DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3 and 14-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12165456 in view of Barnes et al. US 20020198731. The instant application and the above us patent teaching a concept of using biometric information to verify whether a passenger information matching with the baggage tag at the airport. However, the instant application disclose the further limitation “determine whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.” and this limitation do not disclose in the above patent. Barnes et al. reference teach a video or still electronic camera for identify passenger whom are require to proceed to customs inspection, therefore, It would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Barnes et al. reference with Diamond et al. reference in order to reject the instant application with non-statutory double patenting rejection. Please see the claims mapping in the non-statutory double patenting table below:
Non-statutory Double Patenting Table:
Instant application 18926444
US Patent No. 12165456
1. An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire biometric information of a user at an arrival airport;
1. An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire biometric information of a user at an arrival airport;
acquire tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user;
3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire tag information read by the equipment from a radio tag attached to the baggage; and specify the location of the baggage based on the location of the equipment and the tag information.
perform a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquire a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful;
perform a matching process of the biometric information with registered biometric information of a registrant who deposited a baggage with the airline at a departure airport; and output guide information including a location of a baggage claim for pickup of the baggage in the arrival airport and a start time for pickup of the baggage in the baggage claim to the user who is authenticated as the same person as the registrant by the matching process, wherein the baggage is associated with the registered biometric information of the user.
acquire a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; perform a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;
14. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire the second biometric information of the user who deposited the baggage at the departure airport; perform a biometric matching of the second biometric information with the registered biometric information; and associate the baggage with the registered biometric information when the matching result of the second biometric information with the registered biometric information is successful.
and determine whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.
Upon arrival at the destination country, the passengers deplane and proceed to an Immigration booth. The passenger enters information identifying the passenger into a computer interface at the Immigration booth, and another video or still camera may be used to record another electronic image of the passenger. The electronic image may be compared to a prior image of the passenger. Other biometric data may be used instead of a photographic image. Once the identity of the passenger is confirmed, the passenger is routed in accordance with instructions from the government. If there is no requirement to be screened at Customs or Immigration, the passenger and the passenger's baggage may be routed automatically for pickup at a domestic baggage carousel or to connecting flights (Barnes et al. US 20020198731 par. 8).
6. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registered biometric information is any one of a face image, a fingerprint image, and an iris image.
15. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registered biometric information is any one of a face image, a fingerprint image, and an iris image.
7. An information processing method comprising: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport;
16. An information processing method comprising: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport;
acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user;
3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire tag information read by the equipment from a radio tag attached to the baggage; and specify the location of the baggage based on the location of the equipment and the tag information.
performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful;
performing a matching process of the biometric information with registered biometric information of a registrant who deposited a baggage with the airline at a departure airport; and outputting guide information including a location of a baggage claim for pickup of the baggage in the arrival airport and a start time for pickup of the baggage in the baggage claim to the user who is authenticated as the same person as the registrant by the matching process, wherein the baggage is associated with the registered biometric information of the user.
acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;
14. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire the second biometric information of the user who deposited the baggage at the departure airport; perform a biometric matching of the second biometric information with the registered biometric information; and associate the baggage with the registered biometric information when the matching result of the second biometric information with the registered biometric information is successful.
and determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.
Upon arrival at the destination country, the passengers deplane and proceed to an Immigration booth. The passenger enters information identifying the passenger into a computer interface at the Immigration booth, and another video or still camera may be used to record another electronic image of the passenger. The electronic image may be compared to a prior image of the passenger. Other biometric data may be used instead of a photographic image. Once the identity of the passenger is confirmed, the passenger is routed in accordance with instructions from the government. If there is no requirement to be screened at Customs or Immigration, the passenger and the passenger's baggage may be routed automatically for pickup at a domestic baggage carousel or to connecting flights (Barnes et al. US 20020198731 par. 8).
8. A non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to perform: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport;
17. A non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to perform: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport;
acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user;
3. The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire tag information read by the equipment from a radio tag attached to the baggage; and specify the location of the baggage based on the location of the equipment and the tag information.
performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful;
performing a matching process of the biometric information with registered biometric information of a registrant who deposited a baggage with the airline at a departure airport; and outputting guide information including a location of a baggage claim for pickup of the baggage in the arrival airport and a start time for pickup of the baggage in the baggage claim to the user who is authenticated as the same person as the registrant by the matching process, wherein the baggage is associated with the registered biometric information of the user.
acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;
14. The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: acquire the second biometric information of the user who deposited the baggage at the departure airport; perform a biometric matching of the second biometric information with the registered biometric information; and associate the baggage with the registered biometric information when the matching result of the second biometric information with the registered biometric information is successful.
and determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.
Upon arrival at the destination country, the passengers deplane and proceed to an Immigration booth. The passenger enters information identifying the passenger into a computer interface at the Immigration booth, and another video or still camera may be used to record another electronic image of the passenger. The electronic image may be compared to a prior image of the passenger. Other biometric data may be used instead of a photographic image. Once the identity of the passenger is confirmed, the passenger is routed in accordance with instructions from the government. If there is no requirement to be screened at Customs or Immigration, the passenger and the passenger's baggage may be routed automatically for pickup at a domestic baggage carousel or to connecting flights (Barnes et al. US 20020198731 par. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind, such as evaluation, comparison, and decision making) and abstract. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims directed to the mental process and abstract. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because those claims more likely disclose the abstract concept that can be done by human. Below is the analysis:
Claim 1 recited “An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; acquire tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user; perform a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquire a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful; acquire a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; perform a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information; and determine whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.”.
