Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/10/2025, 7/7/2025 and 8/31/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements
are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20, 24-26 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210321440 A1 (hereinafter Takeda).
Regarding claim 19, Takeda teaches An apparatus, comprising (Takeda UE 115 in Fig. 1; [0048]
FIG. 1 illustrates a wireless communication network 100. The network 100 includes a number of base stations (BSs) 105 (individually labeled as 105a, 105b, 105c, 105d, 105e, and 105f) and other network entities. A BS 105 may be a station that communicates with UEs 115 and may also be referred to as an evolved node B (eNB), a next generation eNB (gNB), an access point, and the like.
[0051] The UEs 115 are dispersed throughout the wireless network 100, and each UE 115 may
be stationary or mobile. A UE 115 may also be referred to as a terminal, a mobile station, a subscriber unit, a station, or the like.):
at least one processor coupled to one or more memories storing programming instructions that
are executable by the at least one processor and, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising (Takeda [0074] FIG. 4 is a block diagram of an exemplary UE 400 according to aspects of the present disclosure. The UE 400 may be a UE 115 as discussed above in FIG. 1. As shown, the UE 400 may include a processor 402, a memory 404, a downlink scheduling and control module 408, a transceiver 410 including a modem subsystem 412 and a radio frequency (RF) unit 414, and one or more antennas 416.
[0076] The memory 404 may store, or have recorded thereon, instructions 406. The instructions 406 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 402, cause the processor 402 to perform the operations described herein with reference to the UEs 115 in connection with aspects of the present disclosure.):
receiving first control information from a network device, wherein the first control information supports both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling (Takeda [0100] FIG. 9 illustrates a signal diagram illustrating a cross-carrier and/or multi-carrier scheduling technique 900 between a base station 105-a and a UE 115-a according to some aspects of the present disclosure.
[0101] At step 910, the base station 105-a schedules downlink communication(s). The base station 105-a may schedule the downlink communication(s) using single-carrier, multi-carrier, and/or cross-carrier scheduling.
[0102] At step 915, the base station 105-a transmits DCI to the UE 115-a.
[0104] At step 925, the UE 115-a processes the received DCI in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In this regard, the UE 115-a may process the DCI to determine whether downlink data communications will be transmitted over a single carrier or multiple carriers. For example, as described in various aspects of the present disclosure, the UE 115-a may utilize the DCI format, the search space in which the DCI is received, one or more field values of the DCI, one or more other characteristics of the DCI, and/or combinations thereof to determine whether the downlink data communications associated with the DCI will be transmitted over a single carrier or multiple carriers.),
the first control information comprises a first field, and the first field indicates the single-cell scheduling or the multi-cell scheduling (Takeda [0112] In some instances, determining whether the downlink data communication is scheduled over the single component carrier or the multiple component carriers at step 1020 includes determining whether at least one field of the DCI message indicates the downlink data communication is scheduled over the single component carrier or the multiple component carriers (see, e.g., FIG. 7).
[0093] FIG. 7 illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration 700 of a wireless communication method.
[0094] In some instances, at least one field of the DCI 730-a indicates whether the downlink data 740-a is scheduled over a single component carrier or multiple component carriers. In some instances, the DCI includes a first field associated with a first component carrier (e.g., P(S) Cell 710) and a second field associated with a second component carrier (e.g., S Cell 720). The values of the first and second fields can indicate that the downlink data communication is scheduled over multiple component carriers. For example, the value of a field may indicate that data is scheduled for transmission over that component carrier. Accordingly, when the values of the first and second fields each indicate that data is scheduled for transmission, the DCI indicates that the downlink data is scheduled over multiple component carriers.
[0095] In some instances, the value of the field can indicate that no data is scheduled for transmission over the associated component carrier. Accordingly, when the value one of the first or second fields indicates that data is not scheduled for transmission, the DCI indicates that the downlink data is scheduled over a single component carrier.); and
when the first field indicates the single-cell scheduling, communicating with the network device on one scheduled cell (Takeda [0096] FIG. 7 illustrates this approach of using a value that is not assigned for a primary purpose of a field. For example, DCI 730-b includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value N/A) that indicates downlink data will not be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value X) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In this manner, the DCI 730-b indicates single-carrier scheduling over P(S) cell 710. As another example, DCI 730-c includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value Y) that indicates downlink data 740-c will be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value N/A) that indicates downlink data will not be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In this manner, the DCI 730-c indicates single-carrier scheduling over S cell 720.
