DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following: -
With respect to (REJECTION OF CLAIMS UNDER 35 U.S.C. & 103/I); Applicant argues in bullet I, pages 1-3 of Remarks filed on 08/13/2026. In accordance with broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Jovcic teaches the limitation "an isolation transformer having at least 36 kV isolation and an operational frequency of at least 1 kHz." in (fig. 1, para. [0209]). Dell'Anna teaches the limitation "at least one ground cable having a total cross-sectional dimension of at least 80 mm2." in (fig. 1) and the cable's spec is configured to be customized as desired by the user to deploy the said cable into any application. And, Sleasman teaches the feature "an internal fiber switch" in (network interface 120; fig. 1). Sleasman further teaches the feature "Power output from the isolation transformer arranged, directly or indirectly, to supply power to the internal fiber switch" in (power output of block 126 via lines 124, 122, etc.; fig. 1). Sleasman furthermore teaches the feature "a fully closed metal box" in (metal box 104; fig. 1). Also, Sleasman teaches the feature "a high voltage protection unit" in (unit 104; fig. 1). The Applicant's analysis of the motivation of Dell'Anna with respect to Sleasman is fully incorrect because any transformer can be set as desired by the user to deploy the customized transformer into any selected application. In other words, the combination of Sleasman, Dell'Anna and Jovcic do teach and suggest every single feature/limitation recited in claim 1. Thus, the rejection of claim 1, and the objection to claims 2-18 are all maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sleasman et al (US Publication No. 20170369085) in view of Dell'Anna et al (US Publication No. 20070272426) and further in view of Jovcic (US Publication No. 20140198534).
Regarding claim 1, Sleasman discloses a high voltage protection unit (i.e., such as high voltage protection unit 104; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) for electrically operated rail-bound vehicles (i.e., such as rail-bound vehicles 200; see for example fig. 2, para. [0076]- [0077]), the high voltage protection unit (i.e., such as high voltage protection unit 104; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) comprising a fully closed metal box (i.e., such as fully closed metal box 104; for instance, portable enclosures 102, 104 are protective cases adapted to withstand an impact, crash, or other like event. As an example, the portable enclosures 102, 104 may include a hardened plastic, metal, or rubber exterior, and a padded interior; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) connected to ground (i.e., such as ground bus 124; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]).
Sleasman does not explicitly disclose via at least one ground cable having a total cross-sectional dimension of at least 80 mm2.
Dell'Anna discloses an impact resistant cable (i.e., cable 1; see for example fig. 1, para. [0263]); wherein ground cable (i.e., such as the cable core on which the expanded layer was to be deposited; see for example fig. 1, para. [0263]) having a total cross-sectional dimension (i.e., such as total cross-sectional dimension; see for example fig. 1, para. [0263]) of at least 80 mm^2 (i.e., such as total cross-sectional dimension 150 mm^2; for instance, the cable core on which the expanded layer was to be deposited consisted of: an aluminum conductor (cross-section 150 mm.sup.2); see for example fig. 1, para. [0263]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included cable ampacity size in Sleasman, as taught by Dell'Anna, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards preventing fire, overheating, and electric shock.
Back to Sleasman; and further comprising, arranged in the fully closed metal box (i.e., such as fully closed metal box 104; for instance, the portable enclosures 102, 104 are protective cases adapted to withstand an impact, crash, or other like event. As an example, the portable enclosures 102, 104 may include a hardened plastic, metal, or rubber exterior, and a padded interior; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]): an isolation transformer (i.e., such as isolation transformer embedded within power regulator 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]); the isolation transformer (i.e., such as isolation transformer embedded within power regulator 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) being directly or indirectly connected (i.e., power regulator 126 is directly connected to power supply 106 via power connector 132; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) to a power source (i.e., such as power source 106; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) outside said fully closed metal box (i.e., such as fully closed metal box 104; for instance, the portable enclosures 102, 104 are protective cases adapted to withstand an impact, crash, or other like event. As an example, the portable enclosures 102, 104 may include a hardened plastic, metal, or rubber exterior, and a padded interior; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]); and an internal fiber switch (i.e., such as internal fiber switch wireless network interface 120; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) connected to an optical fiber (i.e., such as optical fiber interfaces 134, 136; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) leading to an external fiber switch (i.e., such as external fiber switch embedded within power regulator 108; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) outside said fully closed metal box (i.e., such as fully closed metal box 104; for instance, the portable enclosures 102, 104 are protective cases adapted to withstand an impact, crash, or other like event. As an example, the portable enclosures 102, 104 may include a hardened plastic, metal, or rubber exterior, and a padded interior; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]); wherein power output (i.e., such as power output of block 126 via lines 124, 122, etc.; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) from said isolation transformer (i.e., such as isolation transformer embedded within power regulator 126; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) is arranged, directly or indirectly (i.e., such as block 126 is directly supplying block 120 via power lines; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]), to supply power (i.e., such as block 126 is directly supplying block 120 via power lines; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) to said internal fiber switch (i.e., such as internal fiber switch wireless network interface 120; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) and, at least one satellite antenna (i.e., such as satellite antenna 128; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) arranged outside said fully closed metal box (i.e., such as fully closed metal box 104; for instance, the portable enclosures 102, 104 are protective cases adapted to withstand an impact, crash, or other like event. As an example, the portable enclosures 102, 104 may include a hardened plastic, metal, or rubber exterior, and a padded interior; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]), and wherein a data cable (i.e., such as data cable 133; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) connects the internal fiber switch (i.e., such as internal fiber switch wireless network interface 120; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]) and at least one satellite antenna (i.e., such as satellite antenna 128; see for example fig. 1, para. [0067]- [0075]).
Neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna explicitly discloses an isolation transformer having at least 36 kV isolation and an operational frequency of at least 1 kHz.
Jovcic discloses a converter (i.e., see for example fig. 1, para. [0209]); wherein an isolation transformer (i.e., such as isolation transformer 12"; see for example fig. 1, para. [0209]) having at least 36 kV isolation (i.e., such as 36 kV isolation; for instance, Calculated Parameters Value Line-neutral AC voltage V.sub.11ac 1.8 kV Line-neutral AC voltage V.sub.12ac 1.8 kV Line-neutral AC voltage V.sub.2ac 36 kV Capacitance C 7.4 .mu.F Inductance L.sub.11 6.88 mH Inductance L.sub.12 6.88 mH Inductance L.sub.2 3.44 mH; see for example fig. 1, para. [0209]) and an operational frequency (i.e., such as operational frequency; for instance, Given Parameters Value Power P.sub.11ac 3 MW Power P.sub.12ac 3 MW Pole voltage V.sub.11 2 kV Pole voltage V.sub.12 2 kV Pole voltage V.sub.2 40 kV Switching frequency f.sub.s 1 kHz DC line resistance R.sub.dc 0.05.OMEGA. Filter capacitance C.sub.11 300 .mu.F Filter capacitance C.sub.12 300 .mu.F Filter capacitance C.sub.2 20 .mu.F Number of phases p2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0209]) of at least 1 kHz (i.e., such as operational frequency fs = 1 kHz; for instance, Given Parameters Value Power P.sub.11ac 3 MW Power P.sub.12ac 3 MW Pole voltage V.sub.11 2 kV Pole voltage V.sub.12 2 kV Pole voltage V.sub.2 40 kV Switching frequency f.sub.s 1 kHz DC line resistance R.sub.dc 0.05.OMEGA. Filter capacitance C.sub.11 300 .mu.F Filter capacitance C.sub.12 300 .mu.F Filter capacitance C.sub.2 20 .mu.F Number of phases p2; see for example fig. 1, para. [0209]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included transformer specs in Sleasman, as taught by Jovcic, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design as the high voltage rating ensures safety against significant potential differences and transients, while the high frequency allows for smaller, more efficient, and responsive power systems.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches further comprising, arranged in the fully closed metal box, a DC/AC converter with an input directly or indirectly connected to the power source outside said fully closed metal box, to receive DC power from said power source, and with an output connected to the isolation transformer; and an AC/DC converter with an input connected to the isolation transformer, and an output to, directly or indirectly, supply DC power to said internal fiber switch and said at least one satellite antenna.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 3, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches further comprising a satellite antenna power supply arranged within said fully closed metal box, the satellite antenna power supply having an input connected, directly or indirectly, to the isolation transformer, and an output connected to the satellite antenna.
Hence claim 3 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 4, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches wherein the data cable is an Ethernet cable, and wherein the internal fiber switch is arranged to provide Power over Ethernet over said Ethernet cable.
Hence claim 4 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 5, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches further comprising at least one lightning and/or surge protection unit arranged in the fully closed metal box and connected, directly or indirectly, to the isolation transformer.
Hence claim 5 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 6-8 depend on objected claim 5, consequently claims 6-8 will also be deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 9, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches wherein the isolation transformer has an operational frequency of at least 20 kHz.
Hence claim 9 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 10, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches wherein the isolation transformer has an operational frequency of at least at least 80 kHz.
Hence claim 10 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Regarding claim 11, Sleasman in view of Dell'Anna and further in view of Jovcic teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Sleasman nor Dell'Anna nor Jovcic particularly teaches a satellite communication system for electrically operated rail-bound vehicles comprising: a rail-bound vehicle; a high voltage protection unit; and at least one satellite antenna arranged on a roof of the rail-bound vehicle and connected to said high voltage protection unit.
Hence claim 11 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claims 12-18 depend on objected claim 11, consequently claims 12-18 will also be deemed allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838