DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 25-28 recite an apparatus (a user equipment) without reciting corresponding structure of the apparatus in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-30, 33 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cirkic et al. (US 2019/0280748).
Regarding claim 25, Cirkic et al. disclose a user equipment (Paragraph 24, terminal) for a wireless communication network (Paragraph 24, wireless communication network), the wireless communication network comprising one or more base stations (Paragraph 24, network node may be a base station), one base station serving two or more user equipments (Paragraph 110, A network node of or for a wireless communication network may be a node adapted for wireless and/or radio communication, e.g. a radio network node. Such a node may generally be a base station, which may be adapted for radio communication with one or more terminals) using respective spatially precoded or beamformed transmit resources (Paragraph 4, network node beamforming transmissions using first and second antenna subarray; Paragraph 53-55, beamforming reference signal transmissions using ports)
wherein the user equipment receives from the base station using spatially precoded or beamformed first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals) and measures one or more of a phase offset between the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 53, feedback based beamforming, there is a need for the receiving node like a UE to measure phase differences between reference signals transmitted over at least two ports with different phase centers; Paragraph 54, to get a phase offset report between the reference signals so that the two sets (subarrays) of antenna elements can be combined) and an attenuation or power level on the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 103, measurements may comprise measurements related to amplitude [corresponds to attenuation or power level] and/or phase and/or frequency and/or duration and/or Signal-to-Noise (e.g., SINR, SIR and/or SNR)), and
wherein the user equipment receives, on the first and second transmit resources, predefined reference signals for measuring the phase offset and/or the attenuation or power level (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals; Paragraph 103).
Regarding claim 26, Cirkic et al. disclose wherein the user equipment signals to a network entity of the wireless communication network one or more of the following: the phase offset between the first and second transmit resources, the attenuation or power level on the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 53, feedback based beamforming, there is a need for the receiving node like a UE to measure phase differences between reference signals transmitted over at least two ports with different phase centers; Paragraph 54, to get a phase offset report between the reference signals so that the two sets (subarrays) of antenna elements can be combined; Paragraph 103, measurements may comprise measurements related to amplitude [corresponds to attenuation or power level] and/or phase and/or frequency and/or duration and/or Signal-to-Noise (e.g., SINR, SIR and/or SNR)).
Regarding claim 27, Cirkic et al. disclose wherein the user equipment receives from a network entity of the wireless communication network a configuration of the predefined reference signals for measuring the phase offset and/or the attenuation or power level (Paragraph 18, the network node may be adapted for, configuring a terminal for providing a measurement report based on the first signaling and the second signaling…configuration data representing the configuration to be configured. The configuration data may indicate how and/or when and/or based on which measurements to provide a measurement report; Paragraph 19, The configuration indicates that the reporting is to be performed on a first signaling comprising two reference signals, and a second signaling comprising two reference signals, wherein the first signaling and the second signaling have orthogonal polarizations).
Regarding claim 28, Cirkic et al. disclose wherein the user equipment signals the phase offset and/or the attenuation or power level to the network entity using Uplink Control Information (UCI) or Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (Paragraphs 53-54, feedback/reporting from terminal to network node is UCI).
Regarding claim 29, Cirkic et al. disclose a wireless communication network (Paragraph 24, wireless communication network), comprising:
at least one base station (Paragraph 24, network node may be a base station), and
one or more user equipments (Paragraph 24, terminal) wherein
the user equipment receives from the base station using spatially precoded or beamformed first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals) and measures a phase offset between the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 53, feedback based beamforming, there is a need for the receiving node like a UE to measure phase differences between reference signals transmitted over at least two ports with different phase centers; Paragraph 54, to get a phase offset report between the reference signals so that the two sets (subarrays) of antenna elements can be combined) and an attenuation or power level on the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 103, measurements may comprise measurements related to amplitude [corresponds to attenuation or power level] and/or phase and/or frequency and/or duration and/or Signal-to-Noise (e.g., SINR, SIR and/or SNR)), and
the user equipment receives, on the first and second transmit resources, predefined reference signals for measuring the phase offset and the attenuation or power level (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals; Paragraph 103, measurements of the signaling, in particular reference signals associated to the channel and/or port. Such measurements may comprise measurements related to amplitude and/or phase and/or frequency and/or duration and/or Signal-to-Noise (e.g., SINR, SIR and/or SNR). Different subarrays of an antenna array may differ in at least one antenna element).
Regarding claim 30, Cirkic et al. disclose wherein the at least one base station comprises one or more of a macro cell base station and a small cell base station (Paragraph 24, a network node may be a base station, eNodeB, macro node, micro node, relay node, etc.); and the user equipments comprise one or more of mobile terminals, loT devices, physical devices, ground based vehicles, aerial vehicles, drones, buildings and other items provided with network connectivity (Paragraph 24, A terminal may be implemented as a user equipment (UE), or Machine-Type-Communication (MTC) device. It may be considered that a terminal is mobile, however, stationary terminals may be envisioned. A terminal may in particular be a smartphone, mobile phone, tablet, laptop, desktop computer, sensor arrangement or a machine adapted e.g. for MTC.).
