DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species 3 (figure 24 and claims 2-15) in the reply filed on 06/18/26 is acknowledged. Also, claims 6 and 14 are withdrawn from consideration since it does not read on the species chosen. Claim 6 discloses the input/output pins are exposed on a same side of the magnetic-component module as the core is located. These structural features are taught in species 4 (figure 45) and not species 3 (figure 24). See also para 0044 of the applicant pgpub teaching wherein species 3 (figure 24) the input/output pins are exposed on the opposite side of the magnetic-component module as the core.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the traces in the substrate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: A reference number is not shown that points out the input/output pins. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2- 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter in U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798 has the same structural limitations.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application of claims 2-15 corresponds to the subject matter claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798 corresponds the details are as follows:
a. Claim 2 of the instant application number 18926765, recites, “a substrate; a core that is on a first surface of the substrate and that includes a top surface and a bottom surface that are connected by side walls;a spacer that conforms to the top surface of the core; a winding including: wire bonds extending over the core and electrically connecting a first portion of the substrate and a second portion of the substrate; and traces on and/or in the substrate; and an overmold material encapsulating the core, the spacer, and the wire bond”.(same elements recited in claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165798).
b. Claim 3 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 2 of U.S. Patent No.12,165,798).
c. Claims 4-5 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 3 of U.S. Patent No.12,165,798).
d. Claim 6 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
e. Claim 7 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
f. Claim 8 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
g. Claim 9 of the instant application number 18926765, recites, “a substrate; a core on a first surface of the substrate; a spacer that extends only along a top surface of the core such that an edge of the spacer overhangs the core; a winding including: wire bonds extending over the core and electrically connecting a first portion of the substrate and a second portion of the substrate; and traces on and/or in the substrate; and an overmold material encapsulating the core, the spacer, and the wire bonds.”.(same elements recited in claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
h. Claim 10 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
i. Claim 11 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
j. Claim 12 of the instant application number 18926765, recites (same elements recited in claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,798).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 2-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2009/0160595) in view of Olschewski (US 4,103,267) and Pitzele et al. (US 2007/0089293).
Regarding claim 2, Feng et al. (figures 1a-1f and para 0060-0063) discloses
a substrate (13); a core (15) on a first surface of the substrate (see figure 1a); a winding including (see figures 1a-1d): wire bonds (19) extending over the core and electrically connecting a first portion of the substrate and a second portion of the substrate (see para 0062); and traces on and/or in the substrate (see figure 1b); and
an overmold material (101) encapsulating the core and the wire bonds.
Feng et al. lacks a teaching of a spacer on the core and input/output pins on a surface of the substrate.
Olschewski (figures 1-4 and Col 2, lines 61-66) discloses a teaching of a spacer (19) on the core.
Pitzele et al. (figure 5 and para 0023) discloses input/output pins on a surface of the substrate.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a teaching of a spacer on the core as taught by Olschewski to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to greatly reduce the chances of a short circuiting occurring.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design input/output pins on a surface of the substrate as taught by Pitzele et al. to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to allow the inductive device the ability to transfer information between other external electronic components.
Regarding claim 3, Feng et al (figure 1a) discloses an electrical component (11) are attached to a second surface of the substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the substrate; Feng et al does not expressly discloses a plurality of electrical components are attached to a second surface of the substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the substrate. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to a plurality of electrical components are attached to a second surface of the substrate that is opposite to the first surface of the substrate, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Such as to reduce the size of the printed circuit board thereby saving in production cost/time.
Regarding claim 7, Olschewski (figure 2) discloses an adhesive (16) to mount the core to the substrate.
2. Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2009/0160595) in view of Olschewski (US 4,103,267) and Pitzele et al. (US 2007/0089293) in further view of Lotfi et al. (US 5787569).
Regarding claim 4, the modified inductive device of Feng et al. (figures 1a-1f and para 0060-0063) discloses all the limitations as noted but does not expressly discloses a gap between the bottom surface of the core and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the overmold material fills the gap.
