This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 10/25/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/25/2024 and 4/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, 15 & 16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 & 15 recite “receiving third information transmitted by the network device”. Claim 7, together with claim 3, upon which claim 7 is dependent, and claim 15 together with claim 13 upon which claim 15 is dependent introduce first information transmitted to a network device, but fail to introduce second information, making it confusing to have third information without having second information. For clarity, examiner suggests changing “receiving third information transmitted by the network device” to “receiving second information transmitted by the network device”.
Claims 8 & 16 recite “indicates the third information”. Claim 8, together with claims 3 & 7, upon which claim 8 is dependent, and claim 16 together with claims 13 & 15 upon which claim 15 is dependent, introduce first information transmitted to a network device, but fail to introduce second information, making it confusing to have third information without having second information. For clarity, examiner suggests changing “indicates the third information” to “indicates the second information”.
Claims 8 & 16 recite “wherein the data transmitted by the network device is carried in a second physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the second PPDU frame indicates the third information”. Claim 8, together with claims 3 & 7, upon which claim 8 is dependent, and claim 16 together with claims 13 & 15 upon which claim 15 is dependent, fail to introduce a first PPDU, making it confusing to have a second PPDU without having a first PPDU. Examiner suggest changing “wherein the data transmitted by the network device is carried in a second physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the second PPDU frame indicates the third information” to wherein the data transmitted by the network device is carried in a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the PPDU frame indicates the third information”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C, or A&B&C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”).
Regarding claims 1 & 3, Torrisi discloses a communications apparatus, comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, the processor performs data transmission and receiving by using the transceiver, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform, and a communication method comprising: transmitting, by a terminal device, first information to a network device, wherein the first information is used to indicate energy state information of the terminal device, energy corresponding to the energy state information is capable of being used by the terminal device to receive data, and the terminal device is a zero-power terminal device (Page 194-195, fig 3 & section 1.2 discloses a method where a receiver (RX) device, that may be a batteryless backscatter device (i.e. zero-power device), transmits an energy status of the RX device to a transmit (TX) device (i.e. network device) used to indicate whether the RX device is capable of receiving data (i.e. high energy indication) or not receive data (i.e. low energy indication). Pages 193 & 195, fig 4 and sections 1.1 & 2.1 disclose that the RX device may comprise a MCU (i.e. a processor), memory and a transceiver wherein the programs in the memory of the MCU perform encoding & transmission of energy status information through and reception of data.).
Regarding claims 2 & 4, Torrisi discloses wherein the energy state information comprises at least one of following: energy supply manner (optional), energy storage state (Page 194-195, Fig 3 & section 1.2 discloses that the energy status information sent by the RX device provides energy state information to the TX device.), an allowed length of to-be-received data (optional), a data transmission rate (optional), recovery duration (optional), wake-up duration (optional), operation duration (optional), entering energy recovery state (optional), or exiting energy recovery state (optional).
Regarding claim 5, Torrisi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: determining the energy state information based on a current energy state of the apparatus (Pages 196-197, section 2.3 discloses that while the node (i.e. the RX device) is in a charging transient or the energy is too low to receive information, an oscillator is placed at a fixed duty cycle such as 100% (i.e. always on), and when the node is in an active transient, the duty cycle of the oscillator can be changed according to the energy status and availability (i.e. the duty cycle of the oscillator, representing the energy state information transmitted by the RX device, is based on the current charging transient or active transient state, according to the energy status and availability, or the RX device.).
Regarding claim 6, Torrisi discloses wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: determining, based on a current energy state of the apparatus, whether to transmit the first information (Pages 196-197, sections 2.2 & 2.3 discloses that the transmitter in the RX device produces a modulated RF signal, for modulating energy status information, by reflection of incident RF power. When there is incident RF power received by the RX device (e.g. current energy state is receiving incident RF energy), the RX device reflects and modulates the incident RF signal with a particular duty cycle according to energy status and availability determined by the MCU, and when there is no incident RF power received by the RX device (e.g. current energy state is receiving no RF energy), then the RX device does not transmit and no signal is sent indicating energy state of the RX device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”), as applied to claim 3, in view of Wang et al. (US 8005032)(herein after “Wang”).
