DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the abbreviation “APC” without its expanded text. The claims should be rewritten in claim 1 line 1 in such manner so as to recite “An automatic swimming pool cleaner (APC)” in order to introduce the abbreviation along with its corresponding expanded text. Note the order of abbreviation with respect to its corresponding expanded text. Additionally, it is the abbreviation that which should be enclosed by parentheses. In his specification paragraph [0002], the Applicant abbreviated the automatic swimming pool cleaner as APC. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the supply" in lines 4 and 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the plurality of components" in lines 5 and 6-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 18-20 are rejected as stated above because due to their dependency from claim 17. Claims 18-20 are also indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1:
Claim 1 is directed to idea of itself (abstract idea) without significantly more for the following reason(s):
Step 1: Claim 1 recites series of steps for collecting and controlling the charging of the battery based on a charge level of the battery. Thus, the claim is directed to an automatic swimming pool cleaner, which is one of the statutory categories of the invention.
Step 2A prong 1, the claimed collecting charge level of the battery and controlling the charging of the battery based on a charge level of the battery, are directed to abstract idea for the reason that these steps are processes found by the courts to be abstract ideas in that related to a mental process grouping “collecting informations, analyzing it by controlling the results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016); That is, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. The claim recites the step of collecting charge level of the battery and controlling the charging of the battery based on a charge level of the battery, which is an act of evaluating information that can be practically performed in the human mind. Thus, this step is an abstract idea in the “mental process” grouping. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2, The Judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Treating claim 1 as a whole, the claim limitations do not show inventive concept in applying the judicial exception (e.g., The collection, and analysis of data may be accurately identified without relying on an automatic swimming pool cleaner, which improves the accuracy of collecting data and adjusting based on the collected data. From the claim scope, the claim fails to address this improvement because merely acquiring the features of collecting the charge level of the battery; controlling the charging of the battery based on the collected data is not enough to tie the claim towards the technical improvement. Thus, claim 1 as a whole is not significantly more than the abstract idea itself and is ineligible.
Step 2B, The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim recites the step of collecting, analyzing and controlling information/features, which is an act of collecting informations, analyzing it by the results of the collection and analysis, that can be practically performed in the human mind. Thus, this step is an abstract idea in the “mental process” grouping. Courts have held computer‐implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, and merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking) component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlich et al. (US10294686B1) hereafter Erlich, in view of Cadotte, JR. (US2006/0102532A1) hereafter Cadotte.
Regarding claim 1, Erlich discloses automatic swimming pool cleaner (col 4 ln 65-67; col 5 ln 1-2: The present apparatus can be used for automatically cleaning the bottom surface of any water pool contained in an open vessel defined by a wall having bottom and side portions such as fountains, above ground swimming pools, in-ground swimming pools technically equivalent to an automatic swimming pool) comprising an on-board battery (fig 20:116; col 11 ln 47-60: FIG. 20, control box 114 includes power source 116 which may include at least one rechargeable battery for supplying power to the pumps 34, 36 and 38 as well as the PC board 118 which includes the main controller, a plurality of sensors and other electronic circuits as will be hereinafter further explained for controlling the operation of the pumps 34, 36 and 38. The rechargeable battery 116 may be a NiMH (nickel-metal hydride), lead acid, NiCad, lithium ion or other known or yet to be discovered rechargeable battery or other rechargeable power source and is housed within a battery enclosure 120 which is sealed with a battery gasket 122 and separating plates 136.).
Erlich does not explicitly disclose a charging control system for controlling at least one of charging of the on-board battery or activities of the APC based on a charge level of the on-board battery.
Cadotte discloses a swimming pool cleaner comprising an on-board battery (fig 4:70; par[0031]: The batteries 70 in this manual and automatic embodiment of the water surface cleaning machine are of the rechargeable type.) and a charging control system for controlling at least one of charging of the on-board battery or activities of the APC based on a charge level of the on-board battery (par[0044&0047]: The microcontroller 50 manages the power consumption and battery charge in the water surface cleaning machine, when the water surface cleaning machine operates in the automatic mode. The microcontroller 50 has been programmed to monitor the rechargeable batteries' 70 charge, the solar cell's 75 output and the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption. The microcontroller 50 manages the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption based on the rechargeable battery's charge and the solar cell's 75 output).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of both the Erlich and the Cadotte references since both pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the controlling feature as disclosed by Cadotte to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of actively monitoring the batteries' charge, and preventing the batteries from overcharging or from becoming fully discharged.
