DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a non-final rejection. Claims 1-15, as filed 10/25/2024, are pending and have been considered below.
Foreign priority is generally acknowledged to EP 23206021.0 which was filed 10/26/2023.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon and the rationale supporting the rejection would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities. Claim 1 recites “and” at the end of both determining steps. The first “and” is interpreted as surplus. Claim 3 recites “the at least one related industrial document,” which the Examiner interprets as “the at least one related industrial plant document.” Claim 12 recites “citation/sources” which the Examiner interprets as “citation or sources”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following terms lack antecedent basis:
a. “the embedding space” (claims 11 and 14)
b. “the industrial plant specific tuning” (claim 14)
Because the claims provide no antecedent basis for these terms, the scope of the claims is not reasonably ascertainable. “the embedding space” is interpreted as “an embedding space,” and “the industrial plant specific tuning” is interpreted as “an industrial plant specific fine-tuning of the first large language model.”
Claim 11 recites “wherein in particular providing the document database comprises.” It is unclear whether the limitations following “in particular” are part of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2173.05(d)). The claim is interpreted as not requiring “mapping the plurality of industrial plant documents into the embedding space.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The “computer program comprising instructions” of claim 15 includes software per se, i.e., software claimed as a product without any structural recitation, which does not fall within any statutory category (see MPEP 2106.03(I)).
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims fall within the statutory categories of a process (claims 1-14). Claim 15 does not fall within a statutory category because the claim includes signals per se. Claim 1 recites:
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method for providing an automated chat output in an industrial plant (additional element – generally applying the abstract idea with a computer; the industrial plant generally links the abstract idea to a particular field of use), comprising:
obtaining a prompt input from a user (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, mere data gathering);
selecting at least one related industrial plant document from a provided document database of a plurality of industrial plant documents, wherein the at least one related industrial plant document is related to the obtained prompt input (abstract idea – mental process because a person can look up the plant documents that relate to a question; to the extent that the document database is non-abstract, it amounts to merely applying the abstract idea with a computer);
determining an enhanced prompt using the obtained prompt input and the selected at least one related industrial plant document (abstract idea – mental process because a person can restate the question together with the relevant passages); and
determining a chat output (abstract idea – mental process because a person can compose an answer to the restated question) by inputting the enhanced prompt into a first large language model (additional element – generally applying the abstract idea with a computer); and
providing the chat output to a display device for the user (additional element – insignificant extra-solution activity, namely, outputting a result).
Claim 1 is exemplary, and the same analysis applies to claims 2-15.
Step 2A Prong One
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the italicized portions recite mental processes. They are analogous to what a plant engineer does when a colleague asks a question about the plant: the engineer looks up relevant passages of the plant documentation, frames the question together with those passages, and composes an answer. For example, but for the “inputting the enhanced prompt into a first large language model” language, determining a chat output is what the plant engineer does by answering the question from the retrieved passages. Other than generic computer components such as the document database, the first large language model, and the display device, nothing in the claims precludes the italicized portions from practically being performed in the human mind.
The dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea. For example, claims 8-10 recite the kinds of plant documents consulted by the plant engineer, and claim 12 recites summarizing, shortening, or giving sources for the answer.
Step 2A Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. For example, the document database, the first large language model, and the display device amount to invoking a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (see applicant’s specification [0022]; MPEP 2106.05(f)).
