode and the second electrode are configured to be activated individually.
Brown teaches a defibrillation electrode system with multiple spaced electrodes that can be selectively activated (eg. Para. 17, 20, 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner with the selective separate activation of Brown to provide the predictable result of optimizing treatment arrhythmias (eg. Brown, Para. 17, 20, and 24).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostroff (US 2013/0150942 A1) In view of Dahl (US 5455202), further in view of Scheiner (US 6321122 B1), further in view of Schuelke (US 5755742).
Regarding claim 8, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose a length of each of the first electrode and the second electrode is within a range from 2 cm to 5 cm.
Schuelke teaches a cardioversion/defibrillation electrode that has electrodes to be about 5 cm in length (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 19 – Col. 8, Ln. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner to have the electrodes be 5 cm in length since it’s a common size used in the art (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 29-45).
Regarding claim 9, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, Scheiner, and Schuelke discloses a length of the distal portion is less than or equal to 10 cm (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 57 – Col. 8 Ln. 16).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostroff (US 2013/0150942 A1) In view of Dahl (US 5455202), further in view of Scheiner (US 6321122 B1), further in view of Mehra (US 5342414).
Regarding claim 10, the combined invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner discloses the invention of claim 1, but does not disclose a distance is a first distance, wherein a second distance between the third electrode and one of the first electrode or the second electrode is within a range from 2 millimeters and 1.5 cm.
Mehra teaches a defibrillation electrode with interelectrode spacing of about 0.5 cm (eg. Col. 1, Ln. 44 – Col. 2, Ln. 15, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Ostroff, Dahl, and Scheiner with the spacing as taught by Mehra since the amount of spacing is commonly used in the art (eg. Col. 1, Ln. 44 – Col. 2, Ln. 15).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796