Detailed Action
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 10, 2025 and August 6, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, and accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US Patent Publication No. 2025/0280287 (“Li”) in view of Lair et al. US Patent Publication No. 2021/0168055 (“Lair”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, by a first control plane network element, call signaling related to a call service, wherein the call signaling comprises information about a first media plane network element, and the first media plane network element is configured to provide a first media plane service associated with the call service (para. [0078],[0089] see types of service. para. [0200] UE is requesting discovery (i.e., the criteria for discovery), for example, the UE may indicate the service capability ID, service type and/or service provider ID in the request. UE may further indicate that it wants the discovery process to include more than one aspect… performing service discovery (e.g., smart transportation service) and network function discovery. service capability information such as some or all of the information listed in Table 2. para. [0225] discovered service capabilities meeting the search criteria provided by the UE in its request);
sending, by the first control plane network element, network element requirement information to a network function repository network element based on the call signaling, wherein the network element requirement information indicates the network function repository network element to provide information about a media plane network element that provides a second media plane service associated with the call service (para. [0144] NF repository function (NRF). receive NF Discovery Request from NF instances, and provides the information of the discovered NF instances. para. [0225] in the response to the UE, the AMF may include information, such as some or all of the information listed in Table 2, for any discovered service capabilities meeting the search criteria provided by the UE in its request. para. [0229] AMF may send a new separate service discovery request message to the NRF. if any known service capabilities meet the search criteria); and
receiving, by the first control plane network element, information about a target media plane network element from the network function repository network element, wherein the target media plane network element is configured to provide the second media plane service (para. [0229] NRF may then return, for each such service capability, information including, for example, an identifier of the provider of the service capability. NRF may identify an appropriate NF and include information concerning that NF in the discovery results provided in the response message).
Li does not teach sending, by the first control plane network element, preferred network element information, the preferred network element information indicates that the first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element.
Lair discloses sending network element requirement information and preferred network element information, the preferred network element information indicates that the first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element (para. [0113] plurality of functional entities (also known as network functions, NFs). para. [0141] NF service consumer 354 sends a request to the NRF 352. one or more query parameters. para. [0144] response may be sent from the NRF 352 to the NF service consumer 354. response may comprise NF profiles or NF services matching the one or more query parameters. para. [0165] preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure of sending preferred network element information, wherein the preferred network element information indicates a preferred media plane network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for similar benefits of enabling a requesting entity to specify “preferences” as a guide such that certain parameters are prioritized while still not limiting results to only the preferences (para. [0163],[0165]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches an apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory, and the at least one memory stores instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive call signaling related to a call service, send network element requirement information to a network function repository network element based on the call signaling, and receive information about a target media plane network element from the network function repository network element, wherein the call signaling comprises information about a first media plane network element, and the first media plane network element is configured to provide a first media plane service associated with the call service, the network element requirement information indicates the network function repository network element to provide information about a media plane network element that provides a second media plane service associated with the call service, and the target media plane network element is configured to provide the second media plane service (para. [0078],[0089] see types of service. para. [0200] UE is requesting discovery (i.e., the criteria for discovery), for example, the UE may indicate the service capability ID, service type and/or service provider ID in the request. UE may further indicate that it wants the discovery process to include more than one aspect… performing service discovery (e.g., smart transportation service) and network function discovery. service capability information such as some or all of the information listed in Table 2. para. [0225] discovered service capabilities meeting the search criteria provided by the UE in its request. para. [0144] NF repository function (NRF). receive NF Discovery Request from NF instances, and provides the information of the discovered NF instances. para. [0225] in the response to the UE, the AMF may include information, such as some or all of the information listed in Table 2, for any discovered service capabilities meeting the search criteria provided by the UE in its request); and
determine the target media plane network element based on the network element requirement information and the preferred network element information (para. [0229] NRF may perform the search based on the search criteria information in the request message, by comparing the search criteria to stored information relating to available service capabilities. NRF may then return, for each such service capability, information including, for example, an identifier of the provider of the service capability. NRF may identify an appropriate NF and include information concerning that NF in the discovery results provided in the response message).
Li does not teach receiving preferred network element information, and the preferred network element information indicates that the first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element.
