DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 18-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 and 5/7/2026 was/were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-17 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, third to last line, recites “provide” and should recite - - provides - - .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) 2 and 6-17 is/are objected to as being dependent from an objected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisland et al. (US 20140044576) in view of Vaish (US 20230086707) and Franklin (US 20240142155).
Per claim 1, Geisland teaches a golf vehicle comprising: a frame (102); a seat (108) coupled to the frame (102), the seat configured to support an operator (inherent); a cooling assembly (10) including: a fan (52, 54), the fan configured to selectively provide air to facilitate providing a cooled airflow to the operator (see figure 1), the fan (52, 54) operable between a first fan state (on) and a second fan state (off); and a sensor (70) coupled to the cooling assembly, the sensor (70) configured to detect a presence of the operator (“the operation can be controlled by use of a pressure sensitive, or proximity sensor, switch 70 located on the seat cushion 108”, para. 0024); wherein the sensor (70) provides a first signal when the presence of the operator is not detected that causes the fan to operate at the first fan state (“If the pressure sensitive, or proximity sensor, switch 70 is placed on the seat cushion 108, then the fan is operated every time the individual sits within the golf cart 100, and the fan will turn off whenever the individual leaves the golf cart 100 to play”, para. 0024); and wherein the sensor (70) provide a second signal when the presence of the operator is detected that causes the fan to operate at the second fan state (“If the pressure sensitive, or proximity sensor, switch 70 is placed on the seat cushion 108, then the fan is operated every time the individual sits within the golf cart 100, and the fan will turn off whenever the individual leaves the golf cart 100 to play”, para. 0024) but fails to explicitly teach the cooling assembly including: a housing defining a housing volume configured to receive a coolant; a heat exchanger; the fan proximate the heat exchanger, the fan configured to selectively provide air through the heat exchanger to facilitate providing a cooled airflow to the operator; and a pump positioned within the housing volume, the pump fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger, the pump configured to selectively provide the coolant to the heat exchanger, the pump operable between a first pump state and a second pump state, wherein the sensor provides a first signal when the presence of the operator is not detected that causes the fan to operate at the first fan state and the pump to operate at the first pump state; and wherein the sensor provides a second signal when the presence of the operator is detected that causes the fan to operate at the second fan state and the pump to operate at the second pump state.
Regarding the cooling system, Vaish teaches a vehicular cooling system including a cooling assembly including a housing (300) defining a housing volume configured to receive a coolant (“water”, para. 0054); a heat exchanger (120); a fan (110) proximate the heat exchanger (120), the fan (100) configured to selectively provide air through the heat exchanger to facilitated providing a cooled airflow to an operator (“The radiator and the fan transfer the cold as a cool air 130 which is blown by the fan over the child”, para. 0054), a pump (220), the pump (220) fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger (120), the pump (220) configured to selectively provide the coolant (“water”, para. 0054) to the heat exchanger (120) (see figure 4); the pump (220) operatable between a first pump state (on) and a second pump state (off), wherein a sensor (20) provides a first signal when a presence of the operator is not detected that causes the fan to operate at the first fan state and the pump to operate at the first pump state (Table 1, step 5); and wherein the sensor provides a second signal when the presence of the operator is detected that causes the fan to operate at the second fan state and the pump to operate at the second pump state (Table 1, steps 1-4) for efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide
a cooling assembly including a housing defining a housing volume configured to receive a coolant; a heat exchanger; a fan proximate the heat exchanger, the fan configured to selectively provide air through the heat exchanger to facilitated providing a cooled airflow to an operator, a pump, the pump fluidly coupled to the heat exchanger, the pump configured to selectively provide the coolant to the heat exchanger; the pump operatable between a first pump state and a second pump state, wherein a sensor provides a first signal when a presence of the operator is not detected that causes the fan to operate at the first fan state and the pump to operate at the first pump state; and wherein the sensor provides a second signal when the presence of the operator is detected that causes the fan to operate at the second fan state and the pump to operate at the second pump state, as taught by Vaish in the invention of Geisland, in order to advantageously provide efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064).