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. For example, obtaining a prompt input from a user amounts to mere data gathering, and providing the chat output to a display device for the user amounts to mere data output (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, namely, an industrial plant (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The dependent claims add no additional elements beyond those above, except that claims 2-7 recite embeddings in an embedding space, a predetermined metric, and a named-entity-recognition transformer, and claims 13-14 recite that the LLM is fine-tuned which amount to mere instructions to apply the exception with generic machine learning components (see applicant’s specification [0030]-[0031]; MPEP 2106.05(f)). Viewed as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing beyond the elements taken individually. Nothing indicates that the combination improves the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Collectively, the additional elements provide a generic computer implementation of the abstract idea and do not impose a meaningful limit on it.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception, insignificant extra-solution activity, and a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use. The extra-solution activity is also well-understood, routine, and conventional. For example, obtaining a prompt input from a user is described only generically ([0017]: “for example via a user interface”), and the display device is recited only generically and is not further described in the specification. This indicates that both the prompt and the display are sufficiently well-known that the specification need not describe their particulars (MPEP 2106.07(a)(III)(A)). Viewed as an ordered combination, the additional elements add nothing beyond the elements taken individually.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallakonda (US11960515B1) in view of Huang (US20250111159A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pallakonda discloses: A computer-implemented method for providing an automated chat output in an industrial plant (“The local site 102 shown in FIG. 1A includes a desalination plant,” col. 2 lines 57-58; “edge computing apparatuses, such as the edge computing unit 130, may be configured to execute one or more conversational tools (or agents or techniques) to generate responses to humans in reply to queries received from such humans,” col. 5 lines 23-27), comprising:
--obtaining a prompt input from a user (“the worker 112 enters data representing a query 115-1, viz., a set of text including “Tank level falling. Temp. constant. What is happening?” via the mobile device 114,” col. 5 lines 9-12);
--selecting at least one related industrial plant document from a provided document database of a plurality of industrial plant documents, wherein the at least one related industrial plant document is related to the obtained prompt input (“the knowledge base may include any number of knowledge documents, such as pairs of questions and answers to such questions, which may be obtained from any source, and may be filtered, limited or otherwise defined to include only such knowledge documents relating to a domain of the worker 112, the local site 102, or operations at the local site 102 (e.g., the desalination plant),” col. 5 lines 38-44; “the edge computing unit 130 may identify a predetermined number of embeddings 145-1, 145-2, 145-3 of the knowledge base (e.g., knowledge embeddings, or, alternatively, knowledge base embeddings or domain embeddings) that are nearest or most similar to the embedding 125-1 generated based on the query 115-1,” col. 5 line 64 – col. 6 line 2);
--providing the chat output to a display device for the user (“The mobile device 114 displays the response 160-1 to the query 115-1 in line with the query 115-1,” col. 7 lines 1-2).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Huang teaches:
--determining an enhanced prompt using the obtained prompt input and the selected at least one related industrial plant document (“the question may be augmented by the host device by retrieving embeddings from the embedding database and adding content (e.g., text) corresponding to the retrieved embeddings to the question to generate an augmented prompt,” [0037]); and
--determining a chat output by inputting the enhanced prompt into a first large language model (“a large language model is used to generate a response based on the augmented question (e.g., augmented prompt),” [0038]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Pallakonda’s desalination plant conversational tool to include the augmented prompt and LLM of Huang because this would make the response to the worker’s query “more detailed, accurate, and complete as compared with a response generated without an augmented prompt” ([0030]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Pallakonda or Huang. The augmented prompt and LLM of Huang do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Pallakonda. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pallakonda with the teachings of Huang since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Pallakonda discloses: wherein the document database comprises…a plurality of embeddings, wherein each of the plurality of embeddings relates to at least a part of one of the plurality of industrial plant documents (“embeddings may be generated for each of such knowledge documents,” col. 5 lines 54-55).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Huang further teaches: a joint embedding space (“An embedding generally refers to a vector representation of an entity that represents the entity as a vector in n-dimensional space such that similar entities are represented by vectors that are close to one another in the n-dimensional space,” [0026]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand Pallakonda’s knowledge embeddings to include the n-dimensional embeddings of Huang because “This allows relevant information to be retrieved and used as context to augment prompts for a language model” ([0016]).
