DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A, AI, and I in the reply filed on 10/07/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12-14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Isshiki (US 2022/0338860 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Isshiki discloses an implantable bracing apparatus (suture cleating system 100; Fig. 8) for supporting one or more sutures ([0037]), the implantable bracing apparatus comprising a cylindrical volume (cannula body 104; Fig. 8) comprising one or more helices (helical thread 110) at least a portion of which is configured to be implanted within a bone tunnel (100 may be placed in a bone tunnel via users manipulation of the device), the cylindrical volume comprising: an outer portion (outer surface of 104) of the cylindrical volume configured to interface with the bone tunnel; an inner portion (inner surface of 104) of the cylindrical volume configured to pass the one or more sutures therethrough and to prevent the one or more sutures from contacting at least a portion of the bone tunnel (as a suture may be placed within 104; Fig. 8); a first open end (proximal open end of 104) corresponding with a first entry point of the bone tunnel (Fig. 8); a second open end (distal open end of 104) corresponding with a second entry point of the bone tunnel (Fig. 8); and at least one flanged head (cap 102) disposed on at least one of the first open end and the second open end (Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Isshiki discloses wherein the cylindrical volume further comprises a single helical coil (single thread 110).
Regarding claim 3, Isshiki discloses wherein the cylindrical volume has a circular cross-section (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Isshiki discloses wherein the at least one flanged head (102) includes a through hole opening (aperture 112; Fig. 9) configured to enable passage of the one or more sutures ([0040]).
Regarding claim 13, Isshiki discloses wherein the at least one flanged head (102) comprises one or more of the following characteristics: an irregular three-dimensional geometry, a non-uniform thickness, a plurality of pores or spaces, and an off-set positioning relative to the helical coil (at least a non-uniform thickness and a plurality of spaces; Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 14, Isshiki discloses wherein the at least one flanged head (102) includes one or more loops, arches, or hooks, wherein the one or more loops, arches, or hooks are configured for anchoring sutures (slots 122 are considered hooks as they hook a suture therein; Fig. 9; [0040]).
Regarding claim 17, Isshiki discloses wherein a diameter of the through hole opening (112) is smaller than a diameter of a lumen (inner volume 103) of the helical coil (Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (WO 2021/007440 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses an implantable bracing apparatus (bracing apparatus 800; Fig. 8) for supporting one or more sutures (abstract), the implantable bracing apparatus (800) comprising a cylindrical volume comprising one or more helices (single helical coil; Fig. 8; [0063]) at least a portion of which is configured to be implanted within a bone tunnel ([0063]), the cylindrical volume comprising: an outer portion of the cylindrical volume configured to interface with the bone tunnel (outer surface of helical coil); an inner portion of the cylindrical volume configured to pass the one or more sutures therethrough and to prevent the one or more sutures from contacting at least a portion of the bone tunnel (inner surface of helical coil); a first open end (proximal open end of 800) corresponding with a first entry point of the bone tunnel (Fig. 8); a second open end (distal open end of 800) corresponding with a second entry point of the bone tunnel (Fig. 8).
Hsieh fails to explicitly disclose at least one flanged head disposed on at least one of the first open end and the second open end.
However, Hsieh teaches in some embodiments flanges may be integral to the apparatus and can be disposed on the open ends (Fig. 1C; [0050]) for the purpose of constraining the apparatus from further entering the bone tunnel ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bracing apparatus of Hsieh to have at least one flanged head disposed on at least one of the first open end and the second open end as taught by Hsieh in order to constrain the bracing apparatus from further entering the bone tunnel.
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hsieh further discloses wherein the cylindrical volume further comprises a single helical coil (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh modified discloses the invention as claimed above, and Hsieh further discloses wherein the cylindrical volume has a circular cross-section (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Hsieh modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein the helical coil comprises a metallic material, a natural material, a synthetic material, an organic material, an inorganic material, a biodegradable polymer, a non-biodegradable polymer, or a combination thereof.
