Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-8, 11, 12, 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2009/0254790 A1) in view of Khan (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0091905 A1).
1, Pi teaches a method, at a receiver node, comprising: receiving a plurality of packets over a plurality of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers [par 0053, 0054, 0056, a MIMO system 200 that is capable of decoding data streams according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. MIMO system 200 comprises a transmitter 205 and a receiver 210 that are operable to communicate over a wireless interface 215. Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205.Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205];
and decoding the plurality of packets using the set of cross-block check blocks to assist in decoding of the plurality of packets [par 0055, 0083, Spatial processing block 250 is operable to decode data streams 265 from the combined data stream 260 using an MMSE-SIC procedure that selects an order for decoding the streams 265 based on a decoding prediction metric (DPM) for each stream 265. The DPM for each data stream 265 is based on a strength-related characteristic associated with the data stream 265. As such, the codewords may have a spatial separation and, therefore, interfere with each other. RS 402 receives CW1 1002 and CW2 1004. RS 402 attempts to decode CW1 1002 and CW2 1004. RS 402 successfully decodes 1012 CW2 1004 but does not successfully decode 1010 CW1 1002].
Pi fail to show receiving a set of cross-block check blocks generated from a plurality of bits selected from across two or more of the plurality of packets received over respective two or more MIMO layers
In an analogous art Khan show receiving a set of cross-block check blocks generated from a plurality of bits selected from across two or more of the plurality of packets received over respective two or more MIMO layers [par 0062-0066,0071, In the case of a multiple codeword MIMO transmission 400, shown in FIG. 4, a information block 402 is de-multiplexed into smaller information blocks. Individual CRCs are attached to these smaller information blocks in CRC blocks 412, 414, and 416 and then separate coding in blocks 418, 420, and 422 and modulation in blocks 424, 426, and 428 are performed on these smaller blocks. It should be noted that in the case of multi-code word MIMO transmissions, As shown in FIG. 5, for a rank-2 or 2 layers transmission 500, codeword-1 (CW1) is transmitted from Layer-0 while a codeword-2 (CW2) is transmitted from Layer-1. In FIG. 5, information 502 is placed into demux block 504. A first codeword (CW1) 506 and a second codeword (CW2) 508 are selected. CW1 506 is merged with a first output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 510. CW2 508 is merged with a second output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 512].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
2, Pi and Khan discloses the method of claim 1, Pi fail to show wherein the plurality of packets is received over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission, and wherein the set of cross-block check blocks is received over one or more MIMO layers, different from the plurality of MIMO layers, in the initial transmission.
In an analogous art Khan show wherein the plurality of packets is received over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission, and wherein the set of cross-block check blocks is received over one or more MIMO layers, different from the plurality of MIMO layers, in the initial transmission[par 0064, 0065, In a 3GPP LTE system, a maximum of two codewords are used for transmission of 2, 3 or 4 MIMO layers as shown in FIGS. 5, 6, and 7. FIG. 5, for a rank-2 or 2 layers transmission 500, codeword-1 (CW1) is transmitted from Layer-0 while a codeword-2 (CW2) is transmitted from Layer-1. In FIG. 5, information 502 is placed into demux block 504. A first codeword (CW1) 506 and a second codeword (CW2) 508 are selected. CW1 506 is merged with a first output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 510. CW2 508 is merged with a second output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 512].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
4, Pi and Khan describes the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of packets is received from two or more different transmitter nodes over the plurality of MIMO layers [par 0082, RS 402 assists BS 102 to SS 116 communication using multi-antenna MIMO hybrid ARQ. BS 102 transmits two codewords, CW1 1002 and CW2 1004 to SS 116 in a first transmission time interval ("TTI-n") over two MIMO layers].
5, Pi and Khan discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the set of cross-block check blocks is received from at least one of the two or more different transmitter nodes [fig 10, par 0071, FIG. 10, a transmitter 1002 uses a precoding matrix over a MIMO channel 1004 to transmit data to a receiver 1006. The receiver 1006 transmits a feedback codeword index to the transmitter 1002]
6, Pi creates a method, at a transmitter node, comprising: obtaining a packet to be transmitted to an intended receiver node over a plurality of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers[par 0053, 0054, 0056, a MIMO system 200 that is capable of decoding data streams according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. MIMO system 200 comprises a transmitter 205 and a receiver 210 that are operable to communicate over a wireless interface 215. Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205.Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205];
PI fail to show generating a set of one or more cross-block check blocks using a plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet; and transmitting the set of one or more cross-block check blocks over one or more MIMO layers.