Regarding claim 3, Pallakonda further discloses: determining a prompt embedding of the obtained prompt input (“the edge computing unit 130 generates an embedding 125-1 (e.g., a query embedding), or a vector or set of values that are semantic descriptors of the query 115-1,” col. 5 lines 29-32).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Huang further teaches:
--mapping the prompt embedding into the embedding space (“the search module 124 searches for and retrieves one or more stored embeddings from the embedding database 130 based on the one or more embeddings for the prompt,” [0019]); and
--selecting embeddings in the embedding space, which are similar to the embedding with respect to a predetermined metric (“the stored embeddings can be selected based on a similarity to the one or more embeddings for the prompt using cosine similarity, semantic search, various similarity algorithms, or other techniques for vector comparison,” [0019]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Huang further teaches: wherein the predetermined metric comprises a semantically meaningful metric (“the stored embeddings can be selected based on a similarity to the one or more embeddings for the prompt using cosine similarity, semantic search, various similarity algorithms, or other techniques for vector comparison,” [0019]).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Pallakonda further discloses: wherein the at least one industrial plant document comprises an engineering document and/or an operations document (“knowledge documents relating to a domain of the worker 112, the local site 102, or operations at the local site 102 (e.g., the desalination plant),” col. 5 lines 42-44).
Regarding claim 11, Pallakonda further discloses: providing the document database (“pairs of questions and answers may be stored in association with the documents from which the embeddings were generated in one or more data stores provided on the edge computing unit 130,” col. 5 lines 59-63).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Huang further teaches: wherein in particular providing the document database comprises mapping the plurality of industrial plant documents into the embedding space (“An embedding generally refers to a vector representation of an entity that represents the entity as a vector in n-dimensional space such that similar entities are represented by vectors that are close to one another in the n-dimensional space,” [0026]; [0020]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 2.
Claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 1. The Examiner further notes that Pallakonda discloses stored instructions (Pallakonda claim 1).
Claims 4, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallakonda in view of Huang and Yan (US20250094718A1).
Regarding claim 4, Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Yan teaches: wherein mapping the prompt embedding into the embedding space comprises using a predetermined ontology, taxonomy and/or vocabulary (“For each input text section, tagger 120 maps the text section to one or more “tagged” named entities in named entity taxonomy 160,” [0033]; “Shared encoder 140 generates a contextual embedding for each canonical named entity,” [0035]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the embedding-based selection of Pallakonda and Huang to include the taxonomy mappings of Yan because this would “accurately extract and map named entities across different text domains with some or all the above variances” ([0018]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Pallakonda, Huang, or Yan. The augmented prompt and LLM of Huang and the taxonomy mapping of Yan do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Pallakonda. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Pallakonda with the teachings of Huang and Yan since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 5, Pallakonda discloses: process typical names or library specific names in the prompt input and/or the at least one industrial plant document (“the worker 112 enters data representing a query 115-1, viz., a set of text including “Tank level falling. Temp. constant. What is happening?” via the mobile device 114,” col. 5 lines 9-12).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Yan further teaches: wherein mapping the prompt embedding into the embedding space comprises using a named-entity-recognition transformer to identify…names (“Tagger 120 extracts one or more named entities from an input text based on taxonomy 160,” [0052]; “Text fragment tower 702 and named entity tower 704 can be based on pre-trained language model 750. Pre-trained language model 750 can be pre-trained large-language model (LLM) text encoder such as a pre-trained multilingual Bidirectional Encoder Representations from Transformers (BERT) model,” [0065]). Yan’s tagger with a text fragment tower based on a pre-trained BERT model is a named-entity-recognition transformer. A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the embedding-based selection of Pallakonda and Huang to include the transformer-based named entity tagging of Yan because this would allow “identification of named entities in taxonomy that are semantically identical or semantically similar to the input text or a portion of the input text even though they are not syntactically identical or syntactically similar” ([0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Pallakonda discloses: operations content in the input prompt (“the worker 112 enters data representing a query 115-1, viz., a set of text including “Tank level falling. Temp. constant. What is happening?” via the mobile device 114,” col. 5 lines 9-12).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Yan further teaches: wherein determining the prompt embedding comprises: identifying… content in the input prompt; and determining the prompt embedding based on the … content (“Tagger 120 extracts one or more named entities from an input text based on taxonomy 160,” [0052]; “Shared encoder 140 generates a contextual embedding for each canonical named entity,” [0035]). The motivation to combine Yan is the same as in claim 4.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallakonda in view of Huang and Anthony (US20250004450A1).