Regarding the pump being positioned within the housing volume, Franklin teaches a cooling system wherein a pump (26) is positioned within a housing volume (volume of 12) for portable air cooling (para. 0006). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a pump positioned within a housing volume, as taught by Franklin in the combined teachings, in order to advantageously provide portable air cooling (para. 0006).
Per claim 2, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland teaches an accessory storage area (area around 10 shown in figure 1) positioned rearward of the seat (108), wherein the cooling assembly (10) is at least partially positioned within the accessory storage area (see figure 1).
Per claim 6, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the fan is configured to provide the air through the heat exchanger and toward the operator when the fan is operating in the second fan state.
However, Vaish teaches a cooling system wherein a fan (110) is configured to provide air through a heat exchanger (120) and toward an operator when the fan is operating in a second fan state (“on” state) (see figure 1) for efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a fan configured to provide air through a heat exchanger and toward an operator when the fan is operating in a second fan state, as taught by Vaish in the invention of Geisland, in order to advantageously provide efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064).
Per claim 7, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the pump is configured to provide the coolant to the heat exchanger when the pump is operating in the second pump state.
However, Vaish teaches a cooling system wherein a pump (220) is configured to provide a coolant (“water”, para. 0054) to a heat exchanger (120) when the pump is operating in a second pump state (“on” state) for efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a pump configured to provide a coolant to a heat exchanger when the pump is operating in a second pump state, as taught by Vaish in the invention of Geisland, in order to advantageously provide efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064).
Per claim 8, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland taches wherein the sensor (70) is coupled to the seat (108) and biased to a first sensor position (unoccupied seat position) such that the sensor (70) is in the first sensor position when the seat is unoccupied and a second sensor position (occupied seat position) when the seat is occupied, wherein the first fan state is an off state (“If the pressure sensitive, or proximity sensor, switch 70 is placed on the seat cushion 108, then the fan is operated every time the individual sits within the golf cart 100, and the fan will turn off whenever the individual leaves the golf cart 100 to play.”, para. 0024), wherein the first fan state is an off state (“the fan will turn off whenever the individual leaves the golf cart 100 to play.”, para. 0024) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the first fan state and the first pump state are off states.
However, Vaish teaches a cooling system wherein a first fan state (unoccupied 10/state of 110) and a first pump state (unoccupied 10/state of 220) are off states (Table 1, step 5) for efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a pump configured to provide a cooling system wherein a first fan state and a first pump state are off states, as taught by Vaish in the invention of Geisland, in order to advantageously provide efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064).
Per claims 9-10, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing includes: a lower housing portion defining the housing volume; and an upper housing portion supported by the lower housing portion, the upper housing portion defining an opening, wherein at least one of the heat exchanger or the fan is disposed within the upper housing portion, and wherein the air flows through the opening (claim 9), wherein the fan and the heat exchanger are disposed within the upper housing portion (claim 10).
However, Franklin teaches a cooling system wherein a housing includes: a lower housing portion (12) defining a housing volume (volume in 12); and an upper housing portion (14) supported by the lower housing portion (12), the upper housing portion (14) defining an opening (41), wherein a heat exchanger (22) is disposed within the upper housing portion (14), and wherein air flows through the opening (see figure 4) (claim 9), wherein a fan (24) and the heat exchanger (22) are disposed within the upper housing portion (claim 10) for portable air cooling (para. 0006). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a housing including: a lower housing portion defining a housing volume; and an upper housing portion supported by the lower housing portion, the upper housing portion defining an opening, wherein a heat exchanger is disposed within the upper housing portion, and wherein air flows through the opening (claim 9), wherein a fan (24) and the heat exchanger (15) are disposed within the upper housing portion (14) (claim 10), as taught by Franklin in the invention of Geisland, as modified, in order to advantageously provide portable air cooling (para. 0006).
