DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, 16-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEATTS et al (US 2022/0286917) in view of PANG et al (US 2019/0281011) further in view of KUPST et al (US 2004/0064559)
Regarding claim 1, 9, 16 A distribution point unit (DPU) associated with a fixed wireless access (FWA) deployment (YEATTS: Fig. 3, ¶54, switch together with the FWA (interpreted as claimed DPU) is associated with a FWA 310), comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors to:
identify a plurality of ports of the DPU and a plurality of access point devices (YEATS: ¶51-52, ¶54, the switch is coupled with plurality of AP units via an interface/port)
YEATTS remains silent regarding
identifying configuration information that indicates respective correspondences between a plurality of ports of the DPU and address identifiers of a plurality of access point devices;
obtaining respective Internet protocol (IP) addresses associated with the plurality of access point devices; and
transmitting, via respective connections between the plurality of ports of the DPU and the plurality of access point devices, the respective IP addresses to the plurality of access point devices.
However, PANG et al (US 2019/0281011) discloses obtaining, based on the configuration information, respective Internet protocol (IP) addresses associated with the plurality of access point devices (PANG: ¶16, the switch determines and assigns/allocates to the APs, respective IP addresses); and transmitting, via respective connections between the plurality of ports of the DPU and the plurality of access point devices, the respective IP addresses to the plurality of access point devices (PANG: ¶16, the switch assigns/allocates to the APs, respective IP addresses and since APs use them, the addresses are provided to them by the switch).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YEATTS would have been motivated to use the teachings of PANG as it provides IP address collision avoidance by dynamically allocating addresses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of YEATTS with teachings of PANG in order to improve dynamically allocating addresses to minimize conflict of IP address (¶2).
YEATTS modified by PANG remains silent regarding identifying configuration information that indicates respective correspondences between a plurality of ports of the DPU and address identifiers of a plurality of access point devices;
and obtaining is based on the configuration information.
However, KUPST et al (US 2004/0064559) discloses regarding identifying configuration information that indicates respective correspondences between a plurality of ports of the DPU and address identifiers of a plurality of access point devices (KUPST: Fig. 5, ¶41-48, ¶26, ¶38, ¶50-51, MAC address and port information and the corresponding port number and other connection information is received by the switch+server);
and obtaining is based on the configuration information (KUPST: ¶50-51, ¶48, ¶45, based on the port and MAC address information and other connection information obtained at the switch+server, the IP addresses are obtained).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YEATTS modified by PANG would have been motivated to use the teachings of KUPST as it uses device specific information to assign network protocol address thereby further minimizing the collision of address and interference (¶10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of YEATTS modified by PANG with teachings of KUPST in order to improve reliability of network management and diagnostics.
Regarding claim 2, 10, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST discloses the DPU of claim 1/9, wherein the one or more processors are further to: obtain, from a client device associated with the FWA deployment, the configuration information (KUPST: Fig. 5, ¶48, ¶55, the client sends information including the MAC information and corresponding port number).
Regarding claim 3, 11, 17, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST discloses DPU of claim 1/9, wherein the one or more processors are further to:
determine that the plurality of ports of the DPU are connected to the plurality of access point devices (PANG: ¶15, the connectivity is determined based on the heart-beat messages; KUPST: ¶48, discovery packets are received by the switch/server); and
perform, prior to obtaining the respective IP addresses, a verification operation to determine that the plurality of access point devices are connected to the plurality of ports in accordance with the configuration information (KUPST: ¶48-49, discovery packets are received by the switch/server and connection is verified). That indicates respective correspondences between the plurality of ports of the DPU and address identifiers of the plurality of access point devices (PANG: ¶16, the switch determines and assigns/allocates to the APs, respective IP addresses)
Regarding claim 4, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST discloses DPU of claim 1/9, wherein each access point device, of the plurality of access point devices, is associated with a dwelling of a multi-dwelling unit (YEATTS: Fig. 2. ¶32, multi dwelling unit each having at least one AP).
Regarding claim 5, 12, 18, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST discloses DPU of claim 1/9, wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the respective IP addresses, are to:
transmit, to one or more devices associated with a core network, a first dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP) message that includes information that indicates a particular port of the plurality of ports of the DPU; and receive, based on transmitting the first DHCP message, from the one or more devices associated with the core network, a second DHCP message that includes a particular IP address of the respective IP addresses, wherein the particular IP address is to be provided to a particular access point device, of the plurality of access point devices, that has an address identifier that corresponds to the particular port of the DPU, as indicated by the configuration information (KUPST: Fig. 3, ¶44-48, the switch transmits message to the DHCP server (a core network element) a DHCP message indicating port information and receives form the DHCP server, a DHCP message which is forwarded to the device; this message has the IP address that corresponds to the port of the switch).
Claim(s) 6-8, 13-15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST as applied to claim 1/9 above, further in view of PAZHYANNUR et al (US 2014/0056290).
