DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 10/25/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takeda et al. (US 2024/0276482 A1) hereinafter “Takeda.”
Regarding Claim 1, Takeda teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Takeda: paragraphs 0089, 0135 & Figs 6A-9, user equipment (UE)), one or more configuration parameters indicating transmission configuration indicator (TCI) codepoints for a plurality of cells (Takeda: paragraph 0090 & Fig. 6A receiving information identifying a mapping of TCI state field values (codepoints) to TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) (Takeda: paragraph 0097 & Fig. 6A, receive multi-cell scheduling DCI) that:
is configured to schedule one or more physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions via one or more cells of the plurality of cells (Takeda: paragraph 0097, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of scheduled cells); and
comprises a TCI field indicating a TCI codepoint, of the TCI codepoints, for each cell of the plurality of cells (Takeda: paragraph 0090-0092 & Fig. 6A, mapping of TCI state field values (codepoints) to TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells); and
based on the TCI codepoint, for a cell of the one or more cells (Takeda: paragraph 0091, TCI state identifier for each cell), indicating two TCI states (Takeda: paragraphs 0092-0096, first TCI state and second TCI state in set of TCI states for each cell), receiving, via the cell, a downlink signal (Takeda: paragraph 0101 & Fig. 6A, communicate using a configured TCI state) using a default TCI state of the two TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0093, using a default TCI and/or using a TCI state with a particular TCI state identifier (e.g., a lowest TCI state identifier, a highest TCI state identifier, or a default TCI state identifier)).
Regarding Claim 2, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more configuration parameters further indicate a plurality of TCI states for the cell of the one or more cells (Takeda: paragraphs 0092-0095, TCI state combinations for the first cell).
Regarding Claim 3, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving a medium-access control (MAC)-control element (CE) indicating mapping of a subset of TCI states, of a plurality of TCI states of the cell of the one or more cells, to one or more TCI codepoints (Takeda: paragraph 0090, receive medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling identifying an alteration to the mapping of TCI state field values to TCI states), wherein at least one TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints indicates two TCI states of the subset of TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0092, mapping between a set of TCI field codepoints and a set of TCI states).
Regarding Claim 4, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI is configured to schedule, via the cell of the one or more cells, a PDSCH reception of the one or more PDSCH receptions (Takeda: paragraph 0097, receive DCI, on a scheduling cell, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of co-scheduled cells).
Regarding Claim 5, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the TCI field indicates the TCI codepoint for the PDSCH reception via the cell of the one or more cells (Takeda: paragraph 0090-0092 & Fig. 6A, mapping of TCI state field values (codepoints) to TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells).
Regarding Claim 6, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the receiving the downlink signal using the default TCI state is based on the wireless device being indicated with the two TCI states in the TCI codepoint of the TCI field in the DCI (Takeda: paragraphs 0096-0098, first TCI state and a second TCI state is included in the sets of TCI states for each cell.
Regarding Claim 7, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise a list of a downlink-or-joint TCI states parameter for the cell of the one or more cells (Takeda: paragraph 0100, TCI state pairs (i.e. uplink TCI state and downlink TCI state)).
Regarding Claim 8, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein each PDSCH reception of the one or more PDSCH receptions is scheduled for one of the one or more cells (Takeda: paragraph 0097, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of co-scheduled cells).
Regarding Claim 9, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the receiving the downlink signal using the default TCI state is based on the wireless device being indicated with the two TCI states for the cell of the one or more cells (Takeda: paragraph 0093, using a default TCI and/or using a TCI state with a particular TCI state identifier (e.g., a lowest TCI state identifier, a highest TCI state identifier, or a default TCI state identifier))..
Regarding Claim 10, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the receiving the downlink signal using the default TCI state comprises applying the default TCI state to the downlink signal (Takeda: paragraph 0104, UE may communicate (e.g., on an uplink or a downlink) on the first scheduled cell using the configured or first TCI state).
Regarding Claim 11, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI comprises DCI format 1_3 (Takeda: paragraph 0087, network node transmits DCI with a TCI field such as a DCI format 1_X).
Regarding Claim 12, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the default TCI state is a first TCI state, among the two TCI states, that occurs first in a set of the two TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0093, using a TCI state with a particular TCI state identifier (e.g., a lowest TCI state identifier, a highest TCI state identifier, or a default TCI state identifier).
Regarding Claim 13, Takeda teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Takeda: paragraphs 0089, 0135 & Figs 6A-9, user equipment (UE)), one or more configuration parameters (Takeda: paragraph 0097, receive a multi-cell scheduling DCI) indicating:
a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a cell (Takeda: paragraph 0090 & Fig. 6A receiving information identifying a mapping of TCI state field values (codepoints) to TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells); and
for each cell, an association between a codepoint and one or more TCI states for a plurality of cells comprising the cell (Takeda: paragraph 0090-0092 & Fig. 6A, mapping of TCI state field values (codepoints) to TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells);
receiving a medium-access control (MAC)-control element (CE) indicating a mapping of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states to one or more TCI codepoints (Takeda: paragraph 0090, receive medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling identifying an alteration to the mapping of TCI state field values to TCI states), wherein a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints indicates two TCI states of the subset of TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0092, mapping between a set of TCI field codepoints and a set of TCI states);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) configured to schedule one or more physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions via one or more cells that comprise the cell (Takeda: paragraph 0097, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of scheduled cells); and
based on the wireless device being indicated with the two TCI states (Takeda: paragraphs 0092-0096, first TCI state and second TCI state in set of TCI states for each cell), receiving, via the cell, a downlink signal (Takeda: paragraph 0101 & Fig. 6A, communicate using a configured TCI state) using a default TCI state of the two TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0093, using a default TCI and/or using a TCI state with a particular TCI state identifier (e.g., a lowest TCI state identifier, a highest TCI state identifier, or a default TCI state identifier)).