Lair discloses receiving network element requirement information and preferred network element information, and the preferred network element information indicates that the first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element (para. [0113] plurality of functional entities (also known as network functions, NFs. para. [0141] NF service consumer 354 sends a request to the NRF 352. one or more query parameters. para. [0144] a response may be sent from the NRF 352 to the NF service consumer 354. response may comprise NF profiles or NF services matching the one or more query parameters. para. [0165] preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure of receiving preferred network element information, wherein the preferred network element information indicates a preferred media plane network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for similar benefits of enabling a requesting entity to specify “preferences” as a guide such that certain parameters are prioritized while still not limiting results to only the preferences (para. [0163],[0165]).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches a communication apparatus, comprising at least one processor and at least one memory, wherein the at least one processor is coupled to the at least one memory, and the at least one memory stores instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive network element requirement information from a first control plane network element, wherein the network element requirement information indicates the communication apparatus to provide information about a media plane network element that provides a second media plane service associated with a call service requested by a terminal device (para. [0144] NF repository function (NRF). receive NF Discovery Request from NF instances, and provides the information of the discovered NF instances. para. [0225] in the response to the UE, the AMF may include information, such as some or all of the information listed in Table 2, for any discovered service capabilities meeting the search criteria provided by the UE in its request. para. [0229] AMF may send a new separate service discovery request message to the NRF. if any known service capabilities meet the search criteria);
determine, based on the network element requirement information, a target media plane network element that provides the second media plane service associated with the call service, wherein the target media plane network element is configured to provide the second media plane service (para. [0229] NRF may perform the search based on the search criteria information in the request message (i.e., some or all of the information listed in Table 2 for each desired service capability to be discovered), by comparing the search criteria to stored information relating to available service capabilities); and
send information about the target media plane network element to the first control plane network element (para. [0229] NRF may then return, for each such service capability, information including, for example, an identifier of the provider of the service capability. NRF may identify an appropriate NF and include information concerning that NF in the discovery results provided in the response message).
Li does not teach receiving preferred network element information, the preferred network element information indicates that a first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element.
Lair discloses receiving network element requirement information and preferred network element information, and the preferred network element information indicates that the first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element (para. [0113] plurality of functional entities (also known as network functions, NFs. para. [0141] NF service consumer 354 sends a request to the NRF 352. one or more query parameters. para. [0144] response may be sent from the NRF 352 to the NF service consumer 354. response may comprise NF profiles or NF services matching the one or more query parameters. para. [0165] preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure of receiving preferred network element information, wherein the preferred network element information indicates a preferred media plane network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for similar benefits of enabling a requesting entity to specify “preferences” as a guide such that certain parameters are prioritized while still not limiting results to only the preferences (para. [0163],[0165]).
Regarding claim 2, Li does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein that the preferred network element information indicates that the first media plane network element is a preferred media plane network element comprises: the preferred network element information indicates to use the first media plane network element as the target media plane network element when the network function repository network element determines that the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service.
Lair teaches preferred network element information indicates to use the first media plane network element as the target media plane network element when the network function repository network element determines that the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service (para. [0168] NF service consumer 354 may indicate, together with preferences parameters, whether the NRF 352 should decide on NFs/NF services returned in case the preferences parameters do not match the registered profiles. para. [0172] NF/NF service will match the one or more query parameters provided by the NF service consumer 354). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the capability to consider preferences of a consumer and identify a NF capable of satisfying query parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Lair teach the method according to claim 1. Li teaches wherein the sending, by the first control plane network element, network element requirement information to a network function repository network element comprises: sending, by the first control plane network element, a service discovery request message to the network function repository network element, wherein the service discovery request message comprises the network element requirement information (para. [0225] AMF may include information, such as some or all of the information listed in Table 2, for any discovered service capabilities meeting the search criteria provided by the UE in its request. para. [0229] AMF may send a new separate service discovery request message to the NRF. if any known service capabilities meet the search criteria). Li does not teach wherein the service discovery request message comprises the preferred network element information.
Lair teaches sending preferred network element information, wherein the service discovery request message comprises the preferred network element information (para. [0165] preference parameters, preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants. para. [0180] preferences parameters may be provided in a discovery request for selecting an NF or NF service, or both). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the capability to consider preferences of a consumer and identify a NF capable of satisfying query parameters.
