DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1–11 and 20, in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 is acknowledged.
However, on review, this restriction requirement is withdrawn for lack of a search burden, and all claims will be examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the perpendicular sidewall of claims 6 and 7, and modifying at least two of the plurality of defined portions at a time of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In ¶ 24 of the as-field specification, the comma between “defined” and “portion 110” should be struck.
¶¶ 22 and 31 of the as-filed specification each recites “surface 108,” but in ¶¶ 24, 26, 28, and 30, reference character 108 refers to the workpiece or substrate. Appropriate correction is required.
¶ 29 of the as-filed specification should be amended to recite “the benefit of high absorption rates means lower energy transmission.”
¶ 34 of the as-filed specification uses reference character 400 to refer to both the substrate and the surface. Appropriate correction is required.
¶ 34 of the as-filed specification uses reference character 402 to refer to both the advanced material coating and the defined portion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1–11 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7, should be amended to recite “a plurality of superluminescent diodes.”
Claim 2 recites that “the advanced material comprises a diamond-like coating on a workpiece,” but there is already antecedent basis for a “workpiece,” and the definite article should be used.
Claim 20 recites “a beam having a surface area”
Claims 3–11 are objected to due to dependency upon an objected-to claim.
Claim Interpretation
Comment: Although the “machine to remove the advanced material from the voids by polish” of claim 1 is formulated as a limitation to be interpreted under § 112(f), it is not, since the structure of a polishing machine is sufficient. See MPEP § 2181.I.C.: “Examiners will apply 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to a claim limitation that uses the term ‘means’ or generic placeholder associated with functional language, unless that term is (1) preceded by a structural modifier, defined in the specification as a particular structure or known by one skilled in the art, that denotes the type of structural device (e.g., ‘filters’), or (2) otherwise modified by sufficient structure or material for achieving the claimed function.”
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 each provides for “a coating of an advanced material.” The term “advanced material” renders the claims indefinite because its metes and bounds are unclear, as it is a broad term that simply refers to new materials with new characteristics. For purposes of examination, this term will be understood to mean a diamond-like coating. Applicant also mentions that “ceramics, ceramic-like surfaces, and the like” should be considered, but without specific formulations of these, the Office declines to review the claim as if every ceramic, for example, should be considered since there would be so many ceramics that are unambiguously not advanced materials even if the term “advanced materials” is indefinite.
Claim 7 recites “the surface of the advanced material.” While claim 7 has antecedent basis of a surface of a workpiece from claim 1, it does not have antecedent basis for a surface of the advanced material, and the indefinite article should be employed.
Claim 7 recites “the at least one sidewall is substantially perpendicular to the surface of the advanced material.” The term “substantially” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The terms “high absorption” and “excessive heat generation” in claim 12 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “high” and “excessive” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “significant heat” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “significant” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2–6, 8–11, and 13–19 are rejected due to dependency upon rejected claims.
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–9, 12, 13, and 17–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeta (WO 2015/045693 A1, cited by Applicant, translation provided by the Office).
Claim 1: Shigeta discloses a system to modify a surface of a workpiece, the system comprising:
a workpiece (12) configured for use in a manufacturing processing chamber (this functional limitation is broad and does not meaningfully limit the claim; see also MPEP § 2173.05(f)) having a coating of an advanced material (DLC coating film 14); and
a surface modification device (16) comprising a photonic radiation source, wherein the photonic radiation source is selected from a group of photonic radiation sources consisting of: a laser (16), a plurality of lasers, a light emitting diode, a plurality of light emitting diodes, a superluminescent diode, a plurality of superluminescent diodes, or a combination thereof;
wherein the surface modification device is configured to direct photonic radiation from the photonic radiation source to a defined portion of the surface of the workpiece, such that the defined portion of the workpiece is modified (depicted in figs. 1(a)–1(c)).
Claim 2: Shigeta discloses that the advanced material comprises a diamond-like coating (14) on a workpiece (12).
Claim 3: Shigeta discloses that the diamond-like coating comprises an amorphous carbon material (diamond-like carbon is inherently amorphous).
Claim 4: Shigeta discloses that the photonic radiation source comprises at least one laser tuned to photodegrade only the defined portion of the surface of the workpiece (evident from figs. 1(a)–1(c)).
Claim 5: Shigeta discloses that the at least one laser photodegrades a plurality of defined portions of the surface of the workpiece (evident from the plurality of modifications of 14 that results in DLC pattern 20 in fig. 1(c)).
Claim 6: Shigeta discloses that the defined portion comprises at least one sidewall and at least a bottom (visible in figs. 1(b) and 1(c)).
Claim 7: Shigeta discloses that the at least one sidewall is perpendicular to a surface of the advanced material (a perpendicular sidewall is clearly show in figs. 1(b) and 1(c)).
Claim 8: Shigeta discloses that the at least one sidewall is substantially perpendicular to the surface of the advanced material (a perpendicular sidewall is clearly show in figs. 1(b) and 1(c)).
Comment: The relative term “substantially” here is understood to mean something like that the perpendicularity may be imperfect.
