DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 2-3 recites (misspelled or typo mistake) "avertisement " which should be changed to “advertisement” to clearly and positively claiming the Applicant’s invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11019195 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 11019195 B2 and claim 1 of the Pending application (Please see the Table below):
US Patent NO 11019195 B2
Pending application 18926834
Reasoning
1. A method of sharing data between a sending mobile device and a receiving mobile device, the method comprising performing, by the sending mobile device: storing, in a memory of the sending mobile device, a data item; receiving, at a user interface of the sending mobile device, user input indicating a sharing session; transmitting, via a first wireless protocol of the sending mobile device, an advertisement signal that includes a first authentication tag of the sending mobile device; receiving, via the first wireless protocol from the receiving mobile device, a second authentication tag of the receiving mobile device; authenticating the receiving mobile device using the second authentication tag; communicating, using the first wireless protocol, one or more ranging settings with the receiving mobile device for a ranging operation to be performed using a second wireless protocol; transmitting, using the second wireless protocol, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the receiving mobile device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings, wherein the second wireless protocol uses a pulse width that is less than a pulse width used by the first wireless protocol; receiving, using the second wireless protocol, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the receiving mobile device; determining distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses; receiving, via the user interface, a selection of the receiving mobile device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information; and transmitting the data item in response to the selection of the receiving mobile device.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the receiving mobile device uses the first authentication tag to authenticate the sending mobile device.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the selection of the receiving mobile device is determined based on an orientation of the sending mobile device and the receiving mobile device as determined using the distance information.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying, on a screen of the sending mobile device, an icon corresponding to the receiving mobile device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the receiving mobile device is received at the icon on the screen.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the icon is displayed at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: comparing a distance of the distance information to a threshold; and displaying the icon when the distance is less than the threshold.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the icon is displayed at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: determining a physical position of the receiving mobile device relative to the sending mobile device using the distance information; and selecting the location from a set of locations based on the physical position.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the physical position includes a distance, and wherein the location is a position in a list of a plurality of mobile devices, each of which has an associated distance.
8. The method of claim 6, wherein the location corresponds to a two-dimensional coordinate on the screen.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless protocol is Bluetooth low energy, wherein the second wireless protocol is ultra-wide band (UWB), and wherein the data item is transmitted using Wi-Fi.
10. A mobile device, comprising: wireless circuitry configured to send and receive information; a memory; and a processor coupled to the wireless circuitry and the memory, the processor configured to: store, in the memory of the mobile device, a data item; receive, at a user interface of the mobile device, user input indicating a sharing session; transmit, via a first wireless protocol of the wireless circuitry, an advertisement signal that includes a first authentication tag of the mobile device; receive, via the first wireless protocol from a second mobile device, a second authentication tag of the second mobile device; authenticate the second mobile device using the second authentication tag; communicate, using the first wireless protocol, one or more ranging settings with the second mobile device for a ranging operation to be performed using a second wireless protocol of the wireless circuitry; transmit, using the second wireless protocol of the wireless circuitry, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the second mobile device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings, wherein the second wireless protocol uses a pulse width that is less than a pulse width used by the first wireless protocol; receive, using the second wireless protocol, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the second mobile device; determine distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses; receive, via the user interface, a selection of the second mobile device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information; and transmit the data item in response to the selection of the second mobile device.
11. The mobile device of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the selection of the second mobile device based on an orientation of the mobile device and the second mobile device as determined using the distance information.
12. The mobile device of claim 10, wherein the processor is further configured to: display, on a screen of the mobile device, an icon corresponding to the second mobile device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the second mobile device is received at the icon on the screen.
13. The mobile device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to display the icon at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: comparing a distance of the distance information to a threshold; and displaying the icon when the distance is less than the threshold.
14. The mobile device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to display the icon at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: determining a physical position of the second mobile device relative to the second mobile device using the distance information; and selecting the location from a set of locations based on the physical position.
15. The mobile device of claim 14, wherein the physical position includes a distance, and wherein the location is a position in a list of a plurality of mobile devices, each of which has an associated distance.
