Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20210157367 A1, and Wu hereinafter) in view of Yun et al. (US 20190033920 A1, and Yun hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a display assembly (105, fig. 5) comprising a flat area (RG4, fig. 5), and a deformable area (RG3, fig. 5) extending from the flat area (fig. 5) and configured to be at least partially folded or rolled (“the foldable property of the display device 103 may be improved”, [0050]),
wherein the display assembly comprises:
a protective layer (26, fig. 5) for protecting the display assembly from an external impact to the electronic device (“The ball drop … dropped from 10 centimeters or higher from the top surface S6 of the outer substrate 26, thereby testing the ability of the cover structure 20 to withstand external stress (for example, to test whether the cover structure 20 may protect the display panel 10”, [0034]), the protective layer comprising a polymer film (“outer substrate 26 may respectively include … polymer materials”, [0029]);
a display panel (12, fig. 5) configured to output an image (“display layer 12 may include self-emissive display element, non-self-emissive display element or other suitable types of the display structures”, [0043]);
a glass (22, fig. 5; “the materials of the inner substrate 22 and the outer substrate 26 may respectively include glass, rubber, polymer materials … at least one of the above-mentioned materials, the combinations of the above-mentioned materials or other suitable materials, and the material of the inner substrate 22 may be the same as the material of the outer substrate 26 or different from the material of the outer substrate 26”, [0029]) disposed on the display panel (fig. 5) and having a flat upper surface spanning the flat area and the deformable area (“In some embodiments, … only the recess RC2 is disposed in the outer substrate 26”, [0046]); and
an adhesive layer (24, fig. 5) disposed between the flat upper surface of the glass and the polymer film (fig. 5 taking into account “only the recess RC2 is disposed in the outer substrate 26”, [0046]),
wherein a first area of the polymer film positioned in the flat area has a first thickness (T3, fig. 5), and a second area of the polymer film positioned in the deformable area has a second thickness (H2, fig. 5) smaller than the first thickness (fig. 5), and
wherein a third area of the adhesive layer positioned in the flat area has a third thickness (T2, fig. 5), and a fourth area of the adhesive layer positioned in the deformable area (portion of 24 located in RG3, fig. 5) has a fourth thickness greater than the third thickness (increased thickness of 24 due RC2, fig. 5).
Wu does not explicitly disclose a housing comprising a first housing, and a second housing connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing; and (the flat area) connected to the housing, and (the deformable area configured to be at least partially folded or rolled) based on a movement relative to the housing,
Yun discloses an electronic device comprising a housing comprising a first housing (400, fig. 1), and a second housing (500, fig. 1) connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing (figs. 1 and 11); and a flat area (DA1, fig. 2) connected to the housing (figs. 1-2), and a deformable area (BA, fig. 2) configured to be at least partially folded or rolled based on a movement relative to the housing (fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu to incorporate the teachings of Yun so that it comprises a housing comprising a first housing, and a second housing connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing; and connected to the housing, and based on a movement relative to the housing, in order to support and protect the display panel (“when a folding operation of the foldable display apparatus is performed, the panel 100 can be folded as an inner bending type where the display unit is not externally exposed and is protected by a first housing 400, a second housing 500”, [0158]).
Regarding Claim 3, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the protective layer further comprises a coating layer disposed on the polymer film (“outer substrate 26 may be … a multi-layer structure” and “When … the outer substrate 26 include multi-layer structure, the layers may be formed by coating”, [0029] of Wu)
Regarding Claim 7, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises at least one of an optically clear resin (OCR) or an optically clear adhesive (OCA) (“The first adhesive 24 may include optical clear adhesive (OCA)”, [0030] of Wu).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second thickness is 10% to 90% of the first thickness (“thickness H2 of the recess RC2 may be less than 100 micrometers … and/or the thickness T3 of the outer substrate 26 may range from 300 micrometers to 2000 micrometers, but not limited thereto”, [0046] of Wu).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein a sum of a thickness of the protective layer, a thickness of the adhesive layer, and a thickness of the glass is substantially uniform among the flat area and the deformable area (fig. 5 of Wu).
Regarding Claim 11, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the polymer film comprises a curved portion positioned between the first area and the second area and having a curvature (RC2, fig. 5 of Wu).
Regarding Claim 12, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose a hinge connected to the first housing and the second housing, wherein the flat area comprises a first flat display area positioned in the first housing and a second flat display area positioned in the second housing, and wherein the deformable area comprises a folding area positioned between the first flat display area and the second flat display area.