Regarding claim 7, Torrisi discloses the apparatus according to claim 3.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Wang teaches wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: receiving third information transmitted by the network device, wherein the third information is used to indicate whether data corresponding to the apparatus is still cached in the network device after the apparatus receives data transmitted by the network device (Fig 2, col 5, lines 54-67 & col 6, lines 1-37 disclose a Laptop 122 receiving information (i.e. third information), transmitted by AP 102 (i.e. a network device), in a DTIM of beacon frame 209 indicating that broadcast data corresponding to Laptop 122 is still buffered (i.e. cached) at AP 102. The indication in beacon frame 209 that broadcast data is still buffered occurs after Laptop 122 has received broadcast data from AP 102 through ARP request 205.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 3, as disclosed by Torrisi, wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: receiving third information transmitted by the network device, wherein the third information is used to indicate whether data corresponding to the apparatus is still cached in the network device after the apparatus receives data transmitted by the network device, as taught by Wang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a terminal device that can go into power saving mode, periodically awake from power saving mode to receive a beacon signal from an AP indicating whether the AP has broadcast data buffered for the terminal device, so that the terminal device can periodically receive the buffered broadcast data when there is buffered broadcast data to be received, in order for the terminal device to save power by only periodically having to be awake to determine if the terminal device has buffered broadcast data to receive.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Wang et al. (US 8005032)(herein after “Wang”), as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2022/0006591)(herein after “Han”).
Regarding claim 8, Torrisi in view of Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 7.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Han further teaches wherein the data transmitted by the network device is carried in a second physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the second PPDU frame indicates the third information (Fig 5 & [0086] disclose a PPDU that includes a payload (i.e. data transmitted by the network device) and a More Data field in a Frame Control field. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, the More Data field indicates whether the AP has buffered data (i.e. indicates third information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 7, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Wang, wherein the data transmitted by the network device is carried in a second physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the second PPDU frame indicates the third information, as further taught by Han. The motivation to do so would have been to have a terminal device receive data and an indication of whether an AP has more buffered data to send to the terminal device using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU including a payload field to carry the data and a More Data filed in a Frame Control field to carry the indication of whether the AP has more buffered data to send in order to insure interoperability between the AP and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Claims 9 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”), as applied to claim 3, in view of Wang et al. (US 2015/0043407)(herein after “Wang2”).
Regarding claim 9, Torrisi discloses the apparatus according to claim 3.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Wang2 teaches wherein the first information is carried in a first physical layer protocol data unit PPDU frame, and a type of the first PPDU frame is a data frame (optional), a control frame (Fig 5B & [0034] disclose a MAC control frame carrying MAC layer information (i.e. first information) comprising a PPDU, MAC header, frame body and FCS (i.e. a PPDU frame that is a MAC control frame type).), or a management frame (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 3, as disclosed by Torrisi, wherein the first information is carried in a first physical layer protocol data unit PPDU frame, and a type of the first PPDU frame is a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame, as taught by Wang2. The motivation to do so would have been to have a terminal device transmit energy state information to an AP using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU that is a MAC control frame type, in order to insure interoperability between the AP and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Regarding claim 10, Torrisi in view of Wang2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 9.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Wang2 teaches wherein the first information is carried in a medium access control (MAC) layer header or a frame body field of the first PPDU frame (Fig 5B & [0034] disclose a MAC control frame carrying MAC layer information (i.e. first information) comprising a PPDU, MAC header, frame body and FCS. The MAC layer information would be carried in either the MAC header or the frame body field.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 9, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Wang2, wherein the first information is carried in a medium access control (MAC) layer header or a frame body field of the first PPDU frame, as taught by Wang2. The motivation to do so would have been to have a terminal device transmit energy state information to an AP in a MAC header or frame body field using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU that is a MAC control frame type, in order to insure interoperability between the AP and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Wang et al. (US 2015/0043407)(herein after “Wang2”), as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2022/0006591)(herein after “Han”).