16. The mobile device of claim 14, wherein the location corresponds to a two-dimensional coordinate on the screen.
17. The mobile device of claim 10, wherein the first wireless protocol is Bluetooth low energy, wherein the second wireless protocol is ultra-wide band (UWB), and wherein the data item is transmitted using Wi-Fi.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to: store, in a memory of the computing device, a data item; receive, at a user interface of the computing device, user input indicating a sharing session; transmit, via a first wireless protocol of the computing device, an advertisement signal that includes a first authentication tag of a second computing device; receive, via the first wireless protocol from a second computing device, a second authentication tag of the second computing device; authenticate the second computing device using the second authentication tag; communicate, using the first wireless protocol, one or more ranging settings with the second computing device for a ranging operation to be performed using a second wireless protocol; transmit, using the second wireless protocol, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the second computing device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings, wherein the second wireless protocol uses a pulse width that is less than a pulse width used by the first wireless protocol; receive, using the second wireless protocol, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the second computing device; determine distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses; receive, via the user interface, a selection of the second computing device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information; and transmit the data item in response to the selection of the second computing device.
19. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, the computer-executable instructions further causing the computing device to: determine the selection of the second computing device based on an orientation of the computing device and the second computing device as determined using the distance information.
20. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 18, the computer-executable instructions further causing the computing device to: display, on a screen of the computing device, an icon corresponding to the second computing device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the second computing device is received at the icon on the screen.
1. A method of sharing data between a sending mobile device and a receiving mobile device, the method comprising performing, by the sending mobile device: storing, in a memory of the sending mobile device, a data item; receiving, at a user interface of the sending mobile device, user input indicating a sharing session; communicating, by the sending mobile device, one or more ranging settings with the receiving mobile device for a ranging operation to be performed; transmitting, by the sending mobile device, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the receiving mobile device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings; receiving, by the sending mobile device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the receiving mobile device; determining distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses; receiving, via the user interface, a selection of the receiving mobile device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information; and transmitting the data item in response to the selection of the receiving mobile device.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the sending mobile device, an avertisement signal, wherein the avertisement signal includes a first authentication tag of the sending mobile device.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from the receiving mobile device, a second authentication tag of the receiving mobile device; and authenticating the receiving mobile device using the second authentication tag.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the selection of the receiving mobile device is determined based on an orientation of the sending mobile device and the receiving mobile device as determined using the distance information.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying, on a screen of the sending mobile device, an icon corresponding to the receiving mobile device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the receiving mobile device is received at the icon on the screen.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the icon is displayed at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: comparing a distance of the distance information to a threshold; and displaying the icon when the distance is less than the threshold.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein the icon is displayed at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: determining a physical position of the receiving mobile device relative to the sending mobile device using the distance information; and selecting the location from a set of locations based on the physical position, wherein the physical position includes a distance, and wherein the location is a position in a list of a plurality of mobile devices, each of which has an associated distance.
8. A mobile device, comprising: wireless circuitry configured to send and receive information; a memory; and a processor coupled to the wireless circuitry and the memory, the processor configured to: store, in the memory of the mobile device, a data item; receive, at a user interface of the mobile device, user input indicating a sharing session; communicate, using the wireless circuitry of the mobile device, one or more ranging settings with a second mobile device for a ranging operation to be performed; transmit, using the wireless circuitry of the mobile device, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the second mobile device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings; receive, using the wireless circuitry of the mobile device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the second mobile device; determine distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses; receive, via the user interface, a selection of the second mobile device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information; and transmit the data item in response to the selection of the second mobile device.
9. The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit, via the wireless circuitry, an advertisement signal, wherein the advertisement signal includes a first authentication tag of the mobile device.
10. The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive, from a second mobile device, a second authentication tag of the second mobile device; and authenticate the second mobile device using the second authentication tag.
11. The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to determine the selection of the second mobile device based on an orientation of the mobile device and the second mobile device as determined using the distance information.
12. The mobile device of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to: display, on a screen of the mobile device, an icon corresponding to the second mobile device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the second mobile device is received at the icon on the screen.
13. The mobile device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to display the icon at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: comparing a distance of the distance information to a threshold; and displaying the icon when the distance is less than the threshold.
14. The mobile device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to display the icon at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: determining a physical position of the second mobile device relative to the second mobile device using the distance information; and selecting the location from a set of locations based on the physical position.
15. The mobile device of claim 14, wherein the location corresponds to a two-dimensional coordinate on the screen.
16. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to: store, in a memory of the computing device, a data item; receive, at a user interface of the computing device, user input indicating a sharing session; communicate, by the computing device, one or more ranging settings with a second computing device for a ranging operation to be performed; transmit, by the computing device, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the second computing device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings; receive, by the computing device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the second computing device; determine distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses; receive, via the user interface, a selection of the second computing device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information; and transmit the data item in response to the selection of the second computing device.
17. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, the computer-executable instructions further causing the computing device to transmit an advertisement signal, wherein the advertisement signal includes a first authentication tag of the computing device.
18. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, the computer-executable instructions further causing the computing device to: receive, from a second computing device, a second authentication tag of the second computing device; and authenticate the second computing device using the second authentication tag.
19. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, the computer-executable instructions further causing the computing device to: determine the selection of the second computing device based on an orientation of the computing device and the second computing device as determined using the distance information.
20. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, the computer-executable instructions further causing the computing device to: display, on a screen of the computing device, an icon corresponding to the second computing device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the second computing device is received at the icon on the screen.
Further, the instant claims obviously encompass the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. 11019195 B2 and differ only in terminology. To the extent that the instant claims are broaden and therefore generic to the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. 11019195 B2, in re Goodman 29 USPQ 2d 2010 CAFC 1993, states that a generic claim cannot be issued without a terminal disclaimer, if a species claim has been previously been claimed in a pending application. Nonetheless, the removal of said limitations from claim 1 of the present application made claim 1 a broader version of claim 1. Therefore, since omission of an element and its function in combination is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before (In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184 (1963)), claim 1 is not patentably distinct from claim 1.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11516337 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 11516337 B2 and claim 1 of the Pending application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11671530 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 11671530 B2 and claim 1 of the Pending application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12177378 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, take an example of claim 1 of the U.S. Patent No. 12177378 B2 and claim 1 of the Pending application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (20160323863).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al discloses, a method of sharing data between a sending mobile device (100) and a receiving mobile device (200), the method comprising performing, by the sending mobile device (abstract, fig 1-51):
storing, in a memory of the sending mobile device, a data item (¶ 0096, the storage unit 430 includes a memory for storing information. The storage unit 430 stores information relating to operations of the electronic device. The storage unit 430 stores a program for a process flow for a service sharing operation according to an embodiment of the present disclosure and information according to the service sharing operation process);
receiving, at a user interface of the sending mobile device, user input indicating a sharing session (¶ 0160, 0164, 0171, when an input from the user is detected, the first electronic device 100 starts low-power advertising packet transmission and P2P scan);
communicating, by the sending mobile device, one or more ranging settings with the receiving mobile device for a ranging operation to be performed (¶ 0425, 0427, 0430, the capability negotiation period T10, the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 exchange their own distance measurement capabilities with each other. For example, the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 exchange their distance measurement capabilities with each other through a DMG beacon including a DMG range element defined in FIG. 21A, a probe request or probe response, or information request or information response.);
transmitting, by the sending mobile device, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the receiving mobile device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings (¶ 0421, 0423, 0442, 0464, a range start signal, a first wireless device 100 transmits a request range packet to the second electronic device 200 in operation SS110);
receiving, by the sending mobile device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the receiving mobile device (¶ 0421, 0423, 0442, 0464, the second electronic device 200 having received the request range packet transmits a response range packet to the first wireless device 100 in operation SS130. This method may be used when a packet having destination information data is used as the request range packet. Then, the first wireless device 100 performs a ranging estimation in operation SS140, and the second electronic device 200 performs a ranging estimation in operation SS120);
determining distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses (¶ 0442-0443, 0445, 0464-0465, a distance estimation operation may be performed by the range estimator 110A of FIG. 18 and the range estimator 210A of FIG. 19. The range estimator 110A of the first electronic device 100 counts from a time point when the request range packet is transmitted through the DAC 125A to a time point when reception of the response range packet by the baseband processor 115 is detected. This time interval is Ti. The range estimator 210A of the second electronic device 200 counts from a time point when reception of the request range packet by the baseband processor 215 is detected to a time point when the response range packet is transmitted through the DAC 225. This time interval is Tr);
receiving, via the user interface, a selection of the receiving mobile device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information (¶ 0089, 0524, 0536, 547, 0573, 0586, the connection between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 may be established in consideration of the distance or the degree of proximity between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200. For example, the Wi-Fi direct may be selected when the distance between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 is a short distance, and the Wi-Fi or cellular e.g., 3G or LTE may be selected when the distance is a long distance); and