In an analogous art Khan show generating a set of one or more cross-block check blocks using a plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet; and transmitting the set of one or more cross-block check blocks over one or more MIMO layers [par 0066, In FIG. 6, information 602 is placed into demux block 604. A first codeword (CW1) 606 and a second codeword (CW2) 608 are selected. CW1 606 is merged with a first output from the demux block 604 and placed into the CRC block 610. CW2 608 is merged with a second output from the demux block 604 and placed into the CRC block 612. The output from CRC block 610 is coded in Turbo/LDPC coding block 614 and modulated in modulation block 618. The output from CRC block 612 is coded in Turbo/LDPC coding block 616 and modulated in modulation block 620].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
7, Pi and Khan convey the method of claim 6, further comprising: transmitting the packet over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission[Pi par 0053, 0054, 0056, a MIMO system 200 that is capable of decoding data streams according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. MIMO system 200 comprises a transmitter 205 and a receiver 210 that are operable to communicate over a wireless interface 215. Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205.Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205];,
Pi fail to show the plurality of MIMO layers being a first subset of available MIMO layers at the transmitter node; wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted over a MIMO layer not included in the first subset, the set of one or more cross- block check blocks being transmitted with the packet in the initial transmission.
In an analogous art Khan show the plurality of MIMO layers being a first subset of available MIMO layers at the transmitter node [par 0063; 0064, It should be noted that in the case of multi-code word MIMO transmissions, different modulation and coding can be used on each of the individual streams resulting in a so called PARC (per antenna rate control) scheme. Also, multi-code word transmission allows for more efficient post-decoding interference cancellation because, a CRC check can be performed on each of the code words before the code word is cancelled from the overall signal. n a 3GPP LTE system, a maximum of two codewords are used for transmission of 2, 3 or 4 MIMO layers]
wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted over a MIMO layer not included in the first subset, the set of one or more cross- block check blocks being transmitted with the packet in the initial transmission [par 0065, As shown in FIG. 5, for a rank-2 or 2 layers transmission 500, codeword-1 (CW1) is transmitted from Layer-0 while a codeword-2 (CW2) is transmitted from Layer-1. In FIG. 5, information 502 is placed into demux block 504. A first codeword (CW1) 506 and a second codeword (CW2) 508 are selected. CW1 506 is merged with a first output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 510].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
8. Pi and Khan disclose the method of claim 6, further comprising: transmitting the packet over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission [Pi, par 0083, RS 402 assists BS 102 to SS 116 communication using multi-antenna MIMO hybrid ARQ. BS 102 transmits two codewords, CW1 1002 and CW2 1004 to SS 116 in a first transmission time interval ("TTI-n") over two MIMO layers];
transmitting the set of one or more cross-block check blocks over the one or more MIMO layers in a retransmission [par 0085, BS 102 retransmits 1312 CW2 1004 to SS 116 in the next available TTI ("TTI-(n+k)"). Additionally, RS 402 forwards (e.g. transmits) 1314 the correctly received codeword CW2 1004 to SS 116 in the next available TTI ("TTI-(n+k)"). In some embodiments, BS 102 and RS 402 coordinate preceding to be utilized for retransmission of CW2 1004 to increase the received signal for CW2 1004 at SS 116].
11. Pi discloses an apparatus comprising: a processing unit; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processing unit [par 0077, BS 102 and RS 402 processors are operable to prioritize and schedule the data packets according to preset programming instructions. As such, higher priority data packets may be transmitted prior to the transmission of a second version of a previous data packet],
cause the apparatus to: receive a plurality of packets over a plurality of multiple-input multiple- output (MIMO) layers[par 0053, 0054, 0056, a MIMO system 200 that is capable of decoding data streams according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. MIMO system 200 comprises a transmitter 205 and a receiver 210 that are operable to communicate over a wireless interface 215. Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205.Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205];
and decode the plurality of packets using the set of cross-block check blocks to assist in decoding of the plurality of packets [par 0055, 0083, Spatial processing block 250 is operable to decode data streams 265 from the combined data stream 260 using an MMSE-SIC procedure that selects an order for decoding the streams 265 based on a decoding prediction metric (DPM) for each stream 265. The DPM for each data stream 265 is based on a strength-related characteristic associated with the data stream 265. As such, the codewords may have a spatial separation and, therefore, interfere with each other. RS 402 receives CW1 1002 and CW2 1004. RS 402 attempts to decode CW1 1002 and CW2 1004. RS 402 successfully decodes 1012 CW2 1004 but does not successfully decode 1010 CW1 1002].