Per claim 11, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the coolant comprises a mixture of water and ice.
However, Franklin teaches a cooling system wherein a coolant comprises a mixture of water and ice (“a mixture of ice and liquid water”, para. 0031) for portable air cooling (para. 0006). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a coolant comprising a mixture of water and ice, as taught by Franklin in the invention of Geisland, as modified, in order to advantageously provide portable air cooling (para. 0006).
Per claim 14, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, teaches wherein the sensor includes a proximity sensor (“the operation can be controlled by use of a pressure sensitive, or proximity sensor, switch 70 located on the seat cushion 108”, para. 0024).
Per claim 15, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach
a switch coupled to the pump and the fan, the switch selectively positionable between a first switch position and a second switch position, wherein the switch prevents the fan from operating at the second fan state and prevents the pump from operating at the second pump state when the switch is in the first switch position, and wherein the switch allows the fan to operate at the second fan state and allows the pump to operate at the second pump state when the switch is in the second switch position and the sensor provides the second signal.
However, Vaish teaches a vehicular cooling system including a switch (240) coupled to a pump (220) and the fan (110), the switch selectively positionable between a first switch position (off position) and a second switch position (on position) (“A switch 240 is provided to manually turn the power of the system off and on”, para. 0052), wherein the switch prevents the fan (110) from operating at a second fan state (on state) and prevents the pump (220) from operating at a second pump state (on state) when the switch (240) is in the first switch position (“off” position, para. 0052) (“A switch 240 is provided to manually turn the power of the system off and on”, para. 0052), and wherein the switch (240) allows the fan (110) to operate at the second fan state (on state) and allows the pump (220) to operate at the second pump state (220) when the switch (240) is in the second switch position (on position) and the sensor provides the second signal (“on”, para. 0052) (“A switch 240 is provided to manually turn the power of the system off and on”, para. 0052) for efficient cooling of a passenger (para. 0064). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a switch coupled to a pump and the fan, the switch selectively positionable between a first switch position and a second switch position, wherein the switch prevents the fan from operating at a second fan state and prevents the pump from operating at a second pump state when the switch is in the first switch position, and wherein the switch allows the fan to operate at the second fan state and allows the pump to operate at the second pump state when the switch is in the second switch position and the sensor provides the second signal, as taught by Vaish in the invention of Geisland, in order to advantageously provide efficient cooling of the operator (para. 0064).
Per claim 16, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing includes an outlet port in fluid communication with the housing volume configured to facilitate draining the coolant therefrom.
However, Franklin teaches a cooling system wherein a housing (202) includes an outlet port (206) in fluid communication with a housing volume (volume of 202) configured to facilitate draining a coolant therefrom (para. 0048) for portable air cooling (para. 0006). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a housing including an outlet port in fluid communication with a housing volume configured to facilitate draining a coolant therefrom, as taught by Franklin in the invention of Geisland, as modified, in order to advantageously provide portable air cooling (para. 0006).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geisland et al. (US 20140044576) in view of Vaish (US 20230086707) and Franklin (US 20240142155) as applied to the claims above and further in view of Tieken (US 20070107891).
Per claim 17, Geisland, as modified, meets the claim limitations as disclosed in the above rejection of claim 1. Further, Geisland, as modified, fails to explicitly teach wherein the housing is positioned rearward of the seat.
However, Tieken teaches a golf vehicle cooling system wherein a housing (52) is positioned rearward of a seat (12) improved cooling efficiency of a passenger (para. 0026). Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a housing positioned rearward of a seat, as taught by Tieken in the invention of Geisland, as modified, in order to advantageously improve cooling efficiency of a passenger (para. 0026).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gentner et al. (US 20230347712) teaches a vehicular HVAC system.
Sophus (US 20200173669) teaches a portable cooling system.
/DAVID J TEITELBAUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763