Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8-16 , 18 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12155996 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because when claims in the pending application are broader than the ones in the patent, the broad claims in the pending application are rejected under obviousness type double patenting over previously patented narrow claims, In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214 USPQ 761. For example, claim 1 of the pending application has the same limitations as claim 1 of the patent except for the following in bold.
Therefore, claim 1 of the pending application is broader than claim 1 of the patent.
Current Application: 18926581
US Patent: 12155996B2
1. An electrostatic transducer preferably for use in a motor vehicle comprising: a first conductive stator; a composite laminated diaphragm; and a first insulating spacer disposed between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm; wherein the composite laminated diaphragm comprises: a first insulating layer formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; a second insulating layer extending over and bonded to the conductive layer, wherein the second insulating layer is formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; wherein the second insulating layer is bonded to the conductive layer by an adhesive layer between the conductive layer and the second insulating layer.
2. The electrostatic transducer of claim 1, further comprising: a second conductive stator; a second insulating spacer disposed between the second conductive stator and the diaphragm to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the second conductive stator and the diaphragm.
3. The electrostatic transducer of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises an acrylic-based adhesive.
1. A method of manufacturing an electrostatic transducer suitable for use in a motor vehicle, the method comprising manufacturing a composite laminated diaphragm and assembling the electrostatic transducer; wherein manufacturing the composite laminated diaphragm comprises: providing a first insulating layer, wherein the first insulating layer comprises a sheet of uncharged insulating material; providing a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; providing a second insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer comprises a sheet of uncharged insulating material; bonding the second insulating layer to the conductive layer such that the second insulating layer extends over the conductive layer, wherein bonding the second insulating layer to the conductive layer comprises applying an adhesive layer to the conductive layer and overlaying the second insulating layer on the adhesive layer or applying an adhesive layer to the second insulating layer and overlaying the second insulating layer on the conductive layer; and wherein assembling the electrostatic transducer comprises: providing a first conductive stator and a first insulating spacer; securing the first conductive stator, the first insulating spacer and the diaphragm in a stack with the first insulating spacer between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises an acrylic-based adhesive.
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11825265B2 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because when claims in the pending application are broader than the ones in the patent, the broad claims in the pending application are rejected under obviousness type double patenting over previously patented narrow claims, In re Van Ornum and Stang, 214 USPQ 761. For example, claim 1 of the pending application has the same limitations as claim 1 of the patent except for the following in bold.
Therefore, claim 1 of the pending application is broader than claim 1 of the patent.
Current Application: 18926581
US Patent: 11825265B2
1. An electrostatic transducer preferably for use in a motor vehicle comprising: a first conductive stator; a composite laminated diaphragm; and a first insulating spacer disposed between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm; wherein the composite laminated diaphragm comprises: a first insulating layer formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; a second insulating layer extending over and bonded to the conductive layer, wherein the second insulating layer is formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; wherein the second insulating layer is bonded to the conductive layer by an adhesive layer between the conductive layer and the second insulating layer.
2. The electrostatic transducer of claim 1, further comprising: a second conductive stator; a second insulating spacer disposed between the second conductive stator and the diaphragm to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the second conductive stator and the diaphragm.
4. The electrostatic transducer of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer has a thickness of 1 μm to 10 μm, preferably 3 μm to 5 μm, more preferably 3 μm to 4 μm.
1. 1. A method of manufacturing an electrostatic transducer suitable for use in a motor vehicle, the method comprising manufacturing a composite laminated diaphragm and assembling the electrostatic transducer; wherein manufacturing the composite laminated diaphragm comprises: providing a first insulating layer, wherein the first insulating layer comprises a sheet of uncharged insulating material; providing a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; providing a second insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer comprises a sheet of uncharged insulating material; bonding the second insulating layer to the conductive layer such that the second insulating layer extends over the conductive layer, wherein bonding the second insulating layer to the conductive layer comprises applying an adhesive layer to the conductive layer and overlaying the second insulating layer on the adhesive layer or applying an adhesive layer to the second insulating layer and overlaying the second insulating layer on the conductive layer; wherein the composite laminated diaphragm has a thickness that is less than 20 μm; and wherein assembling the electrostatic transducer comprises: providing a first conductive stator and a first insulating spacer; securing the first conductive stator, the first insulating spacer and the diaphragm in a stack with the first insulating spacer between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises an acrylic-based adhesive.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer has a thickness of 1 μm to 10 μm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 10,13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzawa (US 2007/0127746) and in further view of Hill (US 5600610) and in further view of JP2016521056A.