Pi fail to show receive a set of cross-block check blocks generated from a plurality of bits selected from across two or more of the plurality of packets received
over respective two or more MIMO layers;
In an analogous art Khan show receive a set of cross-block check blocks generated from a plurality of bits selected from across two or more of the plurality of packets received over respective two or more MIMO layers[par 0062-0066,0071, In the case of a multiple codeword MIMO transmission 400, shown in FIG. 4, a information block 402 is de-multiplexed into smaller information blocks. Individual CRCs are attached to these smaller information blocks in CRC blocks 412, 414, and 416 and then separate coding in blocks 418, 420, and 422 and modulation in blocks 424, 426, and 428 are performed on these smaller blocks. It should be noted that in the case of multi-code word MIMO transmissions, As shown in FIG. 5, for a rank-2 or 2 layers transmission 500, codeword-1 (CW1) is transmitted from Layer-0 while a codeword-2 (CW2) is transmitted from Layer-1. In FIG. 5, information 502 is placed into demux block 504. A first codeword (CW1) 506 and a second codeword (CW2) 508 are selected. CW1 506 is merged with a first output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 510. CW2 508 is merged with a second output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 512].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
12, Pi and Khan discloses the apparatus of claim 11, Pi fail to show wherein the plurality of packets is received over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission, and wherein the set of cross-block check blocks is received over one or more MIMO layers, different from the plurality of MIMO layers, in the initial transmission.
In an analogous art Khan show wherein the plurality of packets is received over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission, and wherein the set of cross-block check blocks is received over one or more MIMO layers, different from the plurality of MIMO layers, in the initial transmission[par 0064, 0065, In a 3GPP LTE system, a maximum of two codewords are used for transmission of 2, 3 or 4 MIMO layers as shown in FIGS. 5, 6, and 7. FIG. 5, for a rank-2 or 2 layers transmission 500, codeword-1 (CW1) is transmitted from Layer-0 while a codeword-2 (CW2) is transmitted from Layer-1. In FIG. 5, information 502 is placed into demux block 504. A first codeword (CW1) 506 and a second codeword (CW2) 508 are selected. CW1 506 is merged with a first output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 510. CW2 508 is merged with a second output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 512].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
14, Pi and Khan disclose the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the plurality of packets is received from two or more different transmitter nodes over the plurality of MIMO layers[Pi, par 0082, RS 402 assists BS 102 to SS 116 communication using multi-antenna MIMO hybrid ARQ. BS 102 transmits two codewords, CW1 1002 and CW2 1004 to SS 116 in a first transmission time interval ("TTI-n") over two MIMO layers].
15, Pi and Khan provide the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the set of cross-block check blocks is received from at least one of the two or more different transmitter nodes [fig 10, par 0071, FIG. 10, a transmitter 1002 uses a precoding matrix over a MIMO channel 1004 to transmit data to a receiver 1006. The receiver 1006 transmits a feedback codeword index to the transmitter 1002]
16, Pi teaches an apparatus comprising: a processing unit; and a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the processing unit, cause the apparatus to: obtain a packet to be transmitted to an intended receiver node over a plurality of multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) layers[par 0053, 0054, 0056, a MIMO system 200 that is capable of decoding data streams according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. MIMO system 200 comprises a transmitter 205 and a receiver 210 that are operable to communicate over a wireless interface 215. Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205.Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205];
Pi fail to show generate a set of one or more cross-block check blocks using a plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet; and transmit the set of one or more cross-block check blocks over one or more MIMO layers.
In an analogous art Khan show generate a set of one or more cross-block check blocks using a plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet; and transmit the set of one or more cross-block check blocks over one or more MIMO layers[par 0066, In FIG. 6, information 602 is placed into demux block 604. A first codeword (CW1) 606 and a second codeword (CW2) 608 are selected. CW1 606 is merged with a first output from the demux block 604 and placed into the CRC block 610. CW2 608 is merged with a second output from the demux block 604 and placed into the CRC block 612. The output from CRC block 610 is coded in Turbo/LDPC coding block 614 and modulated in modulation block 618. The output from CRC block 612 is coded in Turbo/LDPC coding block 616 and modulated in modulation block 620].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
17, Pi and Khan provide the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: transmit the packet over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission[Pi par 0053, 0054, 0056, a MIMO system 200 that is capable of decoding data streams according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. MIMO system 200 comprises a transmitter 205 and a receiver 210 that are operable to communicate over a wireless interface 215. Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205.Receiver 210 comprises a spatial processing block 250 and a plurality of antennas 255, each of which is operable to receive a combined data stream 260 from a plurality of sources including antennas 225 of transmitter 205];
Pi fail show the plurality of MIMO layers being a first subset of available MIMO layers at the transmitter node; wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted over a MIMO layer not included in the first subset, the set of one or more cross-block check blocks being transmitted with the packet in the initial transmission.
