DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for priority based on an application 17/168,301 (USPN 12218931) filed on 2/5/21.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner reviewed IDS document(s) received on 10/25/24, carefully considering the art cited within the document(s).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. No. 12/218,931. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they either recite a concomitance of the claim features, or they are their obvious modifications.
Specifically, the instant claims are the broader version of the patented claims. For example, compare the instant claims 1 and 7 with the patented claim 1, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically, the limitation
“… the conferencing service obtains the first facial feature information or the second facial feature information by a server of the conferencing service...”
is not understood. It is not clear whether it should be read as
the conferencing service obtains … 1) via a server of the conferencing service, 2) from a server of the conferencing service or, whether applicant consider some other interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hassan (USPUB 20200272716).
Hasan teaches authenticating a user in response to identifying the user from the authentication image and matching the image to a reference image of the user (see abstract).
As per claim 1, Hassan teaches receiving first facial feature information for a user from a first device, determining that the user can be authenticated using a second device that captures second facial feature information, wherein the second device is different from the first device and receiving the second facial feature information for the user from the second device (as seen in Fig. 1-2 and discussed in the related text, e.g., an image captured by the proximate device 106 is compared to an image captured by the collaboration device 102. Comparing the two images may include determining whether a threshold number of facial features match between the two images, para 11-14).
Given the fact that computing devices operate using numbers as well as Boolean algebra, authenticating the user by matching the authentication image to a reference image of the user meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of authenticating a user in response to identifying the user from the authentication image, determining a confidence score indicating a confidence level that the user has been authenticated correctly, wherein the confidence score is determined based on the first facial feature information and the second facial feature information; and authenticating the user based on the confidence score.
As per claim 3 the value of the first authentication try would meet the limitation of “a first confidence score” and clearly a skilled in the art would readily appreciate that there in some situations this value would not be sufficient, e.g., not match.
A per claims 8, 10, 17-18, computing steps are performed by computing devices using processors executing instructions stored on computing media.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Os (UPSUB 11765163).
Van Os teaches facial recognition authentication using different biometric sensors, where if the first captured data fail to recognize the user, the biometric data is captured by other biometric sensor (see col. 168 lines 1-19).
Given the fact that computing devices use numbers and Boolean algebra to evaluate results, the teaching addresses the limitations of receiving first facial feature information for a user from a first device, determining that the user can be authenticated using a second device that captures second facial feature information, wherein the second device is different from the first device and receiving the second facial feature information for the user from the second device; determining a confidence score indicating a confidence level that the user has been authenticated correctly, wherein the confidence score is determined based on the first facial feature information and the second facial feature information; and authenticating the user based on the confidence score.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Hassan (USPUB 20200272716) in view of Azar (USPUB 20140123275).
Hasan’s teaches the first/second device obtaining the first/second facial feature as discussed above. Furthermore, Hasan’s invention applies to video conference calls that includes meeting room devices (see para 1, 9, 24, 35, etc.).
Although Hasan’s teaches is directed towards the facial authentication, Hasan does not teach the authentication being during a conferencing service.
However, Azar teaches such solution (user continuously authenticated one the user has gained access, see para 29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include Azar’s invention given the benefit of increased security.
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Hassan (USPUB 20200272716) in view of Azar (USPUB 20140123275) and, further in view of Borzycki (USPUB 20140109210).
Hasan’s teaches obtaining the second feature information based on the user attending a meeting but fails to teach determining that the user is attending a meeting based on calendar information or presence tool information.
However, Borzycki teaches such solution (se Abstract, system may query the meeting organizer’s calendar for meeting information to notify and notify that the meeting has begun). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to include Borzycki’s teaching into Hassan as modified invention given the benefit of usability.
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Van Os (UPSUB 11765163) in view of Azar (USPUB 20140123275).
As discussed above, Van Os as modified teaches obtaining the second feature information based on the user attending a meeting but fails to teach determining that the user is attending a meeting based on calendar information or presence tool information.
However, Borzycki teaches such solution (se Abstract, system may query the meeting organizer’s calendar for meeting information to notify and notify that the meeting has begun). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to include Borzycki’s teaching into Van Os’ as modified invention given the benefit of usability.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 8-10, 13-14, 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 (a) as being unpatentable over Van Os (UPSUB 11765163) in view of Avrahami (JP6642191).
As per claims Van Os teaches facial recognition authentication using different biometric sensors, where if the first captured data fail to recognize the user, the biometric data is captured by other biometric sensor (see col. 168 lines 1-19).
Given the fact that computing devices use numbers and Boolean algebra to evaluate results, the teaching addresses the limitations of receiving first facial feature information for a user from a first device, determining that the user can be authenticated using a second device that captures second facial feature information, wherein the second device is different from the first device and receiving the second facial feature information for the user from the second device; determining a confidence score indicating a confidence level that the user has been authenticated correctly, wherein the confidence score is determined based on the first facial feature information and the second facial feature information; and authenticating the user based on the confidence score.
Van Os does not relate to the conferencing service and that the data being transmitted to the conferencing service. However, Avrahami suggests such solution (one or more users may join a video conference, where capture of facial data of the user is changed from one device to another in the event is detected, see pg. 5. The selection of the camera is based on a better view of the conference participant, e.g., the selection of camera is based on the best parameter evaluation such as brightness, contrast, clarity or a combination of these factors, pg. 5 and 11, for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to extend Van Os teaching into the Avrahami’s invention given the benefit of user authentication. Similarly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include Avrahami’s teaching into Van Os teaching given the benefit of increased quality.
In light of teaching Van Os/Avrahami’s of selection of camera for authentication based on the best parameter evaluation such as brightness, contrast, clarity or a combination of these factors, the limitation of claims 3, 6-7 (and similar claims), if not inherent, would have been at least implicit. Clearly there would have to be some value identifying the parameters in order to make such decision.
Conclusion
/PIOTR POLTORAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433