Lotfi et al. (figures 5a and Col 6, lines 1-25) discloses a gap between the bottom surface of the core and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the overmold material fills the gap.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to wherein a gap between the bottom surface of the core and the first surface of the substrate, wherein the overmold material fills the gap as taught by Lotfi et al to the modified inductive device of Feng e al. so as to improve structural integrity, provide vital electrical insulation, and prevent mechanical damage from vibration or shock.
Regarding claim 5, designing wherein an adhesive is in the gap between the core and the substrate, and the overmold material encapsulates the adhesive would have been an obvious design consideration based on intended application/environment use. Such as to uniform stress distribution and eliminates the need to drill holes that can weaken structural integrity while also preventing moisture, chemicals, and corrosive elements from degrading the adhesive or reaching the core.
3. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2009/0160595) in view of Olschewski (US 4,103,267) and Pitzele et al. (US 2007/0089293) in further view of Sakaguchi et al. (US 2015/0213938).
Regarding claim 8, Feng et al. (figures 1a-1f and para 0060-0063) discloses all the limitations as noted but does not expressly discloses wherein the spacer includes a polyethylene terephthalate resin.
Sakaguchi et al. (para 0079) discloses wherein the spacer (20) includes a polyethylene terephthalate resin.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to wherein the spacer includes a polyethylene terephthalate resin as taught by Sakaguchi et al. to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to allow the inductive device the spacer ability to have great insulation, heat resistance, flexibility and moldability.
4. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2009/0160595) in view of Yang et al. (US 2009/0160596) and Lotfi et al. (US 5787569).
Regarding claim 2, Feng et al. (figures 1a-1f and para 0060-0063) discloses
a substrate (13); a core (15) on a first surface of the substrate (see figure 1a); a winding including (see figures 1a-1d): wire bonds (19) extending over the core and electrically connecting a first portion of the substrate and a second portion of the substrate (see para 0062); and traces on and/or in the substrate (see figure 1b); and
an overmold material (101) encapsulating the core and the wire bonds.
Feng et al. lacks a teaching of a spacer on the core and input/output pins on a surface of the substrate.
Yang et al. (figure 2b and para 0025-0026) discloses a teaching of a spacer (23) on the core.
Lotfi et al. (figures 5a and Col 6, lines 1-25) discloses input/output pins (535) on a surface of the substrate.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a teaching of a spacer on the core as taught by Yang et al. to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to greatly reduce the chances of a short circuiting occurring.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design input/output pins on a surface of the substrate as taught by Lotfi et al. to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to allow the inductive device the ability to transfer information between other external electronic components.
5. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2009/0160595) in view of Yang et al. (US 2009/0160596) and Lotfi et al. (US 5787569) in further view of Armfield et al. (US 6292081).
Regarding claim 7, Feng et al. (figures 1a-1f and para 0060-0063) discloses all the limitations as noted but does not expressly discloses an adhesive to mount the core to the substrate.
Armfield et al. (figure 4) discloses wherein an adhesive (240) to mount the core to the substrate.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to wherein an adhesive to mount the core to the substrate as taught by Armfield et al to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to uniform stress distribution and eliminates the need to drill holes that can weaken structural integrity.
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US 2009/0160595) in view of Dirks (US 4,975,671) and Yu et al. (US 7898376).
Regarding claim 2, Feng et al. (figures 1a-1f and para 0060-0063) discloses
a substrate (13); a core (15) on a first surface of the substrate (see figure 1a); a winding including (see figures 1a-1d): wire bonds (19) extending over the core and electrically connecting a first portion of the substrate and a second portion of the substrate (see para 0062); and traces on and/or in the substrate (see figure 1b); and
an overmold material (101) encapsulating the core and the wire bonds.
Feng et al. lacks a teaching of a spacer on the core and input/output pins on a surface of the substrate.
Dirks (figure 5 and Col 4, lines 48-50) discloses a teaching of a spacer (3) on the core.
Yu et al. (figures 3/5 and Col 3, lines 20-67- Col 4,lines 1-67) discloses input/output pins on a surface of the substrate.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design a teaching of a spacer on the core as taught by Dirks to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to greatly reduce the chances of a short circuiting occurring.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design input/output pins on a surface of the substrate as taught by Yu et al. to the inductive device of Feng e al. so as to allow the inductive device the ability to transfer information between other external electronic components.
Conclusion
/RONALD HINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837