[0105] At step 930-a, the UE 115-a monitors for downlink data over a first component carrier (CC1) based on the DCI received at step 915. Accordingly, if the DCI indicates that data is to be transmitted over CC1, then the UE 115-a will actively monitor the data channel (PDSCH) of CC1 for the downlink data communication during step 930-a. Similarly, at step 930-b, the UE 115-a monitors for downlink data over a second component carrier (CC2) based on the DCI received at step 915. if the DCI indicates that data will not be transmitted over CC2, then the UE 115-a will not monitor the data channel (PDSCH) of CC2 during step 930-a.); or
when the first field indicates the multi-cell scheduling, communicating with the network device on a plurality of scheduled cells (Takeda[0094] For example, FIG. 7 illustrates an example where DCI 730-a includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value X) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value Y) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In some instances, the UE can determine the downlink data communication is scheduled over multiple component carriers based on the first field and the second field having values that are assigned for a primary purpose of the first and second fields.
[0105] At step 930-a, the UE 115-a monitors for downlink data over a first component carrier (CC1) based on the DCI received at step 915. Accordingly, if the DCI indicates that data is to be transmitted over CC1, then the UE 115-a will actively monitor the data channel (PDSCH) of CC1 for the downlink data communication during step 930-a. Similarly, at step 930-b, the UE 115-a monitors for downlink data over a second component carrier (CC2) based on the DCI received at step 915. If the DCI indicates that data is to be transmitted over CC2, then the UE 115-a will actively monitor the data channel (PDSCH) of CC2 for the downlink data communication during step 930-a.).
Regarding claim 31, Takeda teaches An apparatus, comprising (Takeda BS 105 in Fig. 1; [0048]
FIG. 1 illustrates a wireless communication network 100. The network 100 includes a number of base stations (BSs) 105 (individually labeled as 105a, 105b, 105c, 105d, 105e, and 105f) and other network entities. A BS 105 may be a station that communicates with UEs 115 and may also be referred to as an evolved node B (eNB), a next generation eNB (gNB), an access point, and the like.):
at least one processor coupled to one or more memories storing programming instructions that
are executable by the at least one processor and, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising (Takeda [0082] FIG. 5 is a block diagram of an exemplary BS 500 according to aspects of the present disclosure. The BS 500 may be a BS 105 as discussed above in FIG. 1. As shown, the BS 500 may include a processor 502, a memory 504, a downlink scheduling and control module 508, a transceiver 510 including a modem subsystem 512 and a RF unit 514, and one or more antennas 516.
[0084] The memory 504 may include a cache memory (e.g., a cache memory of the processor 502), RAM, MRAM, ROM, PROM, EPROM, EEPROM, flash memory, a solid state memory device, one or more hard disk drives, memristor-based arrays, other forms of volatile and non-volatile memory, or a combination of different types of memory. In some instances, the memory 504 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 504 may store instructions 506. The instructions 506 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 502, cause the processor 502 to perform operations described herein.):
sending first control information to a terminal, wherein the first control information supports both single-cell scheduling and multi-cell scheduling (Takeda [0100] FIG. 9 illustrates a signal diagram illustrating a cross-carrier and/or multi-carrier scheduling technique 900 between a base station 105-a and a UE 115-a according to some aspects of the present disclosure.
[0101] At step 910, the base station 105-a schedules downlink communication(s). The base station 105-a may schedule the downlink communication(s) using single-carrier, multi-carrier, and/or cross-carrier scheduling.
[0102] At step 915, the base station 105-a transmits DCI to the UE 115-a.),
the first control information comprises a first field, and the first field indicates the single-cell scheduling or the multi-cell scheduling (Takeda[0112] In some instances, determining whether the downlink data communication is scheduled over the single component carrier or the multiple component carriers at step 1020 includes determining whether at least one field of the DCI message indicates the downlink data communication is scheduled over the single component carrier or the multiple component carriers (see, e.g., FIG. 7).
[0093] FIG. 7 illustrates a scheduling/transmission configuration 700 of a wireless communication method.
[0094] In some instances, at least one field of the DCI 730-a indicates whether the downlink data 740-a is scheduled over a single component carrier or multiple component carriers. In some instances, the DCI includes a first field associated with a first component carrier (e.g., P(S) Cell 710) and a second field associated with a second component carrier (e.g., S Cell 720). The values of the first and second fields can indicate that the downlink data communication is scheduled over multiple component carriers. For example, the value of a field may indicate that data is scheduled for transmission over that component carrier. Accordingly, when the values of the first and second fields each indicate that data is scheduled for transmission, the DCI indicates that the downlink data is scheduled over multiple component carriers.
