DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 25, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS section needs updated to reflect applications that have matured into patents. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,166,905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim monitoring traffic between the user device and the Internet where the monitoring is at a middle location, inline between the user device and an endpoint; responsive to the traffic being encrypted, performing one or more operations to enable accessing the encrypted traffic; analyzing the traffic based on the policy; and performing actions.
The patent claims one of allowing, blocking, or limiting the traffic based on the analyzing instead of performing actions and also claims a tunnel. It would have ben obvious to use a tunnel for communication since the tunnel keeps communications secure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to the abstract idea of collecting and analyzing data to enforce a policy. Claim 1 recites monitoring users, obtaining a policy, inspecting encrypted traffic, and performing actions based on the inspection. These steps describe the general concept of filtering information, which is a longstanding human activity and a fundamental mental process of data manipulation. The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite performing these functions in a "cloud-based security system." However, the specification indicates that the system is implemented using generic computer hardware such as a "processor," "memory," and "network interface." The application of an abstract idea using a generic computer environment does not constitute a practical application that improves the computer's functionality itself. The claims do not recite an "inventive concept" that is significantly more than the abstract idea. The additional elements—monitoring traffic, obtaining rules (policy), and performing an action—are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the network security industry. The requirement that the inspection be "inline" or "cloud-based" does not represent a technical improvement over existing security architectures, but rather a different location for performing the same conventional abstract steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yadav et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0080502) in view of Blair et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0012870).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Yadav et al. teaches a method of cloud-based inline encrypted traffic inspection, the method comprising steps of: monitoring a plurality of users having associated user devices communicating over the Internet and the plurality of users are each associated with a plurality of organizations (paragraph 0171); obtaining policy for the any user where the policy is determined by an associated organization of the any user and policy defines how the encrypted traffic is inspected (paragraph 0175); inspecting the encrypted traffic for the any user based on the obtained policy (paragraph 0194); and performing actions on the encrypted traffic based on the inspecting (paragraph 0422).
Yadav et al. does not teach responsive to traffic being encrypted by any user of the plurality of users, performing operations to enable inline access to the encrypted traffic for the any of the plurality of users.
Blair et al. teaches responsive to traffic being encrypted by any user of the plurality of users, performing operations to enable inline access to the encrypted traffic for the any of the plurality of users (paragraph 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine enabling inline access to encrypted traffic, as taught by Blair et al., with the method of Yadav et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications to provide a more robust security solution where encrypted traffic from multiple organizations is not just securely transported, but is intelligently routed and inspected based on the specific application type.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Yadav et al. as modified by Blair et al. teaches wherein the policy includes configuration or rules applied to the encrypted traffic related to one or more of access control, threat prevention, and data protection (see paragraph 0130 of Blair et al.).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Yadav et al. teaches wherein the actions include one of allowing, blocking, or limiting the encrypted traffic (paragraph 0422).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Yadav et al. as modified by Blair et al. teaches wherein the plurality of organizations include a plurality of policies with each policy defined by the associated organization (see paragraph 0080 of Blair et al.).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Yadav et al. as modified by Blair et al. teaches wherein the operations include breaking the encrypted traffic where a node acts as an interception proxy (see paragraph 0013 of Blair et al.).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Yadav et al. teaches wherein the encrypted traffic includes any of Secure Sockets Layer (SSL), Transport Layer Security (TLS), Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS), and Datagram TLS (DTLS) (paragraph 0733).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Yadav et al. teaches wherein the steps further include blocking the encrypted traffic responsive to being unable to perform the one or more operations (paragraph 0352).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Yadav et al. teaches wherein the steps further include blocking the encrypted traffic responsive to the user device being in a specific location (paragraph 0185).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Yadav et al. teaches wherein the encrypted traffic is associated with an application utilizing certificate pinning (paragraph 0739).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Yadav et al. teaches wherein the inspecting includes analyzing a Uniform Resource Locator (URL) based on the policy (paragraph 0010).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433