Regarding claim 6, 13, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST discloses DPU of claim 1/9 wherein the DPU is connected to at least a first FWA gateway associated with a first core network (YEATTS: Fig. 3, ¶37, ¶31, core network connected to the FWA and the switch is connected to the FWA).
YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST remains silent regarding the DPU being connected to a second FWA gateway associated with a second core network.
However, PAZHYANNUR et al (US 2014/0056290) discloses the DPU being connected to a second FWA gateway associated with a second core network (PAZHYANNUR: ¶32, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, the switch (controller) is connected to two core networks each with respective computing devices (FWAs) connecting the controller to the two core networks). A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST would have been motivated to use the teachings of PAZHYANNUR as it provides a way to expand connectivity over different operator networks thereby improving reliability of the connection at the WLAN for the users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST with teachings of PAZHYANNUR in order to improve reliability of the network.
Regarding claim 7, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST modified by PAZHYANNUR discloses DPU of claim 6, wherein the one or more processors, to obtain the respective IP addresses, are to:
communicate, with one or more devices associated with the first core network, via the first FWA gateway, to obtain a first set of one or more IP addresses of the respective IP addresses (PAZHYANNUR: ¶32, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 24, the switch (controller) communicates with the computing device to communicate with the first operator network with corresponding IP addresses); and
communicate, with one or more second devices associated with the second core network, via the second FWA gateway, to obtain a second set of one or more IP addresses of the respective IP addresses (PAZHYANNUR: ¶32, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 24, the switch (controller) communicates with the computing device to communicate with the second operator network with corresponding IP addresses).
Regarding claim 8, 14, 20, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST modified by PAZHYANNUR discloses DPU of claim 6, wherein the configuration information further indicates that address identifiers of a first set of one or more access point devices, of the plurality of access point devices, are associated with the first core network and that address identifiers of a second set of one or more access point devices, of the plurality of access point devices, are associated with the second core network (KUPST: Fig. 5, ¶41-48, ¶26, ¶38, ¶50-51, MAC address and port information and the corresponding port number and other connection information is received by the switch+server; these are corresponding to the devices connected to the switch; PAZHYANNUR: ¶29, ¶32, each operator network assigns respective IP addresses and combine it with the MAC addresses (address identifiers) for the identification information ), wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the respective IP addresses, are to:
transmit, based on the configuration information, the first set of one or more IP addresses to the first set of one or more access point devices; and transmit, based on the configuration information, the second set of one or more IP addresses to the second set of one or more access point devices (PAZHYANNUR: ¶29, ¶32, ¶36, each operator network assigns respective IP addresses).
Regarding claim 15, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST modified by PAZHYANNUR discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the one or more instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the DPU to: transmit the first set of one or more IP addresses to the first set of one or more access point devices; and transmit the second set of one or more IP addresses to the second set of one or more access point devices (KUPST: Fig. 5, ¶41-48, ¶26, ¶38, ¶50-51, MAC address and port information and the corresponding port number and other connection information is received by the switch+server; these are corresponding to the devices connected to the switch; PAZHYANNUR: ¶29, ¶32, ¶36, each operator network assigns respective IP addresses).
Regarding claim 19, YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST discloses DPU of claim 16, wherein the respective IP addresses are obtained:
YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST remains silent regarding, however, PAZHYANNUR et al (US 2014/0056290) obtaining comprises communicating, via a first FWA gateway associated with a first core network, to obtain a first set of one or more IP addresses of the respective IP addresses (PAZHYANNUR: ¶32, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 24, the switch (controller) communicates with the computing device to communicate with the first operator network with corresponding IP addresses); and
communicating, via a second FWA gateway associated with a second core network, to obtain a second set of one or more IP addresses of the respective IP addresses (PAZHYANNUR: ¶32, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 24, the switch (controller) communicates with the computing device to communicate with the second operator network with corresponding IP addresses).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST would have been motivated to use the teachings of PAZHYANNUR as it provides a way to expand connectivity over different operator networks thereby improving reliability of the connection at the WLAN for the users. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of YEATTS modified by PANG modified by KUPST with teachings of PAZHYANNUR in order to improve reliability of the network.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See PTO 892
Document U discloses that the IETF’s CAPWAP (Control and Provisioning of Wireless Access Points) WG has identified that a standards-based protocol is necessary between a wireless Access Controller and Wireless Termination Points (the latter are also commonly referred to as Lightweight Access Points). This specification defines the Lightweight Access Point Protocol (LWAPP), which addresses the CAPWAP’s (Control and Provisioning of Wireless Access Points) protocol requirements. Although the LWAPP protocol is designed to be flexible enough to be used for a variety of wireless technologies, this specific document describes the base protocol and an extension that allows it to be used with the IEEE’s 802.11 wireless LAN protocol.
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461