As to Claim 1, Matsuzawa teaches an electrostatic transducer ( electrostatic type transducer 1, abstract, [0051], Figures 1A, 9 ) preferably for use in a motor vehicle comprising: a first conductive stator ( fixed electrode 10A, [0132]) ; a composite laminated diaphragm( oscillating film 12, [0132], the oscillating film 12 having a conductive layer 121 and is formed by an insulator 120 and has electrode layer 121, [0133], thus oscillating film 12 is a “composite laminated” ); and a first insulating spacer disposed between the first conductive stator( since the fixed electrodes 10A an d10B are further coated with insulation thin films such as alumina, silicon polymer materials and amorphous carbon films, [0163], the coating of insulation reads on the claimed “ insulating spacer” ) and the diaphragm( oscillating film 12). Regarding the following: to provide a spacing of less than 1mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm, Matsuzawa teaches on Figure 7B, a small spacing or clearance between the electrodes 10A and oscillating film 12 and [0181] teaches when the reference frequency is 100 kHz, the wavelength is 3.4 mm. Thus, the sufficient resonance pipe length (fixed electrode thickness) t is 0.85 mm equal to 1/4 of the wavelength); wherein the composite laminated diaphragm ( oscillating film 12) comprises: a first insulating layer formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; a second insulating layer extending over and bonded to the conductive layer, wherein the second insulating layer is formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material, wherein the second insulating layer is bonded to the conductive layer by an adhesive layer between the conductive layer and the second insulating layer, Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] Figures 4b and 4c teaches the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphtha late (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 mu.m to 100 mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a),[0169] FIG. 4(c) shows a structure where two sheets of one-side electrode evaporation film are affixed to each other with the electrode side contacting the other electrode side. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach: the electrostatic transducer is preferably for use in a motor vehicle. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic electrostatic transducer is used in a motor vehicle. However, using electrostatic transducers in industrial applications such as vehicle is well-known in the art. Hill, in related field (electrostatic transducers) teaches using an electrostatic transducer can be used in vehicles. See at least col. 1 lines 58-61. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use the electrostatic transducer as taught by Matsuzawa in a variety of industrial applications such as vehicles depending on it's intended application. Matsuzawa in view of Hill does not explicitly teaches the electrodes are “affixed” to the conductive layer by an adhesive layer. However, JP2016521056A in related field (acoustic composite membrane) teaches a composite membrane including a multi-layer laminated films in which one of the damping layer is an adhesive layer since adhesives as damping layers have acoustic damping properties. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use an adhesive damping layer to affix to the conductive layer, to further provide acoustic damping property to the composite diaphragm. See at least JP2016521056A on page 5, [0001].
As to Claim 2, Matsuzawa further view of Hill in further view of JP2016521056A teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and further comprising: providing a second conductive stator( second electrode 10B, [0132]) and a second insulating spacer( Figure 1A of Matsuzawa shows an spacer,) ; securing the second conductive stator ( second electrode 10B) and the second insulating spacer in the stack with the second insulating spacer between the second conductive stator and the diaphragm (12, Figure 1A) to provide a spacing of less than 1 mm between the second conductive stator and the diaphragm, [0181] teaches the sufficient resonance pipe length (fixed electrode thickness) t is 0.85 mm.
As to Claim 3, Matsuzawa further view of Hill in further view of JP2016521056A teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the adhesive layer comprises an acrylic-based adhesive, JP2016521056A teaches n adhesive whose polymer base is a polymer from acrylic monomers, where acrylic monomers are in particular acrylic acid and methacrylic acid, esters of said acids and other derivatives copolymerizable with said acids In this case, the acrylic monomer is used at the time of the polymerization in an amount such that the properties of the adhesive are decisively determined, optionally together with further comonomers. For example, pressure sensitive adhesives with acrylic monomers in the proportion of at least 50% by weight, at least 80% by weight or 100% by weight (pure acrylate system) can be used during the polymerization. See at least JP2016521056A on page 6, [0006].
