DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims pending have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US 9,535,566 B2) in view of Deng et al (US 2021/0365160 A1).
As per claim 1, Lu discloses a position-influencing interaction method for a floating window (figs. 2-4c, apparatus 200, flowchart steps 301-305, display window), comprising steps of:
(A) when a program is presented as the floating window, detecting a position of the floating window to determine that the floating window is adjacent to a side of an entire display screen of (figs. 2-4c, apparatus 200, flowchart steps 301-305, display window (i.e. floating window) position is detected by movement control module 206 determining which side of the display the display window is located, col. 5 lines 40-50); and
(B) automatically moving an interactive component in the floating window to a corresponding side of the floating window in correspondence with the side of the entire display screen being adjacent to the floating window (figs. 2-4c, apparatus 200, flowchart steps 301-305, display window (i.e. floating window) is automatically moved to the adjacent side of the entire display and components within display window are duplicated by duplicating module 202, see figs. 4a-4c and col. 5 lines 18-22 and col. 5 lines 23-39).
Lu fails to teach a display device visible to a user. However, Deng discloses a terminal, wherein the display screen of the terminal displays a floating window that is visible to a user to an adjacent side (Deng, fig. 13, terminal, floating window appears adjacent bottom side of entire visible display screen).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, by incorporating the ability to see the entire display screen of the display device visible to the user as taught by Deng, into the electronic device as taught by Lu, because doing so would provide a more efficient way of seeing the entire display contents, thus being able to view the entire screen on the display.
As per claim 2, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the position-influencing interaction method for the floating window of claim 1, wherein the step (A) comprises:
determining whether the floating window is adjacent to a left side or a right side of the entire display screen of the display device according to the position of the floating window (Lu, fig. 2, apparatus 200, movement control module 206, determines which side display window is on, col. 5 lines 40-50).
As per claim 3, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the position-influencing interaction method for the floating window of claim 2, wherein the step (B) comprises:
automatically rendering the interactive component at a left position in the floating window when the floating window is adjacent to the left side of the entire display screen of the display device (Lu, figs. 2-4c, apparatus 200, flowchart steps 301-305, display window, fig. 4b displays contents within display window at a left position on the left side of the display).
As per claim 4, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the position-influencing interaction method for the floating window of claim 2, wherein the step (B) comprises:
automatically rendering the interactive component at a right position in the floating window when the floating window is adjacent to the right side of the entire display screen of the display device (Lu, figs. 2-4c, apparatus 200, flowchart steps 301-305, display window, fig. 4a displays contents within display window at a right position on the right side of the display).
As per claim 6, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses an electronic device (Lu, figs. 1 and 2, mobile communication device 100, apparatus 200), comprising:
a display device configured to display an entire display screen (Lu, fig. 2, apparatus 200, displaying module 204);
a storage device configured to store a program and at least one instruction (Lu, fig. 1, mobile communication device 100, memory 116); and
a processor electrically connected to the storage device and the display device, and the processor configured to access and execute the at least one instruction (Lu, fig. 1, mobile communications device 100, apparatus 200, memory 116, processor 110, col. 3 lines 34-67) for:
when the program is executed, detecting that a floating window of the program is adjacent to a side of the entire display screen; and
automatically setting an interactive component in the floating window to a corresponding side of the floating window in correspondence with the side of the entire display screen being adjacent to the floating window (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 1 above).
As per claim 7, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein when the floating window is adjacent to a left side of the entire display screen, the processor automatically sets the interactive component to a left position in the floating window, and when the floating window is adjacent to a right side of the entire display screen, the processor automatically sets the interactive component to a right position in the floating window (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claims 2 and 6 above).
As per claim 9, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the electronic device of claim 6, further comprising:
a receiving device electrically connected to the processor, the receiving device configured to receive an operation information inputted through the interactive component, and the processor configured to perform an action in response to the operation information (Lu, fig. 1, mobile communication device 100, I/O subsystem 114, peripheral devices 122).
As per claim 11, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium to store a plurality of instructions for commanding a computer to execute a position-influencing interaction method for a floating window, and the position-influencing interaction method for the floating window comprising steps of:
(A) when a program is presented as the floating window, detecting a position of the floating window to determine that the floating window is adjacent to a side of an entire display screen of a display device; and
(B) automatically moving an interactive component in the floating window to a corresponding side of the floating window in correspondence with the side of the entire display screen being adjacent to the floating window (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claims 1 and 6 above, also see Lu, col. 2 lines 18-22 regarding non-transitory medium executed by processors).
As per claim 12, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11, wherein the step (A) comprises:
determining whether the floating window is adjacent to a left side or a right side of the entire display screen of the display device according to the position of the floating window (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 2 above).
As per claim 13, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the step (B) comprises:
automatically rendering the interactive component at a left position in the floating window when the floating window is adjacent to the left side of the entire display screen of the display device (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 3 above).
As per claim 14, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 12, wherein the step (B) comprises:
automatically rendering the interactive component at a right position in the floating window when the floating window is adjacent to the right side of the entire display screen of the display device (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 4 above).
As per claim 16, the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11, wherein the interactive component is a display element that, upon being interacted upon by the user, causes a function associated with the program to be performed.
Lu fails to teach the limitations as currently constructed above in claim 16. However, Deng discloses a floating window, that has multiple interactive components that causes a function to be performed within the floating window (Deng, fig. 13, terminal, floating window, sliding bar).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, by incorporating the ability to perform a function within the floating window as taught by Deng, into the electronic device as taught by Lu, because doing so would provide a more efficient way of performing a function within the floating window, thus enhancing the functionality of the electronic device.
As per claim 17, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the position-influencing interaction method for the floating window of claim 1, wherein the interactive component is a display element that, upon being interacted upon by the user, causes a function associated with the program to be performed (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 16 above).
As per claim 19, the combined teachings of Lu in view of Deng, as a whole, further discloses the electronic device of claim 6, wherein the interactive component is a display element that, upon being interacted upon by the user, causes a function associated with the program to be performed (claim limitations have been discussed and rejected, see claim 16 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8, 10, 15, 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the position-influencing interaction method for the floating window of claim 2, wherein the step (B) comprises: rendering the interactive component at an original default position in the floating window when the floating window is positioned in a middle of the entire display screen of the display device. Claims 8, 15, and 18 recite the same/similar language as recited in claim 5 above, and are allowed for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, none of the prior art cited alone or in combination provides the motivation to teach the following claimed limitations, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record, the electronic device of claim 9, further comprising: a camera device electrically connected to the processor, wherein the interactive component is a virtual button with a shooting extension function, the processor uses the camera device to execute the action in response to the operation information, and the action is related to the shooting extension function. Claim 20 recite the same/similar limitations as recited in claim 10, and is allowed for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN H MOREHEAD III/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639