DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 25, 2004 was filed on October 9, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: grammar.
In line 1 of Claim 7, “dispensing and adhesive” should read “dispensing an adhesive”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Minamio (US 2007/0019101 A1, hereafter Minamio).
Regarding claim 1, Minamio discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Figs. 10A-E), comprising:
providing a photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 10A 10; [0036], [0084]);
mounting a lens (Fig. 10D 72; [0076], [0087]) onto the photonic semiconductor die (10);
disposing the photonic semiconductor (10) and lens (72) on a substrate (Fig. 12 85; [0099]) after mounting the lens (Fig. 12D 72) onto the photonic semiconductor die (10); and
depositing an encapsulant (Fig. 12 93; [0099]) over the substrate (85), lens (72), and photonic semiconductor die (10).
Regarding claim 7, Minamio discloses the method of claim 1, further including dispensing an adhesive (Fig. 12 83; [0099]) between the substrate (85) and photonic semiconductor die (10).
Regarding claim 8, Minamio discloses method of making a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 10A 10; [0036], [0084]);
disposing a lens (Fig. 10C 72; [0076], [0086]) over the photonic semiconductor die (10); and
disposing the photonic semiconductor (10) and lens (72) over a substrate (Fig. 12 85; [0099]) after disposing the lens (Fig. 12C 72) over the photonic semiconductor die (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi (US 2015/0171024 A1, hereafter Choi) and Takeda (US 2024/0290804 A1, hereafter Takeda).
Regarding claim 2¸ Minamio discloses the method of claim 1, further including singulating (Figs. 10C+D; [0086]-[0087]) the lens (72) prior to mounting the lens (Fig. 10C 72) onto the photonic semiconductor die (10).
Minamio fails to disclose singulating the photonic semiconductor die prior to mounting the lens onto the photonic semiconductor die.
Choi discloses singulating a semiconductor die (Figs. 3f+g 124; [0046]). Choi is analogous to Minamio in the field of semiconductor packaging.
Choi fails to disclose mounting the singulated lens onto the photonic semiconductor die.
Takeda discloses mounting the singulated lens (Fig. 7C 14; [0165], [0166]) onto the singulated photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 7C 11+12; [0048]; Fig. 7C implies semiconductor die has been singulated). Takeda is analogous to Minamio in the field of optical semiconductors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to singulate the semiconductor die and perform post-singulation processing, as disclosed by Choi ([0027]), of mounting the singulated lens to the singulated die, as disclosed by Takeda, to improve control over alignment between the lens and the die and improve bonding reliability between the lens and the die, as disclosed by Takeda ([0006]-[0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Minamio and Choi disclose the method of claim 1, further including:
forming a bond wire (Minamio Fig. 12 91; [0099]) from the photonic semiconductor die (12) to the substrate (101, connected to wires via Fig. 12 87) prior to depositing the encapsulant (Minamio Fig. 12 83; [0099]; wires 91 must be formed prior to sealing with resin 93); and
Minamio fails to disclose forming a solder bump on the substrate opposite the photonic semiconductor die.
Choi discloses forming a solder bump (Choi Fig. 4l 226; [0070]) on the substrate (Fig. 4a 170; [0047]) opposite the photonic semiconductor die (124) (Fig. 4l shows dies 124 are on opposite side of substrate 170 compared to bumps 226).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a post processing step of forming solder bumps on the substrate, as disclosed by Choi, to manufacture the desired device and allow further electrical connections to other devices.
8. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manack (US 2013/0221455 A1, hereafter Manack).
Regarding claim 3, Minamio discloses the method of claim 1.
Minamio fails to explicitly disclose transporting the photonic semiconductor die to a semiconductor packaging facility after mounting the lens and before disposing the photonic semiconductor die on the substrate.
Manack discloses transporting a semiconductor die (Figs. 3+4 101; [0033]-[0034]) to a semiconductor packaging facility ([0034] discloses transporting individual chips 101 for further processing steps) before disposing the semiconductor die on the substrate (Fig. 4; [0035] discloses mounting die 101 to substrate 401 after transport). Manack is analogous to Minamio in the field of semiconductor packaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to first transport the semiconductor die prior to disposing it on the substrate, as disclosed by Manack, to improve control over the manufacturing process disclosed by Minamio.
Regarding claim 4, Minamio and Manack disclose the method of claim 3, further including disposing the photonic semiconductor die (10) and lens (72) into a storage media prior to the transporting step (Manack [0034] discloses placing individual chips into a tape and reel media).
9. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son et al (US 2022/0115426 A1, hereafter Son).
Regarding claim 5, Minamio discloses the method of claim 1, further including forming an adhesive (Fig. 10B 26; [0085]) on the photonic semiconductor die (10) between the lens (72) and photonic semiconductor die (10).
Minamio fails to disclose forming an adhesive bead to seal a cavity and photonic semiconductor die.
Son discloses forming an adhesive bead (Fig. 1A 160; [0034], [0044]; glue adhesive has viscosity, implying it can be in form of a bead) to seal a cavity (Fig. 1A C; [0030]) between the lens (Fig. 1A 140; [0018]) and photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 1A 120; [0018]). Son is analogous to Minamio in semiconductor packaging.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive bead to seal a cavity, as disclosed by Son, instead of a resin, as disclosed by Minamio, to improve manufacturing speed.
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Choi and Takeda.
Regarding claim 9, Minamio discloses the method of claim 8, further including singulating (Figs. 10C+D; [0086]-[0087]) the lens (72) prior to disposing the lens (Fig. 10C 72) over the photonic semiconductor die (10).
Minamio fails to disclose singulating the photonic semiconductor die prior to disposing the lens over the photonic semiconductor die.
Choi discloses singulating a semiconductor die (Figs. 3f+g 124; [0046]).
Choi fails to disclose disposing the singulated lens onto the photonic semiconductor die.
Takeda discloses disposing the singulated lens (Fig. 7B 14; [0161], [0165]) onto the singulated photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 7B 11+12; [0048]; Fig. 7B implies semiconductor die has been singulated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to singulate the semiconductor die and perform post-singulation processing, as disclosed by Choi ([0027]), of disposing the singulated lens to the singulated die, as disclosed by Takeda, to improve control over alignment between the lens and the die.
11. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Manack.
Regarding claim 10, Minamio discloses the method of claim 8.
Minamio fails to explicitly disclose transporting the photonic semiconductor die to a semiconductor packaging facility after disposing the lens over the photonic semiconductor die and before disposing the photonic semiconductor die on the substrate.
Manack discloses transporting a semiconductor die (Figs. 3+4 101; [0033]-[0034]) to a semiconductor packaging facility ([0034] discloses transporting individual chips 101 for further processing steps) before disposing the semiconductor die on the substrate (Fig. 4; [0035] discloses mounting die 101 to substrate 401 after transport).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to first transport the semiconductor die prior to disposing it on the substrate, as disclosed by Manack, to improve control over the manufacturing process disclosed by Minamio.
Regarding claim 11, Minamio and Manack disclose the method of claim 10, further including disposing the photonic semiconductor die (10) and lens (72) into a storage media prior to the transporting step (Manack [0034] discloses placing individual chips into a tape and reel media).
12. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Son.
Regarding claim 12, Minamio discloses the method of claim 8, further including forming an adhesive (Fig. 10B 26; [0085]) on the photonic semiconductor die (10) between the lens (72) and photonic semiconductor die (10).
Minamio fails to disclose forming an adhesive bead to seal a cavity and photonic semiconductor die.
Son discloses forming an adhesive bead (Fig. 1A 160; [0034], [0044]; glue adhesive has viscosity, implying it can be in form of a bead) to seal a cavity (Fig. 1A C; [0030]) between the lens (Fig. 1A 140; [0018]) and photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 1A 120; [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive bead to seal a cavity, as disclosed by Son, instead of a resin, as disclosed by Minamio, to improve manufacturing speed.
13. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 13, Minamio discloses the method of claim 8, further including:
forming a bond wire (Fig. 12 91; [0099]) from the photonic semiconductor die (12) to the substrate (101, connected to wires via Fig. 12 87).
Minamio fails to disclose forming a solder bump on the substrate opposite the photonic semiconductor die.
Choi discloses forming a solder bump (Choi Fig. 4l 226; [0070]) on the substrate (Fig. 4a 170; [0047]) opposite the photonic semiconductor die (124) (Fig. 4l shows dies 124 are on opposite side of substrate 170 compared to bumps 226).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a post processing step of forming solder bumps on the substrate, as disclosed by Choi, to manufacture the desired device and allow further electrical connections to other devices.
Regarding claim 14, Minamio and Choi disclose the method of claim 13, further including depositing an encapsulant (Minamio Fig. 12 83; [0099]) over the substrate (101), photonic semiconductor die (10), lens (72), and bond wire (91).
14. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio in view Son.
Regarding claim 15, Minamio discloses a method of making a semiconductor device (Figs. 10A-E), comprising:
providing a photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 10A 10; [0036], [0084]);
disposing a lens (Fig. 10C 72; [0076], [0086]) over the photonic semiconductor die (10); and
dispensing an adhesive (Fig. 10B 26; [0085]) between the photonic semiconductor die (10) and lens (72).
Minamio fails to disclose dispensing a bead of adhesive to seal a cavity between the photonic semiconductor die and lens.
Son discloses dispensing an adhesive bead (Fig. 1A 160; [0034], [0044]; glue adhesive has viscosity, implying it can be in form of a bead) to seal a cavity (Fig. 1A C; [0030]) between the lens (Fig. 1A 140; [0018]) and photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 1A 120; [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an adhesive bead to seal a cavity, as disclosed by Son, instead of a resin, as disclosed by Minamio, to improve manufacturing speed.
15. Claim 16-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio and Son as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Manack.
Regarding claim 16, Minamio and Son disclose the method of claim 15.
Minamio and Son fail to disclose disposing the photonic semiconductor die and lens into a storage media.
Manack discloses disposing a semiconductor die (Figs. 3+4 101; [0033]-[0034]) into a storage media ([0034]) discloses placing individual chips into a tape and reel media).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to store the semiconductor chips in a storage media to allow for transportation to a specialized facility to improve control over the manufacturing process disclosed by Minamio
Regarding claim 17¸ Minamio, Son, and Manack disclose the method of claim 16, further including:
removing the photonic semiconductor die (Minamio 10; Manack 101) from the storage media (Manack Fig. 4; [0034]-[0035]; semiconductor chips undergo further processing, necessitating removal from storage media); and
disposing the photonic semiconductor (Minamio 10; Manack 101) die over a substrate (Minamio 101; Manack Fig. 4 401; [0035]).
Regarding claim 18, Minamio, Son, and Manack disclose the method of claim 17, further including:
forming a bond wire (Minamio Fig. 12 91; [0099]) from the photonic semiconductor die (12) to the substrate (101, connected to wires via Fig. 12 87).
Minamio fails to disclose forming a solder bump on the substrate opposite the photonic semiconductor die.
Son discloses forming a solder bump (Fig. 6I 180; [0092]) on the substrate (Fig. 6I 110; [0092]) opposite the semiconductor die (Fig. 6I 120; [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a post processing step of forming solder bumps on the substrate, as disclosed by Son, to manufacture the desired device and allow further electrical connections to other devices.
Regarding claim 19, Minamio, Son, and Manack disclose the method of claim 18, further including depositing an encapsulant (Fig. 12 93; [0099]) over the substrate (85), photonic semiconductor die (10), lens (72), and bond wire (93).
16. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamio and Son as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Takeda and Choi.
Regarding claim 20, Minamio and Son disclose the method of claim 15, further including singulating (Figs. 10C+D; [0086]-[0087]) the lens (72) prior to disposing the lens (Fig. 10C 72) over the photonic semiconductor die (10).
Minamio and Son fail to disclose singulating the photonic semiconductor die prior to disposing the lens over the photonic semiconductor die.
Choi discloses singulating a semiconductor die (Figs. 3f+g 124; [0046]). Choi is analogous to Minamio in the field of semiconductor packaging.
Choi fails to disclose mounting the singulated lens onto the photonic semiconductor die.
Takeda discloses mounting the singulated lens (Fig. 7C 14; [0165], [0166]) onto the singulated photonic semiconductor die (Fig. 7C 11+12; [0048]; Fig. 7C implies semiconductor die has been singulated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to singulate the semiconductor die and perform post-singulation processing, as disclosed by Choi ([0027]), of mounting the singulated lens to the singulated die, as disclosed by Takeda, to improve control over alignment between the lens and the die and improve bonding reliability between the lens and the die, as disclosed by Takeda ([0006]-[0008]).
Conclusion
17. The following art made of record and not relied upon is pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kinoshita et al (US 2026/0020362 A1) discloses singulating the lens prior to mounting to the semiconductor chip
Prabhu et al (US 6873024 B1) discloses forming a semiconductor package with a lens and semiconductor chip mounted on a substrate with a bond wire and encapsulant
Hagen et al (US 2004/0067603 A1) discloses sealing a cavity between the semiconductor chip and lens with an adhesive bead
/MICHAEL B SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892