DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/926,704 filed on 27 March 2025. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0032], line 5, “send the STA 204 an ACK message 210 to the STA 204” should read “send the STA 204 an ACK message 210”.
In paragraph [0059], line 6, the Soft-AP is given the wrong component number, “Soft-AP 706” should read “Soft-AP 704”.
In paragraph [0070], line 3, component number 914 is associated with Soft-AP, “active 914.” Should read “active.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 20240147363 A1, hereinafter "Chu").
Regarding claim 1, Chu teaches A method for a software enabled access point (Soft-AP), the method comprising:
monitoring a wireless medium using a low-power listen mode with limited or no transmit capabilities when not actively engaged in transmission or reception of frames (Chu: The first wireless device wakes from the low power listening mode to a full capacity mode, and performs a frame exchange with the second wireless device in the full capacity mode; An embodiment includes returning to the low power listening mode after performing the frame exchange, see Paragraphs [0003] and [0014]);
receiving, when in the low-power listen mode, an indication of a frame transmission that is impending from a station (STA) (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]);
activating a fully-capable mode with full radio frequency (RF) capabilities and switching from using the low-power mode to using the fully-capable mode to monitor the wireless medium in response to receiving the indication (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]);
sending, to the STA, a reply in response to the indication (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]); and
receiving the frame transmission from the STA using the fully-capable mode (Chu: the A-MPDU 610; full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraphs [0094] and [0095]. [Examiner contends that A-MPDU is the frame transmission occurring during full capacity mode 632]).
Regarding claim 2, Chu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the indication from the STA comprises a Multi-User Request-to-Send (MU-RTS) frame (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 3, Chu teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the reply to the indication comprises a clear-to-send (CTS) message sent in the low-power listen mode (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]) in parallel with activation of the fully-capable mode (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 4, Chu teaches The method of claim 2, wherein the MU-RTS frame comprises sufficient padding to allow the Soft-AP to activate the fully-capable mode prior to an end of the MU-RTS frame (Chu: In one example the TXOP holder will be at full capacity mode after receiving the initial frame with the padding where the padding bits are long enough to cover the mode switch time, see Paragraph [0098]), and wherein the reply to the indication comprises a clear-to-send (CTS) message sent using the fully-capable mode (Chu: The (MU-)RTS 516 is answered with a CTS 508 from the AP 504 in full capacity mode, see Fig. 5 and Paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Chu teaches The method of claim 2, further comprising sending a Soft-AP information element to the STA (Chu: a communication link (e.g., link 1 152 or link 2 154) may include a BSS operating channel established by an AP (e.g., AP1 104 or AP2 106) that features multiple 20 MHz channels used to transmit frames (e.g., Beacon frames, management frames, etc.), see Paragraph [0056]) that includes a first field that mandates that the STA precedes data transmissions with the MU-RTS frame (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620 in a 20 MHz channel as was previously negotiated, see Paragraph [0056]), a second field that indicates a padding duration for the MU-RTS frame (Chu: The AP may announce the use of a low power listening mode and the announcement may include a designation of the SS and MCS, among other parameters; An embodiment includes the second wireless device indicating a padding requirement to the first wireless device, see Paragraphs [0050] and [0021]), and a third field that indicates a maximum modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for transmission of the MU-RTS frame (Chu: The AP may announce the use of a low power listening mode and the announcement may include a designation of the SS and MCS, among other parameters, see Paragraphs [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Chu teaches The method of claim 2, further comprising receiving an association request using the low-power listen mode (Chu: When the AP in low power listening mode receives the request frame for association, e.g., an Association Request, see Paragraph [0107]), and transmitting an acknowledgement message using the low-power listen mode (Chu: the AP can stay in the low power listening mode for its response frame transmission, see Paragraph [0107]).
Regarding claim 7, Chu teaches The method of claim 2, further comprising receiving the MU-RTS frame before receiving an association request (Chu: an unassociated UHR STA 702 may be required to first transmit an RTS 706 or MU-RTS in a PPDU. The unassociated UHR STA 702 then receives a CTS 708 from the AP 704 and after receiving the CTS 708 from the AP 704 is permitted to transmit a frame 710 to the AP 704 for authentication, association, see Fig. 7 and Paragraph [0104]. [Examiner contends that an association request is a frame for association]).
