DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed 04/14/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended; claim 13 has been canceled; claim 15 has been added; no claims have been withdrawn. Claims 1-12, 14, and 15 are now pending and under consideration.
The previous objections to the drawings have been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to the drawings.
The previous objection to claim 12 has been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to the claim.
The previous rejections of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to claims 1 and 12.
The previous rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn, in light of the cancellation of the claim.
Applicant's arguments on pages 8-10 of the remarks regarding the prior art rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0355860 to Rydström et al. have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant asserts that Rydström fails to teach the last seven lines of the amended claim because “Rydström fails to disclose any system of method for preconditioning a vehicle combination in the manner recited by independent claim 1” (see page 9 of the remarks). Applicant's arguments on pages 10-11 of the remarks regarding the alternative prior art rejection of independent claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rydström in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0245796 to Yu et al. have also been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Here, Applicant asserts that Rydström and Yu, alone or in combination, fail to disclose the last seven lines of the amended claim because “Rydström or Yu, alone or in combination, fail to disclose any system of method for preconditioning a vehicle combination in the manner recited by independent claim 1” (see page 11 of the remarks).
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicant relies (i.e., “a computer system that preconditions a vehicle combination to a condition suitable for a subsequent reverse operation”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Claim 1, as amended, for example, requires “A computer system comprising processing circuitry […] configured to: […] in response to detecting (i) that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit and (ii) the vehicle combination at a standstill, or has the longitudinal speed below the speed threshold, trigger at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply a negative torque to wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination,” which does not necessarily require inclusion of “a computer system that preconditions a vehicle combination to a condition suitable for a subsequent reverse operation,” and which is not limited to “a computer system that preconditions a vehicle combination to a condition suitable for a subsequent reverse operation” as “trigger at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply a negative torque to wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination” is broad enough to include causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination via said triggering, by the processing circuitry, of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units and via said applying the negative torque to the wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit.
Rydström teaches, for example, that processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause (e.g., “trigger”) an electric machine (EM) 410 of one of the trailer units 130 & 140 (of the trailer units 120, 130, 140 & 150) (e.g., “self-propelled towed vehicle unit”) to supply torque (e.g., “negative torque”) to wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in a reverse direction (including to initially travel away from the tractor 110 in the reverse direction) with driver support control that mimics normal forward driving maneuvering via the actual reversal maneuvering, thereby, at least at times, increasing straightness of the vehicle combination during reverse travel upon entering (or along) straight (or relatively straight) road segments and decreasing the straightness of the vehicle combination during the reverse travel upon entering (or along) curved (or relatively curved) road segments, responsive to (i) the reversal command for the reversal operation (including for the applying of the propulsion by the tractor 110 during the assisting reversal of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 in the reversal operation), and (ii) the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 being detected to be less than the maximum possible longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 (such as responsive to the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 being detected to be less than the limit on vehicle velocity associated with the reversal operation, or such as responsive to the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 being detected to have reached zero during the transitioning from the normal forward driving operation to the reversal operation) (as depicted by at least Figs. 4-6, 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0010, 0035 & 0037-0061).
Therefore, Rydström (or Rydström modified by Yu) fully teaches “in response to detecting (i) that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit and (ii) the vehicle combination at a standstill, or has the longitudinal speed below the speed threshold, trigger at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply a negative torque to wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination,” as recited by amended claim 1, under a broadest reasonable interpretation. Thus, the rejection has been maintained and updated in order to sufficiently address the amendments to the claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “that the vehicle combination at the standstill” in lines 8-9, which appears to be a misstating of --that the vehicle combination is at the standstill--.
Claim 12 recites “that the vehicle combination at the standstill” in lines 9-10, which appears to be a misstating of --that the vehicle combination is at the standstill--.
Claim 15 should be amended to correct line 5 of the claim to be indented in a manner that is consistent with respective indents of each of line 4 and line 6 of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0355860 to Rydström et al. (hereinafter: “Rydström”).
