DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to correspondence filed July 30, 2026.
Claims 1-17 are currently pending. Claims 1-17 have been amended. Entry of this amendment is accepted and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-10, 12-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarantino (US 20200260692) (hereinafter Tarantino) in view of Fraden et al. (US 2011/0228811) (hereinafter Fraden).
Regarding claim 1, Tarantino teaches an apparatus (100) for attachment to a pet leash (204) (see Figure 1), comprising:
a sensor (245) configured to read a temperature of a surface from a distance (see figs. 1-2 and 7 and paragraphs 0069-0070); a display (230) configured to receive said temperature and display said temperature (see fig. 5 and paragraph 0073); a power source (250) configured to power the sensor (245) (see paragraph 0070); a coupler (206) configured to attach the apparatus to a pet leash (204) (see fig. 2 and paragraph 0070).
However, Tarantino does not explicitly teach a tube surrounding the sensor configured for precise and directional sensing.
Fraden teaches a tube (10) surrounding the sensor configured for precise and directional sensing (see figs. 1 and 10; and paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor with a tube surrounding the sensor configured for precise and directional sensing as taught by Egawa. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a more precise temperature measurement by preventing any stray radiation from reaching the sensor. As a result, only the IR rays emanating from the intended target and IR rays emanating from the inner surface of the shield are able to reach the sensor.
Regarding claim 2, Tarantino further said display (230) is smart device screen (see paragraphs 0064, 0068 and 0073-0074).
Regarding claim 4, Tarantino further teaches an actuation mechanism (power control) (220) configured to activate the sensor (245) (see paragraphs 0052, 0059, 0060, 0069 and 0076).
Regarding claim 5, Tarantino further teaches said sensor (245) is configured to periodically reads said temperature of said surface (see paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 8, Tarantino further comprises an audio or tone generator (270) configured to generate an alert sound when said temperature is above or below a threshold (see paragraphs 0063 and 0070).
Regarding claim 9, Tarantino further teaches a laser pointer (240) (see fig. 1 and paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 10, Tarantino teaches an apparatus (100) for attachment to a pet leash (204) (see fig. 1) comprising: a sensor (245) configured to read a temperature of a surface from a distance see figs. 1-2 and 7 and paragraphs 0069-0070); an indicator (“the control electronics may change the text, graphics, or attributes of messages on the operator display and/or may play an audible indication via the audio transducer”) configured to receive said temperature and indicate whether said temperature is above or below a temperature threshold (see paragraphs 0063 and 0070); a power source (250) configured to power the sensor (245) (see paragraph 0070); and a coupler (206) configured to attach the apparatus to a pet leash (204) (see fig. 2 and paragraph 0070).
However, Tarantino does not explicitly teach a tube surrounding the sensor configured for precise and directional sensing.
Fraden teaches a tube (10) surrounding the sensor configured for precise and directional sensing (see figs. 1 and 10; and paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the sensor as taught by Tarantino with a tube surrounding the sensor configured for precise and directional sensing as taught by Fraden. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a more precise temperature measurement by preventing any stray radiation from reaching the sensor. As a result, only the IR rays emanating from the intended target and IR rays emanating from the inner surface of the shield are able to reach the sensor.
Regarding claim 12, Tarantino further teaches an actuation mechanism (power control) (220) configured to activate the sensor (245) (see paragraphs 0052, 0059, 0060, 0069 and 0076).
Regarding claim 13, Tarantino further teaches said sensor (245) configured to periodically reads said temperature of said surface (see paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 16, Tarantino further comprises an audio or tone generator (270) configured to generate an alert sound when said temperature is above or below a threshold (see paragraphs 0063 and 0070).
Regarding claim 17, Tarantino further teaches a laser pointer (240) (see fig. 1 and paragraph 0069).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarantino in view of Tarantino in view of Fraden in further view of Harley (US 2015/0282456) (hereinafter Harley).
Regarding claim 3, Tarantino as modified by Fraden teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Tarantino as modified by Fraden does not explicitly teach a compartment for receiving waste receptacle bags.
Harley teaches a compartment for receiving waste receptacle bags (“Accordingly, pet care system 100 may include a structure with a holding mechanism and a disposable cartridge 110 that is held by the holding mechanism but is removable from the holding mechanism. Consumable pet care materials may be stored in the disposable cartridge 110, wherein the disposable cartridge 110 is configured to dispense the consumable pet care materials. The consumable materials may comprise at least one of pet waste bags 111 and pet treats.”) (see figs. 1-6 and paragraph 0039).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus as taught by the prior combination with a compartment for receiving waste receptacle bags as taught by Harley. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide an easier and more convenient method for storing, dispensing and refilling a steady supply of waste bags in order to allow a pet owner to clean up after their pet.
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarantino in in view of Fraden as applied in claims 6 and 10 above, in further view of Lund (US 2020/0015452) (hereinafter Lund).
Regarding claim 6, Tarantino as modified by Fraden teaches an interface (display) (230) for displaying time and said temperature (see fig. 5 and paragraph 0073).
However, Tarantino as modified by Fraden does not explicitly teach a database configured to receive location data, time and date information, and said temperature; a first wireless connection between said apparatus and a smart device; a second wireless connection between said smart device and said database; and an interface for displaying said location data, time and date information, and said temperature; wherein said smart device receives said temperature from said apparatus through the first wireless connection and said database receives location data, time and date information, and said temperature from said smart device through the second wireless connection.