[0095] In some instances, the value of the field can indicate that no data is scheduled for transmission over the associated component carrier. Accordingly, when the value one of the first or second fields indicates that data is not scheduled for transmission, the DCI indicates that the downlink data is scheduled over a single component carrier.); and
when the first field indicates the single-cell scheduling, communicating with the terminal on one scheduled cell (Takeda [0096] FIG. 7 illustrates this approach of using a value that is not assigned for a primary purpose of a field. For example, DCI 730-b includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value N/A) that indicates downlink data will not be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value X) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In this manner, the DCI 730-b indicates single-carrier scheduling over P(S) cell 710. As another example, DCI 730-c includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value Y) that indicates downlink data 740-c will be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value N/A) that indicates downlink data will not be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In this manner, the DCI 730-c indicates single-carrier scheduling over S cell 720.
[0106] At step 940-a, the base station 105-a transmits downlink data over the first component carrier (CC1) in accordance with the DCI transmitted at step 915. if the DCI indicates that data will not be transmitted over CC1, then the base station 105-a will not transmit any data over the data channel (PDSCH) of CC1 during step 940-a. Similarly, at step 940-b, the base station 105-a transmits downlink data over the second component carrier (CC2) in accordance with the DCI transmitted at step 915. If the DCI indicates that data is to be transmitted over CC2, then the base station 105-a will transmit the downlink communication over the data channel (PDSCH) of CC2 during step 940-b.); or
when the first field indicates the multi-cell scheduling, communicating with the terminal on a plurality of scheduled cells (Takeda [0094] For example, FIG. 7 illustrates an example where DCI 730-a includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value X) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value Y) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In some instances, the UE can determine the downlink data communication is scheduled over multiple component carriers based on the first field and the second field having values that are assigned for a primary purpose of the first and second fields.
[0106] At step 940-a, the base station 105-a transmits downlink data over the first component carrier (CC1) in accordance with the DCI transmitted at step 915. Accordingly, if the DCI indicates that data is to be transmitted over CC1, then the base station 105-a will transmit the downlink communication over the data channel (PDSCH) of CC1 during step 940-a. Similarly, at step 940-b, the base station 105-a transmits downlink data over the second component carrier (CC2) in accordance with the DCI transmitted at step 915. If the DCI indicates that data is to be transmitted over CC2, then the base station 105-a will transmit the downlink communication over the data channel (PDSCH) of CC2 during step 940-b.).
Claim 25 recites similar limitations of claim 31, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 20, Takeda teaches The apparatus according to claim 19.
Takeda teaches wherein the first field is independently configured for each cell of one or more
cells, and the first field indicates the single-cell scheduling when the first field comprises one piece of scheduling information (Takeda [0094] In some instances, at least one field of the DCI 730-a indicates whether the downlink data 740-a is scheduled over a single component carrier or multiple component carriers. In some instances, the DCI includes a first field associated with a first component carrier (e.g., P(S) Cell 710) and a second field associated with a second component carrier (e.g., S Cell 720).
[0095] In some instances, the value of the field can indicate that no data is scheduled for transmission over the associated component carrier. Accordingly, when the value one of the first or second fields indicates that data is not scheduled for transmission, the DCI indicates that the downlink data is scheduled over a single component carrier.
[0096] FIG. 7 illustrates this approach of using a value that is not assigned for a primary purpose of a field. For example, DCI 730-b includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value N/A) that indicates downlink data will not be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value X) that indicates downlink data 740-a will be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In this manner, the DCI 730-b indicates single-carrier scheduling over P(S) cell 710. As another example, DCI 730-c includes a field value for the S Cell 720 (e.g., Field Value Y) that indicates downlink data 740-c will be transmitted over the S Cell 720 and a field value for the P(S) Cell 710 (e.g., Field Value N/A) that indicates downlink data will not be transmitted over the P(S) Cell 710. In this manner, the DCI 730-c indicates single-carrier scheduling over S cell 720.).