With respect to claim 1, Rydström teaches a computer system (e.g., 115, 210, 440, 460, 470 & 1000) comprising processing circuitry (e.g., 1010) configured to handle a motion of a vehicle combination (e.g., 800, via 110, 120, 130, 140 & 150 together) comprising a towing vehicle unit (110) and a set of towed vehicle units (e.g., 120, 130, 140 & 150) (as depicted by at least Figs. 1-6 & 8-11 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0029-0038, 0052 & 0062-0068 & 0070-0071), the processing circuitry is configured to: detect that a reverse gear is a selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013-0015, 0038-0039, 0050-0051, 0053-0054, 0056-0057, 0060 & 0063, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to assist reversal of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 in a reversal operation by applying propulsion by the tractor 110 to reduce (or minimize) a coupling force at a tractor coupling point 810, such that it is implicit that the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to “detect that a reverse gear is a […] current gear of the towing vehicle unit”; alternatively, for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0010-0011, 0013, 0053 & 0056-0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain a user request, via a manual control input, for a reversal operation of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800, such that it is implicit that the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to “detect that a reverse gear is a selected […] gear of the towing vehicle unit”; because detect that a reverse gear is a selected gear and detect that a reverse gear is a current gear are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives]; detect that the vehicle combination is at a standstill, or has a longitudinal speed below a threshold [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 4, 6 & 8 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037, 0044, 0046, 0050-0051 & 0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to detect that a longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 is less than a limit on vehicle velocity (e.g., “threshold”) associated with the reversal operation; alternatively, for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 4, 6 & 8 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037, 0044, 0046, 0050-0051 & 0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to detect a longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 so as to necessarily detect that the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 has reached zero (e.g., “standstill”) during transitioning from a normal forward driving operation to the reversal operation; alternatively, for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 4, 6 & 8 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037, 0044, 0046, 0050-0051 & 0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to detect a longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 so as to necessarily detect that the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 is less than a maximum possible longitudinal speed (e.g., “threshold”) of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800; because detect that the vehicle combination is at a standstill and detect that the vehicle combination has a longitudinal speed below a threshold are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives]; and in response to detecting (i) that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit and (ii) the vehicle combination at a standstill, or has the longitudinal speed below the speed threshold, trigger at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply a negative torque to wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination [as depicted by at least Figs. 4-6, 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0010, 0035 & 0037-0061, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause (e.g., “trigger”) an electric machine (EM) 410 of one of the trailer units 130 & 140 (of the trailer units 120, 130, 140 & 150) (e.g., “self-propelled towed vehicle unit”) to supply torque (e.g., “negative torque”) to wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in a reverse direction (including to initially travel away from the tractor 110 in the reverse direction) with driver support control that mimics normal forward driving maneuvering via the actual reversal maneuvering, thereby, at least at times, increasing straightness of the vehicle combination during reverse travel upon entering (or along) straight (or relatively straight) road segments and decreasing the straightness of the vehicle combination during the reverse travel upon entering (or along) curved (or relatively curved) road segments, responsive to (i) the reversal command for the reversal operation (including for the applying of the propulsion by the tractor 110 during the assisting reversal of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 in the reversal operation), and (ii) the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 being detected to be less than the maximum possible longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 (such as responsive to the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 being detected to be less than the limit on vehicle velocity associated with the reversal operation, or such as responsive to the longitudinal speed of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 being detected to have reached zero during the transitioning from the normal forward driving operation to the reversal operation); because in response to detecting that the reverse gear is the selected gear of the towing vehicle unit and in response to detecting that the reverse gear is the current gear of the towing vehicle unit are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives; because in response to detecting the vehicle combination at the standstill and in response to detecting the vehicle combination has the longitudinal speed below the speed threshold are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 2, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain a status of a braking arrangement of the vehicle combination [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to disengage brakes of the tractor 110 (e.g., “obtain a status of a braking arrangement”) prior to commencement of the reversal operation]; and trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply the respective negative torque based on the status of the braking arrangement [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction based, in part, on the disengaged brakes of the tractor 110].
