DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Haas reference (WO 2013/156161A1) in view of the Fujita reference (US Patent Publication No. 2017/0167428).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Haas reference discloses:
an engine system (10) comprising:
a gaseous fuel injection system (FIG. 1—left side) including a plurality [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0016--12, 16 or more cylinder units] of gaseous fuel injectors (42)
configured to inject gaseous fuel for combustion in a plurality of cylinders [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0018]; and
an electronic control system (50) operatively coupled with the gaseous fuel injection system (FIG. 1),
the electronic control system (50) being configured to perform the acts of: in response to a determination by the electronic control system (50) to perform the operation [Detailed Description—Paragraph 0049—the operation is checking for a stuck injector], and
after the operation commencing ignition to rotate the engine [Industrial Applicability—Paragraph 0021—after checking for the stuck injector the engine commences ignition to rotate the engine under a liquid fuel mode].
The Haas reference discloses the invention as essentially disclosed. However, the Haas reference fails to disclose performing a break loose operation comprising energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] performing a break loose operation [Paragraph 0020—peak and hold mode] comprising energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes performing a break loose operation comprising energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
5. Regarding claim 2, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the multiple voltage pulses occur within a time window of 400ms or less at an engine speed of 300rpm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the multiple voltage pulses occur within a time window of 400ms or less at an engine speed of 300rpm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
6. Regarding claim 3, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the multiple voltage pulses comprise a first set of multiple voltage pulses driving a first gaseous fuel injector and a second set of multiple voltage pulses driving a second gaseous fuel injector, the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the multiple voltage pulses comprise a first set of multiple voltage pulses driving a first gaseous fuel injector and a second set of multiple voltage pulses driving a second gaseous fuel injector, the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the multiple voltage pulses comprise a first set of multiple voltage pulses driving a first gaseous fuel injector and a second set of multiple voltage pulses driving a second gaseous fuel injector, the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
7. Regarding claim 4, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses comprises the first set of voltage pulses not overlapping with the second set of multiple voltage pulses.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses comprises the first set of voltage pulses not overlapping with the second set of multiple voltage pulses. [Paragraph 0023-0026] [Paragraph 0026—the three pulses per injector necessary must not be simultaneous]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses comprises the first set of voltage pulses not overlapping with the second set of multiple voltage pulses, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
8. Regarding claim 5, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
comprising suppressing gaseous fuel ignition, cranking the engine during the suppressing, and performing the energizing during the cranking.
This is an example of an obvious to try. The (1) (a) energizing or (b) not energizing would have to be performed when (2) the gaseous fuel injection is (a) suppressed or (b) not suppressed and the engine would have to be (3) (a) cranked or (b) not cranked therefore the combinations are finite identifiable predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the total combinations are One: [(1) (a), (2) (a), (3) (a)]; Two: [(1) (a), (2) (a), (3, b)]; Three: [(1) (a), (2) (b), (3) (a)]; Four: [(1) (a), (2) (b), (3) (b)]; Five: [(1) (b), (2) (a), (3) (a)]; Six: [(1) (b), (2) (a), (3) (b)]; Seven: [(1) (b), (2) (b), (3) (a)]; Eight: [(1) (b), (2) (b), (3) (b)]. 8 in total.
9. Regarding claim 6, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs within a single engine cycle.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs within a single engine cycle [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs within a single engine cycle, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
10. Regarding claim 7, the Haas reference further discloses:
wherein the act of commencing ignition to rotate the engine comprises:
after the operation continuing the rotating for at least a second engine cycle, and after the second engine cycle, performing the commencing ignition to rotate the engine [Industrial Applicability—Paragraph 0021].
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] comprising energizing [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes comprising energizing, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
11. Regarding claim 8, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the electronic control system is configured to perform the act of determining whether to perform a break loose operation of the plurality of injectors.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the electronic control system is configured to perform the act of determining whether to perform a break loose operation of the plurality of injectors. [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the electronic control system is configured to perform the act of determining whether to perform a break loose operation of the plurality of injectors., as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
12. Regarding claim 9, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system. [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
13. Regarding claim 10, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
comprising evaluating at least one of a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, and determining a multiple voltage pulse recipe in response to the evaluating.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] comprising evaluating at least one of a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, and determining a multiple voltage pulse recipe in response to the evaluating [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes comprising evaluating at least one of a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, and determining a multiple voltage pulse recipe in response to the evaluating, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
14. Regarding claim 11, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the gaseous fuel injection system is the sole fuel injection system of the engine system.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the gaseous fuel injection system is the sole fuel injection system of the engine system [Paragraph 0015]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the gaseous fuel injection system is the sole fuel injection system of the engine system, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
15. Regarding claim 12, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs at least in part during a stationary engine condition.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs at least in part during a stationary engine condition [Paragraph 0015]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs at least in part during a stationary engine condition, as clearly
suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
16. Regarding claim 13, the Haas reference discloses:
a process (10) comprising:
operating an engine system comprising a gaseous fuel injection system (FIG. 1—left side) including a plurality [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0016--12, 16 or more cylinder units] of gaseous fuel injectors (42) configured to inject gaseous fuel for combustion in
a plurality of cylinders [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0018] and an electronic control system (50) operatively coupled with the gaseous fuel injection system (FIG. 1), including operating the electronic control system (50) to perform the acts of:
determining whether to perform an operation of the plurality of injectors [Detailed Description—Paragraph 0049—the operation is checking for a stuck injector], and
after the operation commencing ignition to rotate the engine [Industrial Applicability—Paragraph 0021—after checking for the stuck injector the engine commences ignition to rotate the engine under a liquid fuel mode].