Claims 26 and 32 recite similar limitations of claim 20 respectively, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Regarding claim 24, Takeda teaches The apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the
operations further comprise: receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message from the network device, wherein the RRC message comprises a search space configured for a terminal, the search space comprises the first control information and second control information, and the second control information supports the single-cell scheduling (Takeda [0098] In some instances, the search space in which the DCI 830-a is transmitted indicates whether the downlink data 840-a is scheduled over a single component carrier or multiple component carriers. In this regard, a first search space can be associated with the single component carrier and a second search space can associated with the multiple component carriers. If the DCI is transmitted in the first search space associated with the single component carrier, then a UE receiving the DCI can determine the associated downlink data is scheduled over the single component carrier and monitor for the data accordingly. Similarly, if the DCI message is transmitted in the second search space associated with the multiple component carriers, then a UE receiving the DCI can determine the associated downlink data is scheduled over the multiple component carriers and monitor for the data accordingly. In some instances, a UE receives information regarding the assigned search space(s) and any association of the search space(s) to single-carrier and/or multi-carrier scheduling via an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration).
Note: the first search space and the second search space is the search space.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-22, 27-28 and 33-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda as applied to claims 19, 25 and 31 above, and further in view of US 20220408464 A1 (hereinafter MolavianJazi) (priority document us-provisional-application US 63211383 20210616 hereinafter prov1383).
Regarding claim 21, Takeda teaches The apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the
instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to (Takeda [0074], [0076] cited above in rejection of claim 19.)
Takeda does not explicitly teach further perform operations comprising: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling from the network device, wherein the RRC signaling is useable to configure a plurality of co-scheduled cell sets and a corresponding scheduling combination table for each co-scheduled cell set.
MolavianJazi in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches further perform operations comprising: receiving radio resource control (RRC) signaling from the network device, wherein the RRC signaling is useable to configure a plurality of co-scheduled cell sets and a corresponding scheduling combination table for each co-scheduled cell set (MolavianJazi [0211] FIG. 6 illustrates a method 600 for multi-cell scheduling for a UE that is configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells according to embodiments of the present disclosure. (prov1383 page 44, Fig. 4)
[0214] In one example, the UE can be configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells by higher layer signaling, such as by a UE-specific RRC configuration. For example, the UE can be configured a first set of cells, such as {cell#0, cell#1, cell#4, cell#7} and a second set {cell#2, cell#3, cell#5, cell#6}. The multiple sets of co-scheduled cells can be scheduled from a same scheduling cell or from different scheduling cells. (prov1383 page40)
[0223] In a first approach, a UE expects to be provided multi-cell scheduling for all cells in a set of co-scheduled cells. For example, for a first set of co-scheduled cells including cells {cell#0, cell#1, cell#4, cell#7}, a DCI format schedules PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions on all four cells in the first set of co-scheduled cells {cell#0, cell#1, cell#4, cell#7}. (prov1383 page 41)
[0224] In a second approach, the UE can be provided multi-cell scheduling for a subset of a set of co-scheduled cells. For example, a DCI format can schedule PDSCH receptions or PUSCH transmissions on only two cells, such as {cell#0, cell#4}, from the first set of cells. (prov1383 page 42)
[0227] In a second option for the second approach, the subset of the set of co-scheduled cells can be provided by a DCI format in a PDCCH/PDSCH. In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling provides indexes of cells that are co-scheduled or provides a configured index for the subset of co-scheduled cells or CIF values corresponding to the co-scheduled cells. For example, RRC signaling can indicate first/second/third indexes and corresponding first/second/third subsets from a set of co-scheduled cells (or first/second/third sets of co-scheduled cells), a fourth index can correspond to all cells from the set of co-scheduled cells (or to all sets of co-scheduled cells), and a first field of 2 bits in a DCI format can provide a value for the index to indicate the scheduled cells. (prov1383 page 42)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda with MolavianJazi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (MolavianJazi [0079]).
Claims 27 and 33 recite similar limitations of claim 21 respectively, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Regarding claim 22, Takeda in view of MolavianJazi teaches The apparatus according to claim
21.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein the first control information comprises a second field and a third field, the second field indicates a number or an index of a first co-scheduled cell set in the plurality of co-scheduled cell sets, and the third field indicates a number or an index of a co-scheduled cell combination in the first co-scheduled cell set.
MolavianJazi teaches wherein the first control information comprises a second field and a third field, the second field indicates a number or an index of a first co-scheduled cell set in the plurality of co-scheduled cell sets, and the third field indicates a number or an index of a co-scheduled cell combination in the first co-scheduled cell set (MolavianJazi [0232] The method 600 as illustrated in FIG. 6 describes an example procedure for multi-cell scheduling for a UE that is configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells. In step 610, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells. In step 620, the UE receives a DCI format that includes a field with a value that provides an indication for a set from the number of configured sets of co-scheduled cells. (prov page 44 Fig. 4 steps 410, 420)
Note: the field with a value that provides an indication for a set is the second field.