Yun further discloses a hinge (600, fig. 2) connected to the first housing and the second housing (fig. 1),
wherein a flat area (including DA1 and DA2, fig. 2) comprises a first flat display area positioned in the first housing (DA1, fig. 2) and a second flat display area positioned in the second housing (DA2, fig. 2), and
wherein a deformable area (BA, fig. 2) comprises a folding area positioned between the first flat display area and the second flat display area (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu and Yun to incorporate the teachings of additional teachings of Yun so that it further comprises a hinge connected to the first housing and the second housing, wherein the flat area comprises a first flat display area positioned in the first housing and a second flat display area positioned in the second housing, and wherein the deformable area comprises a folding area positioned between the first flat display area and the second flat display area, in order to provide connecting means to the housing and support for the bending area of the display (“a hinge module connected between the first housing and the second housing to support the bending area and to guide a bending of the bending area”, [0011] of Yun)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yun, further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20180063940 A, and Kim hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 4, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer comprises a second adhesive layer (30, fig. 5 of Wu) disposed on the glass, and a first adhesive layer (24, fig. 5 of Wu) spaced apart from the second adhesive layer (fig. 5 of Wu), and a first polymer film (26, fig. 5 of Wu) disposed on the first adhesive layer (fig. 5 of Wu).
Wu/Yun does not explicitly disclose the polymer film comprises a second polymer film disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer
However, Wu discloses the polymer film includes a multi-layer structure (“the inner substrate 22 and/or the outer substrate 26 include multi-layer structure, the layers may be formed by coating”, [0029]) and Kim discloses a coating (200, fig. 3) include a polymer film (“The coating (200) may include a polymer”, [00433] of Kim).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu and Yun to incorporate the teachings of Kim so that the polymer film comprises a second polymer film disposed between the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer, in order to provide a protective a multi-layer structure to the polymer film ([0029] of Wu). Said modification would be considered a duplication of parts. Absent disclosure of a functional criticality, duplication of parts has been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See also MPEP § 2144.04, VI, C).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yun, further in view of Park et al. (US 20200292731 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu/Yun discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first area comprises a first surface (S4, fig. 5 of Wu) facing the adhesive layer (fig. 5 of Wu),
wherein the second area comprises a second surface (central top surface of RC2, fig. 5 of Wu) facing the adhesive layer (fig. 5 of Wu), and a third surface extending from the first surface to the second surface (bottom surface of 26 overlapping RG3 and connecting S2 to central top surface of RC2).
Wu/Yun does not explicitly disclose a first angle between the first surface and the third surface is at least 10 degrees and less than 30 degrees.
Park discloses a protective layer wherein a first angle (ϴ, figs. 1 and 7) between a first surface (horizontal surface of 130, fig. 7) and a third surface (120, fig. 7) is at least 10 degrees and less than 30 degrees (e.g., 20 degrees, “inclination ⊖ of the buffer part 120 is 1˜50° (preferably, 3˜20°) relative to the folding part 110”, [0059] of Park).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu and Yun to incorporate the teachings of Park so that a first angle between the first surface and the third surface is at least 10 degrees and less than 30 degrees, in order to gradually and uniformly buffer the stress due to thickness difference in the folding area (“to gradually buffer stress occurring due to thickness difference between the folding area F and the plane area P of the cover window 100 when folding is repeated”, [0056] of Park). This modification would represent a change of shape (curved surface of RC2, fig. 5 of Wu). Absent, disclosure of functional significance, changes in shape have been ruled to carry no patentable weight (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). See also MPEP § 2144.04, IV, B).
Claims 1 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20210405703 A1, and Song hereinafter) in view of Wu.
Regarding Claim 1, Song discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a housing comprising a first housing (200a, fig. 21), and a second housing (200b, fig. 21) connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing (figs. 2a-2b); and
a display assembly (300, fig. 2a) comprising a flat area (310, fig. 5b), and a deformable area (320, fig. 5b) extending from the flat area (fig. 5b) and configured to be at least partially folded or rolled (figs. 5a-b),
wherein the display assembly comprises:
a display panel (300, fig. 5a) configured to output an image (“An image may be displayed on at least a portion of the outer surface of the flexible display 300”, [0216]).
