DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Gao 2023/0067321) in view of (Gao 2022/0404109) and in further view of (Tunks 20240040745).
Regarding Claim 1; Gao discloses a cooling system (as constituted by a data center liquid cooling system, rack liquid manifold, CDU, heat exchanger and/or cold plates —as set forth by para.’s 0028-0029) for a plurality of servers the cooling system comprising: a plurality of cold plates that are attached to corresponding processors of the plurality of servers (as constituted by liquid cooling components including cold plates mounted on electronic components i.e. servers—as set forth by para.’s 0016 and 0028, wherein a cold plate(s) 15 are mounted on a processor(s) defined by 14 of respective servers defined by 4—as depicted by Fig. 1); a coolant reservoir that contains an internal liquid coolant (a coolant reservoir --as constituted by a data center liquid cooling system or heat exchanger defining a coolant source—as set forth by para. 0029); and a coolant distribution manifold through which the internal liquid flows from the coolant reservoir to the plurality of cold plates (as constituted by the rack liquid manifold---2 which fluidly coupled liquid to/from the coolant source defining the reservoir and the cold plates—as depicted by Fig.’s 1 or 6), the coolant distribution manifold having a tapered chamber (whereas 2 further includes a leak segregation system-3 including leak segregation structure-9—as depicted by Fig.’s 1-2, and leak detection structure-10- having tapering portion-34—as further depicted by Fig.’s 1 and 3), a first liquid sensor (31-32) that monitors a presence of the internal liquid coolant in the tapered chamber (as set forth by para.’s 0018 and 0037—whereas the sensor detects leaked fluid a control signal is produced and transmitted to controller(s) to perform mitigation operations—as further set forth by para. 0058 and shutting down or powering down electronics effected by the leak—as set forth by para. 0016). Except, Gao does not explicitly disclose an air-relief valve that is connected to the tapered chamber, and the first liquid sensor that monitors the presence of the internal liquid is a liquid level sensor that monitors a level. However, Gao 109’ discloses a liquid level sensor that monitors a level (as constituted by a fluid sensor(s) 108 or 204—para.’s 0020 and 0023 detecting a fill portion in a container-104 which couples manifold-102—as depicted by Fig. 1-4), and thus discloses it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to since it was known in the art that specific fill level positions will indicate how much fluid has leaked so as to provide an enhanced determination of the time a system may reliably operate before repair to save time and cost.. Going further, Tunks discloses an air-relief valve that is connected to a chamber (whereas a check valve-208 is fluidly coupled to a chamber defined by 202 to vent air), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the tapered chamber with a check valve since it was known in the art that air may vent from the chamber to reduce or eliminate creating air bubbles in the liquid in the chamber and causing undesired pressure.
Regarding Claim 2; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 1, wherein leakage of the internal liquid coolant is detected based at least on the level of the internal liquid coolant in the tapered chamber triggering the first liquid level sensor (as already set forth).
Regarding Claim 3; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 1, wherein the coolant distribution manifold further comprises a second liquid level sensor that monitors the level of the internal liquid coolant in the tapered chamber, and leakage of the internal liquid coolant is detected based at least on the level of the internal liquid coolant in the tapered chamber triggering the first and second liquid level sensors (as already set forth).
Regarding Claim 4; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 3, wherein the triggering of the first and second liquid level sensors indicates a rate of decrease of the internal liquid coolant that exceeds a threshold rate indicative of coolant leakage (as already set forth).
Regarding Claim 5; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 1, wherein the tapered chamber forms a cone-shaped funnel (as depicted by Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 6; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 1, wherein the tapered chamber is in a level sensing section of the coolant distribution manifold (whereas the tapered chamber is disposed in a leak detection structure-10 at a bottom of the manifold within an internal portion of 10—as depicted by Fig. 3), and the level sensing section is connected to a main section of the coolant distribution manifold (whereas 10 is fluidly coupled to a bottom opening of leak segregation structures 41 of structure-9 and further 10 comes into contact with a with atleast a front surface of the manifold—as set forth by para. 0033; Note: a main section is not structurally defined).
Regarding Claim 8; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 6, wherein the level sensing section is connected to the main section by plumbing (as constituted by being fluidly coupled to bottom opening-45).
Regarding Claim 9; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 8, wherein the plumbing comprises a hose (as depicted by Fig. 4--whereas 10 is arranged to couple to the manifold and the segregation structures of the segregation system—as set forth by para. 0033, and wherein para. 0026 further discloses to couple denotes coupling tube(s)).
Regarding Claim 10; Gao discloses the already modified cooling system of claim 1, wherein the coolant distribution manifold is installed vertically in a rack that houses the plurality of servers (as depicted by Fig. 1), the tapered chamber is in a level sensing section of the coolant distribution manifold (whereas the tapered chamber is disposed in a leak detection structure-10 at a bottom of the manifold within an internal portion of 10—as depicted by Fig. 3), and the air-relief valve is disposed on top of the level sensing section (as constituted by the already modified construction).
Regarding Claims 11-15; the method steps are necessitated by the already modified structure of Gao 321’, Gao 109’ and Tunks.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note: allowable claim(s) are constructively elected in accordance with the complete claim construction.
Regarding Claim 7; cooling system of claim 6, wherein the level sensing section is threaded to the main section.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11602080 B1
Gao; Tianyi
Fig.’s 3A, 5B
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841