Regarding claim 9, Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Anthony teaches: wherein the engineering document comprises sources, libraries, code and/or repositories related to engineering and/or automation workflows of the industrial plant (“Content of an embedding database may include system designs of saved projects, system designs of sample projects, existing validated documentation, defined bill of materials, programming manuals of devices and systems of an industrial automation system,” [0028]]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the knowledge documents of Pallakonda and Huang to include the industrial automation content of Anthony because this would allow a response to an anomaly with “accurate and relevant troubleshooting information” (Anthony [0022]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Pallakonda, Huang, or Anthony. The augmented prompt and LLM of Huang and the industrial content of Anthony do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Pallakonda. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Huang and Anthony with the teachings of Pallakonda since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 10, Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Anthony teaches: wherein the operations document comprises sources, libraries, code and/or repositories related to an operation of the industrial plant (“helpdesk articles and submissions associated with industrial automation systems, customer support tickets, error logs, example anomalies,” [0028]). The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 9.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallakonda in view of Huang and Dicklin (US20250103640A1).
Regarding claim 12, Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Dicklin teaches: post-processing the chat output, wherein post-processing comprises summarizing the chat output, shortening the chat output, giving citation/sources for the chat output, and/or determining a library-specific or library-consistent chat output (“At block 660, the generative response subsystem 118 may include one or more citations to one or more document portions of the subset in the generative MLM response generated at block 630,” [0120]).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the chat output of Pallakonda and Huang to include the post-processed citations of Dicklin because “The citation may allow a user to view the content that supports the generative MLM response, verify the generative MLM response, or obtain further information” (Dicklin [0112]).
Additionally, each element is taught by Pallakonda, Huang, or Dicklin. The augmented prompt and LLM of Huang and the citations of Dicklin do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Pallakonda. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Huang and Dicklin with the teachings of Pallakonda since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallakonda in view of Huang and Lewis (Lewis et al., “Retrieval-Augmented Generation for Knowledge-Intensive NLP Tasks,” arXiv:2005.11401v4, 12 April 2021).
Regarding claim 13, Pallakonda discloses: industrial plant specific (“a conversational tool operating thereon may be further trained or fine-tuned based on the queries 115-1, 115-2 and the responses 160-1, 160-2,” col. 8 lines 51-53).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Lewis teaches: wherein the first large language model is … fine-tuned (“RAG can be fine-tuned on any seq2seq task, whereby both the generator and retriever are jointly learned,” p. 2).
A POSITA before the effective filing date would have been motivated to expand the LLM of Pallakonda and Huang to include the fine-tuning of Lewis because these models “set the state of the art on three open domain QA tasks” (Lewis p. 1).
Additionally, each element is taught by Pallakonda, Huang, or Lewis. The augmented prompt and LLM of Huang and the fine-tuning of Lewis do not affect the normal functioning of the elements of the claim which are taught by Pallakonda. Because the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of their combination would have been predictable. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Huang and Lewis with the teachings of Pallakonda since the result is merely a combination of old elements, and, since the elements do not affect the normal functioning of each other, the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Regarding claim 14, Pallakonda discloses the industrial plant specific tuning (“a conversational tool operating thereon may be further trained or fine-tuned based on the queries 115-1, 115-2 and the responses 160-1, 160-2,” col. 8 lines 51-53).
Pallakonda does not expressly disclose but Lewis teaches: wherein the …tuning comprises at least one of… fine-tuning for tasks… (“RAG can be fine-tuned on any seq2seq task, whereby both the generator and retriever are jointly learned,” p. 2).
The motivation to combine is the same as in claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Bielke (US20250131147A1) discloses an industrial digital assistant that “can return a collection of citations and supporting information from data sources used to create the blended result” ([0059]).
Koziolek (Koziolek et al., “ChatGPT for PLC/DCS Control Logic Generation” arXiv:2305.15809, 25 May 2023) teaches generating IEC 61131-3 control logic with an LLM (“ST code often depends on many specific signal references, which are wired together using sophisticated black box function blocks from vendor libraries,” p. 7).
/JOSHUA B BLANCHETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684