DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Wong et. al (US 20220252797 A1) hereafter referred to as Wong
Regarding claim 7, Wong teaches a connector adapter system of an information handling system, comprising:
a connector adapter (500 fiber optic connector),
the connector adapter comprising an adapter chassis (combination of 530 latch and 520 connector housing),
the adapter chassis being configured to slidably mount a cable connector (see annotated Fig 5B below) within the adapter chassis (Fig 6 shows the assembly where the cable couples with the 500 fiber optic connector),
the adapter chassis facilitating connection of the cable connector with an internally mounted component (not numbered, cable ¶111) of the information handling system (Fig 6A-D shows the cable coupled to the adapter, Fig 25 shows the cable and adapter seated in an adapter to mount in an information handling system, ¶127).
Regarding claim 8, Wong teaches the connector adapter system of claim 7, wherein:
the adapter chassis (520 connector housing and 530 latch) includes a top cover (530 latch) and a bottom cover (520 housing),
the top cover and the bottom cover being removable attached to allow mounting of the cable connection within the adapter chassis (process shown in Fig 6A-6D).
Regarding claim 9, Wong teaches the connector adapter system of claim 8, wherein:
the adapter chassis (combination of 530 latch and 520 connector housing) includes a spring component (532 projection and 531 protrusion),
the spring component providing a constraint to allow a plurality of cable connector shapes to be mounted within the adapter chassis (¶87, 531 protrusion engages with 521 recess of the 520 housing to couple the housings together).
Regarding claim 10, Wong teaches the connector adapter system of claim 7, further comprising:
a strap portion (540 pull tab) mounted within the adapter chassis (Fig 5A),
the strap portion being configured to be attached to the cable connection to provide an extended release function when disconnection the cable connector from the internally mounted component (¶86-87, 540 pull tab releases 530 latch and disengages the cable from 520 and 530).
Regarding claim 11, Wong teaches the connector adapter system of claim 10, wherein:
the strap portion (540 pull tab) is attached to a release handle of the cable connector (portion of 540 which extends past 520 housing).
Regarding claim 12, Wong teaches the connector adapter system of claim 7, further comprising:
a guiding structure (see annotated Fig 5B below),
the guiding structure interacting with the cable connector when the cable connector is attached to the internally mounted component (see annotated Fig 5B below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of Qi (WO 2024041077 A1)
Regarding claim 13, Wong teaches a server type information handling system comprising:
an internally mounted component (not numbered, cable ¶111) and,
a connector adapter (500 fiber optic connector),
the connector adapter comprising an adapter chassis (combination of 530 latch and 520 connector housing),
the adapter chassis being configured to slidably mount a cable connector within the adapter chassis (Fig 6 shows the assembly where the cable slides into the 500 fiber optic connector),
the adapter chassis being configured to slidably mount a cable connector (see annotated Fig 5B below) within the adapter chassis (Fig 6 shows the assembly where the cable couples with the 500 fiber optic connector).
Wong fails to teach a processor; a data bus coupled to the processor; a chassis. However, Qi teaches
a processor (1212 GPU card, pg 6 ¶6);
a data bus (not numbered, data bus housed in the CPU, pg 5 9th full paragraph) coupled to the processor (pg 5 10th full paragraph);
a chassis (1 chassis).
Wong and Qi are both in the industry of information handling systems therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Wong to include the additional components and chassis in order to create a functional server package (Qi pg 1 ¶1)
Regarding claim 14, Wong in view of Qi teach the system of claim 13, wherein:
the adapter chassis (520 connector housing and 530 latch) includes a top cover (530 latch) and a bottom cover (520 housing),
the top cover and the bottom cover being removable attached to allow mounting of the cable connection within the adapter chassis (process shown in Fig 6A-6D).
Regarding claim 15, Wong in view of Qi teach the system of claim 14, wherein:
the adapter chassis (combination of 530 latch and 520 connector housing) includes a spring component (532 projection and 531 protrusion),
the spring component providing a constraint to allow a plurality of cable connector shapes to be mounted within the adapter chassis (¶87, 531 protrusion engages with 521 recess of the 520 housing to couple the housings together).
Regarding claim 16, Wong in view of Qi teach the system of claim 13, wherein:
a strap portion (540 pull tab) mounted within the adapter chassis (Fig 5A),
the strap portion being configured to be attached to the cable connection to provide an extended release function when disconnection the cable connector from the internally mounted component (¶86-87, 540 pull tab releases 530 latch and disengages the cable from 520 and 530).
Regarding claim 17, Wong in view of Qi teach the system of claim 16, wherein:
the strap portion (540 pull tab) is attached to a release handle of the cable connector (portion of 540 which extends past 520 housing).
Regarding claim 18, Wong in view of Qi teach the system of claim 13, wherein:
a guiding structure (see annotated Fig 5B below),
the guiding structure interacting with the cable connector when the cable connector is attached to the internally mounted component (see annotated Fig 5B below).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takano et. al (US 20230204872 A1) and Chang et. al (US 20230152535 A1) show similar adapter housings for fiber optic cables.
/E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Acting Patent Examiner, 2841/2800