Regarding claim 2, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the charging control system is configured to control charging of the on-board battery by stopping charging of the on-board battery at a predetermined charge level (Cadotte par[0044]: Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate technically equivalent that when the battery reaches to a full charge, there is a stopping of charging the battery at that full charge. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge.).
Regarding claim 3, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the charging control system is configured to control charging of the on-board battery by controlling a charging speed by controlling a current of charge (Cadotte par[0034]: A PWM signal controls the speed of a motor by controlling the amount of energy applied to the motor. Increasing the amount of energy will increase a motor's speed or torque. The motor is controlled by the average energy content of the signal and not the envelope of the signal.).
Regarding claim 6, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the charging control system is configured to schedule charging of the on-board battery based on usage of the APC (Cadotte par[0044]: Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge. The on period of the pulse width modulation signal that controls the DC motors 30, 31 is decreased. This on period is decreased linearly with decreasing battery 70 charge. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to approximately 25% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 reduces the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption further by powering the DC motors 30, 31 intermittently. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode).
Regarding claim 7, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to control at least one of: a motor speed of a motor of the APC based on the charge level of the on-board battery (Cadotte par[0043]: D cell rechargeable NiMh batteries have 9000 ma-hrs of capacity. This capacity is sufficient to power the DC motors 30, 31 continuously for one to two days depending on the speed and torque of the DC motors 30, 31. Various sized DC motors 30, 31 can be used depending on the size and weight of the water surface cleaning machine ); a cleaning cycle of the APC based on the charge level of the on-board battery (Cadotte par[0044]: Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge. The on period of the pulse width modulation signal that controls the DC motors 30, 31 is decreased. This on period is decreased linearly with decreasing battery 70 charge. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to approximately 25% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 reduces the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption further by powering the DC motors 30, 31 intermittently. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode).
Regarding claim 8, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the control system is configured to control a cleaning cycle of the APC based on the charge level of the on-board battery (Cadotte par[0044]: Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge. The on period of the pulse width modulation signal that controls the DC motors 30, 31 is decreased. This on period is decreased linearly with decreasing battery 70 charge. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to approximately 25% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 reduces the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption further by powering the DC motors 30, 31 intermittently. For example the water surface cleaning machine will travel normally for two minutes and then remain motionless for two minutes. Zero voltage is applied to the DC motors 30, 31 during the two minutes the water surface cleaning machine remains motionless. This on-off time ratio will decrease continuously, if the batteries' 70 charge drops further. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode. In this mode, zero power is supplied to the DC motors 30, 31 to conserve the batteries' 70 remaining energy, since at this charge level there is only stored charge sufficient for minimal water surface cleaning machine travel time).
Regarding claim 9, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 8, wherein the control system is configured to control the cleaning cycle by controlling a cycle time based on the charge level of the on-board battery (Cadotte par[0044]: the water surface cleaning machine will travel normally for two minutes and then remain motionless for two minutes. Zero voltage is applied to the DC motors 30, 31 during the two minutes the water surface cleaning machine remains motionless. This on-off time ratio will decrease continuously, if the batteries' 70 charge drops further. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode. In this mode, zero power is supplied to the DC motors 30, 31 to conserve the batteries' 70 remaining energy, since at this charge level there is only stored charge sufficient for minimal water surface cleaning machine travel time.).
Regarding claim 10, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 8, wherein the control system is configured to control the cleaning cycle by controlling a cycle pattern based on the charge level of the on-board battery (Cadotte par[0044]: Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge. The on period of the pulse width modulation signal that controls the DC motors 30, 31 is decreased. This on period is decreased linearly with decreasing battery 70 charge. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to approximately 25% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 reduces the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption further by powering the DC motors 30, 31 intermittently. For example the water surface cleaning machine will travel normally for two minutes and then remain motionless for two minutes. Zero voltage is applied to the DC motors 30, 31 during the two minutes the water surface cleaning machine remains motionless. This on-off time ratio will decrease continuously, if the batteries' 70 charge drops further. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode. In this mode, zero power is supplied to the DC motors 30, 31 to conserve the batteries' 70 remaining energy, since at this charge level there is only stored charge sufficient for minimal water surface cleaning machine travel time).
