DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 10/25/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ravichandran (US 2019/0373027 A1) hereinafter “Ravichandran.”
Regarding Claim 1, Ravichandran teaches A call handover method (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs 3A-3B, switching a communications session in progress), applied to a first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, first UE) and comprising:
receiving a first message (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, input operation from the user) in a process of a first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, ongoing communication session) between the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, said first UE) a second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, UE of other user), wherein the first message is used to indicate handover of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, receive user request indicating to transfer in progress call) to a third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, second UE), and the third electronic device has a communication connection with the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0040 & Fig. 2, first UE and second UE associated with the same user);
sending call hold signaling (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, first UE may send a request that the communications session be transferred to the second UE) to a server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, A/V call system); and
after receiving call hold feedback signaling from the server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0049 & Figs. 3A-3B, A/V call system sends to the first UE, an indication that the request is accepted and attempts the transfer of the session), holding a communication connection with the second electronic device through the server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0050 & Figs 3A-3B, connecting the communications session to the second UE), and stopping sending call data of the first call to the server (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0051-0052 & Figs. 3A-3B, transfer of session from the first UE to the second UE); wherein
the call hold signaling is used to request to hold the communication connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, said request that the communications session from the first UE be transferred to the second UE); and
the call hold feedback signaling is used to indicate holding the communication connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, AV call system adds second UE to connect to the ongoing session, thus holding the communication between the first UE and other UE until transfer is completed).
Regarding Claim 2, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches the receiving a first message comprises either of the following: receiving a first input and receiving a message that a power parameter of the first electronic device is lower than a first threshold, wherein the first input is used to indicate the first message to the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, input operation from the user).
Regarding Claim 3, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches setting a communication status of a first communication port of the first electronic device to a first state, wherein in the first state, the first electronic device only sends the call data of the first call through the first communication port (Ravichandran: paragraph 0097, request for communication session transfer further includes identifying information of the transfer UE, thus teaching only call data is sent), wherein
the call hold signaling is further used to indicate that the communication status of the first communication port is the first state, and in the first state, the first communication port only sends the call data of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0097, said request for communication session transfer including identifying information of the transfer UE).
Regarding Claim 4, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving the call hold feedback signaling from the server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0049 & Figs. 3A-3B, A/V call system sends to the first UE, an indication that the request is accepted and attempts the transfer of the session), wherein
the call hold feedback signaling is used to indicate that the first electronic device continues to hold the communication connection with the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, add second UE to connect to the ongoing session, thus holding the communication until transfer) and stops sending the call data to the second electronic device through the server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0052 & Fig. 3B, end of session with first UE and other UE).
Regarding Claim 5, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the call hold feedback signaling is further used to indicate that the first electronic device sets a communication status of a first communication port of the first electronic device to a second state, wherein in the second state, the first communication port only receives the call data of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, AV call system indicates transfer of the session to the second UE, thus teaching real time session is not communicated with the first UE); and
in a case that the call hold feedback signaling sent by the server is received (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0051-0052 & Figs. 3A-3B, transfer of session from the first UE to the second UE), the method further comprises:
setting the communication status of the first communication port of the first electronic device to the second state (Ravichandran: paragraph 0052, first UE acknowledges transfer of the session, thus teaching session is no longer held with the first UE).
Regarding Claim 6, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first electronic device and the third electronic device are in a connected state, and in the process of the first call, the method further comprises:
transmitting call signaling of the first call to the third electronic device in real time (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, switch call to second UE and continuing ongoing session with the other UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Ravichandran teaches A call handover method, applied to a server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, A/V call system) and comprising:
receiving call hold signaling (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, first UE may send a request that the communications session be transferred to the second UE) from a first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, first UE) in a process of a first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, ongoing communication session) between the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, said first UE) a second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, UE of other user), wherein the first electronic device has a communication connection with a third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0040 & Fig. 2, first UE and second UE associated with the same user);
sending call handover signaling to the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0050 & Figs. 3A-3B, invite the second UE to connect to the communications session) in a case that a communication connection is held between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, ongoing communication session between first UE and other UE); and
receiving call handover feedback signaling from the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051, second UE accepts to join the communication session); wherein
the call hold signaling is used to request to hold the communication connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, the call handover signaling is used to request to hand over the first call to the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, said request that the communications session from the first UE be transferred to the second UE), and the call handover feedback signaling is used to indicate that the first call has been handed over to the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051, second UE sends an indication to accept the transfer of the communication session from the first UE to the second UE).