[0227] In one example, a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling provides indexes of cells that are co-scheduled or provides a configured index for the subset of co-scheduled cells or CIF values corresponding to the co-scheduled cells. For example, RRC signaling can indicate first/second/third indexes and corresponding first/second/third subsets from a set of co-scheduled cells (or first/second/third sets of co-scheduled cells), a fourth index can correspond to all cells from the set of co-scheduled cells (or to all sets of co-scheduled cells), and a first field of 2 bits in a DCI format can provide a value for the index to indicate the scheduled cells. (prov page 42)
Note: the first field of 2 bits (inedx) is the third field.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda as modified by MolavianJazi with MolavianJazi’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (MolavianJazi [0079]).
Claims 28 and 34 recite similar limitations of claim 22 respectively, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Claim(s) 23, 29, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda in view of MolavianJazi as applied to claims 21, 27 and 33 above, and further in view of US 20230085896 A1 (hereinafter Takeda2).
Regarding claim 23, Takeda in view of MolavianJazi teaches The apparatus according to claim
21.
Takeda does not explicitly teach wherein the RRC signaling carries an identifier n.sub.MI, useable to determine a control channel element position of the first control information.
Takeda2 in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches wherein the RRC signaling carries an identifier n.sub.MI, useable to determine a control channel element position of the first control information (Takeda2 [0005] a joint-carrier scheduling technique that describes how a primary-secondary (P(S) Cell) or a secondary cell (S Cell) uses a single downlink control information (DCI) to schedule data on a PDSCH or PUSCH used by a P(S) Cell and on a PDSCH or PUSCH used by the S Cell.
[0074] FIG. 2C is a diagram 200C illustrating a joint-carrier scheduling scheme. As illustrated in FIG. 2C, the PDCCH of the S Cell 210 may carry DCI 220 using frequency spectrum 205A for joint-carrier scheduling of the PDSCH 225A on S Cell 210 and PDSCH 225B for P(S) Cell 215.
[0076] BS 105 may transmit a PDDCH to UE 115 that carries a DCI 220. The PDCCH may be transmitted in the PDCCH region in a DL frame of one or more carriers. The PDCCH region may have many places where a specific PDCCH is located and UE 115 may search the PDCCH region for the possible locations. A set of possible locations for the PDCCH may be referred to as a search space and each of the possible locations may be referred as a PDCCH candidate. For optimization purposes, the search space may be further constrained by a set of control channel element (CCE) locations. The CCE locations may include a subset of PDCCH candidates from which UE 115 may identify PDCCHs. One or more CCE locations may also be aggregated according to an aggregation level. The aggregation level, e.g. 1, 2, 4, or 8, may indicate a number of CCEs that may include a PDCCH.
[0077] In some aspects, the association between a CIF value and the same-carrier, cross-carrier, or joint-carrier scheduling scheme may be configured using dedicated RRC signaling. The BS 105 may transmit the RRC signal that includes values for some all variables in the Equation 1 below. The Equation 1 determines an index of CCE of a PDCCH candidate so that the UE 115 monitoring the PDCCH can identity where the PDCCH candidate that includes the PDCCH:
[0078] Because the CIF value is different for the same-carrier, cross-carrier, and joint-carrier scheduling schemes, the value of n.sub.CI is also different. Because the value of nu is different, the Equation 1 above may generate a different index for the CCE for each of the same-carrier, cross-carrier, and joint-carrier scheduling schemes, which means Equation 1 also generates different PDCCH candidates that include the PDCCH that is associated with the same-carrier, cross-carrier, and multi-carrier scheduling schemes.
Note: n.sub.CI for joint-carrier scheduling transmitted in RRC is used in Equation 1 to determine an index of CCE of PDCCH candidates associated with joint-carrier scheduling, i.e. CCE location of DCI for joint-carrier scheduling. n.sub.CI for joint-carrier scheduling is n.sub.MI.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda as modified by MolavianJazi with Takeda2’s above teachings. The motivation is scheduling data on multiple cells using a single downlink control information signal (Takeda2 [0001]).
Claims 29 and 35 recite similar limitations of claim 23 respectively, are thus rejected under
similar rational.
Claim(s) 30 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda as applied to claims 25 and 31 above, and further in view of US 20230144002 A1 (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 36, Takeda teaches The apparatus according to claim 31.
