DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figs. 1-10, 13-24, 28-34, 44-48, 57-65, 75-97, 124-126, 134-137, 141-147, 151-158, and 160-165 are not black and white drawings using black ink (i.e., India ink, or its equivalent) that secure solid black lines, see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(a)(1). Furthermore, Figs. 35-38, 42, 49-51B, 69-74, 98-117, 119-123A, 127-128, 130-132, 138-140, and 148-150 contain photographs; however, photographs are not the only practicable medium to show the depicted elements, see 37 C.F.R. 1.84(b)(1).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
on page 48, lines 25-26, “[00445]” should be “[00446] and “flourosilicone” should be “fluorosilicone”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 5, 9, 12, 16-17, 19, and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,469 (cited by Applicant), hereinafter Herrera ‘469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding Claim 2, Herrera ‘469 teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see claim 1), the device comprising:
a tubular housing comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a length extending between the first and second ends, and an interior cavity, the tubular housing comprising a flexible material (see col. 38 ln. 5-8);
a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity and extending along a portion of the length of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 9-11);
one or more processors arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 12-13);
an antenna arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 14-17);
a battery arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 18-19);
a button arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board, the button configured to initiate activation of the device (see col. 38 ln. 20-22);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 23-24);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the tubular housing, the first endcap comprising a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 25-28);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 29-30);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity such that an interior cavity pressure of the device is greater than atmospheric pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the tubular housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 34-39); and
a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity and positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board, the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (see col. 38 ln. 40-51).
Regarding Claim 5, Herrera ‘469 claim 1 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), further comprising a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate the end of the circuit board and a portion of the first section of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 31-33).
Regarding Claim 9, Herrera ‘469 teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see claim 1), the device comprising:
a housing comprising a first end, a second end, and an interior cavity, the housing comprising a flexible material (see col. 38 ln. 5-8);
a circuit board; an antenna in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 9-11);
a battery in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 18-19);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 23-24);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 25-28);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 29-30);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity such that an interior cavity pressure of the device is greater than atmospheric pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 34-39); and
a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity and configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (see col. 38 ln. 40-51).
Regarding Claim 12, Herrera ‘469 claim 1 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), further comprising a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 31-33).
Regarding Claim 16, Herrera ‘469 claim 1 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 25-28), and wherein the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 40-51).
Regarding Claim 17, Herrera ‘469 teaches a device (see claim 1) comprising:
a housing comprising a first end, a second end, and an interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 5-8);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 25-28);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 25-28);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 29-30);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity such that an interior cavity pressure of the device is greater than atmospheric pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 34-39); and
a sealing member arranged within the interior cavity, the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (see col. 38 ln. 40-51).
Regarding Claim 19, Herrera ‘469 claim 1 teaches the device of claim 17 (see above claim 17 mapping), further comprising:
a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 9-11) and in electrical communication with the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 25-28); and
a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 31-33).
Regarding Claim 21, Herrera ‘469 claim 1 teaches the device of claim 19 (see above claim 19 mapping), wherein the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 25-28), and wherein the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 40-51).
Claims 3-4 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,469 (cited by Applicant), hereinafter Herrera ‘469.
Regarding Claims 3-4 and 6-8, Herrera ‘469 claims 2-6 correspond to and teach each element of pending claims 3-4 and 6-8, respectively. Note that as claim 1 of Herrera ‘469 teaches the pending claims 2 and 5; therefore, these are new rejections for each dependent claim, and not an obvious combination for each claim.
Claims 10-11 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,469 (cited by Applicant), hereinafter Herrera ‘469.
Regarding Claims 10-11 and 13-15, Herrera ‘469 claims 2-6 correspond to and teach each element of pending claims 10-11 and 13-15, respectively. Note that as claim 1 of Herrera ‘469 teaches the pending claims 9 and 12; therefore, these are new rejections for each dependent claim, and not an obvious combination for each claim.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,469 (cited by Applicant), hereinafter Herrera ‘469.
Regarding Claims 18 and 20, Herrera ‘469 claims 3 and 5 correspond to and teach each element of pending claims 18 and 20, respectively. Note that as claim 1 of Herrera ‘469 teaches the pending claims 17 and 19; therefore, these are new rejections for each dependent claim, and not an obvious combination for each claim.
Claims 9-10, 12, 15, 17, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023 (cited by Applicant), hereinafter Herrera ‘023, in view of Kirkpatrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0032295 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kirkpatrick.
Regarding Claim 9, Herrera ‘023 teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see claim 1), the device comprising:
a housing comprising a first end, a second end, and an interior cavity, the housing comprising a flexible material (see col. 37 ln. 58-61);
a circuit board (see col. 37 ln. 62-65);
an antenna in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 3-6);
a battery in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 7-9);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 37 ln. 66-67);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 28-29);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 26-27);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity such that an interior cavity pressure of the device is greater than atmospheric pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 37-41); and
a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 35-36 and 42-45; and claim 6).
Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the sealing member is configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the septum of the Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the circuit board is flexible (see col. 37 ln. 62).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), further comprising a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 23-25 and ln. 35-36, the spacer is positioned between the circuit board and the second endcap (i.e., the present application first endcap) via the septum, the spacer only needs to be proximate to the circuit board).
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the body cavity is a bladder of the subject, and wherein the device is configured to be inserted through a urethra of the subject and into the subject's bladder (see col. 37 ln. 53-56).