Regarding claim 4, Li in view of Lair teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first media plane service is an access service or an interworking service, and the second media plane service is a resource service (Li: para. [0089] provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VolP) services. Lair: para. [0002] examples of services provided comprise two-way or multi-way calls, data communication or multimedia services and access to a data network system. para. [0137] list of services supported by the NF, optionally with one or more parameters specific to these services,).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Lair teach the method according to claim 1. Li teaches the method further comprising: receiving, by the network function repository network element, the network element requirement information from the first control plane network element; determining, by the network function repository network element based on the network element requirement information, the target media plane network element; and sending, by the network function repository network element, the information about the target media plane network element to the first control plane network element (para. [0229] NRF may then return, for each such service capability, information including, for example, an identifier of the provider of the service capability. NRF may identify an appropriate NF and include information concerning that NF in the discovery results provided in the response message). Li does not teach receiving, by the network function repository network element, the preferred network element information from the first control plane network element; determining, by the network function repository network element based on the preferred network element information, the target media plane network element.
Lair teaches receiving, by the network function repository network element, the preferred network element information from the first control plane network element; determining, by the network function repository network element based on the preferred network element information, the target media plane network element (para. [0144] response may be sent from the NRF 352 to the NF service consumer 354. response may comprise NF profiles or NF services matching the one or more query parameters. para. [0165] preference parameters, preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the capability to consider preferences of a consumer and identify a NF capable of satisfying query parameters.
Regarding claim 12, Li does not teach the method according to claim 11, further comprising: before the sending, by the network function repository network element, the information about the target media plane network element to the first control plane network element, determining, by the network function repository network element, whether the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service; and in response to that the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service, determining, by the network function repository network element, to use the first media plane network element as the target media plane network element; or in response to that the first media plane network element cannot provide the second media plane service, selecting, by the network function repository network element, a media plane network element that supports the second media plane service as the target media plane network element.
Lair teaches before sending, by the network function repository network element, the information about the target media plane network element to the first control plane network element, determining, by the network function repository network element, whether the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service; and in response to that the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service, determining, by the network function repository network element, to use the first media plane network element as the target media plane network element; or in response to that the first media plane network element cannot provide the second media plane service, selecting, by the network function repository network element, a media plane network element that supports the second media plane service as the target media plane network element (para. [0165] preference parameters, preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants. para. [0168] NF service consumer 354 may indicate, together with preferences parameters, whether the NRF 352 should decide on NFs/NF services returned in case the preferences parameters do not match the registered profiles. para. [0180] preferences parameters may be provided in a discovery request for selecting an NF or NF service, or both. para. [0172] NF/NF service will match the one or more query parameters provided by the NF service consumer 354). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the capability to consider preferences of a consumer and identify a NF capable of satisfying query parameters.
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Lair teach the method according to claim 12, wherein the determining, by the network function repository network element, whether the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service comprises: obtaining, by the network function repository network element, capability information of the first media plane network element, wherein the capability information indicates a service that is provided by the first media plane network element; and determining, by the network function repository network element based on the capability information, whether the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service (Li: para. [0146],[0147] maintains the NF profile of available NF instances and their supported service information. para. [0267] NRF returns the results of the service capability discovery (and the NF discovery), indicating if the desired service capability(ies) or NFs are found or not. If such service capability(ies) or NFs are discovered and are available, information concerning each discovered service capability or NF is returned. Lair: para. [0132] NF service producer 350 registers its profile into an NRF 352. para. [0140] NFs and their supported services. NRF 352 returns the NFs and the NF services which are registered).
Regarding claim 20, Li does not teach the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine whether the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service; and in response to that the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service, determine to use the first media plane network element as the target media plane network element; or in response to that the first media plane network element does not provide the second media plane service, select a media plane network element that supports the second media plane service as the target media plane network element.
Lair teaches determining whether the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service; and in response to that the first media plane network element provides the second media plane service, determine to use the first media plane network element as the target media plane network element; or in response to that the first media plane network element does not provide the second media plane service, select a media plane network element that supports the second media plane service as the target media plane network element (para. [0165] preference parameters, preference that the NF service consumer may have. preference parameters may indicate one or more optional preferences for an NF/NF service that the NF service consumer wants. para. [0168] NF service consumer 354 may indicate, together with preferences parameters, whether the NRF 352 should decide on NFs/NF services returned in case the preferences parameters do not match the registered profiles. para. [0180] preferences parameters may be provided in a discovery request for selecting an NF or NF service, or both. para. [0172] NF/NF service will match the one or more query parameters provided by the NF service consumer 354). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lair’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the capability to consider preferences of a consumer and identify a NF capable of satisfying query parameters.
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lair, Lu et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0295386 (“Lu”), and Keller et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0137392 (“Keller”).