In an analogous Khan show the plurality of MIMO layers being a first subset of available MIMO layers at the transmitter node[par 0063; 0064, It should be noted that in the case of multi-code word MIMO transmissions, different modulation and coding can be used on each of the individual streams resulting in a so called PARC (per antenna rate control) scheme. Also, multi-code word transmission allows for more efficient post-decoding interference cancellation because, a CRC check can be performed on each of the code words before the code word is cancelled from the overall signal. n a 3GPP LTE system, a maximum of two codewords are used for transmission of 2, 3 or 4 MIMO layers];
wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted over a MIMO layer not included in the first subset, the set of one or more cross-block check blocks being transmitted with the packet in the initial transmission[par 0065, As shown in FIG. 5, for a rank-2 or 2 layers transmission 500, codeword-1 (CW1) is transmitted from Layer-0 while a codeword-2 (CW2) is transmitted from Layer-1. In FIG. 5, information 502 is placed into demux block 504. A first codeword (CW1) 506 and a second codeword (CW2) 508 are selected. CW1 506 is merged with a first output from the demux block 504 and placed into the CRC block 510].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi and Khan because there is a need for a low overhead multiple in, multiple out (MIMO) transmission scheme that is capable of maximizing user available resources. [Khan par 0004]
18, Pi and Khan teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: transmit the packet over the plurality of MIMO layers in an initial transmission[Pi, par 0083, RS 402 assists BS 102 to SS 116 communication using multi-antenna MIMO hybrid ARQ. BS 102 transmits two codewords, CW1 1002 and CW2 1004 to SS 116 in a first transmission time interval ("TTI-n") over two MIMO layers];
and transmit the set of one or more cross-block check blocks over the one or more MIMO layers in a retransmission[par 0085, BS 102 retransmits 1312 CW2 1004 to SS 116 in the next available TTI ("TTI-(n+k)"). Additionally, RS 402 forwards (e.g. transmits) 1314 the correctly received codeword CW2 1004 to SS 116 in the next available TTI ("TTI-(n+k)"). In some embodiments, BS 102 and RS 402 coordinate preceding to be utilized for retransmission of CW2 1004 to increase the received signal for CW2 1004 at SS 116].
.
4. Claim(s) 3, 9, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2009/0254790 A1) in view of Khan (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0091905 A1) in further view of Nasiri (U.S. Pub No. 2016/0234844 A1).
3, Pi and Khan illustrates the method of claim 1, Pi and Khan fail to show further comprising: after receiving the plurality of packets, attempting to decode the plurality of packets and transmitting feedback indicating decoding of the plurality of packets was unsuccessful; and receiving the set of cross-block check blocks in a retransmission after transmitting the feedback.
In an analogous art Nasiri show further comprising: after receiving the plurality of packets, attempting to decode the plurality of packets and transmitting feedback indicating decoding of the plurality of packets was unsuccessful; and receiving the set of cross-block check blocks in a retransmission after transmitting the feedback[par 0009, The main purpose of the CRC is to enable the receiver to verify whether the decoded packet is correct or not. In case, the added CRC does not correctly check after the decoding, the receiver may initiate a Negative Acknowledgment (NACK) signal to notify the transmitter that the decoded packet is erroneous. Having received the NACK signal, the transmitter may retransmit the packet].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi, Khan, and Nasiri because to improve the channel estimation quality is to use iterative demodulation/decoding and channel estimation. [Nairi par 0016]
9, Pi and Khan reveal the method of claim 8, Pi and Khan fail to show wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted in the retransmission in absence of any feedback.
In an analogous art Nasiri to show wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted in the retransmission in absence of any feedback[par 0009, The main purpose of the CRC is to enable the receiver to verify whether the decoded packet is correct or not. In case, the added CRC does not correctly check after the decoding, the receiver may initiate a Negative Acknowledgment (NACK) signal to notify the transmitter that the decoded packet is erroneous. Having received the NACK signal, the transmitter may retransmit the packet].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi, Khan, and Nasiri because to improve the channel estimation quality is to use iterative demodulation/decoding and channel estimation. [Nairi par 0016]
13, Pi and Khan demonstrate the apparatus of claim 11, Pi and Khan fail to show wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: after receiving the plurality of packets, attempt to decode the plurality of packets and transmit feedback indicating decoding of the plurality of packets was unsuccessful; and receive the set of cross-block check blocks in a retransmission after transmitting the feedback.