Regarding Claim 17, Herrera ‘023 teaches a device (see claim 1) comprising:
a housing comprising a first end, a second end, and an interior cavity (see col. 37 ln. 58-61);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 37 ln. 66-67);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 28-29);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 26-27);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity such that an interior cavity pressure of the device is greater than atmospheric pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 37-41); and
a sealing member arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 35-36 and 42-45).
Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the sealing member is configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the septum of the Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
Regarding Claim 19, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 17 (see above claim 17 mapping), further comprising:
a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 37 ln. 62-65) and in electrical communication with the pressure sensor (see col. 37 ln. 66-67);
a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 23-25 and ln. 35-36, the spacer is positioned between the circuit board and the second endcap (i.e., the present application first endcap) via the septum, the spacer only needs to be proximate to the circuit board).
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Herrera ‘023 claim 7.
Regarding Claim 13, Herrera ‘023 claim 7 corresponds to and teaches each element of pending claim 13, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 with Herrera ‘023 claim 7.
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Takei et al. (Japanese Patent Document JP H07120336A – cited by Applicant, citing to translation from Espacenet in parent application 18/738,946), hereinafter Takei.
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Regarding Claim 18, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 17 (see above claim 17 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Claims 2-3, 5, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Kirkpatrick, and further in view of Sawada (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0156383 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Sawada.
Regarding Claim 2, Herrera ‘023 teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see claim 1), the device comprising:
a tubular housing comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a length extending between the first and second ends, and an interior cavity, the tubular housing comprising a flexible material (see col. 37 ln. 58-61);
a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity and extending along a portion of the length of the tubular housing (see col. 37 ln. 62-65);
one or more processors arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 1-2);
an antenna arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 3-6);
a battery arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 7-9);
a button arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board, the button configured to initiate activation of the device (see col. 38 ln. 10-13);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 37 ln. 66-67);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 28-29);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 26-27);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity such that an interior cavity pressure of the device is greater than atmospheric pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the tubular housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 37-41); and
a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 35-36 and 42-45; and claim 6),
the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity and positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 35-36, the septum positioned proximate the portion of the second endcap (i.e., the pending claim first endcap) and the circuit board via the spacer, the sealing member only needs to be proximate to the portion of the first endcap).
Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity.
Sawada teaches a catheter that includes a measurement probe (see abstract and Fig. 1). Sawada teaches that bladder indwelling catheter 15 may comprise a distal end member 159 that seals a distal end of the urine passage 156 (see ¶[0136]-[038]; Fig. 2). Sawada teaches the distal end member 159 comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity (“A”, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (“B”, see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the structure of the distal end member 159 of Sawada as the structure of the end caps (i.e., the first endcap and the second endcap) of Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the utilization of endcaps, and Sawada teaches one such specific endcap structure implement.
The modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the sealing member is configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the septum of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), wherein the circuit board is flexible (see col. 37 ln. 62).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), further comprising a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate the end of the circuit board and a portion of the first section of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 23-25 and ln. 35-36, the spacer is positioned between the circuit board and the second endcap (i.e., the present application first endcap) via the septum, the spacer only needs to be proximate to the circuit board).
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), wherein the body cavity is a bladder of the subject, and wherein the device is configured to be inserted through a urethra of the subject and into the subject's bladder (see col. 37 ln. 53-56).
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Sawada and Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Herrera ‘023 claim 7.
Regarding Claim 6, Herrera ‘023 claim 7 corresponds to and teaches each element of pending claim 6, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 with Herrera ‘023 claim 7.
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Kalt et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0199816 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kalt.
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 12 (see above claim 12 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach how the spacer is implemented.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 with the reservoir lumen 208 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body arranged within the interior cavity), in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 20, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 19 (see above claim 19 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach how the spacer is implemented.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 with the reservoir lumen 208 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body arranged within the interior cavity), in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board.
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Sawada.
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 35-36, the septum positioned proximate the portion of the second endcap (i.e., the pending claim first endcap) and the circuit board via the spacer, the sealing member only needs to be proximate to the portion of the first endcap).
The modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity.
Sawada teaches a catheter that includes a measurement probe (see abstract and Fig. 1). Sawada teaches that bladder indwelling catheter 15 may comprise a distal end member 159 that seals a distal end of the urine passage 156 (see ¶[0136]-[038]; Fig. 2). Sawada teaches the distal end member 159 comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity (“A”, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (“B”, see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the structure of the distal end member 159 of Sawada as the structure of the end caps (i.e., the first endcap and the second endcap) of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the utilization of endcaps, and Sawada teaches one such specific endcap structure implement.
Regarding Claim 21, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 19 (see above claim 19 mapping), wherein the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 35-36, the septum positioned proximate the portion of the second endcap (i.e., the pending claim first endcap) and the circuit board via the spacer, the sealing member only needs to be proximate to the portion of the first endcap).
The modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity.
Sawada teaches a catheter that includes a measurement probe (see abstract and Fig. 1). Sawada teaches that bladder indwelling catheter 15 may comprise a distal end member 159 that seals a distal end of the urine passage 156 (see ¶[0136]-[038]; Fig. 2). Sawada teaches the distal end member 159 comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity (“A”, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (“B”, see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the structure of the distal end member 159 of Sawada as the structure of the end caps (i.e., the first endcap and the second endcap) of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the utilization of endcaps, and Sawada teaches one such specific endcap structure implement.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Sawada and Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Takei.
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,036,023, in view of Sawada and Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Kalt.
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 teaches the device of claim 5 (see above claim 5 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 does not specifically teach how the spacer is implemented.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 with the reservoir lumen 208 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body arranged within the interior cavity), in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘023 claim 6 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board.
