DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 11 – 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,127,678. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present application and the ‘678 patent claim a system and method comprising a bed having a sleep environment, one or more sensors, and a controller configured to receive pressure and temperature data and adjusting a thermal property of the sleep environment. The claims of the present application are more broad than the claims of the ‘678 patent. Therefore, the claims of the ‘678 patent anticipate the claims of the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) s 1 – 14, 20, 22, 23, and 26 – 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Palashewski et al. (US PGPUB 20160100696 – in IDS).
Regarding claim 11, Palashewski discloses a bed system comprising: a bed (e.g. 112) having a sleep environment (the term “sleep environment” is broad. Any surface where a person could fall asleep would necessarily have a “sleep environment.”);
one or more sensors configured to sense parameters of the sleep environment (e.g. ¶ 43);
and a controller operably connected to the bed (e.g. ¶ 28, 33), the controller comprising a processor (e.g. 136) and a computer-readable memory (e.g. 133), the controller configured to:
receive, from a first set of the one or more sensors, pressure data (e.g. ¶ 43)
receive, from a second set of the one or more sensors, temperature data (e.g. ¶ 49-50);
based on the received pressure data and the received temperature data, determining whether a user is in the bed (e.g. ¶ 6),
based on determining that the user is in the bed, selecting, from a plurality of possible thermoregulation adjustments, a thermoregulation adjustment (e.g. ¶ 49-50);
and adjusting a thermal property of the sleep environment based on the selected thermoregulation adjustment (e.g. ¶ 49-50).
Regarding claim 12, Palashewski discloses determining a current sleep environment state (e.g. ¶ 43); comparing the current sleep environment state to one or more conditional rules stored in a computer memory (e.g. ¶ 58); based on comparing the current sleep environment state to one or more conditional rules stored in a computer memory, identifying at least one conditional rule to execute (e.g. ¶ 58).
Regarding claim 13, Palashewski discloses determining a current time; identifying one or more conditional rules that include one or more time limitations; and comparing the current time to the one or more conditional rules that include the one or more time limitations (e.g. ¶ 61).
Regarding claim 14, Palashewski discloses determining a sleep state of the user; identifying one or more conditional rules that include one or more sleep state limitations; and comparing the sleep state of the user to the one or more conditional rules that include the one or more sleep state limitations (e.g. ¶ 40).
Regarding claim 20, Palashewski discloses providing an instruction to a heating ventilation and air condition system (HVAC) that controls a temperature of air in a room with the bed system (e.g. 316 in Fig. 3 and ¶ 59).
Regarding claim 22, Palashewski discloses the controller is further configured to: access user position information that includes an indication of a position of the user in the sleep environment, and wherein selecting from the plurality of possible thermoregulation adjustments, the thermoregulation adjustment is based on the user position information (e.g. ¶ 51).
Regarding claim 23, Palashewski discloses the controller is further configured to: access biometric information that includes an indication of a physiological condition of the user that is in the sleep environment; and wherein selecting, from the plurality of possible thermoregulation adjustments, the selected thermoregulation adjustment, is based on the biometric information (e.g. ¶ 41).
Regarding claims 26 – 28, Palashewski discloses the system as described above. By determining that the user is in the bed, Palashewski would also be capable of determining that the user is not in the bed (e.g. ¶ 41). Palashewski also discloses optimizing sleep conditions and both lowering and increasing the temperature (e.g. ¶ 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 – 19, 21, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palashewski et al. in view of Youngblood et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0219736).
Regarding claims 15, 24, and 25, Palashewski discloses the claimed invention except for specifically reciting sensing REM and NREM sleep and circadian temperature cycles.
Youngblood teaches it is known change thermal properties of the sleep environment based on the indication of REM or NREM status (e.g. paragraph 119) and receiving circadian information that includes an indication of a circadian temperature cycle of the user within a particular time period (e.g. paragraph 276), and changing thermal properties based on the sensed parameters, the sleep stage that includes an indication of REM or NREM sleep and the circadian information (e.g. paragraph 277). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the controllable device for changing thermal properties as taught by Palashewski with controlling the thermal properties based on REM or NREM status as taught by Youngblood, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improving sleep quality of the user.
Regarding claims 16 – 19, Palashewski discloses that the mattress may have different independently controlled zones (e.g. ¶ 49 and 51) and multiple layers (e.g. Fig. 1). Furthermore, Youngblood teaches that the mattress may have different temperature zones in different parts of the bed (e.g. ¶ 144) and comprise multiple layers (e.g. ¶ 144) and circulating fluid to control the temperature (e.g. ¶ 4. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the mattress as taught by Palashewski with the temperature zoned mattress as taught by Youngblood, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing different temperatures to different body parts or different users.
Regarding claim 21, Palashewski discloses using a mattress, but appears to be silent as to whether or not the sensors are integrated into the mattress. Youngblood teaches it is known to use sensors integrated into the mattress (e.g. paragraph 113). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the mattress as taught by Palashewski with mattress having sensors integrated into it as taught by Youngblood, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing an accurate temperature reading at the surface of the mattress.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796