Regarding claim 8, Chu teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the indication from the STA comprises a wake-up frame (Chu: an AP 704 in a low power listening mode 730 receives a Probe Request frame 720 from a STA 702, see Fig. 7 and Paragraph [0103]), and wherein the wake-up frame is a management frame (Chu: an AP 704 in a low power listening mode 730 receives a Probe Request frame 720 from a STA 702, see Fig. 7 and Paragraph [0103]. [Examiner contends that a Probe Request Frame is a management frame]).
Regarding claim 9, Chu teaches The method of claim 8, wherein the wake-up frame comprises sufficient payload length to allow the Soft-AP to activate the fully-capable mode prior to an end of the wake-up frame (Chu: In one example the TXOP holder will be at full capacity mode after receiving the initial frame with the padding where the padding bits are long enough to cover the mode switch time, see Paragraph [0098]), and wherein the reply to the indication comprises an acknowledgement message sent using the fully-capable mode (Chu: The AP 704 is to respond to the Probe Request frame 720 with a Probe Response frame 722 ... The nature of the full function mode may be adapted to different circumstances; In one example the TXOP holder will be at full capacity mode after receiving the initial frame with the padding where the padding bits are long enough to cover the mode switch time, see Paragraphs [0103] and [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, Chu teaches The method of claim 8, further comprising receiving the wake-up frame before receiving an association request (Chu: AP 704 in a low power listening mode 730 receives a Probe Request frame 720; after receiving the CTS 708 from the AP 704 is permitted to transmit a frame 710 to the AP 704 for authentication, association, see Fig. 7 and Paragraphs [0103] and [0104]).
Regarding claim 12, Chu teaches A method for a station (STA), the method comprising:
receiving, from a software enabled access point (Soft-AP), an information element comprising operation parameters for an impending frame transmission indication (Chu: An embodiment includes the second wireless device indicating a padding requirement to the first wireless ... and wherein receiving the initial frame comprises receiving the initial frame with padding in response to the indicating the padding requirement, see Paragraphs [0021]);
preparing the impending frame transmission indication based on the operation parameters (Chu: An embodiment includes the second wireless device indicating a padding requirement to the first wireless ... and wherein receiving the initial frame comprises receiving the initial frame with padding in response to the indicating the padding requirement, see Paragraphs [0021]);
sending, to the Soft-AP, the impending frame transmission indication (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]);
receiving, from the Soft-AP, a reply in response to the indication (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]) when the Soft-AP is operating in a low-power listen mode (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]); and
sending, to the Soft-AP, a frame transmission when the Soft-AP is operating in a fully-capable mode (Chu: the A-MPDU 610; full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraphs [0094] and [0095]. [Examiner contends that A-MPDU is the frame transmission occurring during full capacity mode 632]).
Regarding claim 13, Chu teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the impending frame transmission indication comprises a Multi-User Request-to-Send (MU-RTS) frame (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 14, Chu teaches The method of claim 13, wherein the reply to the impending frame transmission indication comprises a clear-to-send (CTS) message sent by the Soft-AP using the low-power listen mode (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]) in parallel with the Soft-AP activating the fully-capable mode (Chu: The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Fig. 6 and Paragraph [0095]).
Regarding claim 15, Chu teaches The method of claim 13, wherein the MU-RTS frame comprises sufficient padding to allow the Soft-AP to activate the fully-capable mode prior to an end of the MU-RTS frame (Chu: In one example the TXOP holder will be at full capacity mode after receiving the initial frame with the padding where the padding bits are long enough to cover the mode switch time, see Paragraph [0098]), and wherein the reply to the indication comprises a clear-to-send (CTS) message sent by the fully-capable mode (Chu: The (MU-)RTS 516 is answered with a CTS 508 from the AP 504 in full capacity mode, see Fig. 5 and Paragraph [0086]).
Regarding claim 16, Chu teaches The method of claim 13, wherein the information element includes a first field that mandates that the STA precedes data transmissions with the MU-RTS frame (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620 in a 20 MHz channel as was previously negotiated, see Paragraph [0056]), a second field that indicates a padding duration for the MU-RTS frame (Chu: The AP may announce the use of a low power listening mode and the announcement may include a designation of the SS and MCS, among other parameters; An embodiment includes the second wireless device indicating a padding requirement to the first wireless device, see Paragraphs [0050] and [0021]), and a third field that indicates a maximum modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for transmission of the MU-RTS frame (Chu: The AP may announce the use of a low power listening mode and the announcement may include a designation of the SS and MCS, among other parameters, see Paragraphs [0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Chu teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising sending an association request to the Soft-AP operating in the low-power listen mode (Chu: When the AP in low power listening mode receives the request frame for association, e.g., an Association Request, see Paragraph [0107]), and receiving an acknowledgement message from the Soft-AP operating in the low-power listen mode (Chu: the AP can stay in the low power listening mode for its response frame transmission, see Paragraph [0107]).