As to Claim 10, Matsuzawa in view of Hill in further view of JP2016521056A teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the first insulating layer and/or the second insulating layer is formed from a polymer material, Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] [0168] FIG. 4(b) shows a structure where the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120.
As to Claim 13, Matsuzawa in view of Hill in further view of JP2016521056A teaches the limitations of Claim 1, and wherein the first insulating layer and/or the second insulating layer is/are formed from a capacitor film, Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] [0168] FIG. 4(b) shows a structure where the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 .mu.m to 100 .mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a).
As to Claim 19, Matsuzawa in view of Hill in further view of JP2016521056A) teaches the limitations of Claim 18 and using an electrostatic transducer can be used in vehicles. See at least Hill on col. 1 lines 58-61.
As to Claim 20, Matsuzawa in view of Hill in further view of JP2016521056A) teaches the limitations of Claim 19 and a motor vehicle comprising the electrostatic transducer, Hill teaches an electrostatic transducer can be used in vehicles. See at least col. 1 lines 58-61.
2. Claims 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuzawa (US 2007/0127746) and in further view of Hill (US 5600610).
As to Claim 7, Matsuzawa teaches an electrostatic transducer ( electrostatic type transducer 1, abstract, [0051], Figures 1A, 9 ) preferably for use in a motor vehicle comprising: a first conductive stator ( fixed electrode 10A, [0132]) ; a composite laminated diaphragm( oscillating film 12, [0132], the oscillating film 12 having a conductive layer 121 and is formed by an insulator 120 and has electrode layer 121, [0133], thus oscillating film 12 is a “composite laminated” ); and a first insulating spacer disposed between the first conductive stator( since the fixed electrodes 10A an d10B are further coated with insulation thin films such as alumina, silicon polymer materials and amorphous carbon films, [0163], the coating of insulation reads on the claimed “ insulating spacer” ) and the diaphragm( oscillating film 12). Regarding the following: to provide a spacing of less than 1mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm, Matsuzawa teaches on Figure 7B, a small spacing or clearance between the electrodes 10A and oscillating film 12 and [0181] teaches when the reference frequency is 100 kHz, the wavelength is 3.4 mm. Thus, the sufficient resonance pipe length (fixed electrode thickness) t is 0.85 mm equal to 1/4 of the wavelength); wherein the composite laminated diaphragm ( oscillating film 12) comprises: a first insulating layer formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; a second insulating layer extending over and bonded to the conductive layer, wherein the second insulating layer is formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material, wherein the second insulating layer is bonded to the conductive layer by an adhesive layer between the conductive layer and the second insulating layer, Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] Figures 4b and 4c teaches the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphtha late (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 .mu.m to 100 .mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a),[0169] FIG. 4(c) shows a structure where two sheets of one-side electrode evaporation film are affixed to each other with the electrode side contacting the other electrode side. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach: the electrostatic transducer is preferably for use in a motor vehicle. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic electrostatic transducer is used in a motor vehicle. However, using electrostatic transducers in industrial applications such as vehicle is well-known in the art. Hill, in related field (electrostatic transducers) teaches using an electrostatic transducer can be used in vehicles. See at least col. 1 lines 58-61. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use the electrostatic transducer as taught by Matsuzawa in a variety of industrial applications such as vehicles depending on it's intended application. Matsuzawa further teaches wherein the first insulating layer has a thickness of 5 μm to 25 μm, on [0166] and [0168], The optimal thickness of the insulating polymeric film as the insulation film 120 forming the oscillation film 12 differs depending on the operation frequencies and the hole sizes formed on the fixed electrodes, and thus cannot be determined unconditionally. In general, the thickness is almost preferable when it is in the range from 1 micrometer to 100 u.m.