Lund teaches a database (memory) (416) configured to receive location data, time and date information, and said temperature (see paragraphs 0002-0003, 0011-0013, 0016-0017, 0020-0021 and 0025-0029); a first wireless connection (NFC) between said apparatus and a smart device; a second wireless connection (NFC) between said smart device and said database (memory) (416); and an interface (touch screen) for displaying said location data, time and date information and said temperature (see paragraph 0003); wherein said smart device receives said temperature from said apparatus through the first wireless connection (“The NFC device may transmit the animal's hormone levels, temperatures, historical temperatures, historical hormone levels, historical location history, or a combination thereof”) (see paragraph 0003) and said database (memory) (416) receives location data, time and date information, and said temperature from said smart device through the second wireless connection (“The electronic device may further include an electromagnetic generator. The electromagnetic generator may produce electricity as the animal moves its head or neck. The selecting on a digital map may include using a touch screen to select one or more of the acceptable GPS coordinate locations. The one or more geographic regions may further comprise a selected time-of-day, season-of-the-year, and/or calendar date associated with a specific region of the one or more geographic regions. The specific region includes a feeding location, a shelter location, a grazing location, an animal maintenance location, or a corralling location. The wirelessly programming of the electronic device may take place after the electronic device is implanted. The wirelessly programming of the electronic device may take place before the electronic device is implanted. The specific region may include a wireless transceiver that performs the wireless programming or updates to the wireless programming of the electronic device”) (see paragraph 0003) (see paragraphs 0002-0003, 0011-0013, 0016-0017, 0020-0021 and 0025-0029).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus as taught by the prior combination with a database configured to receive location data, time and date information, and said temperature; a first wireless connection between said apparatus and a smart device; a second wireless connection between said smart device and said database; and an interface for displaying said location data, time and date information, and said temperature; wherein said smart device receives said temperature from said apparatus through the first wireless connection and said database receives location data, time and date information, and said temperature from said smart device through the second wireless connection as taught by Lund. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a user with historical information of environmental data and pet whereabouts. Additionally, it allows a user to locate their pet in case the pet is lost.
Regarding claim 7, the prior combination teaches all the limitations of claim 6.
However, Tarantino as modified by Fraden and Lund does not explicitly teach said interface is configured to display a map.
Lund teaches said interface further displays a map (see paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify interface as taught by the prior combination to display a map as taught by Lund. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a user with information of a pet whereabouts. Additionally, it allows a user to locate their pet in case the pet is lost.
Regarding claim 14, Tarantino as modified by Fraden teaches an interface (display) (230) for displaying time and said temperature (see fig. 5 and paragraph 0073).
However, Tarantino does not explicitly teach a database configured to receive location data, time and date information, and said temperature; a first wireless connection between said apparatus and a smart device; a second wireless connection between said smart device and said database; and an interface for displaying said location data, time and date information, and said temperature; wherein said smart device receives said temperature from said apparatus through the first wireless connection and said database receives location data, time and date information, and said temperature from said smart device through the second wireless connection.
Lund teaches a database (memory) (416) configured to receive location data, time and date information, and said temperature (see paragraphs 0002-0003, 0011-0013, 0016-0017, 0020-0021 and 0025-0029); a first wireless connection (NFC) between said apparatus and a smart device; a second wireless connection (NFC) between said smart device and said database (memory) (416); and an interface (touch screen) for displaying said location data, time and date information and said temperature (see paragraph 0003); wherein said smart device receives said temperature from said apparatus through the first wireless connection (“The NFC device may transmit the animal's hormone levels, temperatures, historical temperatures, historical hormone levels, historical location history, or a combination thereof”) (see paragraph 0003) and said database (memory) (416) receives location data, time and date information, and said temperature from said smart device through the second wireless connection (“The electronic device may further include an electromagnetic generator. The electromagnetic generator may produce electricity as the animal moves its head or neck. The selecting on a digital map may include using a touch screen to select one or more of the acceptable GPS coordinate locations. The one or more geographic regions may further comprise a selected time-of-day, season-of-the-year, and/or calendar date associated with a specific region of the one or more geographic regions. The specific region includes a feeding location, a shelter location, a grazing location, an animal maintenance location, or a corralling location. The wirelessly programming of the electronic device may take place after the electronic device is implanted. The wirelessly programming of the electronic device may take place before the electronic device is implanted. The specific region may include a wireless transceiver that performs the wireless programming or updates to the wireless programming of the electronic device”) (see paragraph 0003) (see paragraphs 0002-0003, 0011-0013, 0016-0017, 0020-0021 and 0025-0029).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus as taught by the prior combination with a database configured to receive location data, time and date information, and said temperature; a first wireless connection between said apparatus and a smart device; a second wireless connection between said smart device and said database; and an interface for displaying said location data, time and date information, and said temperature; wherein said smart device receives said temperature from said apparatus through the first wireless connection and said database receives location data, time and date information, and said temperature from said smart device through the second wireless connection as taught by Lund. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a user with historical information of environmental data and pet whereabouts. Additionally, it allows a user to locate their pet in case the pet is lost.
Regarding claim 15, Tarantino as modified by Fraden teaches all the limitations of claim 10.
However, Tarantino as modified by Fraden does not explicitly teach said interface further displays a map.
Lund teaches said interface further displays a map (see paragraph 0012).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify interface as taught by the prior combination to display a map as taught by Lund. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a user with information of a pet whereabouts. Additionally, it allows a user to locate their pet in case the pet is lost.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tarantino in view of Fraden in further view of Dana (US 11399513) (hereinafter Dana).
Regarding claim 11, Tarantino teaches all the limitations of claim 10.
However, Tarantino as modified by Fraden does not explicitly teach or render obvious the said indicator further comprising of one or more light-emitting diodes.
Dana teaches said indicator is further comprising of one or more light-emitting diodes (LED) (see column 7, lines 60-66).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus as taught by the prior combination with said indicator comprising of one or more light-emitting diodes as taught by Dana. One would be motivated to make this combination in order to provide a user with a visual alert that an established threshold has been exceeded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JANICE M SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855