Regarding claim 33, Cirkic et al. disclose a method for operating a user equipment (Paragraph 24, terminal) for a wireless communication network (Paragraph 24, wireless communication network), the wireless communication network comprising one or more base stations (Paragraph 24, network node may be a base station), the method comprising:
serving, by a base station, the user equipment (Paragraph 110, A network node of or for a wireless communication network may be a node adapted for wireless and/or radio communication, e.g. a radio network node. Such a node may generally be a base station, which may be adapted for radio communication with one or more terminals) using spatially precoded or beamformed transmit resources (Paragraph 4, network node beamforming transmissions using first and second antenna subarray; Paragraph 53-55, beamforming reference signal transmissions using ports)
receiving, by the user equipment, from the base station using spatially precoded or beamformed first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals) and measuring a phase offset between the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 53, feedback based beamforming, there is a need for the receiving node like a UE to measure phase differences between reference signals transmitted over at least two ports with different phase centers; Paragraph 54, to get a phase offset report between the reference signals so that the two sets (subarrays) of antenna elements can be combined) and an attenuation or power level on the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 103, measurements may comprise measurements related to amplitude [corresponds to attenuation or power level] and/or phase and/or frequency and/or duration and/or Signal-to-Noise (e.g., SINR, SIR and/or SNR)), and
wherein the user equipment receives, on the first and second transmit resources, predefined reference signals for measuring the phase offset and/or the attenuation or power level (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals; Paragraph 103).
Regarding claim 35, Cirkic et al. disclose a non-transitory digital storage medium having stored thereon a computer program for performing, when said computer program is run by a computer (Paragraph 119, the concepts and aspects presented herein may also be embodied in a program product as well as in a system comprising control circuitry, e.g. a computer processor and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory is encoded with one or more programs or program products that execute the services, functions and steps disclosed herein), a method for operating a user equipment (Paragraph 24, terminal) for a wireless communication network (Paragraph 24, wireless communication network), the wireless communication network comprising one or more base stations (Paragraph 24, network node may be a base station), the method comprising:
serving, by a base station, the user equipment (Paragraph 110, A network node of or for a wireless communication network may be a node adapted for wireless and/or radio communication, e.g. a radio network node. Such a node may generally be a base station, which may be adapted for radio communication with one or more terminals) using spatially precoded or beamformed transmit resources (Paragraph 4, network node beamforming transmissions using first and second antenna subarray; Paragraph 53-55, beamforming reference signal transmissions using ports)
receiving, by the user equipment, from the base station using spatially precoded or beamformed first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals) and measuring a phase offset between the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 53, feedback based beamforming, there is a need for the receiving node like a UE to measure phase differences between reference signals transmitted over at least two ports with different phase centers; Paragraph 54, to get a phase offset report between the reference signals so that the two sets (subarrays) of antenna elements can be combined) and an attenuation or power level on the first and second transmit resources (Paragraph 103, measurements may comprise measurements related to amplitude [corresponds to attenuation or power level] and/or phase and/or frequency and/or duration and/or Signal-to-Noise (e.g., SINR, SIR and/or SNR)), and
wherein the user equipment receives, on the first and second transmit resources, predefined reference signals for measuring the phase offset and/or the attenuation or power level (Paragraph 47, UE/terminal receiving reference signals; Paragraphs 53-54, reference signals transmitted to UE/terminal over antenna elements in order to get a phase offset report between the reference signals; Paragraph 103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirkic et al. as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2015/0304868).
Regarding claim 31, Cirkic et al. disclose the claimed invention above but do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Yu et al.: using an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform, IFFT, based signal, wherein the IFFT based signal comprises Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing, OFDM, with cyclic prefix, CP (Yu et al., Paragraph 86, Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) method, when transmitting data, the baseband unit 220 generates the complex symbols by encoding and modulating the transmission bit strings, maps the complex symbols onto sub carriers, and configures OFDM symbols by performing an Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) operation and inserting a cyclic prefix (CP); Paragraph 241, serving base station beamforming reference signals using different transmission beams), Discrete Fourier Transform-Spread-Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing,DFT-s-OFDM, with CP, IFFT-based waveforms without CP, filtered OFDM,f- OFDM, filter-bank based multi-carrier, FBMC, Generalized Frequency Division Multiplexing, GFDM, or Universal Filter Multi Carrier, UFMC.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cirkic et al. with the cited disclosure from Yu et al. in order to implement a beamforming technique that overcome path loss (Yu et al., Paragraph 10).
Conclusion
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
September 3, 2026