As to Claim 8, Matsuzawa teaches an electrostatic transducer ( electrostatic type transducer 1, abstract, [0051], Figures 1A, 9 ) preferably for use in a motor vehicle comprising: a first conductive stator ( fixed electrode 10A, [0132]) ; a composite laminated diaphragm( oscillating film 12, [0132], the oscillating film 12 having a conductive layer 121 and is formed by an insulator 120 and has electrode layer 121, [0133], thus oscillating film 12 is a “composite laminated” ); and a first insulating spacer disposed between the first conductive stator( since the fixed electrodes 10A an d10B are further coated with insulation thin films such as alumina, silicon polymer materials and amorphous carbon films, [0163], the coating of insulation reads on the claimed “ insulating spacer” ) and the diaphragm( oscillating film 12). Regarding the following: to provide a spacing of less than 1mm between the first conductive stator and the diaphragm, Matsuzawa teaches on Figure 7B, a small spacing or clearance between the electrodes 10A and oscillating film 12 and [0181] teaches when the reference frequency is 100 kHz, the wavelength is 3.4 mm. Thus, the sufficient resonance pipe length (fixed electrode thickness) t is 0.85 mm equal to 1/4 of the wavelength); wherein the composite laminated diaphragm ( oscillating film 12) comprises: a first insulating layer formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material; a conductive layer on a surface of the first insulating layer; a second insulating layer extending over and bonded to the conductive layer, wherein the second insulating layer is formed from a sheet of uncharged insulating material, wherein the second insulating layer is bonded to the conductive layer by an adhesive layer between the conductive layer and the second insulating layer, Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] Figures 4b and 4c teaches the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphtha late (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 mu.m to 100 mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a),[0169] FIG. 4(c) shows a structure where two sheets of one-side electrode evaporation film are affixed to each other with the electrode side contacting the other electrode side. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach: the electrostatic transducer is preferably for use in a motor vehicle. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic electrostatic transducer is used in a motor vehicle. However, using electrostatic transducers in industrial applications such as vehicle is well-known in the art. Hill, in related field (electrostatic transducers) teaches using an electrostatic transducer can be used in vehicles. See at least col. 1 lines 58-61. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to use the electrostatic transducer as taught by Matsuzawa in a variety of industrial applications such as vehicles depending on it's intended application. Matsuzawa further teaches wherein the second insulating layer has a thickness of 5 μm to 25 μm, on [0166] and [0168], The optimal thickness of the insulating polymeric film as the insulation film 120 forming the oscillation film 12 differs depending on the operation frequencies and the hole sizes formed on the fixed electrodes, and thus cannot be determined unconditionally. In general, the thickness is almost preferable when it is in the range from 1micrometer to 100 micro meter.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 9-12, 14-17 are allowed.
The independent Claim 9, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…wherein the composite laminated diaphragm has a length that is greater than 1cm and a width that is greater than 1cm. The closest prior art to Matsuzawa teaches on [0182] teaches FIGS. 7(A) and 7(B) show respective relationships between frequency and sound pressure generated by mechanical oscillation resonance of the oscillation film, sound pressure by acoustic resonance, and synthesis sound pressure of these. FIG. 7(A) shows the case where the acoustic resonance frequency agrees with the primary resonance frequency of the mechanical oscillation of the oscillation film. In FIG. 7(B), when the diameter of the oscillation film is 1,500 .mu.m, the thickness is 12 .mu.m, the acoustic pipe diameter is 750 .mu.m, and the length is 1.1 .mu.m, for example, the mechanical oscillation resonance frequency (primary resonance frequency) f1 of the oscillation film is around 30 kHz. The case in which the primary resonance frequency f1 of the mechanical oscillation of the oscillation film agrees with the acoustic resonance frequency of the through holes is shown in FIG. 7(A). However, high sound pressure can be generated when the secondary resonance frequency f2 of the mechanical oscillation of the oscillation film agrees with the acoustic resonance frequency of the through holes as shown in FIG. 7(B) other than the case in which the primary resonance frequency f1 of the mechanical oscillation of the oscillation film agrees with the acoustic resonance frequency of the through holes. Matsuzawa does not explicitly teach the composite laminated diaphragm has a length that is greater than 1cm and a width that is greater than 1cm.