Regarding Claim 8, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein after the receiving call hold signaling from a first electronic device, the method further comprises:
sending the call hold signaling to the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0050 & Figs. 3A-3B, invite the second UE to connect to the communications session with the other UE, see also paragraphs 0032, 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, implementation in which the other UE may be the entity that initiates the communication (caller) to the first UE);
receiving call hold feedback signaling fed back by the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051, second UE accepts to join the communication session; see also paragraphs 0032, 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, implementation in which the other UE may be the entity that initiates the communication (caller) to the first UE); and
sending the call hold feedback signaling to the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0049 & Figs. 3A-3B, A/V call system sends to the first UE, an indication that the request is accepted and attempts the transfer of the session); wherein
the call hold feedback signaling is used to indicate holding the communication connection between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, AV call system adds second UE to connect to the ongoing session, thus holding the communication between the first UE and other UE until transfer is completed).
Regarding Claim 9, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein after the receiving call handover feedback signaling from the third electronic device, the method further comprises:
sending the call handover feedback signaling to the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0050 & Figs. 3A-3B, invite the second UE to connect to the communications session with the other UE, see also paragraphs 0032, 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, implementation in which the other UE may be the entity that initiates the communication (caller) to the first UE); and
receiving processing feedback signaling from the second electronic device, wherein the processing feedback signaling is used to indicate that call data of the first call is transmitted between the second electronic device and the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051, communications session between the second UE and the other UE may be established).
Regarding Claim 10, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the call hold signaling is further used to indicate that a communication status of a first communication port of the first electronic device is a first state (Ravichandran: paragraph 0097, request for communication session transfer further includes identifying information of the transfer UE, thus teaching only call data is sent), wherein
in the first state, the first communication port of the first electronic device only sends call data of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0097, said request for communication session transfer including identifying information of the transfer UE).
Regarding Claim 11, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the call hold feedback signaling is further used to indicate that the first electronic device sets a communication status of a first communication port of the first electronic device to a second state (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, AV call system indicates transfer of the session to the second UE, thus teaching real time session is not communicated with the first UE), wherein
in the second state, the first communication port of the first electronic device only receives call data of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0052, first UE acknowledges transfer of the session, thus teaching session is no longer held with the first UE).
Regarding Claim 12, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the call handover signaling is used to indicate that the third electronic device sets a communication status of a third communication port of the third electronic device to a third state (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, communication session between second UE and other UE), wherein
in the third state, the third communication port of the third electronic device receives and sends call data of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, communication session between second UE and other UE, thus teaching a state of the second UE for communication real-time packets).
Regarding Claim 13, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the call handover feedback signaling is used to indicate that the second electronic device sets a communication status of a fourth communication port of the second electronic device to a third state, wherein
in the third state, the fourth communication port of the second electronic device receives and sends call data of the first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, communication session between second UE and other UE, thus teaching a state of the other UE for communication real-time packets).