Regarding claim 11, Torrisi in view of Wang2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 10.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Han further teaches wherein the first information is carried in a frame control field in the MAC header (Fig 5 & [0086] disclose that the MAC header of a PPDU may include a Frame Control field for carrying MAC information (i.e. first information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 10, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Wang2, wherein the first information is carried in a frame control field in the MAC header, as further taught by Han. The motivation to do so would have been to have a terminal device transmit energy state information to an AP in a frame control field of a MAC header using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU that is a MAC control frame type, in order to insure interoperability between the AP and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Claims 12-14 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Merlin et al. (US 2022/0345187)(herein after “Merlin”).
Regarding claim 12, Torrisi discloses the apparatus according to claim 3.
Torrisi discloses wherein the apparatus is a receiver device that is a zero-power device (Page 194-195, fig 3 & section 1.2 discloses a receiver (RX) device, that may be a batteryless backscatter device (i.e. zero-power device).).
Torrisi fails to disclose but Merlin teaches wherein the receiver device is a station (STA) and the network device is an access point (AP) (Fig 10A & [0144] disclose that a transmitter device (i.e. network device) may be an AP and a receiver device may be a wireless station (STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the apparatus is a receiver device that is a zero-power device, as disclosed by Torrisi, wherein the receiver device is a station (STA) and the network device is an access point (AP), as taught by Merlin. The motivation to do so would have been to have an STA that can transmit energy state information to an AP so that a Wi-Fi system consisting of APs and STAs can exchange energy state information of the STA and determine whether the STA has enough energy to successfully receive data from the AP.
Regarding claim 13, Torrisi discloses a communications apparatus that performs: receiving first information transmitted by a terminal device, wherein the first information is used to indicate energy state information of the terminal device, energy corresponding to the energy state information is capable of being used by the terminal device to receive data, and the terminal device is a zero-power terminal device; and transmitting data to the terminal device based on the first information (Page 194-195, fig 3 & section 1.2 discloses a method where a transmitter (TX) device receives an energy status of an RX device, that may be a batteryless backscatter device (i.e. zero-power device), from the RX device used to indicate whether the RX device is capable of receiving data (i.e. high energy indication) or not receive data (i.e. low energy indication), and based on the RX device indicating it is capable of receiving data (i.e. high energy indication), the TX device transmits data to the RX device.).
Torrisi fails to disclose but Merlin teaches wherein the communication apparatus is comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, the processor performs data transmission and receiving by using the transceiver, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform operations (Fig 5 & [0101]-[0102] discloses that an AP (i.e. a communication apparatus) may include one or more processors, one or more memory blocks and a radio for transmitting and receiving wireless communication (i.e. a transceiver). [0107] discloses that the memory may store instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform various operations including transmission and reception (i.e. through the transceiver).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a communications apparatus that performs: receiving first information transmitted by a terminal device, wherein the first information is used to indicate energy state information of the terminal device, energy corresponding to the energy state information is capable of being used by the terminal device to receive data, and the terminal device is a zero-power terminal device; and transmitting data to the terminal device based on the first information, as disclosed by Torrisi, wherein the communication apparatus is comprising a memory, a transceiver, and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a program, the processor performs data transmission and receiving by using the transceiver, and the processor is configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform operations, as taught by Merlin. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP can receive energy state information from an STA so that the AP can determine whether the STA has enough energy to successfully receive data from the AP.
Regarding claim 14, Torrisi in view of Merlin disclose the apparatus according to claim 13.