Regarding claim 11, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 8, wherein the control system is configured to control the cleaning cycle by controlling a stopping of the cleaning cycle based on the charge level of the on-board battery (Cadotte par[0044]: Zero voltage is applied to the DC motors 30, 31 during the two minutes the water surface cleaning machine remains motionless technically equivalent to the stopping of the cleaning cycle. This on-off time ratio will decrease continuously, if the batteries' 70 charge drops further.).
Regarding claim 17, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the on-board battery is configured to switch between operational modes (Cadotte par[0044]: The microcontroller 50 manages the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption based on the rechargeable battery's charge and the solar cell's 75 output. Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to approximately 25% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 reduces the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption further by powering the DC motors 30, 31 intermittently. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode.), the operational modes comprising: a normal operational mode (Cadotte par[0044]: The microcontroller 50 manages the water surface cleaning machine's power consumption based on the rechargeable battery's charge and the solar cell's 75 output. Under full charge, the water surface cleaning machine travels around the pool of water continuously at a nominal rate. If the charge on the rechargeable batteries 70 drop to approximately 50% of its full capacity the water surface cleaning machine goes into an energy conservation mode. In this mode, the water surface cleaning machine is made to travel more slowly to conserve the batteries' 70 charge); an off operational mode interrupting the supply of electricity from the on-board battery to the plurality of components of the automatic swimming pool cleaner (Cadotte par[0044]: Zero voltage is applied to the DC motors 30, 31 during the two minutes the water surface cleaning machine remains motionless. This on-off time ratio will decrease continuously, if the batteries' 70 charge drops further. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode. In this mode, zero power is supplied to the DC motors 30, 31 to conserve the batteries' 70 remaining energy, since at this charge level there is only stored charge sufficient for minimal water surface cleaning machine travel time.); and an idle mode allowing the supply of electricity to at a first component of the plurality of components and interrupting the supply of electricity to at least a second component of the plurality of components (Cadotte par[0044]: Zero voltage is applied to the DC motors 30, 31 during the two minutes the water surface cleaning machine remains motionless. This on-off time ratio will decrease continuously, if the batteries' 70 charge drops further. If the batteries' 70 charge drops to 10% of full capacity, the microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into a standby mode. In this mode, zero power is supplied to the DC motors 30, 31 to conserve the batteries' 70 remaining energy, since at this charge level there is only stored charge sufficient for minimal water surface cleaning machine travel time. The water surface cleaning machine remains in this mode until the rechargeable batteries 70 have been sufficiently recharged by the solar cell 75 or until the water surface cleaning machine is commanded by the remote transmitter 105 to a different location. The microcontroller 50 puts the water surface cleaning machine into the standby mode, while there is enough charge left in the rechargeable batteries 70 that the radio control transmitter 105 can command the water surface cleaning machine to travel to a desired location.).
2. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlich in view of Cadotte, and further in view of Toki et al. (US2024/0039322A1) hereafter Toki.
Regarding claim 4, Erlich in view of Cadotte does not explicitly disclose the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein the charging control system is configured to control charging of the on-board battery by discharging the on-board battery or stop charging of the on-board battery based on a temperature of the on-board battery.
Toki discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein the charging control system is configured to control charging of the on-board battery by discharging the on-board battery or stop charging of the on-board battery based on a temperature of the on-board battery (fig 4:S213; par[0072]: In step S213, the VCM 10 sets 0 as the charging current value of the high-voltage battery 110. In this case, the charging to the high-voltage battery 110 is stopped. That is, the supply of electric power is prohibited when the temperature is equal to or higher than the predetermined temperature BT13. When the battery temperature is lowered, the charging can be restarted.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Erlich, Cadotte and Toki references since all pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the discharging feature as disclosed by Toki to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of continuously executing the charging to set an appropriate charging current value in consideration of the amount of heat generation, and to limit an increase in a temperature of the battery during charging.
3. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlich in view of Cadotte, and further in view of Imai et al. (US2022/0090356A1) hereafter Imai.