Regarding Claim 14, Ravichandran teaches A call handover method, applied to a third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, second UE) and comprising:
receiving call handover signaling (Ravichandran: paragraph 0050 & Figs. 3A-3B, invite the second UE to connect to the communications session) sent by a server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, A/V call system) in a process of a first call (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, ongoing communication session) between the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, said first UE) a second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0041 & Figs. 3A-3B, UE of other user), wherein a communication connection is held between the first electronic device and the second electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0047 & Figs. 3A-3B, ongoing communication session between first UE and other UE), and the third electronic device has a communication connection with the first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0040 & Fig. 2, first UE and second UE associated with the same user); and
sending call handover feedback signaling to the server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051, second UE sends message to the call system and accepts to join the communication session); wherein
the call handover signaling is used to request to hand over the first call to the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0048 & Figs 3A-3B, said request that the communications session from the first UE be transferred to the second UE), and the call handover feedback signaling is used to indicate that the first call has been handed over to the third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051, second UE sends an indication to accept the transfer of the communication session from the first UE to the second UE).
Regarding Claim 15, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the call handover signaling is used to indicate that the third electronic device sets a communication status of a third communication port to a third state, wherein
in the third state, the third electronic device receives and sends call data of the first call through the third communication port (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, communication session between second UE and other UE, thus teaching a state of the second UE for communication real-time packets).
Regarding Claim 16, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the first electronic device and the third electronic device are in a connected state, and in the process of the first call, the method further comprises:
transceiving call signaling of the first call with the first electronic device in real time (Ravichandran: paragraph 0051 & Fig. 3B, switch call to second UE and continuing ongoing session with the other UE).
Regarding Claim 17, Ravichandran teaches A first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0054 & Fig. 4, first UE), comprising a processor and a memory (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0057, 0061 & Fig. 4, processor coupled to memory), wherein a program or instructions are stored in the memory and executable on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, steps of the call handover method according to claim 1 are implemented (Ravichandran: paragraph 0061 & Fig. 4, instructions stored on the memory executed by processor to implement corresponding method).
Regarding Claim 18, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches A first electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0054 & Fig. 4, first UE), comprising a processor and a memory (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0057, 0061 & Fig. 4, processor coupled to memory), wherein a program or instructions are stored in the memory and executable on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, steps of the call handover method according to claim 2 are implemented (Ravichandran: paragraph 0061 & Fig. 4, instructions stored on the memory executed by processor to implement corresponding method).
Regarding Claim 19, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches A server (Ravichandran: paragraph 0068 & Fig. 5, said A/V call system), comprising a processor and a memory (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0068-0069 & Fig. 5, processor coupled to memory), wherein a program or instructions are stored in the memory and executable on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, steps of the call handover method according to claim 7 are implemented (Ravichandran: paragraph 0069 & Fig. 5, instructions stored on the memory executed by processor to implement corresponding method).
Regarding Claim 20, Ravichandran teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches A third electronic device (Ravichandran: paragraph 0054 & Fig. 4, second UE), comprising a processor and a memory (Ravichandran: paragraphs 0057, 0061 & Fig. 4, processor coupled to memory), wherein a program or instructions are stored in the memory and executable on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, steps of the call handover method according to claim 14 are implemented (Ravichandran: paragraph 0061 & Fig. 4, instructions stored on the memory executed by processor to implement corresponding method).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Thakur et al. (US 2024/0187826 A1) teaches a network node is requested to transfer the ongoing communication session from the first UE to the second UE (abstract).
Simoniy et al. (US 2023/0292186 A1) teaches a communication device to determine to hand over an established connection with a first communication device based on information indicating a proximity of the first communication device to the communication device (abstract).
Fang et al. (US 2022/0345971 A1) teaches maintaining continuity of the session during handover from the first device to the second device (paragraphs 0018-0019).
Verger et al. (US 2020/0351747 A1) teaches a device providing inter-device call continuity configured to initiate, over a peer-to-peer connection with a second device, a communication session between the second device and a third device (abstract).
Cai (US 2021/0352560 A1) a voice switchover method includes sending, by a mobile phone or a voice assistant device, voice switchover request information to a VoIP server based on an operation of a user, and switching, by the VoIP server based on the request information, a voice call ongoing on the mobile phone to the voice assistant device near the mobile phone, for example, a smart speaker (abstract).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463