Torrisi discloses wherein the energy state information comprises at least one of following: energy supply manner (optional), energy storage state (Page 194-195, Fig 3 & section 1.2 discloses that the energy status information sent by the RX device provides energy state information to the TX device.), an allowed length of to-be-received data (optional), a data transmission rate (optional), recovery duration (optional), wake-up duration (optional), operation duration (optional), entering energy recovery state (optional), or exiting energy recovery state (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 13, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Merlin, wherein the energy state information comprises at least one of following: energy supply manner, energy storage state, an allowed length of to-be-received data, a data transmission rate, recovery duration, wake-up duration, operation duration, entering energy recovery state, or exiting energy recovery state, as disclosed by Torrisi. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP can receive energy state information comprising energy storage state from an STA so that the AP can determine whether the STA has enough energy to successfully receive data from the AP.
Regarding claim 20, Torrisi discloses the apparatus according to claim 13.
Torrisi discloses wherein the terminal device is a zero-power receiver device (Page 194-195, fig 3 & section 1.2 discloses a receiver (RX) device, that may be a batteryless backscatter device (i.e. zero-power terminal device).).
Torrisi fails to disclose but Merlin teaches wherein the terminal device is a station (STA) and the network device is an access point (AP) (Fig 10A & [0144] disclose that a transmitter device (i.e. network device) may be an AP and a receiver device may be a wireless station (STA).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the terminal device is a zero-power receiver device, as disclosed by Torrisi, wherein the terminal device is a station (STA) and the network device is an access point (AP), as taught by Merlin. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP device that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP can receive energy state information from a terminal device so that a Wi-Fi system consisting of APs and STAs can exchange energy state information of the STA and determine whether the STA has enough energy to successfully receive data from the AP.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Merlin et al. (US 2022/0345187)(herein after “Merlin”), as applied to claim 14, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 8005032)(herein after “Wang”).
Regarding claim 15, Torrisi in view of Merlin disclose the apparatus according to claim 13.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Wang further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: transmitting third information to the terminal device, wherein the third information is used to indicate whether data corresponding to the terminal device is still cached in the apparatus after the apparatus transmits data to the terminal device (Fig 2, col 5, lines 54-67 & col 6, lines 1-37 disclose a, AP 102 transmitting information (i.e. third information) to Laptop 122 (i.e. a terminal device) in a DTIM of beacon frame 209 indicating that broadcast data corresponding to Laptop 122 is still buffered (i.e. cached) at AP 102. The indication in beacon frame 209 that broadcast data is still buffered occurs after AP 102 has transmitted broadcast data to Laptop 122 through ARP request 205.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 13, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Merlin, wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: transmitting third information to the terminal device, wherein the processor is further configured to invoke the program in the memory to perform: transmitting third information to the terminal device, wherein the third information is used to indicate whether data corresponding to the terminal device is still cached in the apparatus after the apparatus transmits data to the terminal device, as further taught by Wang. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP device that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP can transmit a beacon signal, to a terminal device that can go into power saving mode and periodically awake from power saving mode to receive the beacon signal from an AP, indicating whether the AP has broadcast data buffered for the terminal device, so that the terminal device can periodically receive the buffered broadcast data when there is buffered broadcast data to be received, in order for the terminal device to save power by only periodically having to be awake to determine if the terminal device has buffered broadcast data to receive.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Merlin et al. (US 2022/0345187)(herein after “Merlin”) and Wang et al. (US 8005032)(herein after “Wang”), as applied to claim 15, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2022/0006591)(herein after “Han”).
Regarding claim 16, Torrisi in view of Merlin and Wang disclose the apparatus according to claim 15.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Han further teaches wherein the data transmitted by the apparatus is carried in a second physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the second PPDU frame indicates the third information (Fig 5 & [0086] disclose a PPDU that includes a payload (i.e. data transmitted by the network device) and a More Data field in a Frame Control field. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, the More Data field indicates whether the AP has buffered data (i.e. indicates third information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 15, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Merlin and Wang, wherein the data transmitted by the network device is carried in a second physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) frame, and a more data field in a frame control field in the second PPDU frame indicates the third information, as further taught by Han. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP can transmit data and an indication of whether the AP has more buffered data to send to the terminal device using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU including a payload field to carry the data and a More Data filed in a Frame Control field to carry the indication of whether the AP has more buffered data to send in order to insure interoperability between the AP and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Claims 17 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Merlin et al. (US 2022/0345187)(herein after “Merlin”), as applied to claim 13, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2015/0043407)(herein after “Wang2”).