Regarding claim 5, Erlich in view of Cadotte does not explicitly disclose the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein the charging control system is configured to control charging of the on-board battery by discharging the on-board battery to a charge level less than a full charge level based on the on-board battery being at the full charge level and the APC being connected to a charger for a predetermined time.
Imai discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein the charging control system is configured to control charging of the on-board battery by discharging the on-board battery to a charge level less than a full charge level based on the on-board battery being at the full charge level (par[0032]: The power distribution unit 40 distributes electric power of the drive battery 31 based on a command output from the controller 60. The power distribution unit 40 includes a standard charger 41 and a DC/DC converter 42. At the time of charging, the power distribution unit 40 supplies the charging electric power from the standard charger 41 or a quick charger 111 to the drive battery 31. When the drive battery 31 is discharged by the power distribution unit 40 during operation, electric power is supplied to the electric motor 32 via the inverter 33.) and the APC being connected to a charger for a predetermined time (par[0038]: When the power distribution unit 40 has detected an operation signal indicating the start of quick charging from the quick charger 111 in a state where the quick charging cable 113 and the quick charging inlet (not illustrated) of the excavator 1 are connected to each other, the power distribution unit 40 starts quick charging of the drive battery 31. The quick charging by the quick charger 111 is performed according to a command from the controller 60. The controller 60 stops the quick charging of the drive battery 31 when the operation signal indicating the end of the quick charging is acquired from the quick charger 111, when a predetermined charging time is completed, or when an abnormality is detected during the charging.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Erlich, Cadotte and Imai references since all pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the discharging feature as disclosed by Imai to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of continuously executing the charging to set an appropriate charging current value in consideration of the amount of heat generation, and to limit an increase in a temperature of the battery during charging.
4. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlich in view of Cadotte, and further in view of Takai et al. (US2004/0165105A1) hereafter Takai.
Regarding claim 12, Erlich in view of Cadotte does not explicitly disclose the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein, based on a cleaning cycle request from a user, the control system is configured to: decline a cleaning cycle request from a user based on the charge level of the on-board battery; or propose a type of cleaning cycle based on the charge level of the on-board battery.
Takai discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein, based on a cleaning cycle request from a user, the control system is configured to: decline a cleaning cycle request from a user based on the charge level of the on-board battery (par[0044]: when the power (battery) voltage declines to a level that cannot continue the cleaning operation, the cleaning mode is forcefully terminated to prevent the rear curtain of the shutter from traveling despite user's intention technically equivalent to user’s request and damaging the shutter curtain.); or propose a type of cleaning cycle based on the charge level of the on-board battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Erlich, Cadotte and Takai references since all pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the declining feature as disclosed by Takai to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of helping slow battery degradation, avoiding frequent deep discharges and keeping the battery within a moderate charge range (roughly 20%–80%) whenever possible.
5. Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlich in view of Cadotte, and further in view of Schloss et al. (US2018/0135325A1) hereafter Schloss.
Regarding claim 13, Erlich in view of Cadotte discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 1, wherein the automatic swimming pool cleaner further comprises a body (Cadotte fig 2:1; par[0024]: The water surface cleaning machine contains a housing 1 that is propelled across a surface of water “The housing 1 technically equivalent to a body”), an antenna enabling a first type of non-wired communication between the automatic swimming pool cleaner (Cadotte fig 4:101, 106; par[0031]: The receiver receives control data from a radio control transmitter 105 located remotely. The radio control link between the Futaba 3PK TI Black 75 three channel remote transmitter 105 and the receiver 100 allows the user to remotely steer the water surface cleaning machine towards floating debris for extremely quick and efficient water surface cleaning. The receiver 100 and transmitter 105 are connected to monopole or whip type of antennae 101, 106 respectively that transfers the electromagnetic signals between their respective electronic circuitry. The BRUMS5110 radio control antenna by Bru-Line Industries, Center Line, Mich. is a whip type antenna that can be used as a receive or transmit antennae 101, 106, though the Futaba 3PK TI Black 75 three channel remote transmitter 105 is already equipped with an antenna), and a sensor enabling a second type of non-wired communication with the automatic swimming pool cleaner different from the first type of non-wired communication (Cadotte fig 7:460&470; par[0057]: If the water surface cleaning machine showed motion 460 and none of the pressure sensors 131, 132 were pressed, the software checks for a remote transmitted signal 470. If there is a remote signal the software jumps to the manual subroutine 710. Technically, the step 470 shows that the pressure sensors generate remote signals herein non-wired communication).