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract ideal for the following limitation:
. “An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; acquire tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user;” is the step of collecting data which is abstract and it can be collect by human.
. “perform a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquire a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful; acquire a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; perform a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;” is the step of comparing the data and make decision which is abstract and human can make a decision based on a result of comparison.
. “determine whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.” is the step of making decision based on a result of comparison which is abstract and human can perform the task.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using generic computing device and generic processor for performing routine collecting and processing data and making a decision bases on the result of comparison between the two data, well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
The claims more likely disclose the abstract concept that can be done by human.
Step 2B: No additional elements, individually or in combination, provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is ineligible under § 101.
Regarding claims 2-6 are further depend on claim 1 and the limitation do not recited any significantly more than the abstract idea as cited above for claim 1, therefore claims 2-6 are also reject for the same reason.
Claim 2 cited “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: perform customs inspection procedure when the matching process is successful and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information matches the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information; determine whether or not the user satisfies entry requirements into a country in the customs inspection procedure; and cause a gate apparatus to open when the user satisfies the entry requirements.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 3 cited “The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output information indicating that the baggage carried by the user is different from trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 4 cited “The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output an image of the trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure and a captured image of the baggage carried by the user, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 5 cited “The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output a registered face image of the user, an image of the trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure and a captured image of the baggage carried by the user, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 6 cited “The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registered biometric information is any one of a face image, a fingerprint image, and an iris image.” is directed to abstract idea and do not add any technological improvement.
Claim 7 recited “An information processing method comprising: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user; performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful; acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information; and determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.”.
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract ideal for the following limitation:
. “An information processing method comprising: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user;” is the step of collecting data which is abstract and it can be collect by human.
. “performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful; acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;” is the step of comparing the data and make decision which is abstract and human can make a decision based on a result of comparison.
. “determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.” is the step of making decision based on a result of comparison which is abstract and human can perform the task.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using generic computing device and generic processor for performing routine collecting and processing data and making a decision bases on the result of comparison between the two data, well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
The claims more likely disclose the abstract concept that can be done by human.
Step 2B: No additional elements, individually or in combination, provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is ineligible under § 101.
Claim 8 recited “A non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to perform: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user; performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful; acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information; and determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.”.
Step 2A prong one: Yes, the claim is abstract ideal for the following limitation:
. “A non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to perform: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user;” is the step of collecting data which is abstract and it can be collect by human.
. “performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful; acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;” is the step of comparing the data and make decision which is abstract and human can make a decision based on a result of comparison.
. “determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.” is the step of comparing the data and make decision which is abstract and human can make a decision based on a result of comparison.
. “determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.” is the step of making decision based on a result of comparison which is abstract and human can perform the task.
Step 2A prong two: Yes, the claim is abstract idea because the claim do not recite any additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims is using generic computing device and generic processor for performing routine collecting and processing data and making a decision bases on the result of comparison between the two data, well understood, routine, and conventional in the art.
The claims more likely disclose the abstract concept that can be done by human.
Step 2B: No additional elements, individually or in combination, provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is ineligible under § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamond et al. US 6698653 in view of Barnes et al. US 20020198731.
Regarding claim 1, Diamond et al. teach An information processing apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: acquire biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; (Diamond et al. US 6698653 abstract; col. 1 lines 6-22; col. 2 lines 29-32, 44-67; col. 3 lines 1-41; col. 5 lines 41-67; col. 6 lines 1-24, 62-67; col. 7 lines 1-67; col. 8 lines 25-67; col. 9 lines 44-64; col. 10 lines 23-40; figures 1-9;)
Upon arrival at the final airport destination, the passenger baggage can be recovered using a match of the passenger images stored in the baggage tag and boarding pass smart cards as the identifiers (Diamond et al. col. 6 lines 12-15). The processing of the passenger has been represented in the diagram of FIG. 6. When the passenger arrives at the airport 70, he or she can present himself or herself to a check-in point 71 which can be at curbside or a ticket counter (see FIG. 5). The passenger is queried for information and can be required to show a photo I.D., passport or the like which may previously have been encoded in the form of a smart card so that the recorded image can be matched to a face which is stored in a national or other database. He may be asked if he has packed his own luggage and whether that luggage has remained under his control the entire time since packing. In the meantime a real-time CCD video memory acquires the image of the face of that individual and the clerk or other operator can select the face whose image is to be acquired when the memory field contains more than one face. The clerk can thus supervise and confirm image capture. Boarding pass confirmation and/or issuance and data registry of the biometric data can ensue and baggage tags can be issued and affixed to the baggage by the clerk (Diamond et al. col. 8 lines 13-33).