transmitting the data item in response to the selection of the receiving mobile device (¶ 0090, 0586, 0591, the first electronic device 100 shares a service with the second electronic device 200. The service may include at least one content among a video, music, a file, a photograph, and an address book, without being limited thereto).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 17, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, further comprising transmitting, by the sending mobile device, an avertisement signal, wherein the avertisement signal includes a first authentication tag of the sending mobile device (¶ 0160, 0164, 0478, 0487, the first electronic device 100 transmits an advertising packet 705 to the second electronic device 200 through the low-power communication unit. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the advertising packet 705 may include information by which it is possible to determine whether the second electronic device 200 can inter-work with the first electronic device 100. For example, the advertising packet 705 may include information on functions of the first electronic device 100. When the second electronic device 200 can inter-work with the first electronic device 100, the advertising packet 705 may include a message requesting transmission of the advertising packet to the first electronic device 100.).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 18, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, further comprising: receiving, from the receiving mobile device, a second authentication tag of the receiving mobile device; and authenticating the receiving mobile device using the second authentication tag (¶ 0160, 0164, 0164, 0479, 0487, When an application requiring a P2P communication is executed, the first electronic device 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure starts to scan for at least one another electronic device in operation 745. Here, the first electronic device 100 receives an advertising packet 747 transmitted by the second electronic device 200. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the advertising packet 747 may include information on functions of the second electronic device 200 and information on communication schemes supportable by the second electronic device 200. For example, when the second electronic device 200 is a smart phone capable of supporting a Wi-Fi communication, the advertising packet 747 may include information notifying that the second electronic device 200 can support a Wi-Fi communication and has a function of outputting an image and voice. The first electronic device 100 transmits a scan request message 749 to the second electronic device 200. The second electronic device 200 transmits a scan response message 751 to the first electronic device 100 as a response to the scan request message 749) .
Regarding claims 4, 11, 19, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the selection of the receiving mobile device is determined based on an orientation of the sending mobile device and the receiving mobile device as determined using the distance information (¶ 0344, 0354, 0367, 0402, 0407, 0462, processing flow, the distance and direction (or angle) between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 are measured).
Regarding claims 5, 12, 20, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, further comprising: displaying, on a screen of the sending mobile device, an icon corresponding to the receiving mobile device, wherein the icon is displayed at a location on the screen based on the distance information, wherein the selection of the receiving mobile device is received at the icon on the screen (¶ 0089, 0101, 0573, 0586-0591, the controller device selects a video for service sharing selected by a user, the controller device determines whether a sharing intention e.g., particular icon, button, or voice recognition is input from a user. When a sharing intention is input from the user, the controller device scans for a target device and checks the proximity).
Regarding claims 6, 13, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the icon is displayed at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: comparing a distance of the distance information to a threshold; and displaying the icon when the distance is less than the threshold (see claim 5, further, ¶ 0524, 0536, 0528, the sharing scheme may be changed by changing an application by a user configuration. As another example, the sharing scheme may be changed by changing an application according to a service provision environment or situation. In an embodiment, the sharing intention may be input through a predetermined icon or button, or through a voice input. In the scanning operation, the first electronic device 100 may transmit a scanning signal by including a reference threshold value, by which it is possible to identify the proximity-or-not, in the format of the scanning signal. In an embodiment, since RSSI values are different according to devices, the transmitted scanning signal may carry a reference threshold value for a distance, by which the proximity can be determined, or a predetermined distance (e.g., one meter) for each device. In an embodiment, it is possible to change and transfer the threshold value according to the service or contents.).
Regarding claims 7, 14, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the icon is displayed at the location on the screen based on the distance information by: determining a physical position of the receiving mobile device relative to the sending mobile device using the distance information; and selecting the location from a set of locations based on the physical position, wherein the physical position includes a distance, and wherein the location is a position in a list of a plurality of mobile devices, each of which has an associated distance (see claims 5-6, further, ¶ 0544- 0547, a plurality of target devices A to D as responders is displayed on a display of the controller device in the form of a map. Since a result of the scanning enables estimation of the location and direction of the target devices, the information on the target devices can be displayed in the form of a map, based on the estimated location and direction. In this example, information on target devices A to D located in the proximity e.g., conference room is displayed. From the information on the displayed target devices, the user may select target devices e.g., D and B for service sharing).