Erlich in view of Cadotte does not explicitly disclose the automatic swimming pool cleaner comprising an antenna enabling a first type of non-wired communication between the automatic swimming pool cleaner with a device external to a swimming pool.
Schloss discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner comprising an antenna enabling a first type of non-wired communication between the automatic swimming pool cleaner with a device external to a swimming pool (par[0131], [0138]: the robotic pool cleaner may communicate wirelessly via an antenna located on a part of the pool cleaner (e.g., the housing, handle, etc.) which extends beyond the surface of the pool, for example, when the robotic pool cleaner climbs a vertical surface of the pool to the waterline. In some embodiments of the present invention, such system and method may be enable a robotic pool cleaner to transmit to an external computing device coordinates or location information in a swimming pool, such as for example location information on the location of that cleaner or other such cleaner or cleaners, or location of obstacles).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Erlich, Cadotte and Schloss references since all pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the external feature as disclosed by Schloss to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of providing an external portable communication device, to obtain one or more characteristics of a surface of the pool; to display a graphical representation of the pool on a display of the portable communication device; to receive a user input from a user via an input interface of the portable communication device; to translate the user input into a command; and to transmit the command to a controller of the robotic pool cleaner, for execution by the robotic pool cleaner.
Regarding claim 14, Erlich in view of Cadotte and Schloss discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 13, wherein the antenna is on, in, or attached to the body, and wherein the first type of non-wired communication comprises a wireless communication protocol (Schloss par[0131]: the robotic pool cleaner may communicate wirelessly via an antenna located on a part of the pool cleaner (e.g., the housing, handle, etc.) which extends beyond the surface of the pool, for example, when the robotic pool cleaner climbs a vertical surface of the pool to the waterline).
Regarding claim 15, Erlich in view of Cadotte and Schloss discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 13, wherein the sensor is configured to detect at least one of external contact with the automatic swimming pool cleaner, movement of the automatic swimming pool cleaner, or an orientation of the automatic swimming pool cleaner (Cadotte par[0040]: a change in state of a pressure sensor 131 located on the exterior of the housing 1 will alert the water surface cleaning machine that it has come into contact with an obstacle and the direction of travel of the water surface cleaning machine should be changed. The microcontroller 50 is programmed to know the location of each individual switch, allowing the water surface cleaning machine to travel away from any obstruction that comes into contact with the water surface cleaning machine. If the sensor shows no forward motion with the propulsion system in the on state, the probability is high that an obstruction is preventing the water surface cleaning machine's motion. When this condition occurs, the microcontroller 50 sends the proper signals to the H bridge 60 to rotate the water surface cleaning machine or to have it travel backwards.).
Regarding claim 16, Erlich in view of Cadotte and Schloss discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 13, wherein the automatic swimming pool cleaner is configured to communicate wirelessly with the device external to the swimming pool while the automatic swimming pool cleaner is operating at or near a waterline of the swimming pool (Schloss par[0146]: When the pool cleaner is operating in a shallow part of the pool, or is oriented vertically, at or near the pool waterline, the pool cleaner may obtain via GPS (e.g., via an antenna, when the pool cleaner is surfaced) data relating to its own position and may calculate its own position relative to that of the smartphone, and hence its position relative to the position of the operator. When submerged, the pool cleaner may also calculate its current position by measuring the direction (e.g., by a gyroscope or magnetic compass) and distance (as a function of robot speed and time traveled) of travel from the last position fixed (e.g., by GPS). The current location of the pool cleaner, either when surfaced (by determining its exact location) or when submerged (calculated) may be presented on the graphical representation of the pool as displayed on the smartphone screen).
6. Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erlich in view of Cadotte, and further in view of Trusty et al. (US2017/0288451A1) hereafter Trusty.
Regarding claim 18, Erlich in view of Cadotte does not explicitly disclose the automatic swimming pool cleaner further comprising a sensor, wherein the on-board battery is configured to switch between operational modes based on information from the sensor.