acquire tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user; perform a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquire a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful;
In particular, the method of the invention can comprise the steps of: (a) at a first location, acquiring an image of a face of an individual, scanning a characteristic portion of the acquired image, and generating digital data representing a compressed image of the face of the individual; (b) storing the image in a database; (c) recording the digital data representing the compressed image on a single-use disposable chip carried by the individual; and (d) at another location, reading the digital data recorded on the chip, comparing the read digital data with images stored in the database, and displaying a stored image matching the read data to verify a relationship between the individual and chip at the other location (Diamond et al. col. 3 lines 1-16). In the baggage match system of the invention (see FIG. 2), the facial image of the passenger is captured and data representing a biometric analysis of the triangle centered on the eyes and nose portion of the face is used to permanently encode smart card tags with the image and passenger information. The baggage tag and boarding pass for matching chips and the passenger's image is stored and compared with law enforcement security data bases. This is represented at 20 in FIG. 2 (Diamond et al. col. 7 lines 20-29). FIG. 3 shows a baggage tag in which the carrier 30 is of card stock and is directly provided with the microchip 31. The baggage tag can be preprinted with various indicia as represented at 32 and can have a strap or the like 33 for affixing it to the baggage. Similarly a boarding pass (FIG. 4) 40 may be composed of card stock and can carry the microchip 41 and the antenna strips 42 and can be printed with appropriate indicia as shown at 42(Diamond et al. col. 7 lines 50-58). Referring now to the Process Flow diagram of FIG. 9, it will be seen that the initial operation at 110 is a pickup of the image of the passenger coupled with a continual search for recognizable faces within the camera view range. If there is recognition as determined by the decision step 111, a determination is made at 112 as to whether the individual is an enrolled frequent flier utilizing the archival data base 113. If the face has not been recognized, the process is repeated at 114 until a recognizable face is detected. Should the face not be found as an enrolled frequent flier, that search is continued as represented at 115. If, however, the face is recognized as a face of an enrolled frequent flier, the user is scanned for an active RFID tag embedded in a frequent flier card at 116. If no such active tag is found, a message is given that the individual is not a registered user at 117 and the processing of that individual ends at 118. Conversely, if the user is found to have an active tag, he or she is authenticated at 119 and can select from a number of options disclosed on the screen at 120. One of these options is the retrieval of flight information. Another option is to book a flight. A third option is fast check-in using an existing registration (Diamond et al. col. 9 lines 44-64).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the baggage tag 32 as the rfid tag that store the user data (biometric information) at the first location and the process of determine the user data is match at another location by comparing the current information with previous register data.
acquire a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; perform a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;
Alternatively, the method can comprise the steps of: (a) at a first location, acquiring an image of a face of an individual, scanning a characteristic portion of the acquired image, and generating digital data representing a compressed image of the face of the individual; (b) storing the image in a database; (c) recording the digital data representing the compressed image on a first single-use disposable chip carried by the individual and on a second single-use chip on an object moving independently from the individual; and (d) at another location, reading the digital data recorded on the first and second chips, comparing the read digital data and authenticating a relationship between the individual and the object (Diamond et al. col. 3 lines 17-30).
Diamond et al. do not explicitly teach determine whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.
Barnes et al. teach determine whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process. (Barnes et al. US 20020198731 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0008]; [0017]-[0025]; [0029]-[0030]; [0035]-[0037]; figures 1-9;)
Upon arrival at the destination country, the passengers deplane and proceed to an Immigration booth. The passenger enters information identifying the passenger into a computer interface at the Immigration booth, and another video or still camera may be used to record another electronic image of the passenger. The electronic image may be compared to a prior image of the passenger. Other biometric data may be used instead of a photographic image. Once the identity of the passenger is confirmed, the passenger is routed in accordance with instructions from the government. If there is no requirement to be screened at Customs or Immigration, the passenger and the passenger's baggage may be routed automatically for pickup at a domestic baggage carousel or to connecting flights (Barnes et al. par. 8). FIG. 3 depicts the process once the passengers begin to enplane. A video or still electronic camera may record one more electronic photo 300 of a passenger and compare this photo to the first electronic photo or to the passport or driver's license photo 310 to ensure that the passengers enplaning are the same passengers that checked in. Upon arrival in the inbound or destination country, the passengers deplane 320 and proceed to an immigration booth 330. In one embodiment, the Immigration booth is similar to the check-in counter in the outbound country. The passengers once again enter into a computer interface at the Immigration booth information indicative of their identity 340, such as a PIN and then a passport number, passport barcode, or driver's license number. A video or still electronic camera may record another photo of the passenger at the Immigration counter 350. The data is sufficient to verify each passenger's identity 360 (Barnes et al. par. 23). The airline has now received from the government in the in-bound country information on which passengers must proceed to customs or immigration or both 370. Upon verifying each passenger's identity, a computer or computer interface at the Immigration outputs instructions to each passenger to proceed to customs or to Immigration or to neither. In one embodiment, a printer prints a ticket for each passenger with the instructions 375. In another embodiment, the instructions to passengers not selected to proceed to customs or to immigration are printed on a green background or with green ink; passengers selected to proceed to Customs or to Immigration are printed on a red background or with red ink (Barnes et al. par. 24).
According to the cited passages figures, examiner interprets the system verify the passenger identity through comparison process between the capture image and the storage data to determine which passenger proceed to the customs inspection based on the result is matched.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply a video or still electronic camera for identify passenger whom are require to proceed to customs inspection taught by Barnes et al. reference in to the modified system of Diamond et al. reference in order to make the air travel more convenience and shorten the waiting time at the check point.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Diamond et al. and Barnes et al. disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to: perform customs inspection procedure when the matching process is successful and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information matches the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information; determine whether or not the user satisfies entry requirements into a country in the customs inspection procedure;
FIG. 3 depicts the process once the passengers begin to enplane. A video or still electronic camera may record one more electronic photo 300 of a passenger and compare this photo to the first electronic photo or to the passport or driver's license photo 310 to ensure that the passengers enplaning are the same passengers that checked in. Upon arrival in the inbound or destination country, the passengers deplane 320 and proceed to an immigration booth 330. In one embodiment, the Immigration booth is similar to the check-in counter in the outbound country. The passengers once again enter into a computer interface at the Immigration booth information indicative of their identity 340, such as a PIN and then a passport number, passport barcode, or driver's license number. A video or still electronic camera may record another photo of the passenger at the Immigration counter 350. The data is sufficient to verify each passenger's identity 360 (Barnes et al. par. 23). The airline has now received from the government in the in-bound country information on which passengers must proceed to customs or immigration or both 370. Upon verifying each passenger's identity, a computer or computer interface at the Immigration outputs instructions to each passenger to proceed to customs or to Immigration or to neither. In one embodiment, a printer prints a ticket for each passenger with the instructions 375. In another embodiment, the instructions to passengers not selected to proceed to customs or to immigration are printed on a green background or with green ink; passengers selected to proceed to Customs or to Immigration are printed on a red background or with red ink (Barnes et al. par. 24).