Regarding claim 5, Li does not teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, by the first control plane network element, target media endpoint information of the target media plane network element, wherein the target media endpoint information comprises information about a target media endpoint that is of the target media plane network element and that is configured to provide the second media plane service; and sending, by the first control plane network element, the target media endpoint information to a second control plane network element, wherein the second control plane network element is a control plane network element that provides an access service or an interworking service for a calling terminal device or a called terminal device of the call service.
Lu discloses obtaining, by a first control plane network element, target media endpoint information of a target media plane network element, wherein the target media endpoint information comprises information about a target media endpoint that is of the target media plane network element and that is configured to provide the second media plane service (para. [0107] SCP may forward the request to the selected NF service producer for example according to the configuration of the network slice, e.g. the expected NF instances are only reachable by NFs in the same network slice. NF service producer may send a service response to the SCP. If the service request creates a resource in the NF service producer, the NF service producer may respond with a resource address identifying the created resource. SCP may route the service response to the NF service consumer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lu’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have enabled sending of service requests to a service producer (para. [0005]).
Keller discloses sending, by a first control plane network element, the target media endpoint information to a second control plane network element, wherein the second control plane network element is a control plane network element that provides an access service or an interworking service for a calling terminal device or a called terminal device of the call service (para. [0070] second IMS node 16 may be a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) node such as a P-CSCF or a S-CSCF node. CSCF, proxy CSCF node (P-CSCF), an Interrogating CSCF (I-CSCF) node. para. [0075] first IMS node 15 may then transmit a service request for a service of the network function instance to the second IMS node 16 using the contact information such as the SBI address). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Keller’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have enabled utilized functions of a CSCF for call session and session management (para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 10, Li does not teach the method according to claim 5, wherein the second control plane network element is an interrogating-call session control network element or a proxy-call session control network element that provides an access service for a local end or a peer end.
Keller teaches a second control plane network element, wherein the second control plane network element is an interrogating-call session control network element or a proxy-call session control network element that provides an access service for a local end or a peer end (para. [0070] second IMS node 16 may be a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) node such as a P-CSCF or a S-CSCF node. CSCF may comprise one or more of distributed functions e.g. a proxy CSCF node (P-CSCF), an Interrogating CSCF (I-CSCF) node. para. [0075] first IMS node 15 may then transmit a service request for a service of the network function instance to the second IMS node 16 using the contact information such as the SBI address). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Keller’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have enabled utilized functions of a CSCF for call session and session management (para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, Li does not teach the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: obtain target media endpoint information of the target media plane network element, wherein the target media endpoint information comprises information about a target media endpoint that is of the target media plane network element and that is configured to provide the second media plane service; and send the target media endpoint information to a second control plane network element, wherein the second control plane network element is a control plane network element that provides an access service or an interworking service for a calling terminal device or a called terminal device of the call service.
Lu teaches obtaining target media endpoint information of a target media plane network element, wherein the target media endpoint information comprises information about a target media endpoint that is of the target media plane network element and that is configured to provide the second media plane service (para. [0107] SCP may forward the request to the selected NF service producer for example according to the configuration of the network slice, e.g. the expected NF instances are only reachable by NFs in the same network slice. NF service producer may send a service response to the SCP. If the service request creates a resource in the NF service producer, the NF service producer may respond with a resource address identifying the created resource. SCP may route the service response to the NF service consumer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Lu’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have enabled sending of service requests to a service producer (para. [0005]).
Keller teaches sending target media endpoint information to a second control plane network element, wherein the second control plane network element is a control plane network element that provides an access service or an interworking service for a calling terminal device or a called terminal device of the call service (para. [0070] second IMS node 16 may be a Home Subscriber Server (HSS) or a Call Session Control Function (CSCF) node such as a P-CSCF or a S-CSCF node. CSCF, proxy CSCF node (P-CSCF), an Interrogating CSCF (I-CSCF) node. para. [0075] first IMS node 15 may then transmit a service request for a service of the network function instance to the second IMS node 16 using the contact information such as the SBI address). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li and Lu with Keller’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have enabled utilized functions of a CSCF for call session and session management (para. [0070]).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lair, Lu, Keller, and Rodrigo et al. US Patent Publication No. 2025/0274335 (“Rodrigo”).
Regarding claim 6, Li does not teach the method according to claim 5, wherein the target media plane network element is a second media plane network element, and the obtaining, by the first control plane network element, target media endpoint information of the target media plane network element comprises: sending, by the first control plane network element, an endpoint allocation request to the target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation request is for requesting the target media endpoint information; and receiving, by the first control plane network element, an endpoint allocation response from the target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation response comprises the target media endpoint information; or the target media plane network element is the first media plane network element, and the obtaining, by the first control plane network element, target media endpoint information of the target media plane network element comprises: obtaining, by the first control plane network element, the target media endpoint information from the call signaling.
