The substitute specification filed on 12 August 2026 has been reviewed, found acceptable and has replaced the original specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 1, in paragraph [0001], first line therein, note that updated status information (i.e. patent number, issue date, etc.) should still be provided for the parent patent application for clarity and completeness of description. Page 3, in paragraph [0008], 5th line therein, note that the term “to” should be rewritten as --facing-- for an appropriate characterization. Page 6, in paragraph [0018], first line therein, note that “sectional” should be rewritten as --perspective-- such as to be commensurate with what is depicted in Fig. 1 and thus appropriate clarification is needed. Page 7, in paragraph [0023], first line therein, note that it is unclear whether “FIGS. 1 and 2” would be accurately characterized as a “sectional view”, especially since Fig. 1 depicts as --perspective-- view, while Fig. 2 depicts the “sectional” view and thus appropriate clarification is needed second line therein, note that the recitation of “is shown” should be rewritten as --are respectively shown-- for an appropriate characterization.. Page 8, in paragraph [0026], 7h line therein, note that reference labels (22, 23) are still vague in meaning, especially since those reference labels do not appear in any of the drawings and thus appropriate clarification is needed. Page 8, in paragraph [0028], for the description of FIGS. 2, 3 & 4, note that many of the reference labels described in the paragraph do not appear to be depicted in any of FIGS. 3 & 4 and thus appropriate clarification is needed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as the specification does not contain a written description of the claimed invention, in that the disclosure does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the art that the inventor(s) has possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
In claim 1, line 24, note that the change from “at least one distance” to –every distance—significantly alters the meaning of the recited limitation and thus raises the issues of “new matter”. Note that the originally recited and discloses “at least one distance” only requires that one or more than one distance, but not every distance, meet the desired criteria, as now required by amended claim 1. Again, such an amended limitation fails to find support in the originally filed disclosure and thus has been treated as “new matter”.
However, if applicant does not believe the above issues are “new matter”, then an appropriate explanation is required including pointing out where support for the limitation(s) in question can be explicitly found in the original specification.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 25-27, note that it is unclear, even in light of the specification, as to what characterizes “opposing parts” and thus appropriate clarification is needed.
The following claims have been found to be objectionable for reasons set forth below:
In claim 1, line 2, note that the recitation of “trans-mission” should be rewritten as --transmission-- for grammatical clarity; line 10, note that the recitation of “propagating for” should be rewritten as --for propagating-- for an appropriate characterization.
Throughout claim 1, should the respective recitation of “substrate layer arrangement” be rewritten as just --substrate arrangement--, at each instance to avoid ambiguity with the recitation of “at least one substrate layer”?
In claim 1, lines 15 & 16, should the respective recitation of “outer surface” be rewritten as --outermost surface-- at each instance to avoid ambiguity with the earlier recitation of “first surface” and “second surface?
In claim 2, line 4, note that the recitation of “an opposite direction of” should be rewritten as --a direction opposite to-- for an appropriate characterization.
In claim 6, line 3, note that the term “of” should be rewritten as --is-- for idiomatic clarity.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Niman et al (of record).
Niman et al (e.g. Fig. 11A) discloses a radio frequency device with a transition unit, comprising: a planar differential pair transmission line (i.e. copper track section (368a, 468a) configured for differential signal operation as described at column 11, lines 55 & 56); a transition unit (i.e. transition arrangement 380) including a signal emission pattern (i.e. probe elements (368b, 468b) coupled to ends of the differential pair transmission line) disposed as to overlap a waveguide (i.e. waveguide opening 45), such that the signal emission patterns (368b, 468b) couple electromagnetic waves to/from the waveguide (45). As evident from related Fig. 8, the radio frequency device with a planar differential pair arrangement as per Fig. 11A can be configured with respect to a substrate (i.e. not labeled, but is evident therefrom) is configured to support a track portion (i.e. (68a) of the type corresponding to tracks (368a, 368b) in Fig. 11A) and a probe element (i.e. (68b) corresponding to probe elements (368b, 468b) in Fig. 11A) and includes a waveguide opening (45) therein and the waveguide opening is configured to connect, on one side of the substrate, to an open waveguide section (i.e. (84) as per related Fig. 6) and configured to connect, on the other side of the substrate, to another waveguide configured as a back-cavity (i.e. a cover (60) as per related Fig. 5), as per claim 11. In operation, radio frequency signals propagated along the differential pair transmission line can be converted to electromagnetic waves by the transition unit (i.e. probe elements), such that the electromagnetic waves can propagate within the open waveguide and the back-cavity waveguide, where the back-cavity waveguide reflects the electromagnetic waves back to the open waveguide, thereby preventing leakage from the waveguide opening. Regarding claim 12, as evident from the cross-section view in related Fig.5, the cross-section of the back-cavity (60) and an area (i.e. 72) to which the waveguide is to be attached is the same. Regarding claims 13, 16, as evident from related Fig. 4, the radio frequency device arrangement with transition units as per Fig. 11A can be configured with a plurality of adjacent waveguide openings (i.e. (45, 47) configured for attachment to respective waveguides, as well as corresponding back-cavities (60).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Ammar (of record).