Wu does not explicitly disclose a protective layer for protecting the display assembly from an external impact to the electronic device, the protective layer comprising a polymer film; a glass disposed on the display panel; and an adhesive layer disposed between the glass and the polymer film, wherein a first area of the polymer film positioned in the flat area has a first thickness, and a second area of the polymer film positioned in the deformable area has a second thickness smaller than the first thickness, and wherein a third area of the adhesive layer positioned in the flat area has a third thickness, and a fourth area of the adhesive layer positioned in the deformable area has a fourth thickness greater than the third thickness.
Wu discloses a display assembly comprising:
a protective layer (26, fig. 5) for protecting the display assembly from an external impact to the electronic device (“The ball drop … dropped from 10 centimeters or higher from the top surface S6 of the outer substrate 26, thereby testing the ability of the cover structure 20 to withstand external stress (for example, to test whether the cover structure 20 may protect the display panel 10”, [0034]), the protective layer comprising a polymer film (“outer substrate 26 may respectively include … polymer materials”, [0029]);
a display panel (12, fig. 5) configured to output an image (“display layer 12 may include self-emissive display element, non-self-emissive display element or other suitable types of the display structures”, [0043]);
a glass (22, fig. 5; “the materials of the inner substrate 22 and the outer substrate 26 may respectively include glass, rubber, polymer materials … at least one of the above-mentioned materials, the combinations of the above-mentioned materials or other suitable materials, and the material of the inner substrate 22 may be the same as the material of the outer substrate 26 or different from the material of the outer substrate 26”, [0029]) disposed on the display panel (fig. 5) and having a flat upper surface spanning the flat area and the deformable area (“In some embodiments, … only the recess RC2 is disposed in the outer substrate 26”, [0046]); and
an adhesive layer (24, fig. 5) disposed between the flat upper surface of the glass and the polymer film (fig. 5 taking into account “only the recess RC2 is disposed in the outer substrate 26”, [0046]);
wherein a first area of the polymer film positioned in the flat area has a first thickness (T3, fig. 5), and a second area of the polymer film positioned in the deformable area has a second thickness (H2, fig. 5) smaller than the first thickness (fig. 5), and
wherein a third area of the adhesive layer positioned in the flat area has a third thickness (T2, fig. 5), and a fourth area of the adhesive layer positioned in the deformable area (portion of 24 between RC1 and RC2, fig. 5) has a fourth thickness greater than the third thickness (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Song to incorporate the teachings of Wu so that the display assembly comprises a protective layer for protecting the display assembly from an external impact to the electronic device, the protective layer comprising a polymer film; a glass disposed on the display panel; and an adhesive layer disposed between the glass and the polymer film, wherein a first area of the polymer film positioned in the flat area has a first thickness, and a second area of the polymer film positioned in the deformable area has a second thickness smaller than the first thickness, and wherein a third area of the adhesive layer positioned in the flat area has a third thickness, and a fourth area of the adhesive layer positioned in the deformable area has a fourth thickness greater than the third thickness, in order to improve the deformable effect and lifespan of the electronic display through a foldable cover (“specifications such as deformable effect, life span, and display effect of the foldable display device through the design of the materials and/or the structures is the direction of development in the related field. One of the purposes of the present disclosure is to provide a foldable display device, wherein the related characteristics of the foldable display device may be improved through a foldable cover”, [0002-0003] of Wu).
Regarding Claim 13, Song/Wu discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the display assembly further comprises a multi-bar structure (370, fig. 4 of Song) supporting the display panel (figs. 6a-6b), and
wherein the deformable area extends from the flat area (figs. 5a-5b of Song. See also rejection of Claim 1 above), and is at least partially connected to the multi-bar structure (figs. 6a and 6b of Song).