Rodrigo teaches sending, by a first control plane network element, an endpoint allocation request to a target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation request is for requesting the target media endpoint information; and receiving, by the first control plane network element, an endpoint allocation response from the target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation response comprises the target media endpoint information (para. [0085] binding can be used to indicate suitable target NF producer instance(s) for NF service instance selection, reselection and routing of subsequent requests associated with a specific NF producer resource (context) and NF service. para. [0086] by the NF consumer to indicate suitable NF consumer instance(s) para. [0087] NF service producer may provide a Binding Indication to the NF service consumer as part of the Direct or Indirect Communication procedures, to be used in subsequent related service requests. if the resource is created in the NF Service Producer, the NF Service Producer provides resource information which includes the endpoint address of the NF service producer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Rodrigo’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to enable a consumer to send service requests to a service producer.
Regarding claim 16, Li does not teach the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the target media plane network element is a second media plane network element, and the apparatus is further caused to: send an endpoint allocation request to the target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation request is for requesting the target media endpoint information of the target media plane network element; and receive an endpoint allocation response from the target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation response comprises the target media endpoint information; or the target media plane network element is the first media plane network element, and the apparatus is further caused to: obtain the target media endpoint information from the call signaling.
Rodrigo teaches sending, by a first control plane network element, an endpoint allocation request to a target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation request is for requesting the target media endpoint information; and receiving, by the first control plane network element, an endpoint allocation response from the target media plane network element, wherein the endpoint allocation response comprises the target media endpoint information (para. [0085] binding can be used to indicate suitable target NF producer instance(s) for NF service instance selection, reselection and routing of subsequent requests associated with a specific NF producer resource (context) and NF service. para. [0086] by the NF consumer to indicate suitable NF consumer instance(s) para. [0087] NF service producer may provide a Binding Indication to the NF service consumer as part of the Direct or Indirect Communication procedures, to be used in subsequent related service requests. if the resource is created in the NF Service Producer, the NF Service Producer provides resource information which includes the endpoint address of the NF service producer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Rodrigo’s disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to enable a consumer to send service requests to a service producer.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lair and Castellanos Zamora et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0248316 (“Castellanos Zamora”).
Regarding claim 7, Li does not expressly teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: requesting, by the first control plane network element, the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service.
Castellanos Zamora teaches requesting, by a first control plane network element, the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service (para. [0050],[0057] NF consumer, SMF, AMF. para. [0064] when the NF service consumer intends to request a service from the NF service producer, it may first discover (i.e. queries NRF) which NF instance produces the requested service for a give NF type. para. [0091] consumer NF transmits a service request to a producer network function, wherein the service request comprises: the access token; and a requested operation over a requested resource). Li discloses the control plane network element requesting and receiving information regarding NF capable of providing the service. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li and Lair with Castellanos Zamora’s disclosure of requesting the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the service requesting by the client.
Regarding claim 17, Li does not teach the apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: request the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service.
Castellanos Zamora teaches requesting the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service (para. [0050],[0057] NF consumer, SMF, AMF. para. [0064] when the NF service consumer intends to request a service from the NF service producer, it may first discover (i.e. queries NRF) which NF instance produces the requested service for a give NF type. para. [0091] consumer NF transmits a service request to a producer network function, wherein the service request comprises: the access token; and a requested operation over a requested resource). Li discloses the control plane network element requesting and receiving information regarding NF capable of providing the service. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li and Lair with Castellanos Zamora’s disclosure of requesting the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided the service requesting by the client.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lair, Castellanos Zamora, and Rodrigo et al. US Patent Publication No. 2025/0274335 (“Rodrigo”).
Regarding claim 8, Li does not teach the method according to claim 7, wherein the requesting, by the first control plane network element, the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service comprises: sending, by the first control plane network element, indication information to the target media plane network element, wherein the indication information indicates the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service through a target media endpoint.