Claims 2-3, 5-10, 12-17, and 19-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,084 (cited by Applicant), hereinafter Herrera ‘084, in view of Kalt et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0199816 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kalt, and in view of Kirkpatrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0032295 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kirkpatrick.
Regarding Claim 2, Herrera ‘084 teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see claim 1), the device comprising:
a tubular housing comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end, a length extending between the first and second ends, and an interior cavity, the tubular housing comprising a flexible material (see col. 38 ln. 8-11);
a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity and extending along a portion of the length of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 12-14);
one or more processors arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 15-16);
an antenna arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 17-20);
a battery arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 21-22);
a button arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board, the button configured to initiate activation of the device (see col. 38 ln. 23-26);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 27-28);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 37-38), the first endcap comprising a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (see claim 5);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the tubular housing (see col. 38 ln. 39-40);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity at an interior cavity pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the tubular housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 46-49).
Herrera ‘084 is silent regarding a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity and positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body) with the reservoir lumen 208, in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the end plugs of Kalt with the device of Herrera ‘084 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the end caps would help to secure the non-compressible fluid within the sensing device so that it does not enter the bladder of the patient and keep liquid from the patient’s bladder entering the sensing device (which would keep the electronics free from contamination). As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Herrera ‘084. Furthermore, as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube, the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board.
The modified Herrera ‘084 is silent regarding the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the sealing member of the modified Herrera ‘084 because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
The modified Herrera ‘084 teaches the non-compressible fluid sealed within the interior cavity, which would necessarily have an interior cavity pressure, but not specifically what the interior cavity pressure is. As the pressure from the exterior is transmitted to the interior pressure sensor, the pressure would necessarily affect the pressure in the interior cavity. The modified device of Herrera ‘084 is designed for usage within the bladder (see col. 38 ln. 5-7) similar to the present application (see specification ¶[0003]). As the pressure in the bladder is greater than atmospheric pressure (i.e., the bladder must have a positive pressure relative to the atmosphere to enable normal bodily functions), the interior cavity pressure when the device is utilized in the bladder as designed would be greater than atmospheric pressure. As the claim is a device claim merely requiring the interior cavity pressure be greater than atmospheric, and no timing or usage requirement is stipulated, the modified Herrera ‘084 teaches the pressure requirement of the present claim as recited.
Regarding Claim 3, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), wherein the circuit board is flexible (see col. 38 ln. 12-14).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), further comprising a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate the end of the circuit board and a portion of the first section of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 41-45, the spacer is positioned between the circuit board via the received spine and the first endcap).
Regarding Claim 6, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 5 (see above claim 5 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach the spacer material.
Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is a plastic).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]); and/or (3) the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘082 claim 5 requires a material and Kalt teaches one such material.
Regarding Claim 7, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 5 (see above claim 5 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach how the spacer is implemented.
Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 8, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping), wherein the body cavity is a bladder of the subject, and wherein the device is configured to be inserted through a urethra of the subject and into the subject's bladder (see col. 38 ln. 5-7, the device is configured to be inserted into the bladder, which would necessarily be via the urethra).
Regarding Claim 9, Herrera ‘084 teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see claim 1), the device comprising:
a housing comprising a first end, a second end, and an interior cavity, the housing comprising a flexible material (see col. 38 ln. 8-11);
a circuit board; an antenna in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 12-14);
a battery in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 21-22);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (see col. 38 ln. 27-28);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 37-38);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 39-40);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity at an interior cavity pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 46-49).
Herrera ‘084 is silent regarding a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body) with the reservoir lumen 208, in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the end plugs of Kalt with the device of Herrera ‘084 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the end caps would help to secure the non-compressible fluid within the sensing device so that it does not enter the bladder of the patient and keep liquid from the patient’s bladder entering the sensing device (which would keep the electronics free from contamination). As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Herrera ‘084. Furthermore, as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube, the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board.
The modified Herrera ‘084 is silent regarding the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the sealing member of the modified Herrera ‘084 because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
The modified Herrera ‘084 teaches the non-compressible fluid sealed within the interior cavity, which would necessarily have an interior cavity pressure, but not specifically what the interior cavity pressure is. As the pressure from the exterior is transmitted to the interior pressure sensor, the pressure would necessarily affect the pressure in the interior cavity. The modified device of Herrera ‘084 is designed for usage within the bladder (see col. 38 ln. 5-7) similar to the present application (see specification ¶[0003]). As the pressure in the bladder is greater than atmospheric pressure (i.e., the bladder must have a positive pressure relative to the atmosphere to enable normal bodily functions), the interior cavity pressure when the device is utilized in the bladder as designed would be greater than atmospheric pressure. As the claim is a device claim merely requiring the interior cavity pressure be greater than atmospheric, and no timing or usage requirement is stipulated, the modified Herrera ‘084 teaches the pressure requirement of the present claim as recited.
Regarding Claim 10, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the circuit board is flexible (see col. 38 ln. 12-14).
Regarding Claim 12, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), further comprising a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 41-45, the spacer is positioned between the circuit board via the received spine and the first endcap).
Regarding Claim 13, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 12 (see above claim 12 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach the spacer material.
Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is a plastic).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]); and/or (3) the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘082 claim 5 requires a material and Kalt teaches one such material.
Regarding Claim 14, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 12 (see above claim 12 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach how the spacer is implemented.
Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 15, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the body cavity is a bladder of the subject, and wherein the device is configured to be inserted through a urethra of the subject and into the subject's bladder (see col. 38 ln. 5-7, the device is configured to be inserted into the bladder, which would necessarily be via the urethra).
Regarding Claim 16, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping), wherein the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (see claim 5), and wherein the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Herrera ‘084; as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube, the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board).
Regarding Claim 17, Herrera ‘469 teaches a device (see claim 1) comprising:
a housing comprising a first end, a second end, and an interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 8-11);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 27-28);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 37-38);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (see col. 38 ln. 39-40);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity at an interior cavity pressure, the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 46-49).
Herrera ‘084 is silent regarding a sealing member arranged within the interior cavity.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 (i.e., a sealing member) with the reservoir lumen 208, in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the end plugs of Kalt with the device of Herrera ‘084 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the end caps would help to secure the non-compressible fluid within the sensing device so that it does not enter the bladder of the patient and keep liquid from the patient’s bladder entering the sensing device (which would keep the electronics free from contamination). As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Herrera ‘084. Furthermore, as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube, the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board.
The modified Herrera ‘084 is silent regarding the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the sealing member of the modified Herrera ‘084 because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
The modified Herrera ‘084 teaches the non-compressible fluid sealed within the interior cavity, which would necessarily have an interior cavity pressure, but not specifically what the interior cavity pressure is. As the pressure from the exterior is transmitted to the interior pressure sensor, the pressure would necessarily affect the pressure in the interior cavity. The modified device of Herrera ‘084 is designed for usage within the bladder (see col. 38 ln. 5-7) similar to the present application (see specification ¶[0003]). As the pressure in the bladder is greater than atmospheric pressure (i.e., the bladder must have a positive pressure relative to the atmosphere to enable normal bodily functions), the interior cavity pressure when the device is utilized in the bladder as designed would be greater than atmospheric pressure. As the claim is a device claim merely requiring the interior cavity pressure be greater than atmospheric, and no timing or usage requirement is stipulated, the modified Herrera ‘084 teaches the pressure requirement of the present claim as recited.
Regarding Claim 19, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 17 (see above claim 17 mapping), further comprising: a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity (see col. 38 ln. 12-14) and in electrical communication with the pressure sensor (see col. 38 ln. 27-28); and
a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see col. 38 ln. 41-45).
Regarding Claim 20, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 19 (see above claim 19 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach how the spacer is implemented.
Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136], the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt as the spacer of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 21, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 19 (see above claim 19 mapping), wherein the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (see claim 5), and wherein the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Herrera ‘084; as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube, the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board).
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,186,084 in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick as stated above, and further in view of Takei et al. (Japanese Patent Document JP H07120336A – cited by Applicant, citing to translation from Espacenet in parent application 18/738,946), hereinafter Takei.
Regarding Claim 4, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 2 (see above claim 2 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Regarding Claim 11, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 9 (see above claim 9 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Regarding Claim 18, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 teaches the device of claim 17 (see above claim 17 mapping); however, the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Herrera ‘084 claim 5 because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10, 12-15, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damaser et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0196203 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Damaser, and in view of Kalt et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0199816 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kalt, and in view of Kirkpatrick et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0032295 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Kirkpatrick.
Regarding Claim 9, Damaser teaches a sensing device configured to collect pressure data from within the patient’s bladder (see abstract; Figs. 2 and 4). Damaser teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject (see abstract and ¶[0005]-[0007]; Fig. 2),
the device comprising:
a housing (¶[0030]-[0031] the outer housing 12; Figs. 2 and 4) comprising a first end (¶[0030] the end of the outer housing 12 near the end portion 14a; Figs. 2 and 4), a second end (¶[0030] the end of the outer housing 12 near the end portion 14b; Figs. 2 and 4), and an interior cavity (¶[0031] the outer housing 12 may be filled with a non-compressible fluid 22; Figs. 2 and 4), the housing comprising a flexible material (¶[0030] the outer housing 12 is constructed of a flexible material; Figs. 2, 4, and 5);
a circuit board (¶[0032] the flexible printed circuit board (PCB) 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
an antenna in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0032] the wireless transmitter 27 included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
a battery (¶[0033] the battery 28; Figs. 2 and 4) in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0033] the battery 28 can be electrically coupled to the PCB 24);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0032] the pressure sensor 25 included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the tubular housing (¶[0030] the end portion 14a; Figs. 2 and 4);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the tubular housing (¶[0030] the end portion 14b; Figs. 2 and 4);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity (¶[0031]-[0032] the non-compressible fluid 22) at an interior cavity pressure (it is inherent that there is a pressure in the interior cavity), the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (¶[0035] the non-compressible fluid allows pressure received from the outer housing 12 to be sensed by the pressure sensor 25).
Damaser is silent regarding a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 with the reservoir lumen 208 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body arranged within the interior cavity), in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the end plugs of Kalt with the device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the end caps would help to secure the non-compressible fluid within the sensing device so that it does not enter the bladder of the patient and keep liquid from the patient’s bladder entering the sensing device (which would keep the electronics free from contamination). As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing.
The modified Damaser is silent regarding the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the sealing member of the modified Damaser because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
The modified Damaser teaches the non-compressible fluid sealed within the interior cavity, which would necessarily have an interior cavity pressure, but not specifically what the interior cavity pressure is. As the pressure from the exterior is transmitted to the interior pressure sensor, the pressure would necessarily affect the pressure in the interior cavity. The modified device of Damaser is designed for usage within the bladder (see Damaser abstract and ¶[0005]-[0007]) similar to the present application (see specification ¶[0003]). As the pressure in the bladder is greater than atmospheric pressure (i.e., the bladder must have a positive pressure relative to the atmosphere to enable normal bodily functions), the interior cavity pressure when the device is utilized in the bladder as designed would be greater than atmospheric pressure. As the claim is a device claim merely requiring the interior cavity pressure be greater than atmospheric, and no timing or usage requirement is stipulated, the modified Damaser teaches the pressure requirement of the present claim as recited.