The Haas reference discloses the invention as essentially disclosed. However, the Haas reference fails to disclose performing a break loose operation comprising energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] performing a break loose operation [Paragraph 0020—peak and hold mode] comprising energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes performing a break loose operation comprising energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
17. Regarding claim 14, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the multiple voltage pulses occur within a time window of 400ms or less at an engine speed of 300rpm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wherein the multiple voltage pulses occur within a time window of 400ms or less at an engine speed of 300rpm, since it has been held that
where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
18. Regarding claim 15, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the multiple voltage pulses comprise a first set of multiple voltage pulses driving a first gaseous fuel injector and a second set of multiple voltage pulses driving a second gaseous fuel injector, the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the multiple voltage pulses comprise a first set of multiple voltage pulses driving a first gaseous fuel injector and a second set of multiple voltage pulses driving a second gaseous fuel injector, the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the multiple voltage pulses comprise a first set of multiple voltage pulses driving a first gaseous fuel injector and a second set of multiple voltage pulses driving a second gaseous fuel injector, the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
19. Regarding claim 16, the Haas reference further discloses:
wherein the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses comprises the first set of voltage pulses not overlapping with the second set of multiple voltage pulses.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses comprises the first set of voltage pulses not overlapping with the second set of multiple voltage pulses. [Paragraph 0023-0026] [Paragraph 0026—the three pulses per injector necessary must not be simultaneous].Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the first set of multiple voltage pulses being interleaved with the second set of multiple voltage pulses comprises the first set of voltage pulses not overlapping with the second set of multiple voltage pulses, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
20. Regarding claim 17, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
comprising suppressing gaseous fuel ignition, cranking the engine during the suppressing, and performing the energizing during the cranking. This is an example of an obvious to try. The (1) (a) energizing or (b) not energizing would have to be performed when (2) the gaseous fuel injection is (a) suppressed or (b) not suppressed and the engine would have to be (3) (a) cranked or (b) not cranked therefore the combinations are finite identifiable predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the total combinations are One: [(1) (a), (2) (a), (3) (a)]; Two: [(1) (a), (2) (a), (3, b)]; Three: [(1) (a), (2) (b), (3) (a)]; Four: [(1) (a), (2) (b), (3) (b)]; Five: [(1) (b), (2) (a), (3) (a)]; Six: [(1) (b), (2) (a), (3) (b)]; Seven: [(1) (b), (2) (b), (3) (a)]; Eight: [(1) (b), (2) (b), (3) (b)]. 8 in total.
21. Regarding claim 18, the Haas reference further discloses:
wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs within a single engine cycle [Paragraph 0026].
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous
fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs within a single engine cycle [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs within a single engine cycle, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
22. Regarding claim 19, the Haas reference further discloses:
wherein the act of commencing ignition to rotate the engine comprises:
after the operation continuing the rotating for at least a second engine cycle, and after the second engine cycle, performing the commencing ignition to rotate the engine [Industrial Applicability—Paragraph 0021].
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] comprising energizing [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes comprising energizing, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
23. Regarding claim 20, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system.
[Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
24. Regarding claim 21, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
comprising evaluating at least one of a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, and determining a multiple voltage pulse recipe in response to the evaluating.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] comprising evaluating at least one of a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, and determining a multiple voltage pulse recipe in response to the evaluating [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes comprising evaluating at least one of a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, and determining a multiple voltage pulse recipe in response to the evaluating, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
25. Regarding claim 22, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the gaseous fuel injection system is the sole fuel injection system of the engine system.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the gaseous fuel injection system is the sole fuel injection system of the engine system [Paragraph 0015]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the gaseous fuel injection system is the sole fuel injection system of the engine system, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
26. Regarding claim 23, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs at least in part during a stationary engine condition.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs at least in part during a stationary engine condition [Paragraph 0015]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the energizing each of the plurality of gaseous fuel injectors with multiple voltage pulses occurs at least in part during a stationary engine condition, as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
27. Regarding claim 24, the Haas reference further discloses:
determining whether to perform a break loose operation of the plurality of injectors.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] determining whether to perform a break loose operation of the plurality of injectors. [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes determining whether to perform a break loose operation of the plurality of injectors., as clearly suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
28. Regarding claim 25, the Haas reference fails to disclose:
wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system.
The Fujita reference teaches it is conventional in the art of engines with fuel injector to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0020] wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system. [Paragraph 0023-0026]. Such configurations/structures would allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Haas reference, such that the system further includes wherein the act of determining comprises at least one of evaluating a temperature of the engine system and a pressure of the gaseous fuel system, as clearly
suggested and taught by the Fujita reference, in order to allow unsticking of the seal (48) [Paragraph 0026].
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747