Regarding claim 15, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, wherein the location corresponds to a two-dimensional coordinate on the screen (¶ 0466)
Regarding claim 8, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, a mobile device, comprising:
wireless circuitry configured to send and receive information; a memory (430, fig. 4); and a processor (440, fig. 4) coupled to the wireless circuitry and the memory, the processor configured (fig. 4, ¶ 0096-0097) to:
store, in the memory of the mobile device, a data item; receive, at a user interface of the mobile device, user input indicating a sharing session (¶ 0096, the storage unit 430 includes a memory for storing information. The storage unit 430 stores information relating to operations of the electronic device. The storage unit 430 stores a program for a process flow for a service sharing operation according to an embodiment of the present disclosure and information according to the service sharing operation process);
communicate, using the wireless circuitry of the mobile device, one or more ranging settings with a second mobile device for a ranging operation to be performed (¶ 0425, 0427, 0430, the capability negotiation period T10, the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 exchange their own distance measurement capabilities with each other. For example, the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 exchange their distance measurement capabilities with each other through a DMG beacon including a DMG range element defined in FIG. 21A, a probe request or probe response, or information request or information response.);
transmit, using the wireless circuitry of the mobile device, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the second mobile device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings (¶ 0421, 0423, 0442, 0464, a range start signal, a first wireless device 100 transmits a request range packet to the second electronic device 200 in operation SS110);
receive, using the wireless circuitry of the mobile device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the second mobile device (¶ 0421, 0423, 0442, 0464, the second electronic device 200 having received the request range packet transmits a response range packet to the first wireless device 100 in operation SS130. This method may be used when a packet having destination information data is used as the request range packet. Then, the first wireless device 100 performs a ranging estimation in operation SS140, and the second electronic device 200 performs a ranging estimation in operation SS120);
determine distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses (¶ 0442-0443, 0445, 0464-0465, a distance estimation operation may be performed by the range estimator 110A of FIG. 18 and the range estimator 210A of FIG. 19. The range estimator 110A of the first electronic device 100 counts from a time point when the request range packet is transmitted through the DAC 125A to a time point when reception of the response range packet by the baseband processor 115 is detected. This time interval is Ti. The range estimator 210A of the second electronic device 200 counts from a time point when reception of the request range packet by the baseband processor 215 is detected to a time point when the response range packet is transmitted through the DAC 225. This time interval is Tr);
receive, via the user interface, a selection of the second mobile device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information (¶ 0089, 0524, 0536, 547, 0573, 0586, the connection between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 may be established in consideration of the distance or the degree of proximity between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200. For example, the Wi-Fi direct may be selected when the distance between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 is a short distance, and the Wi-Fi or cellular e.g., 3G or LTE may be selected when the distance is a long distance); and
transmit the data item in response to the selection of the second mobile device (¶ 0090, 0586, 0591, the first electronic device 100 shares a service with the second electronic device 200. The service may include at least one content among a video, music, a file, a photograph, and an address book, without being limited thereto).
Regarding claim 16, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the one or more processors to (abstract, fig. 1-51, ¶ 0096-0097):
store, in a memory of the computing device, a data item; receive, at a user interface of the computing device, user input indicating a sharing session (¶ 0096, the storage unit 430 includes a memory for storing information. The storage unit 430 stores information relating to operations of the electronic device. The storage unit 430 stores a program for a process flow for a service sharing operation according to an embodiment of the present disclosure and information according to the service sharing operation process);
communicate, by the computing device, one or more ranging settings with a second computing device for a ranging operation to be performed (¶ 0425, 0427, 0430, the capability negotiation period T10, the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 exchange their own distance measurement capabilities with each other. For example, the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 exchange their distance measurement capabilities with each other through a DMG beacon including a DMG range element defined in FIG. 21A, a probe request or probe response, or information request or information response.);
transmit, by the computing device, a first set of one or more pulses in a ranging request message to the second computing device in accordance with the one or more ranging settings (¶ 0421, 0423, 0442, 0464, a range start signal, a first wireless device 100 transmits a request range packet to the second electronic device 200 in operation SS110);
receive, by the computing device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the second computing device receiving, by the sending mobile device, a second set of one or more pulses in one or more ranging response messages from the receiving mobile device (¶ 0421, 0423, 0442, 0464, the second electronic device 200 having received the request range packet transmits a response range packet to the first wireless device 100 in operation SS130. This method may be used when a packet having destination information data is used as the request range packet. Then, the first wireless device 100 performs a ranging estimation in operation SS140, and the second electronic device 200 performs a ranging estimation in operation SS120);