Regarding Claim 10, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 9 as stated above. Damaser further teaches the circuit board is flexible (¶[0032] the flexible printed circuit board (PCB) 24; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 9 as stated above. The modified Damaser further teaches a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum). As the sealing member lies between an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap, the sealing member would also meet the limitations for the spacer arranged within the interior cavity between an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap.
Alternatively and/or additionally, Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt with the device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board. As the material filling (spacer) would surround both ends of the circuit board, it would be between the first endcap and the circuit board in the tubular housing.
Regarding Claim 13, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 12 as stated above. The modified Damaser (in which the filling material is being interpreted as the spacer) further teaches the spacer comprises plastic (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136] the filling material may be a polymer).
Regarding Claim 14, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 12 as stated above. The modified Damaser further teaches the sealing member is incorporated into a portion of the spacer (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum). As the sealing member is also being interpreted as the spacer, the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer.
Alternatively and/or additionally, the modified Damaser also teaches (in which the filling material is being interpreted as the spacer) the sealing member is incorporated into a portion of the spacer (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136] the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Regarding Claim 15, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 9 as stated above. Damaser further teaches the body cavity is a bladder of the subject, and wherein the device is configured to be inserted through a urethra of the subject and into the subject’s bladder (abstract and ¶[0039]-[0040] the sensing device 10 can have a straight shape when being delivered via the catheter to the subject’s bladder; Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 17, Damaser teaches a sensing device configured to collect pressure data from within the patient’s bladder (see abstract; Figs. 2 and 4). Damaser teaches a device (see abstract; Fig. 2) comprising:
a housing (¶[0030]-[0031] the outer housing 12; Figs. 2 and 4) comprising a first end (¶[0030] the end of the outer housing 12 near the end portion 14a; Figs. 2 and 4), a second end (¶[0030] the end of the outer housing 12 near the end portion 14b; Figs. 2 and 4), and an interior cavity (¶[0031] the outer housing 12 may be filled with a non-compressible fluid 22; Figs. 2 and 4);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity (¶[0032] the pressure sensor 25 included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the housing (¶[0030] the end portion 14a; Figs. 2 and 4);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the housing (¶[0030] the end portion 14b; Figs. 2 and 4);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity (¶[0031]-[0032] the non-compressible fluid 22) at an interior cavity pressure (it is inherent that there is a pressure in the interior cavity), the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the housing to the pressure sensor (¶[0035] the non-compressible fluid allows pressure received from the outer housing 12 to be sensed by the pressure sensor 25).
Damaser is silent regarding a sealing member arranged within the interior cavity.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 with the reservoir lumen 208 (i.e., a sealing member arranged within the interior cavity), in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the end plugs of Kalt with the device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the end caps would help to secure the non-compressible fluid within the sensing device so that it does not enter the bladder of the patient and keep liquid from the patient’s bladder entering the sensing device (which would keep the electronics free from contamination). As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing.
The modified Damaser is silent regarding the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the sealing member of the modified Damaser because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
The modified Damaser teaches the non-compressible fluid sealed within the interior cavity, which would necessarily have an interior cavity pressure, but not specifically what the interior cavity pressure is. As the pressure from the exterior is transmitted to the interior pressure sensor, the pressure would necessarily affect the pressure in the interior cavity. The modified device of Damaser is designed for usage within the bladder (see Damaser abstract and ¶[0005]-[0007]) similar to the present application (see specification ¶[0003]). As the pressure in the bladder is greater than atmospheric pressure (i.e., the bladder must have a positive pressure relative to the atmosphere to enable normal bodily functions), the interior cavity pressure when the device is utilized in the bladder as designed would be greater than atmospheric pressure. As the claim is a device claim merely requiring the interior cavity pressure be greater than atmospheric, and no timing or usage requirement is stipulated, the modified Damaser teaches the pressure requirement of the present claim as recited.
Regarding Claim 19, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 17 as stated above. The modified Damaser further teaches a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity (see Damaser ¶[0032] the flexible printed circuit board (PCB) 24; Figs. 2 and 4) and in electrical communication with the pressure sensor (see Damaser ¶[0032] the pressure sensor 25 is included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4); and
a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum). As the sealing member lies between an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap, the sealing member would also meet the limitations for the spacer arranged within the interior cavity between an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first endcap.
Alternatively and/or additionally, Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt with the device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board. As the material filling (spacer) would surround both ends of the circuit board, it would be between the first endcap and the circuit board in the tubular housing.
Regarding Claim 20, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 19 as stated above. The modified Damaser further teaches the sealing member is incorporated into a portion of the spacer (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum). As the sealing member is also being interpreted as the spacer, the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer.
Alternatively and/or additionally, the modified Damaser also teaches (in which the filling material is being interpreted as the spacer) the sealing member is incorporated into a portion of the spacer (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136] the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damaser in view of and Kirkpatrick as applied to claims 9 and 17 above, respectively, and in view of Takei et al. (Japanese Patent Document JP H07120336A – cited by Applicant, citing to translation from Espacenet in parent application 18/738,946), hereinafter Takei.