However, Hsieh teaches some embodiments of bracing apparatuses comprise a metallic material, a natural material, a synthetic material, an organic material, an inorganic material, a biodegradable polymer, a non-biodegradable polymer, or a combination thereof ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the helical coil of modified Hsieh to be a metallic material, a natural material, a synthetic material, an organic material, an inorganic material, a biodegradable polymer, a non-biodegradable polymer, or a combination thereof, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, modified Hsieh fails to explicitly disclose wherein an inner lumen of the helical coil comprises a coating configured to reduce friction, wherein the coating is a polyethylene or polytetrafluoroethylene composite.
However, Hsieh teaches in certain embodiments an inner lumen can comprise a coating of polyethylene or polytetrafluoroethylene composite for the purpose of reducing friction ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner lumen of the helical coil of modified Hsieh to have a polyethylene or polytetrafluoroethylene composite coating as taught by Hsieh in order to reduce friction along the inner surface of the helical coil.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Hsieh fails to explicitly disclose wherein one or both of an inner lumen of the helical coil and the outer portion comprise at least one of an osteoconductive material, a protein, a biologic, or a synthetic molecule configured to promote osseointegration and bone ingrowth, wherein the osteoconductive material comprises hydroxyapatite.
However, Hsieh teaches in certain embodiments osteoconductive materials, such as hydroxyapatite, can be incorporated into inner lumen and/or outer surface to enhance osseointegration and/or bone ingrowth. Proteins, other biologies, or synthetic molecules can also be tethered to either inner lumen or outer surface to achieve the same or similar results ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inner lumen of the helical coil and the outer portion of Hsieh to comprise hydroxyapatite as taught by Hsieh in order to enhance osseointegration and/or bone ingrowth.
Regarding claim 10, Hsieh modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the helical coil comprises a nanotextured surface.
However, Hsieh teaches an embodiment where some or all elements of the bracing apparatus can be subject to surface modification to enhance osseointegration, such as, for example, plasma treatment or electrochemical etching to generate nanotextured surfaces ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least a portion of the helical coil of modified Hsieh to have a nanotextured surface in order to increase the surface area of the outer portion to support bone ingrowth and enhance osseointegration.
Regarding claim 12, Hsieh modified discloses wherein the at least one flanged head (flange of Fig. 1C) includes a through hole opening configured to enable passage of the one or more sutures (Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 16, Hsieh modified fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one flanged head comprises any organic molecular coating, inorganic molecular coating, or surface modification to enhance osseointegration.
However, Hsieh teaches embodiments where the outer surface of a bracing apparatus includes osteoconductive materials, such as hydroxyapatite, proteins, other biologies, or synthetic molecules to enhance osseointegration and/or bone ingrowth. Further, some or all elements of an embodiment of the bracing apparatus can be subject to surface modification to enhance osseointegration ([0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one flanged head of modified Hsieh to comprise any organic molecular coating, inorganic molecular coating, or surface modification in light of the teachings of Hsieh in order to enhance osseointegration and/or bone ingrowth.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (WO 2021/007440 A1) in view of Schmieding et al. (US 2003/0105465 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Hsieh modified fails to disclose wherein the at least one flanged head includes a plurality of spikes on the surface of the flange, wherein the plurality of spikes is configured to interface with bone.
However, Schmieding teaches a bracing apparatus (implant screw 100; Fig. 17) for supporting one or more sutures (fixation device for securing suture to bone; abstract) comprising a helical coil (Fig. 17) and a flanged head (washer 40), wherein the flanged head (40) includes a plurality of spikes (teeth 48; [0055]; Figs. 15, 17) on the surface of the flange, wherein the plurality of spikes is configured to interface with bone (Fig. 17; [0056]) for the purpose of engaging soft tissue to be secured in a stationary manner while the apparatus is being installed into bone ([0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one flange of modified Hsieh to include a plurality of spikes as taught by Schmieding in order to better secure the bracing apparatus to bone and to further secure tissue to bone when desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ek et al. (US 11,998,453 B2) is noted for teaching a helical bone anchor. Bishop et al. (US 9,877,833 B1) is noted for teaching a helical anchor.
/SARAH A LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771