Regarding Claim 14, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI comprises a TCI field indicating an entry in a TCI table, wherein the entry comprises the TCI codepoint of the cell (Takeda: paragraph 0099, UE may use an order of entries in the list of entries to construct a table of codepoint to TCI state identifier mappings).
Regarding Claim 15, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein each PDSCH is scheduled for a cell (Takeda: paragraph 0097, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of co-scheduled cells).
Regarding Claim 16, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI comprises DCI format 1_3 (Takeda: paragraph 0087, network node transmits DCI with a TCI field such as a DCI format 1_X).
Regarding Claim 17, Takeda teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless device (Takeda: paragraphs 0089, 0135 & Figs 6A-9, user equipment (UE)), one or more configuration parameters indicating a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states for a cell (Takeda: paragraph 0090 & Fig. 6A receiving information identifying a mapping of TCI state field values (codepoints) to TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells);
receiving a medium-access control (MAC)-control element (CE) indicating mapping of a subset of TCI states of the plurality of TCI states of the cell to one or more TCI codepoints (Takeda: paragraph 0090, receive medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling identifying an alteration to the mapping of TCI state field values to TCI states), wherein a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints indicates two TCI states of the subset of TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0092, mapping between a set of TCI field codepoints and a set of TCI states);
receiving downlink control information (DCI) that:
is configured to schedule one or more physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) receptions via one or more cells of a plurality of cells (Takeda: paragraph 0097, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of scheduled cells), wherein the one or more cells comprise the cell (Takeda: paragraph 0097, on the scheduled cell); and
comprises a TCI field indicating an entry in a TCI table, wherein the entry comprises the TCI codepoint of the cell (Takeda: paragraph 0099, UE may use an order of entries in the list of entries to construct a table of codepoint to TCI state identifier mappings); and
based on the TCI codepoint indicating the two TCI states (Takeda: paragraphs 0092-0096, first TCI state and second TCI state in set of TCI states for each cell), receiving, via the cell, a downlink signal of the one or more PDSCH receptions (Takeda: paragraph 0101 & Fig. 6A, communicate using a configured TCI state) using a default TCI state of the two TCI states (Takeda: paragraph 0093, using a default TCI and/or using a TCI state with a particular TCI state identifier (e.g., a lowest TCI state identifier, a highest TCI state identifier, or a default TCI state identifier)).
Regarding Claim 18, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein each PDSCH is scheduled for a cell (Takeda: paragraph 0097, receive DCI, on a scheduling cell, scheduling communication resources on a plurality of co-scheduled cells).
Regarding Claim 19, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the one or more configuration parameters further indicate a TCI table for a plurality of cells comprising the cell (Takeda: paragraph 0099, UE may use an order of entries in the list of entries to construct a table of codepoint to TCI state identifier mappings).
Regarding Claim 20, Takeda teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein the DCI comprises a scheduled cell set indicator field if a quantity of one or more sets of cells is greater than one, and a value of the scheduled cell set indicator field indicates a set of cells (Takeda: paragraphs 0098-0099, TCI field with a value that maps to a set of TCI states for a set of co-scheduled cells).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhamri et al. (US 2026/0059541 A1) teaches a UE receiving a set of TCI states corresponding to each of a plurality of cells and further teaches receiving MAC CE from the network that activates a set of multiple TCI-to-Cell mapping tables, wherein each TCI-to-Cell mapping table has one or more entries that associate a TCI table identifier with multiple cells that can be scheduled by a single DCI, wherein the TCI table identifier identifies a TCI state table specifying TCI states for the associated multiple cells (paragraphs 0126-0131 & Fig. 2).
MolavianJazi et al. (US 2024/0064772 A1) teaches receiving first information for a set of cells, second information for a set of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states associated with each cell in the set of cells, respectively, and a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) that provides a first DCI format. The first DCI format schedules receptions of first physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) on respective first cells from the set of cells. The first DCI format includes a first TCI field indicating a combination of TCI states that includes a number of TCI states that is equal to a number of cells in the set of cells. The method further includes determining first TCI states from the combination of TCI states and receiving the first PDSCHs, or second PDSCHs after the first PDSCHs, on the first cells based on the first TCI states, respectively (paragraph 0005).
Cirik et al. (US 2024/0334447 A1) teaches scheduling one or more configuration parameters comprising a co-scheduled cell list parameter (e.g., Co-ScheduledCellList) indicating the first table (paragraph 0779).
Conclusion
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463