According to the cited passages figures, examiner interprets the system verify the passenger identity through comparison process between the capture image and the storage data to determine which passenger proceed to the customs inspection based on the result is matched.
and cause a gate apparatus to open when the user satisfies the entry requirements.
FIG. 6 depicts the routing for the baggage of the passenger. The baggage of the passenger is inspected 626 by an electronic method, such as a visual x-ray image, and at least one record is made of the inspection. The baggage may also be inspected by other methods, such as an Explosive Detection System (EDS), and a record made of that inspection. An image or record of the inspection or inspections is saved 628 and may be sent to the government or agent of the government of the destination country 630, where images or records are reviewed or inspected. The airline or travel medium then receives instructions 632 from the government as to whether or not the government has an interest in the passenger or the baggage. The baggage is then routed 634 to either a customs carousel, or to a connecting flight for the passenger, or to a baggage claim area (Barnes et al. par. 35).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the governments instruct routed the baggage either to the connecting flight or to the baggage claim area as the process of passenger meet the requirement for entry (open the gate for passenger).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Diamond et al. and Barnes et al. disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the registered biometric information is any one of a face image, a fingerprint image, and an iris image.
The internal rendering or "facial finger print" is arrived at by processing a facial image with a complex biometric algorithm built on variation from a basic human facial model using the facial triangle comprising the eyes and nose as key identifiers. Facial geometry, when refined to very small components, paints an absolutely unique mathematical key for an individual face. The mathematical key becomes a very useful tool when placed in a sortable database for the repeat identification of an individual (Diamond et al. col. 6 lines 16-24).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the eyes included iris.
Regarding claim 7, Diamond et al. teach An information processing method comprising: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; (Diamond et al. US 6698653 abstract; col. 1 lines 6-22; col. 2 lines 29-32, 44-67; col. 3 lines 1-41; col. 5 lines 41-67; col. 6 lines 1-24, 62-67; col. 7 lines 1-67; col. 8 lines 25-67; col. 9 lines 44-64; col. 10 lines 23-40; figures 1-9;)
Upon arrival at the final airport destination, the passenger baggage can be recovered using a match of the passenger images stored in the baggage tag and boarding pass smart cards as the identifiers (Diamond et al. col. 6 lines 12-15). The processing of the passenger has been represented in the diagram of FIG. 6. When the passenger arrives at the airport 70, he or she can present himself or herself to a check-in point 71 which can be at curbside or a ticket counter (see FIG. 5). The passenger is queried for information and can be required to show a photo I.D., passport or the like which may previously have been encoded in the form of a smart card so that the recorded image can be matched to a face which is stored in a national or other database. He may be asked if he has packed his own luggage and whether that luggage has remained under his control the entire time since packing. In the meantime a real-time CCD video memory acquires the image of the face of that individual and the clerk or other operator can select the face whose image is to be acquired when the memory field contains more than one face. The clerk can thus supervise and confirm image capture. Boarding pass confirmation and/or issuance and data registry of the biometric data can ensue and baggage tags can be issued and affixed to the baggage by the clerk (Diamond et al. col. 8 lines 13-33).
acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user; performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful;
In particular, the method of the invention can comprise the steps of: (a) at a first location, acquiring an image of a face of an individual, scanning a characteristic portion of the acquired image, and generating digital data representing a compressed image of the face of the individual; (b) storing the image in a database; (c) recording the digital data representing the compressed image on a single-use disposable chip carried by the individual; and (d) at another location, reading the digital data recorded on the chip, comparing the read digital data with images stored in the database, and displaying a stored image matching the read data to verify a relationship between the individual and chip at the other location (Diamond et al. col. 3 lines 1-16). In the baggage match system of the invention (see FIG. 2), the facial image of the passenger is captured and data representing a biometric analysis of the triangle centered on the eyes and nose portion of the face is used to permanently encode smart card tags with the image and passenger information. The baggage tag and boarding pass for matching chips and the passenger's image is stored and compared with law enforcement security data bases. This is represented at 20 in FIG. 2 (Diamond et al. col. 7 lines 20-29). FIG. 3 shows a baggage tag in which the carrier 30 is of card stock and is directly provided with the microchip 31. The baggage tag can be preprinted with various indicia as represented at 32 and can have a strap or the like 33 for affixing it to the baggage. Similarly a boarding pass (FIG. 4) 40 may be composed of card stock and can carry the microchip 41 and the antenna strips 42 and can be printed with appropriate indicia as shown at 42(Diamond et al. col. 7 lines 50-58). Referring now to the Process Flow diagram of FIG. 9, it will be seen that the initial operation at 110 is a pickup of the image of the passenger coupled with a continual search for recognizable faces within the camera view range. If there is recognition as determined by the decision step 111, a determination is made at 112 as to whether the individual is an enrolled frequent flier utilizing the archival data base 113. If the face has not been recognized, the process is repeated at 114 until a recognizable face is detected. Should the face not be found as an enrolled frequent flier, that search is continued as represented at 115. If, however, the face is recognized as a face of an enrolled frequent flier, the user is scanned for an active RFID tag embedded in a frequent flier card at 116. If no such active tag is found, a message is given that the individual is not a registered user at 117 and the processing of that individual ends at 118. Conversely, if the user is found to have an active tag, he or she is authenticated at 119 and can select from a number of options disclosed on the screen at 120. One of these options is the retrieval of flight information. Another option is to book a flight. A third option is fast check-in using an existing registration (Diamond et al. col. 9 lines 44-64).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the baggage tag 32 as the rfid tag that store the user data (biometric information) at the first location and the process of determine the user data is match at another location by comparing the current information with previous register data.
acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;
Alternatively, the method can comprise the steps of: (a) at a first location, acquiring an image of a face of an individual, scanning a characteristic portion of the acquired image, and generating digital data representing a compressed image of the face of the individual; (b) storing the image in a database; (c) recording the digital data representing the compressed image on a first single-use disposable chip carried by the individual and on a second single-use chip on an object moving independently from the individual; and (d) at another location, reading the digital data recorded on the first and second chips, comparing the read digital data and authenticating a relationship between the individual and the object (Diamond et al. col. 3 lines 17-30).
Diamond et al. do not explicitly teach determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.
Barnes et al. teach determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process. (Barnes et al. US 20020198731 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0008]; [0017]-[0025]; [0029]-[0030]; [0035]-[0037]; figures 1-9;)
Upon arrival at the destination country, the passengers deplane and proceed to an Immigration booth. The passenger enters information identifying the passenger into a computer interface at the Immigration booth, and another video or still camera may be used to record another electronic image of the passenger. The electronic image may be compared to a prior image of the passenger. Other biometric data may be used instead of a photographic image. Once the identity of the passenger is confirmed, the passenger is routed in accordance with instructions from the government. If there is no requirement to be screened at Customs or Immigration, the passenger and the passenger's baggage may be routed automatically for pickup at a domestic baggage carousel or to connecting flights (Barnes et al. par. 8). FIG. 3 depicts the process once the passengers begin to enplane. A video or still electronic camera may record one more electronic photo 300 of a passenger and compare this photo to the first electronic photo or to the passport or driver's license photo 310 to ensure that the passengers enplaning are the same passengers that checked in. Upon arrival in the inbound or destination country, the passengers deplane 320 and proceed to an immigration booth 330. In one embodiment, the Immigration booth is similar to the check-in counter in the outbound country. The passengers once again enter into a computer interface at the Immigration booth information indicative of their identity 340, such as a PIN and then a passport number, passport barcode, or driver's license number. A video or still electronic camera may record another photo of the passenger at the Immigration counter 350. The data is sufficient to verify each passenger's identity 360 (Barnes et al. par. 23). The airline has now received from the government in the in-bound country information on which passengers must proceed to customs or immigration or both 370. Upon verifying each passenger's identity, a computer or computer interface at the Immigration outputs instructions to each passenger to proceed to customs or to Immigration or to neither. In one embodiment, a printer prints a ticket for each passenger with the instructions 375. In another embodiment, the instructions to passengers not selected to proceed to customs or to immigration are printed on a green background or with green ink; passengers selected to proceed to Customs or to Immigration are printed on a red background or with red ink (Barnes et al. par. 24).
According to the cited passages figures, examiner interprets the system verify the passenger identity through comparison process between the capture image and the storage data to determine which passenger proceed to the customs inspection based on the result is matched.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply a video or still electronic camera for identify passenger whom are require to proceed to customs inspection taught by Barnes et al. reference in to the modified method of Diamond et al. reference in order to make the air travel more convenience and shorten the waiting time at the check point.
Regarding claim 8, Diamond et al. teach A non-transitory storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer to perform: acquiring biometric information of a user at an arrival airport; (Diamond et al. US 6698653 abstract; col. 1 lines 6-22; col. 2 lines 29-32, 44-67; col. 3 lines 1-41; col. 5 lines 41-67; col. 6 lines 1-24, 62-67; col. 7 lines 1-67; col. 8 lines 25-67; col. 9 lines 44-64; col. 10 lines 23-40; figures 1-9;)
Upon arrival at the final airport destination, the passenger baggage can be recovered using a match of the passenger images stored in the baggage tag and boarding pass smart cards as the identifiers (Diamond et al. col. 6 lines 12-15). The processing of the passenger has been represented in the diagram of FIG. 6. When the passenger arrives at the airport 70, he or she can present himself or herself to a check-in point 71 which can be at curbside or a ticket counter (see FIG. 5). The passenger is queried for information and can be required to show a photo I.D., passport or the like which may previously have been encoded in the form of a smart card so that the recorded image can be matched to a face which is stored in a national or other database. He may be asked if he has packed his own luggage and whether that luggage has remained under his control the entire time since packing. In the meantime a real-time CCD video memory acquires the image of the face of that individual and the clerk or other operator can select the face whose image is to be acquired when the memory field contains more than one face. The clerk can thus supervise and confirm image capture. Boarding pass confirmation and/or issuance and data registry of the biometric data can ensue and baggage tags can be issued and affixed to the baggage by the clerk (Diamond et al. col. 8 lines 13-33).