Rodrigo sending, by a network element, indication information to the target media plane network element, wherein the indication information indicates the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service through a target media endpoint (para. [0085] [0085] binding can be used to indicate suitable target NF producer instance(s) for NF service instance selection, reselection and routing of subsequent requests associated with a specific NF producer resource (context) and NF service. para. [0086] by the NF consumer to indicate suitable NF consumer instance(s) para. [0087] NF service producer may provide a Binding Indication to the NF service consumer as part of the Direct or Indirect Communication procedures, to be used in subsequent related service requests. if the resource is created in the NF Service Producer, the NF Service Producer provides resource information which includes the endpoint address of the NF service producer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Rodrigo’s disclosure such that the control plane network element of Li sends the indication information to the target media plane network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to enable a consumer to send service requests to a service producer.
Regarding claim 18, Li does not teach the apparatus according to claim 17, wherein the apparatus is further caused to: send indication information to the target media plane network element, wherein the indication information indicates the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service through a target media endpoint.
Rodrigo sending indication information to the target media plane network element, wherein the indication information indicates the target media plane network element to provide the second media plane service through a target media endpoint (para. [0085] [0085] binding can be used to indicate suitable target NF producer instance(s) for NF service instance selection, reselection and routing of subsequent requests associated with a specific NF producer resource (context) and NF service. para. [0086] by the NF consumer to indicate suitable NF consumer instance(s) para. [0087] NF service producer may provide a Binding Indication to the NF service consumer as part of the Direct or Indirect Communication procedures, to be used in subsequent related service requests. if the resource is created in the NF Service Producer, the NF Service Producer provides resource information which includes the endpoint address of the NF service producer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li with Rodrigo’s disclosure such that the control plane network element of Li sends the indication information to the target media plane network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have provided information to enable a consumer to send service requests to a service producer.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Lair and Qiu et al. US Patent Publication No. 2016/0191663 (“Qiu”).
Regarding claim 9, Li does not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first control plane network element is an application server that provides an application service for a local end, or a serving-call control network element.
Qiu teaches a first control plane network element, wherein the first control plane network element is an application server that provides an application service for a local end, or a serving-call control network element (para. [0049] client can be a S-CSCF node, an I-CSCF node, or an application server. request message that includes an indication of type of service is generated. request message is delivered to at least one server in a centralized network repository). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Li and Lair with Qiu’s disclosure of an application server that provides an application service for a local end, or a serving-call control network element. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to have enabled different types of network elements to request services and prioritized requests to provide a protection mechanism (para. [0038]).
Examiner’s Note
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yang et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0348514 (para. [0006] NF service consumer (e.g., an SMF, an AMF, etc.). para. [0043] generating a discovery message (e.g., message 253 or 257) comprising a query. para. [0044] first query parameter comprising a first NF type value. para. [0045] third query parameter indicates either: a) that the NF service consumer prefers the NRF to return a set of NF instance profiles wherein each NF instance profile included in the set is for an NF instance that supports all of the NF types identified by the first and second NF type values. NF service consumer is requesting the NRF to only return a set of NF instance profiles wherein each NF instance profile included in the set is for an NF instance that supports all of the NF types identified by the first and second NF type values. para. [0048] receiving from the NRF a response to the query, which response comprises a profile for an NF instance, wherein the profile for the NF instance matched the query).
Rodrigo et al. US Patent Publication No. 2024/0064197 (para. [0103] criterion indicative that a predefined instance of first NF nodes are preferred (e.g. “preferred-nf-instances” as defined in Table 6.2.3.2.3.1-1 of 3GPP TS 29.510 V17.2.0. para. [0104] if multiple preferred parameters are included in a discovery request from the network node 20 to the NRF node 60, the network node 20 may still search into a profile of one or more first NF nodes of the plurality of first NF nodes to select (or reselect) a first NF node from the plurality of first NF nodes to provide the service.)
Wang et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0276220 (para. [0288] Endpoint Address(es) of NF service instance(s) to the NF service consumer or SCP)
Talebi Fard et al. US Patent Publication No. 2022/0053603 (para. [0400] NRF in serving PLMN may provide to the AMF, e.g. FQDN or IP address, of a set of discovered SMF instance(s) or endpoint address(es) of SMF service instance(s) in a Nnrf_NFDiscovery_Request response message. para. [0405] NRF may provide to the SMF, e.g. FQDN or IP address, of a set of discovered SMF instance(s) or endpoint address(es) of SMF service instance)
Krishan et al. US Patent Publication No. 2023/0262025 (para. [0003] [0003] A given producer NF may have many service endpoint. para. [0073] producer NF publishes IP endpoint(s) in its NF or service profile. NF discovery response with a specific IP address to be used to contact the producer NF. Para. [0084] FQDN information will be provided in the NF profile returned to the consumer NF or SCP).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA JOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445