Regarding claim 18, Chu teaches The method of claim 13, further comprising sending the MU-RTS frame before sending an association request (Chu: an unassociated UHR STA 702 may be required to first transmit an RTS 706 or MU-RTS in a PPDU. The unassociated UHR STA 702 then receives a CTS 708 from the AP 704 and after receiving the CTS 708 from the AP 704 is permitted to transmit a frame 710 to the AP 704 for authentication, association, see Fig. 7 and Paragraph [0104]. [Examiner contends that an association request is a frame for association]).
Regarding claim 19, Chu teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the impending frame transmission indication comprises a wake-up frame (Chu: an AP 704 in a low power listening mode 730 receives a Probe Request frame 720 from a STA 702, see Fig. 7 and Paragraph [0103]), and wherein the wake-up frame is a management frame (Chu: an AP 704 in a low power listening mode 730 receives a Probe Request frame 720 from a STA 702, see Fig. 7 and Paragraph [0103]. [Examiner contends that a Probe Request Frame is a management frame]).
Regarding claim 20, Chu teaches The method of claim 19, wherein the wake-up frame comprises sufficient payload length to allow the Soft-AP to activate the fully-capable mode prior to an end of the wake-up frame (Chu: In one example the TXOP holder will be at full capacity mode after receiving the initial frame with the padding where the padding bits are long enough to cover the mode switch time, see Paragraph [0098]), and wherein the reply to the indication comprises an acknowledgement message sent using the fully-capable mode of the Soft-AP (Chu: The AP 704 is to respond to the Probe Request frame 720 with a Probe Response frame 722 ... The nature of the full function mode may be adapted to different circumstances; In one example the TXOP holder will be at full capacity mode after receiving the initial frame with the padding where the padding bits are long enough to cover the mode switch time, see Paragraphs [0103] and [0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Chang et al. (US 20230117078 A1, hereinafter "Chang").
Regarding claim 10, Chu teaches The method of claim 8, further comprising sending a Soft-AP information element to the STA (Chu: a communication link (e.g., link 1 152 or link 2 154) may include a BSS operating channel established by an AP (e.g., AP1 104 or AP2 106) that features multiple 20 MHz channels used to transmit frames (e.g., Beacon frames, management frames, etc.), see Paragraph [0056]) that includes a first field that mandates that the STA precedes data transmissions with the wake-up frame (Chu: The AP 604 is in a low power listening mode for a start duration 630 and receives the MU-RTS 620 in a 20 MHz channel as was previously negotiated. The AP 604 is able to respond with a CTS 622 and then wakes to full capacity mode for a receive duration 632, see Paragraph [0095]. [Examiner contends that the MU-RTS is used to wake the AP]), a second field that indicates a payload duration for the wake-up frame (Chu: an enhanced MU-RTS and CTS is used for BW negotiation and to prepare for full capacity transmission/reception. The MU-RTS is enhanced in that it carries padding. The additional time required for mode switch may be added by the TXOP holder in the first initiating control frame, see Paragraph [0100]), a third field that indicates a maximum modulation and coding schemes (MCS) for transmission of the wake-up frame (Chu: The AP may announce the use of a low power listening mode and the announcement may include a designation of the SS and MCS, among other parameters, see Paragraphs [0050]),
Chu fails to explicitly teach, and a fourth field that indicates to the STA to use a non-high throughput (HT) duplicate format.
However in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches,
and a fourth field that indicates to the STA to use a non-high throughput (HT) duplicate format (Chang: an MLD or a STA (e.g., STA 110 and/or STA 120) may inform other communication entities (e.g., an AP MLD/STA) that it is capable of low-power listening in a bandwidth power-save (BWPS) mode. Correspondingly, ... , the transmitting device (e.g., an AP STA or another non-AP STA) may receive the initial PPDU with a non-high-throughput (non-HT) duplicate format with MU-RTS, see Paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Chu to include the teachings of Chang as above, in order to reduce power consumption (Chang: Paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
/A.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416