determine distance information corresponding to one or more transmission times of the first set of one or more pulses and one or more reception times of the second set of one or more pulses (¶ 0442-0443, 0445, 0464-0465, a distance estimation operation may be performed by the range estimator 110A of FIG. 18 and the range estimator 210A of FIG. 19. The range estimator 110A of the first electronic device 100 counts from a time point when the request range packet is transmitted through the DAC 125A to a time point when reception of the response range packet by the baseband processor 115 is detected. This time interval is Ti. The range estimator 210A of the second electronic device 200 counts from a time point when reception of the request range packet by the baseband processor 215 is detected to a time point when the response range packet is transmitted through the DAC 225. This time interval is Tr);
receive, via the user interface, a selection of the second computing device to share the data item, the selection made in accordance with the distance information (¶ 0089, 0524, 0536, 547, 0573, 0586, the connection between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 may be established in consideration of the distance or the degree of proximity between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200. For example, the Wi-Fi direct may be selected when the distance between the first electronic device 100 and the second electronic device 200 is a short distance, and the Wi-Fi or cellular e.g., 3G or LTE may be selected when the distance is a long distance);
and
transmit the data item in response to the selection of the second computing device (¶ 0090, 0586, 0591, the first electronic device 100 shares a service with the second electronic device 200. The service may include at least one content among a video, music, a file, a photograph, and an address book, without being limited thereto).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (20160323863) in view of Yamada (20170026778).
Regarding claims 2, 9, 17, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, further comprising transmitting, by the sending mobile device, an avertisement signal, wherein the avertisement signal includes information of the sending mobile device (¶ 0160, 0164, 0478, 0487, the first electronic device 100 transmits an advertising packet 705 to the second electronic device 200 through the low-power communication unit. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the advertising packet 705 may include information by which it is possible to determine whether the second electronic device 200 can inter-work with the first electronic device 100. For example, the advertising packet 705 may include information on functions of the first electronic device 100. When the second electronic device 200 can inter-work with the first electronic device 100, the advertising packet 705 may include a message requesting transmission of the advertising packet to the first electronic device 100.).
Regarding claims 3, 10, 18, Park et al discloses in claim 1, further, Park et al discloses, further comprising: receiving, from the receiving mobile device, a second information of the receiving mobile device; and information the receiving mobile device using the second information (¶ 0160, 0164, 0164, 0479, 0487, When an application requiring a P2P communication is executed, the first electronic device 100 according to an embodiment of the present disclosure starts to scan for at least one another electronic device in operation 745. Here, the first electronic device 100 receives an advertising packet 747 transmitted by the second electronic device 200. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the advertising packet 747 may include information on functions of the second electronic device 200 and information on communication schemes supportable by the second electronic device 200. For example, when the second electronic device 200 is a smart phone capable of supporting a Wi-Fi communication, the advertising packet 747 may include information notifying that the second electronic device 200 can support a Wi-Fi communication and has a function of outputting an image and voice. The first electronic device 100 transmits a scan request message 749 to the second electronic device 200. The second electronic device 200 transmits a scan response message 751 to the first electronic device 100 as a response to the scan request message 749).
Park et al does not specifically disclose, an authentication tag.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamada discloses, storing in a memory of the first device an identifier associated with the second mobile device (¶ 0053, a shared key, e.g., a global and/or a user-specific shared key, that was already stored and/or pre-set in the pairing device 510); receiving an advertising message from the second mobile device, the message including an authentication tag (¶ 0053, the communication device 520 can initiate communication with the pairing device 510 by broadcasting advertising packet(s) that can contain a shared key); authenticating the second mobile device using the authentication tag, wherein authenticating the second mobile device includes comparing the authentication tag to the identifier stored in the memory (¶ 0053, the pairing device 510 can scan for advertising packet(s) from the communication device 520 and can match the shared key contained in the packet to the pre-set shared key of the pairing device 510. When a match is found, the pairing device 510 can send a connection request in response to the advertising packet from the communication device to establish pairing and can maintain connection between the devices.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Park et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the communication layer with improved performance and performing authentication from the secure processors is provided, shared keys can be shared with the selective pairing devices and/or other communication devices as taught by Yamada.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643