Regarding Claim 11, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 9 as stated above. Damaser teaches the fluid within the interior cavity (¶[0031]-[0032] the non-compressible fluid 22); however, the modified Damaser does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Regarding Claim 18, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 17 as stated above. Damaser teaches the fluid within the interior cavity (¶[0031]-[0032] the non-compressible fluid 22); however, the modified Damaser does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Claims 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick as applied to claims 9 and 17 above, respectively, and in view of Sawada (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0156383 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Sawada.
Regarding Claim 16, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 9 as stated above. The modified Damaser teaches that the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum).
The endcap of Damaser is depicted as going outside of the interior cavity (see Figs. 1-3); however, the modified Damaser does not specifically teach that the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity.
Sawada teaches a catheter that includes a measurement probe (see abstract and Fig. 1). Sawada teaches that bladder indwelling catheter 15 may comprise a distal end member 159 that seals a distal end of the urine passage 156 (see ¶[0136]-[038]; Fig. 2). Sawada teaches the distal end member 159 comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity (“A”, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (“B”, see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the structure of the distal end member 159 of Sawada as the structure of the end portions 14a/14b (the first endcap and the second endcap) of the modified Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Damaser teaches the utilization of endcaps that comprise a semi-circular form (see ¶[0030] and Fig. 1-3), and Sawada teaches one such specific endcap structure. As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Damaser. Furthermore, as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube (see Damaser Figs. 2 and 4), the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board.
Regarding Claim 21, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 19 as stated above. The modified Damaser teaches that the sealing member is positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum).
The endcap of Damaser is depicted as going outside of the interior cavity (see Figs. 1-3); however, the modified Damaser does not specifically teach that the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity.
Sawada teaches a catheter that includes a measurement probe (see abstract and Fig. 1). Sawada teaches that bladder indwelling catheter 15 may comprise a distal end member 159 that seals a distal end of the urine passage 156 (see ¶[0136]-[038]; Fig. 2). Sawada teaches the distal end member 159 comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity (“A”, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (“B”, see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the structure of the distal end member 159 of Sawada as the structure of the end portions 14a/14b (the first endcap and the second endcap) of the modified Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Damaser teaches the utilization of endcaps that comprise a semi-circular form (see ¶[0030] and Fig. 1-3), and Sawada teaches one such specific endcap structure. As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Damaser. Furthermore, as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube (see Damaser Figs. 2 and 4), the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board.
Claims 2-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damaser, in view of Sawada, Kalt, and Kirkpatrick, and in view of Leary et al. (WIPO Publication WO 99/64099 – cited by applicant), hereinafter Leary, and further in view of Germain et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0303551 – cited by applicant), hereinafter Germain.
Regarding Claim 2, Damaser teaches a sensing device configured to collect pressure data from within the patient’s bladder (see abstract; Figs. 2 and 4). Damaser teaches a device configured to be inserted into a body cavity of a subject, (see abstract and ¶[0005]-[0007]; Fig. 2),
the device comprising:
a tubular housing (¶[0030]-[0031] the outer housing 12; Figs. 2 and 4) comprising a first end (¶[0030] the end of the outer housing 12 near the end portion 14a; Figs. 2 and 4), a second end opposite the first end (¶[0030] the end of the outer housing 12 near the end portion 14b; Figs. 2 and 4), a length extending between the first and second ends (¶[0030] the outer housing 12 is elongated; Figs. 2 and 4), and an interior cavity (¶[0031] the outer housing 12 may be filled with a non-compressible fluid 22; Figs. 2 and 4), the tubular housing comprising a flexible material (¶[0030] the outer housing 12 is constructed of a flexible material; Figs. 2, 4, and 5);
a circuit board arranged within the interior cavity and extending along a portion of the length of the tubular housing (¶[0032] the flexible printed circuit board (PCB) 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
one or more processors arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0032] the microcontroller 26 included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
an antenna arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0032] the wireless transmitter 27 included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
a battery arranged within the interior cavity (¶[0033] the battery 28; Figs. 2 and 4) and in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0033] the battery 28 can be electrically coupled to the PCB 24);
a pressure sensor arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board (¶[0032] the pressure sensor 25 included on the flexible PCB 24; Figs. 2 and 4);
a first endcap connected to the first end of the tubular housing (¶[0030] the end portion 14a; Figs. 2 and 4);
a second endcap connected to the second end of the tubular housing (¶[0030] the end portion 14b; Figs. 2 and 4);
a fluid disposed within the interior cavity (¶[0031]-[0032] the non-compressible fluid 22) at an interior cavity pressure (it is inherent that there is a pressure in the interior cavity), the fluid configured to transmit pressure that is applied to the tubular housing from inside the subject’s body cavity to the pressure sensor (¶[0035] the non-compressible fluid allows pressure received from the outer housing 12 to be sensed by the pressure sensor 25).
The endcap of Damaser is depicted as going outside of the interior cavity (see Figs. 1-3); however, the modified Damaser does not specifically teach that the first endcap comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity.
Sawada teaches a catheter that includes a measurement probe (see abstract and Fig. 1). Sawada teaches that bladder indwelling catheter 15 may comprise a distal end member 159 that seals a distal end of the urine passage 156 (see ¶[0136]-[038]; Fig. 2). Sawada teaches the distal end member 159 comprises a first section arranged within the interior cavity (“A”, see annotated Fig. 2 below) and a second section arranged outside of the interior cavity (“B”, see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the structure of the distal end member 159 of Sawada as the structure of the end portions 14a/14b (the first endcap and the second endcap) of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) Damaser teaches the utilization of endcaps that comprise a semi-circular form (see ¶[0030] and Fig. 1-3), and Sawada teaches one such specific endcap structure.