Regarding Claim 14, Song/Wu discloses the electronic device of claim 13, further comprising:
a driving motor (510, fig. 10) disposed in the housing (fig. 10) and configured to generate a driving force for a slide movement of the housing (“500 may be fixed to the first body 200 a, and may be configured to transmit power to the second body 200 b such that the second body 200 b moves relative to the first body 200 a”, [0346] of Song, and “The actuator 500 may include a driving motor 510 and a driving gear 520”, [0347] of Song); and
a gear assembly (520, fig. 10) configured to move the first housing with respect to the second housing based on the driving force (“While transmitting rotational power of the driving motor 510 to the rack 550, the driving gear 520 enables the rack 550 and the second body 200 b to linearly reciprocate relative to the first body 200 a in the first direction and the opposite direction to the first direction”, [0357] of Song).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Yun, further in view of He (US 20220007530 A1, and He hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 15, Wu discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a display assembly (102, fig. 4) comprising a flat area (RG4, fig. 5), and a deformable area (RG3, fig. 4) extending from the flat area (fig. 4) and configured to be at least partially folded or rolled (“when the display device 102 is being folded”, [0044]),
wherein the display assembly comprises:
a protective layer (26, fig. 4) for protecting the display assembly from an external impact to the electronic device (“The ball drop … dropped from 10 centimeters or higher from the top surface S6 of the outer substrate 26, thereby testing the ability of the cover structure 20 to withstand external stress (for example, to test whether the cover structure 20 may protect the display panel 10”, [0034]) and comprising a polymer film (“outer substrate 26 may respectively include … polymer materials”, [0029]);
a display panel (12, fig. 4) configured to output an image (“display layer 12 may include self-emissive display element, non-self-emissive display element or other suitable types of the display structures”, [0043]);
a glass (22, fig. 4; “the materials of the inner substrate 22 and the outer substrate 26 may respectively include glass, rubber, polymer materials … at least one of the above-mentioned materials, the combinations of the above-mentioned materials or other suitable materials, and the material of the inner substrate 22 may be the same as the material of the outer substrate 26 or different from the material of the outer substrate 26”, [0029]) disposed on the display panel (fig. 4) and having a flat upper surface spanning the flat area and the deformable area (fig. 4); and
an adhesive layer (24, fig. 4) disposed between the flat upper surface of the glass and the polymer film (fig. 4),
Wu does not explicitly disclose a housing comprising a first housing, and a second housing connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing; and (the flat area) connected to the housing, and (the deformable area configured to be at least partially folded or rolled) based on a movement relative to the housing; wherein the polymer film comprises a first film area facing outward from the display assembly, a second film area positioned in the flat area and having a first hardness, and a third film area positioned in the deformable area and having a second hardness lower than the first hardness.
Yun discloses an electronic device comprising a housing comprising a first housing (400, fig. 1), and a second housing (500, fig. 1) connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing (figs. 1 and 11); and a flat area (DA1, fig. 2) connected to the housing (figs. 1-2), and a deformable area (BA, fig. 2) configured to be at least partially folded or rolled based on a movement relative to the housing (fig. 9B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu to incorporate the teachings of Yun so that it comprises a housing comprising a first housing, and a second housing connected to the first housing and configured to be movable with respect to the first housing; and connected to the housing, and based on a movement relative to the housing, in order to support and protect the display panel (“when a folding operation of the foldable display apparatus is performed, the panel 100 can be folded as an inner bending type where the display unit is not externally exposed and is protected by a first housing 400, a second housing 500”, [0158]).
He discloses a cover film comprising a first film area (portion of 201 above 204, fig. 2), a second film area (portion of 201 to the left of 204, fig. 2) positioned in a flat area (fig. 2) and having a first hardness (inherently disclosed since hardness is an intrinsic property of materials), and a third film area (portion of 203 located between 204 and 205, fig. 2) positioned in the deformable area (fig. 2) and having a second hardness lower than the first hardness (“A hardness of a portion of the cover plate in the bending region 203 is less than a hardness of a portion of the cover plate in the first non-bending region 201”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wu and Yun to incorporate the teachings of He so that the polymer film comprises a first film area, a second film area positioned in the flat area and having a first hardness, and a third film area positioned in the deformable area and having a second hardness lower than the first hardness, in order to improve the impact resistance of the device (“a material with higher strength is used at the non-bending regions on the both sides, and a material with lower strength is used at the middle bending region. With the structure, impact strength of the non-bending regions of the flexible display device can be improved”, [0064]). This modification would be implemented by adding a material with lower hardness in the deformable area of the polymer film as discussed above, when doing so the first film area would necessarily be facing outward from the display assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, patentability exists, for the same reasons stated in the previous office action dated 05/07/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 3-6 of Applicant Arguments/Remarks, filed 08/07/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of different interpretations/embodiments of Wu (US 20210157367 A1) not previously considered at the time of the interview but taken into account after further search and examination (see rejection of claims 1 and 15 above for more details).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN L PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/MARTIN ANTONIO ASMAT UCEDA/Examiner, Art Unit 2841