acquiring tag information from a radio tag attached to the baggage of the user; performing a matching process for matching the biometric information with registered biometric information registered in advance; acquiring a first user information and a first baggage information that are associated with the registered biometric information, when the matching process is successful;
In particular, the method of the invention can comprise the steps of: (a) at a first location, acquiring an image of a face of an individual, scanning a characteristic portion of the acquired image, and generating digital data representing a compressed image of the face of the individual; (b) storing the image in a database; (c) recording the digital data representing the compressed image on a single-use disposable chip carried by the individual; and (d) at another location, reading the digital data recorded on the chip, comparing the read digital data with images stored in the database, and displaying a stored image matching the read data to verify a relationship between the individual and chip at the other location (Diamond et al. col. 3 lines 1-16). In the baggage match system of the invention (see FIG. 2), the facial image of the passenger is captured and data representing a biometric analysis of the triangle centered on the eyes and nose portion of the face is used to permanently encode smart card tags with the image and passenger information. The baggage tag and boarding pass for matching chips and the passenger's image is stored and compared with law enforcement security data bases. This is represented at 20 in FIG. 2 (Diamond et al. col. 7 lines 20-29). FIG. 3 shows a baggage tag in which the carrier 30 is of card stock and is directly provided with the microchip 31. The baggage tag can be preprinted with various indicia as represented at 32 and can have a strap or the like 33 for affixing it to the baggage. Similarly a boarding pass (FIG. 4) 40 may be composed of card stock and can carry the microchip 41 and the antenna strips 42 and can be printed with appropriate indicia as shown at 42(Diamond et al. col. 7 lines 50-58). Referring now to the Process Flow diagram of FIG. 9, it will be seen that the initial operation at 110 is a pickup of the image of the passenger coupled with a continual search for recognizable faces within the camera view range. If there is recognition as determined by the decision step 111, a determination is made at 112 as to whether the individual is an enrolled frequent flier utilizing the archival data base 113. If the face has not been recognized, the process is repeated at 114 until a recognizable face is detected. Should the face not be found as an enrolled frequent flier, that search is continued as represented at 115. If, however, the face is recognized as a face of an enrolled frequent flier, the user is scanned for an active RFID tag embedded in a frequent flier card at 116. If no such active tag is found, a message is given that the individual is not a registered user at 117 and the processing of that individual ends at 118. Conversely, if the user is found to have an active tag, he or she is authenticated at 119 and can select from a number of options disclosed on the screen at 120. One of these options is the retrieval of flight information. Another option is to book a flight. A third option is fast check-in using an existing registration (Diamond et al. col. 9 lines 44-64).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the baggage tag 32 as the rfid tag that store the user data (biometric information) at the first location and the process of determine the user data is match at another location by comparing the current information with previous register data.
acquiring a second user information and a second baggage information based on the tag information; performing a comparing process between a combination of the first user information and the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information with a combination of the second user information and the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information;
Alternatively, the method can comprise the steps of: (a) at a first location, acquiring an image of a face of an individual, scanning a characteristic portion of the acquired image, and generating digital data representing a compressed image of the face of the individual; (b) storing the image in a database; (c) recording the digital data representing the compressed image on a first single-use disposable chip carried by the individual and on a second single-use chip on an object moving independently from the individual; and (d) at another location, reading the digital data recorded on the first and second chips, comparing the read digital data and authenticating a relationship between the individual and the object (Diamond et al. col. 3 lines 17-30).
Diamond et al. do not explicitly teach determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process.
Barnes et al. teach determining whether to perform customs inspection procedures based on a result of the matching process and a result of the comparing process. (Barnes et al. US 20020198731 abstract; paragraphs [0004]-[0008]; [0017]-[0025]; [0029]-[0030]; [0035]-[0037]; figures 1-9;)
Upon arrival at the destination country, the passengers deplane and proceed to an Immigration booth. The passenger enters information identifying the passenger into a computer interface at the Immigration booth, and another video or still camera may be used to record another electronic image of the passenger. The electronic image may be compared to a prior image of the passenger. Other biometric data may be used instead of a photographic image. Once the identity of the passenger is confirmed, the passenger is routed in accordance with instructions from the government. If there is no requirement to be screened at Customs or Immigration, the passenger and the passenger's baggage may be routed automatically for pickup at a domestic baggage carousel or to connecting flights (Barnes et al. par. 8). FIG. 3 depicts the process once the passengers begin to enplane. A video or still electronic camera may record one more electronic photo 300 of a passenger and compare this photo to the first electronic photo or to the passport or driver's license photo 310 to ensure that the passengers enplaning are the same passengers that checked in. Upon arrival in the inbound or destination country, the passengers deplane 320 and proceed to an immigration booth 330. In one embodiment, the Immigration booth is similar to the check-in counter in the outbound country. The passengers once again enter into a computer interface at the Immigration booth information indicative of their identity 340, such as a PIN and then a passport number, passport barcode, or driver's license number. A video or still electronic camera may record another photo of the passenger at the Immigration counter 350. The data is sufficient to verify each passenger's identity 360 (Barnes et al. par. 23). The airline has now received from the government in the in-bound country information on which passengers must proceed to customs or immigration or both 370. Upon verifying each passenger's identity, a computer or computer interface at the Immigration outputs instructions to each passenger to proceed to customs or to Immigration or to neither. In one embodiment, a printer prints a ticket for each passenger with the instructions 375. In another embodiment, the instructions to passengers not selected to proceed to customs or to immigration are printed on a green background or with green ink; passengers selected to proceed to Customs or to Immigration are printed on a red background or with red ink (Barnes et al. par. 24).