Claim 9: Shigeta discloses that the defined portion comprises a surface area and a depth (clearly appreciable from 14 and 20 in figs. 1(b) and 1(c)).
Claim 12: Shigeta discloses a method of modify a surface of a workpiece, the method comprising:
providing a workpiece (12) configured for use in a manufacturing processing chamber (this functional limitation is broad and does not meaningfully limit the claim; see also MPEP § 2173.05(f)) having a coating of an advanced material (DLC coating film 14);
directing a beam (16) from a photonic source (a source for pulse laser 16 is necessary and inherent) at a plurality of defined portions of a surface of the advanced material (clearly evident given the plurality of modifications illustrated in figs. 1(a)–1(c)) wherein the beam is tuned to the advanced material such that there is a high absorption of the beam by the advanced material without excessive heat generation (these relative limitations are broad (see also the rejections under § 112(b) above) and not meaningfully limiting such that pulse laser 16 reads on the limitation);
causing the beam to modify the surface of the advanced material by starting and stopping the beam such that the plurality of defined portions have a surface area and a depth (appreciable from the plurality of modifications shown at DLC pattern 20 in fig. 1(c)), wherein the plurality of defined portions become a plurality of modified defined portions (ibid.); and
removing the plurality of modified defined portions from the advanced material (“the DLC coating film 14 becomes the DLC pattern 20 by laser ablation”; although the claimed steps of modifying the surface and removing the modified defined portions may be understood as separate steps, Applicant’s disclosure makes clear that “modification includes ablating or vaporizing the surface material in the defined portion,” and therefore, pulse laser 16 qualifies as performing the claimed removing).
Claim 13: Shigeta discloses that each of the plurality of defined portions are modified individually (this is clearly suggested by fig. 1(b)).
Claim 17: Shigeta discloses that the photonic source is a laser (16).
Claim 18: Shigeta discloses that the laser is an ultraviolet laser (“Next, laser ablation was performed using a nanosecond pulse laser (AVIA355-14-70, manufactured by Coherent) under the following conditions. Wavelength: 355 nm,” where 355 nm is in the ultraviolet range).
Claim 19: Shigeta discloses that the advanced material comprises an amorphous carbon material (diamond-like carbon is inherently amorphous).
Claim 20: Shigeta discloses a photodegradation apparatus to modify the surface of a workpiece (12) having an amorphous carbon material coating (DLC coating film 14) comprising:
a laser (16) tuned such that the laser is configured to direct a beam (16) having a surface area (necessary and inherent to any laser) to a surface of the amorphous carbon material for a period of time such that energy from the beam is absorbed by the amorphous carbon material (it’s abundantly clear that DLC coating film 14 absorbs the beam energy since it does not reflect it) without generating significant heat (this is a broad relative limitation (see also the rejections under § 112(b) above) that is not meaningfully limiting such that pulse laser 16 reads on the limitation), wherein the laser is tuned to break bonds in the amorphous carbon material over the surface area to a depth in a defined portion such that the defined portion is removed from the amorphous carbon material (clearly evident from figs. 1(a)–1(c)).
Claim Rejections — 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta.
Claim 10: Shigeta is silent regarding that the photodegradation vaporizes the defined portion. Shigeta only consistently speaks of “laser ablation.”
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, although vaporization is not necessarily the result of ablation, it is the most common and default mode of laser ablation, and would have found it obvious to conclude that Shigeta’s laser ablation likely operated by vaporization. Furthermore, vaporization seems strongly suggested by fig. 1(b).
Claim 14: Shigeta is silent regarding that the plurality of defined portions are modified at least by two of the plurality of defined portions at a time.
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that an additional pulse laser 16 in Shigeta could be duplicated to provide an additional means to modify the defined portions at the same time, thereby reducing processing time. See also MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.
Claim 15: Shigeta is silent regarding that removing the plurality of modified defined portions is caused by vaporization of the plurality of modified defined portions by the beam. Shigeta only consistently speaks of “laser ablation.”
However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that, although vaporization is not necessarily the result of ablation, it is the most common and default mode of laser ablation, and would have found it obvious to conclude that Shigeta’s laser ablation likely operated by vaporization. Furthermore, vaporization seems strongly suggested by fig. 1(b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 11 and 16 recite similar limitations. Shigeta does not disclose or render obvious these limitations. Shimodaira et al. (JP 2016-036852 A, cited by Applicant) is likely the most relevant prior art of record for these claims since it discloses laser modification of a diamond-like coating on a workpiece, followed by polishing. However, a close review of the reference fails to find that the laser forms voids in any portion. The dimple disclosed in Shimodaira is not properly considered voids, nor does the polishing in Shimodaira seem to properly remove any modified portions, since instead it simply seems to smooth them. Applicant should keep in mind the Office’s remarks about claim interpretation in the § 112(b) rejection of the claims for the indefiniteness due to the term “advanced materials.”
Kawahara et al. (JP 2018-144056 A, cited by Applicant) is also highly relevant.
Tonomura et al. (US Pub. 2018/0370232) is also cited as relevant prior art.
Conclusion
/JOHN J NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761