In an analogous art Nasiri show wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: after receiving the plurality of packets, attempt to decode the plurality of packets and transmit feedback indicating decoding of the plurality of packets was unsuccessful; and receive the set of cross-block check blocks in a retransmission after transmitting the feedback[par 0009, The main purpose of the CRC is to enable the receiver to verify whether the decoded packet is correct or not. In case, the added CRC does not correctly check after the decoding, the receiver may initiate a Negative Acknowledgment (NACK) signal to notify the transmitter that the decoded packet is erroneous. Having received the NACK signal, the transmitter may retransmit the packet].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi, Khan, and Nasiri because to improve the channel estimation quality is to use iterative demodulation/decoding and channel estimation. [Nairi par 0016]
19, Pi and Khan describe the apparatus of claim 18, Pi and Khan fail to show wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted in the retransmission in absence of any feedback.
In an analogous art Nasiri show wherein the set of one or more cross-block check blocks is transmitted in the retransmission in absence of any feedback[par 0009, The main purpose of the CRC is to enable the receiver to verify whether the decoded packet is correct or not. In case, the added CRC does not correctly check after the decoding, the receiver may initiate a Negative Acknowledgment (NACK) signal to notify the transmitter that the decoded packet is erroneous. Having received the NACK signal, the transmitter may retransmit the packet].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi, Khan, and Nasiri because to improve the channel estimation quality is to use iterative demodulation/decoding and channel estimation. [Nairi par 0016]
4. Claim(s) 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2009/0254790 A1) in view of Khan (U.S. Pub No. 2010/0091905 A1) in further view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0167899 A1).
10, Pi and Khan defines the method of claim 6, Pi and Khan fail to show wherein the plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet is selected using a set of interleavers associated with a redundancy version (RV) index.
In an analogous art BALASUBRAMANIAN show wherein the plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet is selected using a set of interleavers associated with a redundancy version (RV) index [par 0151, Similar numbered code block groups in TB.sub.1 1205 and TB.sub.2 1240 are used to generate cross redundancy versions. For example, cross parity bits produced jointly using CBG.sup.1.sub.3 1230 and CBG.sup.2.sub.3 1260 yields cross redundancy versions: (cRV1).sup.12.sub.3, (cRV2).sup.12.sub.3, and (cRV3).sup.12.sub.3. The procedure for generating cross redundancy versions between CBGs belonging to two different transport blocks is similar to the encoding procedure depicted in FIG. 8, with the transport blocks TB.sub.1 and TB.sub.2 replaced by code block groups CBG.sup.k.sub.m. That is, an interleaver may be used to produce a concatenated code block group, and the concatenated code block group may be segmented into code blocks, and encoding is performed per code block in a typical manner].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi, Khan, and BALASUBRAMANIAN because this provides methods and apparatuses that optimize resource usage for HARQ stop-and-wait procedure over an NTN link are needed.
20, Pi and Khan reveal the apparatus of claim 16, Pi and Khan fail to show wherein the plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet is selected using a set of interleavers associated with a redundancy version (RV) index.
In an analogous art BALASUBRAMANIAN show wherein the plurality of bits selected from across two or more code blocks of the packet is selected using a set of interleavers associated with a redundancy version (RV) index[par 0151, Similar numbered code block groups in TB.sub.1 1205 and TB.sub.2 1240 are used to generate cross redundancy versions. For example, cross parity bits produced jointly using CBG.sup.1.sub.3 1230 and CBG.sup.2.sub.3 1260 yields cross redundancy versions: (cRV1).sup.12.sub.3, (cRV2).sup.12.sub.3, and (cRV3).sup.12.sub.3. The procedure for generating cross redundancy versions between CBGs belonging to two different transport blocks is similar to the encoding procedure depicted in FIG. 8, with the transport blocks TB.sub.1 and TB.sub.2 replaced by code block groups CBG.sup.k.sub.m. That is, an interleaver may be used to produce a concatenated code block group, and the concatenated code block group may be segmented into code blocks, and encoding is performed per code block in a typical manner].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pi, Khan, and BALASUBRAMANIAN because this provodes methods and apparatuses that optimize resource usage for HARQ stop-and-wait procedure over an NTN link are needed.
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468