Trusty discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner further comprising a sensor, wherein the on-board battery is configured to switch between operational modes based on information from the sensor (Trusty par[0335]: The apparatus comprises: a battery configured to power a load; a switching device connected to the battery, the switching device having a first state in which the battery is enabled to power the load through the switching device, and a second state in which the battery is prevented from powering the load; a moisture sensor configured to sense moisture data associated with moisture in the apparatus; and a control device connected to the switching device and to the moisture sensor, the control device being configured to switch the switching device between the first state and the second state based on the moisture data.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Erlich, Cadotte and Trusty references since all pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the switching feature as disclosed by Trusty to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of being configured to switch the switching device between the first state and the second state based on the sensor data by providing a first state in which the battery is enabled to power the load through the switching device, and a second state in which the battery is prevented from powering the load.
Regarding claim 19, Erlich in view of Cadotte and Trusty discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner of claim 18, wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a physical button, a temperature sensor, a gyroscope, a compass, a pressure sensor, an accelerometer, or a charge detection sensor (Cadotte par[0040]: The microcontroller 50 monitors the motion of the water surface cleaning machine in the automated mode. The microcontroller 50 monitors the outputs from all the sensors and switches located in the water surface cleaning machine including pressure sensors 131, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136 shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2. The pressure sensors 131, 132 are included as elements in voltage divider 130 shown in FIG. 5 and are used to notify the microcontroller 50 that the surface cleaning machining has contacted an object).
7. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadotte in view of Schloss and Trusty, and further in view of Chandra et al. (US2017/0162899A1) hereafter Chandra.
Regarding claim 20, Cadotte in view of Schloss and Trusty does not explicitly disclose the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein the automatic swimming pool cleaner is configured to receive an operation schedule from a user, and wherein the on-board battery is configured to switch between operational modes based on the operation schedule.
Chandra discloses the automatic swimming pool cleaner wherein the automatic swimming pool cleaner is configured to receive an operation schedule from a user (par[0058]: The power manager 112 implements a switching policy established based on power management considerations to control the shared electrode battery 118. The switching policy may additionally or alternatively be established by analyzing factors including information regarding a user's future scheduled usage (e.g., according to the user's calendar) of the battery-powered device 102, a user's past usage of a battery-powered device (e.g., battery-powered device 102) to predict future workload patterns for the battery-powered device 102), and wherein the on-board battery is configured to switch between operational modes based on the operation schedule (par[0058]: The power manager 112 implements a switching policy established based on power management considerations to control the shared electrode battery 118. The switching policy may additionally or alternatively be established by analyzing factors including information regarding a user's future scheduled usage (e.g., according to the user's calendar) of the battery-powered device 102, a user's past usage of a battery-powered device (e.g., battery-powered device 102) to predict future workload patterns for the battery-powered device 102, temperatures or environments the shared electrode battery is expected to be in the future (e.g., according to the user's calendar, according to a navigation system of the battery-powered device 102), and so forth. The power manager 112 may be configured to apply the switching policy to select a particular cathode-anode pairing of the shared electrode battery 118 to activate based on the assessment of system-wide performance metrics, conditions, and/or data regarding the battery-powered device 102, which is also referred to herein as analyzing an operational context for the battery-powered device 102.).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be aware of the Erlich, Cadotte, Trusty and Chandra references since all pertain to the field of pool cleaner systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improved the APC of Erlich with the user’s switching feature as disclosed by Chandra to achieve predictable results and gain the functionality of being configured to switch the switching device between the first state and the second state based on the sensor data by providing a first state in which the battery is enabled to power the load through the switching device, and a second state in which the battery is prevented from powering the load.
Conclusion
US11699146B2 to Belleville discloses a system for updating a digital wallet installation is disclosed. Event information is received. The received event information is evaluated against a set of rules. A digital wallet asset logical instance to be updated is identified based at least in part on the evaluation. The identified instance is updated. An installation of a digital wallet asset associated with the identified instance is identified. An update instruction is provided to a device associated with the installation.
US2019/0338546A1 to Witelson discloses a method for charging and an underwater station that may include a platform and a first contactless charging element for charging a pool cleaning robot mounted on the platform; wherein when the underwater station is positioned in a pool the first contactless charging element is spaced apart from the bottom and sidewalls of the pool.
/AMINE BENLAGSIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688