According to the cited passages figures, examiner interprets the system verify the passenger identity through comparison process between the capture image and the storage data to determine which passenger proceed to the customs inspection based on the result is matched.
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply a video or still electronic camera for identify passenger whom are require to proceed to customs inspection taught by Barnes et al. reference in to the modified system of Diamond et al. reference in order to make the air travel more convenience and shorten the waiting time at the check point.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diamond et al. US 6698653 in view of Barnes et al. US 20020198731 and further in view of Blazey et al. US 20040098276.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Diamond et al. and Barnes et al. teach all the limitation in the claim 2.
The combination of Diamond et al. and Barnes et al. do not explicitly teach The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output information indicating that the baggage carried by the user is different from trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information.
Blazey et al. teach The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output information indicating that the baggage carried by the user is different from trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information. (Blazey et al. US 20040098276 abstract; paragraphs [0006]-[0007]; [0018]-[0020]; [0023]-[0025]; [0027]-[0039]; [0041]-[0046]; figures 1-7;)
In FIG. 2b is shown a two-part combined baggage tag-claim check document 44. When a bag is checked, document 44 is printed and then separated along perforation line 46 into a baggage tag part 48 that is to be attached to a piece of baggage being checked by the passenger, and a claim check part 50 that is to be given to the passenger. Both baggage tag part 48 and claim check part 50 have printed thereon human readable indicia 52 relating to passenger trip information and machine readable indicia 54 also carrying the same trip information. Both baggage tag part 48 and claim check part 50 also have printed thereon passenger image 56 with indiscernible authentication mark 58. Indicia 52, 54 and image 56 are identical to those printed on boarding pass 42 as described previously for FIG. 2a. It will also be appreciated that, within the scope of the invention, the documents 48 and 50 may be printed separately to begin with rather than as a two-part document as shown in FIG. 2b (Blazey et al. par. 27). In step 406, the database is consulted to determine if the bag just scanned belongs to a boarded passenger. If it does, a go-ahead signal is sent to the image display terminal 35 in the baggage loading area 32, and the bag is loaded into the baggage hold of the vehicle in step 408. If not, the bag is set aside in the holding area as before in step 404 (Blazey et al. par. 43). Unloaded bags remain in the holding area until all passengers have been loaded (steps 410 and 404). When all passengers have been loaded, then a check is run in step 412 by central computer 14 using the data in database 18 to determine if any bags in the holding area have no matching boarded passengers. If there are no bags not matched to boarded passengers, then another go-ahead signal is sent to terminal 30 and the bags from the holding area are all loaded (step 408). If the holding area is in the transportation vehicle, the cargo door is then closed. If the holding area is a container, then the container is loaded. If, in the comparison run in step 412, it is determined that one or more bags is unmatched, then it becomes necessary to very quickly find this bag or bags in the holding area and isolate them, particularly if the holding area is inside the vehicle (Blazey et al. par. 44). In step 414, the RFID tags integrated with the baggage tags (see FIG. 3 and accompanying description) provide a means for quickly locating an unmatched bag so that it may be isolated. A directional transponder tuned to the frequency of the baggage tags RFIDs is particularly useful in locating a particular RFID tag in an area where there may be many others. An example of such a locating system is disclosed in published PCT Patent Application WO 01/94974, to Carrender, where it is disclosed how the location of an RFID tag may be determined in space, based on phase differences between signals transmitted to the RFID. The method of Carrender transmits from an interrogator to an RFID, a first and second signal at first and second frequencies, respectively. The phase of the second signal is compared with that of the first signal and a distance between the interrogator and RFID is determined based on the phase difference between the first and second signals. The Carrender method is herein incorporated by reference. Once an unmatched bag has been located, it can be quickly removed in step 414 to an isolated secure area for further investigation (Blazey et al. par. 45).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the baggage tag 48 and the baggage claim portion show in the figure 2b as part of biometric identification that use in the step 406 of the figure 6 to determine whether the baggage tag is match with the passenger on boarded. If it determine the information is un-match, set the baggage aside in holding area (step 404).
Therefore, it would have been obviously to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to apply a process of verify a scanned baggage match with the passenger on boarded passenger list taught by Blazey et al. reference in to the modified system of Diamond et al. and Barnes et al. reference in order improve a security for air transportation.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Diamond et al., Barnes et al. and Blazey et al. disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output an image of the trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure and a captured image of the baggage carried by the user, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information.