With respect to claim 3, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: detect an acceleration request of the towing vehicle unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013-0015, 0038, 0050-0051, 0053-0054, 0056-0057, 0060 & 0063, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain a request (e.g., “acceleration request”) for applying the propulsion by the tractor 110 to reduce (or minimize) the coupling force at the tractor coupling point 810 to assist reversal of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 in the reversal operation], and in response to detecting the acceleration request, trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to reduce the applied negative torque [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0013-0015, 0038, 0050-0051, 0053-0054, 0056-0057, 0060 & 0063, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to, at least at times, supply reduced torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction responsive to the applied propulsion by the tractor 110 to reduce (or minimize) the coupling force at the tractor coupling point 810 to assist reversal of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 in the reversal operation responsive to the obtained request].
With respect to claim 4, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply the negative torque by being configured to trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to apply the negative torque as a predefined function of time [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0037, 0044 & 0053, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction based, in part, on driving operations planned, with respect to a time horizon, by a vehicle motion management (VMM) function (e.g., “as a predefined function of time”); alternatively, for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0037, 0044 & 0053, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction as a function of time (e.g., “as a predefined function of time”)].
With respect to claim 5, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply the negative torque based on a predefined speed limit [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction based, in part, on the limit on vehicle velocity (e.g., “predefined speed limit”)].
With respect to claim 6, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain an input from a user interface, the input being indicative to apply a negative torque to the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0010-0011, 0013, 0053 & 0056-0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain a manual control input (e.g., “input”) from a driver of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800, via a display (e.g., “user interface”), to request the reversal operation; alternatively, for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0010-0011, 0013, 0053 & 0056-0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain a manual control input (e.g., “input”) from a driver of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800, via a steering wheel (e.g., “user interface”), to request the reversal operation; alternatively, for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0010-0011, 0013, 0053 & 0056-0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain a manual control input (e.g., “input”) from a driver of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 or an external operator, via a remote-control device (e.g., “user interface”), to request the reversal operation]; and trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply the respective negative torque in response to the input being detected [for example, as discussed by at least ¶ 0010-0011, 0013, 0053 & 0056-0057, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction responsive to the manual control input].
With respect to claim 7, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein at least one passive towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units is attached to the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0037-0061, another one of the trailer units 120, 130, 140 & 150 operates, at least at times, in a passive towed configuration (e.g., “passive towed vehicle unit”) and is attached to the one of the trailer units 130 & 140], and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain a first angle between the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit and the at least one passive towed vehicle unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 3, 6, 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0035, 0044 & 0060, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain an articulation angle (e.g., “first angle”) between the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 and the another one of the trailer units 120, 130, 140 & 150]; and trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to apply the negative torque in response to the first angle being within a predefined interval [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 3, 6, 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0035, 0044 & 0060, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction responsive to the obtained articulation angle being below a given magnitude (e.g., “within a predefined interval”)].
With respect to claim 8, Rydström teaches the computer system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: obtain a plurality of angles comprising respective angles between one or more vehicle units out of the set of towed vehicle units arranged to be pushed by the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit when applying the negative torque [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 3, 6, 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0035, 0044 & 0060, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to obtain respective articulation angles (e.g., “plurality of angles”) between each adjacent pair of the tractor 110, the first trailer unit 120, and the second trailer unit 130 at times including during the reversal operation]; and trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to apply the negative torque based on the plurality of angles [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 3, 6, 8 & 9 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0035, 0044 & 0060, the processing circuitry 1010 is structured to execute functions to cause the EM 410 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to supply the torque to the wheels 430 of the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 so as to cause the one of the trailer units 130 & 140 to travel in the reverse direction based, in part, on the obtained articulation angles].