The independent Claim 11, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…wherein at least one of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is formed from a material with a dielectric breakdown strength greater than 500V/mm. The closest prior art to Matsuzawa teaches on [0168], IG. 4(b) shows a structure where the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 .mu.m to 100 .mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a), but does not explicitly teach one of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is formed from a material with a dielectric breakdown strength greater than 500V/mm.
The independent Claim 12, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…wherein at least one of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is formed from a material with a dielectric constant less than or equal to 3.9. The closest prior art to Matsuzawa teaches on [0168], IG. 4(b) shows a structure where the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 .mu.m to 100 .mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a), but does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is formed from a material with a dielectric constant less than or equal to 3.9.
The independent Claim 14, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…wherein the composite laminated diaphragm is substantially isotropic in respect of at least one of: a Young's Modulus of the composite laminated diaphragm, a Coefficient of Thermal Expansion of the composite laminated diaphragm, and a yield strength or tensile strength of the composite laminated diaphragm. The closest prior art to Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] FIG. 4(b) shows a structure where the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 .mu.m to 100 .mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a),[0169] FIG. 4(c) shows a structure where two sheets of one-side electrode evaporation film are affixed to each other with the electrode side contacting the other electrode side. In this case, the requirements for the insulation film and the electrode section are preferably the same as those of other types of oscillation film discussed above. DC bias voltage of several hundreds volts needs to be applied to the oscillation film 12, but this bias voltage can be reduced when the oscillation film 12 is fixed by applying tension on the film surface in the right-angled four directions at the time of manufacture of the film unit, but does not explicitly teach wherein the composite laminated diaphragm is substantially isotropic in respect of at least one of: a Young's Modulus of the composite laminated diaphragm, a Coefficient of Thermal Expansion of the composite laminated diaphragm, and a yield strength or tensile strength of the composite laminated diaphragm.
The independent Claim 17, identifies a uniquely distinct feature of “…wherein the composite laminated diaphragm has the following properties: i) a glass transition temperature of at least 120° C.; ii) at least one parameter for which respective measured values thereof are matched between two or more layers of the composite material or film, wherein the at least one parameter is selected from the group consisting of a Coefficient of Thermal Expansion, a Young's modulus, a yield strength and a tensile strength; and iii) a Surface Energy in the range of from 30 to 60 dynes/cm and/or a Polar Surface Energy greater than 12 dynes/cm. The closest prior art to Matsuzawa teaches the closest prior art to Matsuzawa teaches on [0168] FIG. 4(b) shows a structure where the electrode layer 121 is sandwiched between insulating polymeric films as the insulating films 120. In this case, the thickness of the electrode layer 121 is preferably in the range from 40 nm to 200 nm similarly to the case shown in FIG. 4(a). The material and the thickness of the insulating films 120 into which the electrode layer 121 is inserted are preferably selected from polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyester, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), and polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), and in the range from 1 .mu.m to 100 .mu.m similarly to the double-side electrode-evaporation film shown in FIG. 4(a),[0169] FIG. 4(c) shows a structure where two sheets of one-side electrode evaporation film are affixed to each other with the electrode side contacting the other electrode side. In this case, the requirements for the insulation film and the electrode section are preferably the same as those of other types of oscillation film discussed above. DC bias voltage of several hundreds volts needs to be applied to the oscillation film 12, but this bias voltage can be reduced when the oscillation film 12 is fixed by applying tension on the film surface in the right-angled four directions at the time of manufacture of the film unit, but does not explicitly teach but does not explicitly teach wherein the composite laminated diaphragm has the following properties: i) a glass transition temperature of at least 120° C.; ii) at least one parameter for which respective measured values thereof are matched between two or more layers of the composite material or film, wherein the at least one parameter is selected from the group consisting of a Coefficient of Thermal Expansion, a Young's modulus, a yield strength and a tensile strength; and iii) a Surface Energy in the range of from 30 to 60 dynes/cm and/or a Polar Surface Energy greater than 12 dynes/cm.
Conclusion
/SUNITA JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691