Ammar (i.e. FIGS. 7, 8A) discloses a radio frequency device, comprising: a substrate layer arrangement (i.e. dielectric substrate (90) in FIG. 8A) having planar transmission lines (i.e. microstrip transmission lines (60, 64) in FIG. 7) disposed on a top surface of the substrate (90); a transition region (i.e. 68), where a radio frequency emission pattern (i.e. launchers (92) in FIG. 7) are disposed and electrically connected to ends of the transmission lines (60, 64). As evident from FIG. 8A, on one (i.e. the top) side of the substrate layer (90), an open waveguide (i.e. waveguide opening 98) is formed in a metal plate (i.e. 99), while on the other side of the substrate layer (90), a back-cavity (i.e. back-short cavity 100) waveguide is formed within a metal plate (i.e. 94), as per claim 11. As evident from FIG. 7, there is a 180° phase different between signals propagating along transmission lines (60, 64) thereby providing signals on the transmission lines which operate in a differential arrangement (i.e. by virtue of the 180° phase difference between the transmission lines). In operation, radio frequency signals propagated along the transmission lines operate in a differential mode and thus such a differential signal can be converted to electromagnetic waves by the transition unit (i.e. launchers), such that the electromagnetic waves can propagate within the open waveguide and the back-cavity waveguide, where the back-cavity waveguide reflects the electromagnetic waves back to the open waveguide, thereby preventing leakage from the waveguide opening. Regarding claim 10, as evident from FIG 8A, the distance of the back-short cavity (100) is much larger than the distance between the sides of the substrate layer (90). As evident from FIG. 8a, the cross-section of the back-cavity (100) and the open waveguide (98) is the same.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ammar in view of Okude (both references of record).
Ammar discloses the claimed invention except for the presence of several transition units adjacent to each other (i.e. claim 13) arranged in two or more rows (i.e. claim 14) with two or more back cavities (i.e. claim 16).
Okude (i.e. Fig. 6) exemplarily discloses several transition units (i.e. transmission line patterns (3a) associated with waveguide (2a), which function as transition units, where there are three transition units arranged in adjacent rows, such as to be parallel to each other. As evident from Fig. 7, adjacent back cavities (i.e. 4a) in a cover (i.e. 4) are arranged over corresponding waveguide openings (2a).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious in view of the references, taken as a whole, to have modified the single transition unit in Ammar to have included several transition units, as exemplarily taught by Okude. Such a modification would have provided the advantage of multiple transition units to expand the number of signals in any given device (e.g. to be capable of operating over multiple frequency ranges, etc.), thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification. Note that as an obvious consequence of such a modification, the resultant multiple transition units would necessarily be arranged in adjacent parallel rows consistent with the teaching in Okude as well as necessarily included differential transmission lines/launchers consistent with the teaching in Ammar.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12148972 (of record). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the cited patent claims collectively meet the subject matter recited in the application claim. Accordingly, the patent claims meet the application claim under an “anticipation analysis” standard of obviousness double patenting.
Applicant's arguments filed 12 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the prior art rejections based on the Niman et al and the Ammar references, applicant’s fundamental position is that neither of these prior art references teaches and/or suggests that the distance between the backside of the back cavity and the differential transmission line pair is larger than “every distance between opposing parts”. As noted in the above rejections, the amended “every distance” limitation raises new matter issues and the “opposing parts” limitation raises issues of indefiniteness. Accordingly, in view of the significant deficiencies posed by these limitations, the examiner has not given any patentable weight to the “every distance” limitations. Moreover, given the “new matter” nature of the “every distance” limitation, the examiner has treated such a limitation as being “at least one distance” as was originally claimed and disclosed. Accordingly, given such an interpretation, the examiner contends that each of the Niman et al and Ammar references would continue to meet the claims, as set forth in the above prior art rejections.
Regarding the obviousness double patenting rejection, it is noted that application claim 1 has been met by patent claims 1 & 4 taken together. As for the “every distance” limitation, in the same manner as applied fore the prior art rejection, the examiner has not given patentable weight to the “every distance” limitation, given the “new matter’ associated with such a limitation. Accordingly, the examiner interprets the “every distance” to be “at least one distance” commensurate with the original claim wording and original disclosure and thus patent claims 1 & 4 continue to meet application claim 1. Applicant is required to specifically address the obviousness double patenting rejection in any future response.
As for the rejection under indefiniteness and the objections to the specification, it is noted that the majority of these issues have been addressed, with the exception the issues raised above including the “new matter” issue with respect claim 1, as well as other formalities which need to be addressed. Accordingly, applicant should address these outstanding issues in any future response.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENNY T LEE/PRIMARY EXAMINER
ART UNIT 2843
B. Lee