Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(l) since the lines, numbers, and letters are not sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined as to give the drawings satisfactory reproduction characteristics.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because “disposed at” on line 3 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it is unclear what spatial relationship the applicant is attempting to set forth. How close to the rear facing end exterior surface does the auxiliary tail lap set have to be in order to be “disposed at” the corresponding rear facing end exterior surface of the pair of sidewalls?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitations such as “connects between” on line 6 of claim 14 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear what the applicant is attempting to set forth. Is the applicant attempting to set forth that the cable operatively connects the spindle to the tailgate?
Recitations such as “the closed position” on line 8 of claim 14 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear what element of the invention has the closed position to which the applicant is referring. Is the applicant referring to the closed position of the tailgate?
Recitations such as “the open position” on line 8 of claim 14 render the claims indefinite because it is unclear what element of the invention has the open position to which the applicant is referring. Is the applicant referring to the open position of the tailgate?
Recitations such as “the main frame is in the closed position” on line 2 of claim 16 render the claims indefinite because they lack antecedent basis. Note that the applicant has set forth that the tailgate has the closed position rather than the main frame.
Recitations such as “the main frame is in the open position” on line 7 of claim 16 render the claims indefinite because they lack antecedent basis. Note that the applicant has set forth that the tailgate has the open position rather than the main frame.
Double Patenting
Currently there are not double patenting rejections based on the following copending US applications:
18/926945
18/927041
18/926983
18/926904
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seifert (US 5449212). Seifert discloses a vehicle tailgate apparatus, comprising:
a tailgate 44 (fig. 1) configured to move between an open position, as shown in figure 1, and a closed position (not shown) at a rear end of a luggage compartment (not labeled but shown in figure 1) of a vehicle body 46; and
a drive mechanism 12 (fig. 2) configured to move the tailgate 44 between the open position and the closed position, wherein the drive mechanism 12 includes a spindle drive 14, 20 configured to be extended or retracted since the nut 20 extends and retracts along the length of the threaded spindle/screw 14, and a cable 26 that connects between the spindle drive 14, 20 and the tailgate 44.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. (US 6793264) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2014/0165469). Muller et al. discloses a vehicle tailgate apparatus, comprising:
a tailgate 5 (fig. 4) configured to move between an open position as shown in figure 4 and a closed position (not shown) at a rear end of a luggage compartment (labeled below) of a vehicle body 1; and
a drive mechanism 11 (fig. 4) configured to move the tailgate 5 from the open position to the closed position, wherein the drive mechanism 11 includes a drive 19 (fig. 2) configured to be extended or retracted, and a cable 13 (fig. 4) that connects between the drive mechanism 11 and the tailgate 5 (claim 1).
Muller et al. is silent concerning the drive mechanism being configured to move the tailgate between the open position and the closed position and the drive mechanism including a spindle drive configured to be extended or retracted.
However, Weingaertner et al. discloses a drive mechanism 3 (figs. 1 and 2) configured to move a tailgate 2 (fig. 1) between an open position and a closed position and the drive mechanism 3 including a spindle drive 13 configured to be extended or retracted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Muller et al. with a drive mechanism, as taught by Weingaertner et al., with a reasonable expectation of success to enable a user to automatically move the tailgate between open and closed positions.
With respect to claim 2, Muller et al. discloses that the vehicle tailgate apparatus is configured such that the drive mechanism 11 is extended in the closed position, and the drive mechanism 11 is retracted in the open position (claim 2);
With respect to claim 3, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that the spindle drive 13 includes a first spindle end portion 10 (fig. 2) disposed adjacent to the tailgate 5, and a second spindle end portion 9 (fig. 2) located farther from the tailgate 5 than the first spindle end portion 10, and wherein the vehicle tailgate apparatus is configured such that as the spindle drive 13 is extended, the second spindle end portion 9 of the spindle drive 13 moves toward a front of the vehicle body 1, and as the spindle drive 13 is retracted, the second spindle end portion 9 of the spindle drive moves toward a rear of the vehicle body 1.