Regarding claim 17, Torrisi in view or Merlin disclose the apparatus according to claim 13.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Wang2 further teaches wherein the first information is carried in a first physical layer protocol data unit PPDU frame, and a type of the first PPDU frame is a data frame (optional), a control frame (Fig 5B & [0034] disclose a MAC control frame carrying MAC layer information (i.e. first information) comprising a PPDU, MAC header, frame body and FCS (i.e. a PPDU frame that is a MAC control frame type).), or a management frame (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 13, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Merlin, wherein the first information is carried in a first physical layer protocol data unit PPDU frame, and a type of the first PPDU frame is a data frame, a control frame, or a management frame, as further taught by Wang2. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP device that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP device can receive energy state information from a terminal device using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU that is a MAC control frame type, in order to insure interoperability between the AP device and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Regarding claim 18, Torrisi in view of Merlin and Wang2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 17.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Wang2 teaches wherein the first information is carried in a medium access control (MAC) layer header or a frame body field of the first PPDU frame (Fig 5B & [0034] disclose a MAC control frame carrying MAC layer information (i.e. first information) comprising a PPDU, MAC header, frame body and FCS. The MAC layer information would be carried in either the MAC header or the frame body field.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 17, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Merlin and Wang2, wherein the first information is carried in a medium access control (MAC) layer header or a frame body field of the first PPDU frame, as taught by Wang2. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP device that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP device can receive energy state information from a terminal device in a MAC header or frame body field using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU that is a MAC control frame type, in order to insure interoperability between the AP device and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torrisi et al. (Alessandro Torrisi, KS Yildirim and Davide Brunelli, University of Trento, Italy, “Zero Power Energy-Aware Communication for Transiently-Powered Sensing Systems”, Applications in Electronics Pervading Industry, Environment and Society, Springer, Vol. 738, ©2021, pages 192-201.)(herein after “Torrisi”) in view of Merlin et al. (US 2022/0345187)(herein after “Merlin”) and Wang et al. (US 2015/0043407)(herein after “Wang2”), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2022/0006591)(herein after “Han”).
Regarding claim 19, Torrisi in view of Wang2 disclose the apparatus according to claim 18.
Torrisi fails to disclose but Han further teaches wherein the first information is carried in a frame control field in the MAC header (Fig 5 & [0086] disclose that the MAC header of a PPDU may include a Frame Control field for carrying MAC information (i.e. first information).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the apparatus according to claim 18, as disclosed by Torrisi in view of Merlin and Wang2, wherein the first information is carried in a frame control field in the MAC header, as further taught by Han. The motivation to do so would have been to have an AP device that includes a processor, memory and a transceiver so that when instructions in the memory are executed by the processor, the AP device can receive energy state information from a terminal device in a frame control field of a MAC header using a standards defined protocol for a PPDU that is a MAC control frame type, in order to insure interoperability between the AP device and the terminal device that may be developed by different manufacturers.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
UEFI Forum et al. (UEFI Forum, Advanced Configuration and Power Interface (ACPI) Specification, Version 6.4, January 2021) discloses and Advanced Configuration and Power Interface. (related to optional features in claims 2 & 14)
Chu et al. (US 11044726) discloses Selection of Transmission Parameters for Acknowledgement Packets. (related to optional features of claims 9 & 17)
Lecarpenter et al. (US 12412458) discloses a Method for Detecting the Absence of a Physical Element in a Geographical Zone, and Associated System.
Liu et al. (CN 116938325) discloses a Backscatter Communication Energy Supplying Method, Device, Terminal and Network Side Device.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419