In FIG. 2b is shown a two-part combined baggage tag-claim check document 44. When a bag is checked, document 44 is printed and then separated along perforation line 46 into a baggage tag part 48 that is to be attached to a piece of baggage being checked by the passenger, and a claim check part 50 that is to be given to the passenger. Both baggage tag part 48 and claim check part 50 have printed thereon human readable indicia 52 relating to passenger trip information and machine readable indicia 54 also carrying the same trip information. Both baggage tag part 48 and claim check part 50 also have printed thereon passenger image 56 with indiscernible authentication mark 58. Indicia 52, 54 and image 56 are identical to those printed on boarding pass 42 as described previously for FIG. 2a. It will also be appreciated that, within the scope of the invention, the documents 48 and 50 may be printed separately to begin with rather than as a two-part document as shown in FIG. 2b (Blazey et al. par. 27). In step 406, the database is consulted to determine if the bag just scanned belongs to a boarded passenger. If it does, a go-ahead signal is sent to the image display terminal 35 in the baggage loading area 32, and the bag is loaded into the baggage hold of the vehicle in step 408. If not, the bag is set aside in the holding area as before in step 404 (Blazey et al. par. 43). Unloaded bags remain in the holding area until all passengers have been loaded (steps 410 and 404). When all passengers have been loaded, then a check is run in step 412 by central computer 14 using the data in database 18 to determine if any bags in the holding area have no matching boarded passengers. If there are no bags not matched to boarded passengers, then another go-ahead signal is sent to terminal 30 and the bags from the holding area are all loaded (step 408). If the holding area is in the transportation vehicle, the cargo door is then closed. If the holding area is a container, then the container is loaded. If, in the comparison run in step 412, it is determined that one or more bags is unmatched, then it becomes necessary to very quickly find this bag or bags in the holding area and isolate them, particularly if the holding area is inside the vehicle (Blazey et al. par. 44). In step 414, the RFID tags integrated with the baggage tags (see FIG. 3 and accompanying description) provide a means for quickly locating an unmatched bag so that it may be isolated. A directional transponder tuned to the frequency of the baggage tags RFIDs is particularly useful in locating a particular RFID tag in an area where there may be many others. An example of such a locating system is disclosed in published PCT Patent Application WO 01/94974, to Carrender, where it is disclosed how the location of an RFID tag may be determined in space, based on phase differences between signals transmitted to the RFID. The method of Carrender transmits from an interrogator to an RFID, a first and second signal at first and second frequencies, respectively. The phase of the second signal is compared with that of the first signal and a distance between the interrogator and RFID is determined based on the phase difference between the first and second signals. The Carrender method is herein incorporated by reference. Once an unmatched bag has been located, it can be quickly removed in step 414 to an isolated secure area for further investigation (Blazey et al. par. 45).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the baggage tag 48 and the baggage claim portion show in the figure 2b as part of biometric identification that use in the step 406 of the figure 6 to determine whether the baggage tag is match with the passenger on boarded. If it determine the information is un-match, set the baggage aside in holding area (step 404).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Diamond et al., Barnes et al. and Blazey et al. disclose The information processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to output a registered face image of the user, an image of the trustee baggage deposited by the user at the time of departure and a captured image of the baggage carried by the user, when the second baggage information acquired based on the tag information does not match the first baggage information acquired based on the registered biometric information.
In FIG. 2b is shown a two-part combined baggage tag-claim check document 44. When a bag is checked, document 44 is printed and then separated along perforation line 46 into a baggage tag part 48 that is to be attached to a piece of baggage being checked by the passenger, and a claim check part 50 that is to be given to the passenger. Both baggage tag part 48 and claim check part 50 have printed thereon human readable indicia 52 relating to passenger trip information and machine readable indicia 54 also carrying the same trip information. Both baggage tag part 48 and claim check part 50 also have printed thereon passenger image 56 with indiscernible authentication mark 58. Indicia 52, 54 and image 56 are identical to those printed on boarding pass 42 as described previously for FIG. 2a. It will also be appreciated that, within the scope of the invention, the documents 48 and 50 may be printed separately to begin with rather than as a two-part document as shown in FIG. 2b (Blazey et al. par. 27). In step 406, the database is consulted to determine if the bag just scanned belongs to a boarded passenger. If it does, a go-ahead signal is sent to the image display terminal 35 in the baggage loading area 32, and the bag is loaded into the baggage hold of the vehicle in step 408. If not, the bag is set aside in the holding area as before in step 404 (Blazey et al. par. 43). Unloaded bags remain in the holding area until all passengers have been loaded (steps 410 and 404). When all passengers have been loaded, then a check is run in step 412 by central computer 14 using the data in database 18 to determine if any bags in the holding area have no matching boarded passengers. If there are no bags not matched to boarded passengers, then another go-ahead signal is sent to terminal 30 and the bags from the holding area are all loaded (step 408). If the holding area is in the transportation vehicle, the cargo door is then closed. If the holding area is a container, then the container is loaded. If, in the comparison run in step 412, it is determined that one or more bags is unmatched, then it becomes necessary to very quickly find this bag or bags in the holding area and isolate them, particularly if the holding area is inside the vehicle (Blazey et al. par. 44). In step 414, the RFID tags integrated with the baggage tags (see FIG. 3 and accompanying description) provide a means for quickly locating an unmatched bag so that it may be isolated. A directional transponder tuned to the frequency of the baggage tags RFIDs is particularly useful in locating a particular RFID tag in an area where there may be many others. An example of such a locating system is disclosed in published PCT Patent Application WO 01/94974, to Carrender, where it is disclosed how the location of an RFID tag may be determined in space, based on phase differences between signals transmitted to the RFID. The method of Carrender transmits from an interrogator to an RFID, a first and second signal at first and second frequencies, respectively. The phase of the second signal is compared with that of the first signal and a distance between the interrogator and RFID is determined based on the phase difference between the first and second signals. The Carrender method is herein incorporated by reference. Once an unmatched bag has been located, it can be quickly removed in step 414 to an isolated secure area for further investigation (Blazey et al. par. 45).
According to the cited passages and figures, examiner interprets the baggage tag 48 and the baggage claim portion show in the figure 2b as part of biometric identification that use in the step 406 of the figure 6 to determine whether the baggage tag is match with the passenger on boarded. If it determine the information is un-match, set the baggage aside in holding area (step 404).
Conclusion
/THANG D TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686