With respect to claim 4, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that a first cable end portion (labeled below) of the cable 13 is connected to the tailgate 5, and wherein a second cable end portion (labeled below) of the cable 13 is connected to the second spindle end portion 9 of the spindle drive 13.
With respect to claim 10, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that the drive mechanism further 11 includes a guide pulley (labeled below) configured to guide a movement of the cable 13.
With respect to claim 11, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that the spindle drive 13 (fig. 2) comprises: a housing tube 11b, 19 (fig. 2); a moving tube 11a configured to move with respect to the housing tube 11b, 19; a motor 12 disposed in the housing tube 11b, 19; a spindle 15 configured to be rotated by the motor 12; and a spindle nut 16 meshing with the spindle 15, wherein the moving tube 11a is configured to move between a retracted position adjacent to the housing tube and an extended position away from the housing tube.
With respect to claim 12, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that the spindle drive further comprises a guide tube (labeled below) configured to guide a movement of the moving tube 11a.
With respect to claim 13, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that the spindle drive 13 further comprises a spring 1a (fig. 2) configured to bias the moving tube 11a toward the extended position.
Claims 5-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muller et al. in view of Weingaertner et al. as applied to claims 1-4 and 10-13 above, and further in view of Napoli (US 2018/0265140). Napoli discloses drive mechanism 22 (fig. 3) including a guide rail 45 configured to guide a movement of a second end portion (labeled below) of a linear drive 41, 42.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Muller et al., as modified above, with a guide rail, as taught by Napoli, with a reasonable expectation of success to support and guide the movement of the second spindle end portion 9 as the tailgate 5 is opened and closed and to prevent damage to the spindle drive 13.
With respect to claim 6, Muller et al., as modified above, further discloses that the drive mechanism further includes a rail block 46 connected to the second spindle end portion 9 of the spindle drive 13, wherein the rail block 46 is configured to slide along the guide rail 45.
With respect to claim 7, Muller et al., as modified above, further discloses that a second cable end portion (labeled below) of the cable is connected to the rail block 46.
With respect to claim 9, Muller et al., as modified above, discloses that the drive mechanism 11 further includes a stopper 37 (fig. 2) configured to limit a moving range of the rail block 46 as the rail block moves toward the rear of the vehicle body 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record, absent applicant’s own disclosure, fails to teach the entire combination of elements set forth in the claimed invention. Specifically, the prior art of record fails to teach the rail block including a slide groove into which the guide rail is slidably inserted, a connection projection to which the second spindle end portion of the spindle drive is connected, and a fixed pin to which the second cable end portion of the cable is connected. See lines 1-4 of claim 8.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record, absent applicant’s own disclosure, fails to teach the entire combination of elements set forth in the claimed invention. Specifically, the prior art of record fails to teach the combination of drive mechanism, a vehicle, and a tailgate which includes a main frame having a bottom portion, and a pair of side portions extending from both ends of the bottom portion, respectively, wherein at least part of the luggage compartment is defined by interior surfaces of a pair of sidewalls and a bed, wherein the pair of side portions of the main frame are aligned with corresponding outside surfaces of the pair of sidewalls, respectively, and wherein the bottom portion is aligned with the bed. See claim 14, lines 18-22.
Additionally, the prior art of record fails to teach the combination of drive mechanism, a vehicle, and a tailgate, wherein the tailgate includes a main frame having a bottom portion, and a pair of side portions extending from both ends of the bottom portion, respectively, wherein at least part of the luggage compartment is defined by interior surfaces of a pair of sidewalls and a bed, wherein the pair of side portions of the main frame are aligned with corresponding outside surfaces of the pair of sidewalls, respectively, and wherein the bottom portion is aligned with the bed. See claim 19, lines 18-23.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634