Takeda teaches wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the apparatus to further
perform operations comprising (Takeda [0082], [0084] cited above in rejection of claim 31):
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the terminal, wherein the RRC message comprises a search space configured for the terminal (Takeda [0098] In some instances, a UE receives information regarding the assigned search space(s) and any association of the search space(s) to single-carrier and/or multi-carrier scheduling via an RRC communication (e.g., RRC configuration).), wherein
the search space comprises the first control information and the second control information (Takeda [0098] In some instances, the search space in which the DCI 830-a is transmitted indicates whether the downlink data 840-a is scheduled over a single component carrier or multiple component carriers. In this regard, a first search space can be associated with the single component carrier and a second search space can associated with the multiple component carriers. If the DCI is transmitted in the first search space associated with the single component carrier, then a UE receiving the DCI can determine the associated downlink data is scheduled over the single component carrier and monitor for the data accordingly. Similarly, if the DCI message is transmitted in the second search space associated with the multiple component carriers, then a UE receiving the DCI can determine the associated downlink data is scheduled over the multiple component carriers and monitor for the data accordingly.
Note: the first search space and the second search space is the search space.),
Takeda does not explicitly teach the first control information is scrambled in a manner other than a C-RNTI, and the second control information is scrambled by using a C-RNTI;
Kim in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the first control information is scrambled in a manner other than a C-RNTI, and the second control information is scrambled by using a C-RNTI (Kim
[0099] Single-cell scheduling: Single-cell scheduling may refer to scheduling of DL or UL data on one cell through one scheduling DCI transmitted from one cell.
[0100] Multi-cell scheduling: Multi-cell scheduling may refer to a scheduling operation in which DL or UL data on a plurality of cells (including the corresponding cell) are simultaneously scheduled through only one scheduling DCI transmitted from one cell.
[0101] Single-cell (scheduling) DCI: Single-cell scheduling DCI may refer to DCI that performs scheduling of DL (or UL) data to be transmitted in one cell.
[0102] Multi-cell (scheduling) DCI: Multi-cell (scheduling) DCI may refer to DCI that performs scheduling of DL (or UL) data to be transmitted in a plurality of cells.
[0103] SS (Search Space): SS may refer to a set of PDCCH candidates to be monitored by the UE. In the present disclosure, the terms “SS” and “set of PDCCH candidates” may be used interchangeably.
[0043] The PDCCH delivers DCI. The DCI includes a cyclic redundancy check (CRC). The CRC is masked with various identifiers (IDs) (e.g. a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)) according to an owner or usage of the PDCCH.
[0109] [Method #1] A method of distinguishing whether DCI is set to DCI capable of performing single-cell scheduling only or DCI capable of performing multi-cell scheduling as well as the single-cell scheduling by setting different DCI formats and/or DCI payload sizes.
[0110] For example, a DCI format capable of performing multi-cell scheduling may be newly created (hereinafter referred to as a multi-cell DCI format), a multi-cell DCI format for scheduling a PUSCH may be defined as DCI format 0_3, and a multi-cell DCI format for scheduling a PDSCH may be defined as DCI format 1_3. In this case, the multi-cell DCI format may be defined/configured to schedule only a PUSCH (or PDSCH) for a plurality of cells, or may be defined/configured to schedule a PUSCH (or PDSCH) for a single cell as well as the plurality of cells.
[0112] Alternatively, a DCI (format) capable of performing only single-cell scheduling and a DCI (format) capable of further performing multi-cell scheduling may be distinguished from each other through introduction of a separate RNTI value. As an example, when RNTI obtained by DCI detection (regardless of whether the DCI payload sizes of two formats are the same as or different from each other) is set to C-RNTI, the UE capable of receiving DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_3 may recognize that DCI format 0_1 was received. In addition, when RNTI obtained by DCI detection is set to MCC-C-RNTI (i.e., RNTI separately configured for reception of DCI capable of further performing multi-cell scheduling), the UE capable of receiving DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_3 may recognize that DCI format 0_3 was received. That is, the single-cell DCI format and the multi-cell DCI format may share a PDCCH candidate (resource) based on the same payload size, and the UE may interpret the information/field of DCI detected based on the RNTI as single-cell scheduling information or multi-cell scheduling information.
Note: the single-cell DCI is masked with C-RNTI; the multi-cell DCI is masked with MCC-C-RNTI.);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeda with Kim’s above teachings. The motivation is efficiently performing wireless signal transmission/reception (Kim [0003]).
Claim 30 recites similar limitations of claim 36, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418