The modified Damaser is silent regarding a sealing member comprising a body comprising rubber, the sealing member arranged within the interior cavity and positioned proximate the first section of the first endcap and an end of the circuit board.
Kalt teaches of a urodynamic assessment system including an intravesical device with a sensor configured to be retained in the bladder (see abstract). Kalt teaches a reservoir portion 202 with sensors 254 within, and a retention frame portion 204 (see ¶[0030]-[0031] and ¶[0037]; Figs. 2A-2D), in which the retention frame lumen 210 surrounds the retention frame 214, and the retention frame lumen 210 may be shorter than the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0030]-[0032]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 is attached to the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0030]); and that the retention frame 214 is configured to return to the retention shape once inside the bladder to retain the device inside the patient’s bladder (see ¶[0046], see incorporated reference US 2010/0331770 ¶[0050]-[0051] and ¶[0123]; Fig. 9). Kalt teaches that the retention frame portion 204 may be positioned within the reservoir portion 202 (see ¶[0031]). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 has a first end proximate the battery 260, and another end opposite the first end (¶[0038]; see Figs. 2B and 2D the end of the retention frame 214 proximal the battery, and the opposite end). Kalt teaches that the retention frame 214 may comprise an elastic wire such as nitinol or other springlike material, including stainless steel (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2009/0149833 ¶[0012], [0061], [0065], [0112]). Kalt further teaches the use of end plugs 220 (i.e., a sealing member comprising a body) with the reservoir lumen 208, in which multiple plugs may be utilized at each entry/exit, inside the reservoir lumen 208 (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D). Kalt teaches that the end plugs may be made with silicone, which is a type of rubber (see ¶[0034]; Figs. 2A-2D).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the end plugs of Kalt with the modified device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the end caps would help to secure the non-compressible fluid within the sensing device so that it does not enter the bladder of the patient and keep liquid from the patient’s bladder entering the sensing device (which would keep the electronics free from contamination). As seen in Kalt Fig. 2B, the end plugs 220 are inside the tubular housing, therefore, the end plug (sealing member) would be inside the tubular housing adjacent the first section of the first endcap of the modified Damaser. Furthermore, as the flexible PCB is in the middle of the tube (see Damaser Figs. 2 and 4), the end plug (sealing member) would have to be in between the first portion of the first endcap and at least a portion of the circuit board.
The modified Damaser is silent regarding the sealing member configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the body of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure.
Kirkpatrick teaches methods, apparatuses, and computer program products related to sample preparation/processing and testing (see abstract). Kirkpatrick teaches a swab chamber 100 and a cap 130 (see ¶[0124]-[0129]; Fig. 1), in which the cap may comprise a rubber septum, the sealing member (i.e., the rubber septum) configured to allow a fluid insertion device to pass through a portion of the sealing member to insert the fluid within the interior cavity and further configured to self-seal after the fluid insertion device is removed from the portion of the sealing member to seal the fluid within the interior cavity at said interior cavity pressure (¶[0204] the rubber septum is configured to be self-sealing after a needle, such as from a syringe or fluidics system, punctures the cap, creating an air-tight leak resistant barrier). In this manner, a syringe may be used to insert or remove fluid into the interior section, and the rubber septum will self-seal the hole after the needle is removed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the rubber septum of Kirkpatrick as the sealing member of the modified Damaser because it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the self-sealing would allow the fluid to be adjusted, so as to adjust the interior cavity pressure, as needed for the pressure sensing applications of the device; and/or (3) the air-tight leak-resistance barrier of the rubber septum would prevent the fluid from leaking out of the device, and any external fluids, gases, and/or contaminants from entering the interior cavity. Therefore, the sealing member would now be configured to self-seal after a fluid insertion device (a syringe, see present application specification ¶[0272]) is removed from the portion of the sealing member.
The modified Damaser teaches that the pressure senor may active the device once a pressure is sensed over a threshold (see Damaser ¶[0034]), but does not specifically teach a button arranged within the interior cavity and in electrical communication with the circuit board, the button configured to initiate activation of the device.
Leary teaches about catheters configured for use in a patient (see abstract), including an elongated flexible body (see pg. 9 ln. 8 – pg.10 ln. 17; Figs. 1-3 and 19). Leary teaches a switch or other activation means for activating the device may be placed along the elongated flexible body, and that the means may be activated via an external force, such that the activation means would be in electrical communication with the circuit board (see pg. 29 ln. 1-12).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the activation means of Leary as the activation means of the modified device of Damaser because (1) it is the simple substation of one known element for another to yield predictable results and/or (2) an activation means would provide a cheaper and less complex alternative to the pressure sensor co-processor as required in Damaser (see ¶[0034]). Here, the activation means would necessarily be in communication with the circuit board, as otherwise, the activation means would not be capable to activate the device.
The modified Damaser teaches an activation means for activating the device (see Leary pg. 29 ln. 1-12), but not specifically what the activation means comprises.
Germain teaches a fluid flow device including a pump (see abstract) and a button to actuate the device (see ¶[0054]). Germain teaches that a button is a suitable activation means (see ¶[0054]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the button of Germain as the activation means of the modified device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the button is a suitable means for actuating the device.