With respect to claim 9, Rydström teaches a vehicle combination comprising a towing vehicle unit and a set of towed vehicle units, wherein the set of towed vehicle units comprises at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, and wherein the vehicle combination comprises the computer system of claim 1 (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 10, Rydström teaches the vehicle combination of claim 9, wherein the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit is arranged at a rear-most position of the vehicle combination (as depicted by at least Fig. 8 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0031 & 0052).
With respect to claim 11, Rydström teaches the vehicle combination of claim 9, wherein the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit comprises a self-propelled dolly coupled with a passive towed vehicle unit, wherein the passive towed vehicle unit is arranged at a rear-most position of the vehicle combination (as depicted by at least Fig. 8 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0031 & 0052).
With respect to claim 12, Rydström teaches a computer-implemented method for handling a motion of a vehicle combination comprising a towing vehicle unit and a set of towed vehicle units, the method comprising: by processing circuitry of a computer system, detecting that a reverse gear is a selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit; by the processing circuitry detecting that the vehicle combination is at a standstill, or has a longitudinal speed below a speed threshold; and in response to detecting (i) that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit and (ii) that the vehicle combination at the standstill, or has the longitudinal speed below the speed threshold, by the processing circuitry, triggering at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply a negative torque to wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
With respect to claim 14, Rydström teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 12 (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 1, 12, and 13).
With respect to claim 15, Rydström teaches a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to handle a motion of a vehicle combination comprising a towing vehicle unit and a set of towed vehicle units, the processing circuitry is configured to: detect that a reverse gear is a selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit; detect that the vehicle combination is at a standstill; and in response to detecting (i) that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit and (ii) that the vehicle combination is at the standstill, trigger at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit out of the set of towed vehicle units to apply a negative torque to wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rydström in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0245796 to Yu et al. (hereinafter: “Yu”), in the alternative to under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rydström.
With respect to claim 1, Rydström, as discussed in detail above, teaches each and every limitation of the claimed “computer system” so as to anticipate the claim under a broadest reasonable interpretation. However, in such a case where Applicant is able to persuasively argue that Rydström does not fully teach that the processing circuitry is configured to detect that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit and/or in such a case where Rydström is not interpreted or relied upon to teach that the processing circuitry is configured to detect that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit, it is also noted that Yu teaches an analogous computer system (apparent from at least Figs. 2 & 3) including processing circuitry configured to detect that a reverse gear is a selected or current gear of a towing vehicle unit (200) (as discussed by at least ¶ 0009-0010 & 0030), and trigger a self-propelled towed vehicle unit (201) to apply a negative torque to wheels of the self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in a reverse travel direction, in response to detecting that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit (as discussed by at least ¶ 0009-0010, 0022-0023, 0025-0026, 0028-0030 & 0034).
Therefore, even if Rydström is not interpreted or relied upon to teach the processing circuitry is configured to detect that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the computer system of Rydström with the teachings of Yu, if even necessary, such that the processing circuitry is further configured to detect that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit to beneficially ensure that a direction of propulsion by the tractor 110 has been switched from a forward travel direction prior to initiation of the reversal operation of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800. Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the computer system of Rydström with the teachings of Yu, if even necessary, such that the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to apply the negative torque to the wheels of the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit, thereby causing the at least one self-propelled towed vehicle unit to travel in the reverse travel direction away from the towing vehicle unit to straighten the vehicle combination, in response to detecting that the reverse gear is the selected or current gear of the towing vehicle unit, to beneficially ensure that the direction of propulsion by the tractor 110 during the reversal operation has been switched from the forward travel direction when the reversal operation of the multi-trailer articulated vehicle 800 is initiated.
Therefore, Rydström modified supra further teaches the computer systems of claims 2-8, the vehicle combinations of claims 9-11, the computer-implemented method of claim 12, the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, and the computer system of claim 15 for at least the same reasons, as discussed in detail above, that: (1) Rydström modified supra teaches the computer system of claim 1, and (2) Rydström alone teaches each of the additional elements of the computer systems of claims 2-8, the vehicle combinations of claims 9-11, the computer-implemented method of claim 12, the non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, and the computer system of claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747