The modified Damaser doesn’t specifically teach that the button is positioned within the interior cavity. Indeed, Leary does not provide specifics of a placement of the button. However, the placement of the button would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as a mere rearrangement of parts. The placement of the button would not modify the operation of the device (see In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70); and would have been an obvious matter of design choice (see In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7). There is motivation for this change because it would be cheaper and less complex to have the button mounted on the flexible PCB, than mounted at another location where a wire would be needed to be run between the flexible PCB and the button.
The modified Damaser teaches the non-compressible fluid sealed within the interior cavity, which would necessarily have an interior cavity pressure, but not specifically what the interior cavity pressure is. As the pressure from the exterior is transmitted to the interior pressure sensor, the pressure would necessarily affect the pressure in the interior cavity. The modified device of Damaser is designed for usage within the bladder (see Damaser abstract and ¶[0005]-[0007]) similar to the present application (see specification ¶[0003]). As the pressure in the bladder is greater than atmospheric pressure (i.e., the bladder must have a positive pressure relative to the atmosphere to enable normal bodily functions), the interior cavity pressure when the device is utilized in the bladder as designed would be greater than atmospheric pressure. As the claim is a device claim merely requiring the interior cavity pressure be greater than atmospheric, and no timing or usage requirement is stipulated, the modified Damaser teaches the pressure requirement of the present claim as recited.
Regarding Claim 3, Damaser in view of Sawada, Kalt, Kirkpatrick, Leary, and Germain teaches the device of claim 2 as stated above. Damaser further teaches the circuit board is flexible (¶[0032] the flexible printed circuit board (PCB) 24; Figs. 2 and 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Damaser in view of Sawada, Kalt, Kirkpatrick, Leary, and Germain teaches the device of claim 2 as stated above. The modified Damaser further teaches a spacer arranged within the interior cavity proximate the end of the circuit board and a portion of the first section of the first endcap (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum). As the sealing member lies between an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first section of the first endcap, the sealing member would also meet the limitations for the spacer arranged within the interior cavity between an end of the circuit board and a portion of the first section of the first endcap.
Alternatively and/or additionally, Kalt further teaches that the retention frame 214 may be secured inside the retention frame lumen 210 with a filling material, such as a polymer or silicon adhesive (¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the filing material of Kalt with the device of Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results and/or (2) the filling material can help to keep the retention frame 214 (the circuit board) in proper orientation and/or position to the retention frame lumen 210 (the tubular housing) (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]). The material filling would surround the circuit board and protect the tubular housing from either end of the circuit board. As the material filling (spacer) would surround both ends of the circuit board, it would be between the first endcap and the circuit board in the tubular housing.
Regarding Claim 6, Damaser in view of Sawada, Kalt, Kirkpatrick, Leary, and Germain teaches the device of claim 5 as stated above. The modified Damaser (in which the filling material is being interpreted as the spacer) further teaches the spacer comprises plastic (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136] the filling material may be a polymer).
Regarding Claim 7, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 5 as stated above. The modified Damaser further teaches the sealing member is incorporated into a portion of the spacer (see Kalt ¶[0034] the silicone end plugs, Figs. 2A-2D; see Kirkpatrick ¶[0204] the rubber septum). As the sealing member is also being interpreted as the spacer, the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer.
Alternatively and/or additionally, the modified Damaser also teaches (in which the filling material is being interpreted as the spacer) the sealing member is incorporated into a portion of the spacer (see Kalt ¶[0019] see incorporated reference US 2012/0089121 ¶[0135]-[0136] the filling material may be a polymer, which is poured into the frame and then cured, as such, the filling material would “fill” around the other pieces located within the device, including the sealing member, so that the sealing member would be incorporated into at least a portion of the spacer).
Regarding Claim 8, Damaser in view of Kalt and Kirkpatrick teaches the device of claim 2 as stated above. Damaser further teaches the body cavity is a bladder of the subject, and wherein the device is configured to be inserted through a urethra of the subject and into the subject’s bladder (abstract and ¶[0039]-[0040] the sensing device 10 can have a straight shape when being delivered via the catheter to the subject’s bladder; Fig. 5).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damaser, in view of Sawada, Kalt, Kirkpatrick, Leary and Germain as applied to claim 2 above, and in view of Takei.
Regarding Claim 4, Damaser in view of Sawada, Kalt, Kirkpatrick, Leary and Germain teaches the device of claim 2 as stated above. Damaser teaches the fluid within the interior cavity (¶[0031]-[0032] the non-compressible fluid 22); however, the modified Damaser does not specifically teach that the fluid comprises fluorosilicone oil.
Takei teaches a semiconductor pressure sensor that utilizes a pressure-transmitting medium 15 to transmit the pressure to the sensor from the medium to measured, such as water, in which the pressure-transmitting medium comprises fluorosilicone oil (see abstract, ¶[0009]-[0010], and ¶[0013]-[0018]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the fluorosilicone oil of Takei as the incompressible fluid of the modified Damaser because (1) it is the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and/or (2) the usage of fluorosilicone oil is suitable for pressure measurement (see Takei ¶[0013]-[0018]); and/or (3) an incompressible fluid is required and Takei teaches one such incompressible fluid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wollowitz et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0293796) teaches pressure sensors for automated dialysis (APD) systems (see abstract and Fig. 1), including a diaphragm 213 enclosing a cavity 216 connected to open lines of a disposable system via a port 212 (see abstract, ¶[0038], and ¶[0043]; Fig. 2), such that a pressure sensor 203 measures pressure of the fluid via the diaphragm 213 (see ¶[0035]-[0036]; Fig. 2), in which the internal pressure may be positive or negative (see ¶[0045]-[0048]; Figs. 2-3D).
/JONATHAN DREW MORONESO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791