DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shima (JP-2016092910).
(It should be noted that the Shima reference was submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement on 25 June 2025. It should further be noted that all relevant portions of the Shima reference are herein cited with respect to the accompanying English Language Translation of JP-2016092910).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) a battery charger (1) for charging a plurality of battery packs (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 2), the battery charger (1) comprising:
a housing (3);
first and second charger interfaces (i.e., left and right charger interfaces for each of two battery packs (2)) formed on the housing (3), each charger interface (i.e., left and right charger interface) configured to receive and charge a respective battery pack (2) of the plurality of battery packs (2; see Fig. 1 for left and right battery packs (2));
first and second vents (i.e., left and right vents (3b, 3a)) defined in the housing (3) and respectively provided for the first and second charger interfaces (i.e., the left and right charger interfaces; see Fig. 1), each vent (3b, 3a) configured to provide an airflow path defined through the respective battery pack (i.e., the left and right battery pack (2)) and the housing (3; again, see the highlighted portions of Page 2); and
a shutter (see (9, 109) in Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) provided for each charger interface (i.e., the left and right charger interfaces; see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11), the shutter (9, 109) being movable between an actuated position (i.e., a closed position), in which the shutter (9, 109) is oriented to at least partially block the airflow path, and an unactuated position (i.e., an open position), in which the shutter (9, 109) is out of the airflow path (see the highlighted portions of Page 3, Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 2, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the first vent (3b) is one of a first plurality of vents (i.e., see any portions of (3b), (3a), (2b), (2a), or (3c)) and the second vent (3a) is one of a second plurality of vents (i.e., see any portions of (3b), (3a), (2b), (2a), or (3c); see the highlighted portions of Page 4).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the first and second vents (3b, 3a) are respectively in fluid communication with vents (i.e., see any portions of (3b), (3a), (2b), (2a), or (3c)) defined in the respective battery pack (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 2, Page 3, and Page 4).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the shutter (9, 109) is biased toward the actuated position (i.e., the closed position; see (110) and the highlighted portions of Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that each shutter (9, 109) is configured to be moved to the unactuated position (i.e., the open position) upon engagement of the respective charger interface (i.e., the left and right charger interface) by the respective battery pack (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) a fan (6) disposed in the housing (3) and configured to generate an airflow that flows along the airflow path (see the highlighted portions of Page 2 and Page 3).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) a battery charger (1) for charging a battery pack (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 2), the battery charger (1) comprising:
a housing (3);
a charger interface (i.e., a left or right charger interface for each of two battery packs (2)) formed on the housing (3), the charger interface (i.e., left or right charger interface) configured to receive and charge the battery pack (2; see Fig. 1 for left or right battery packs (2));
a plurality of vents (i.e., see (3b, 3a), (3c)) defined in the housing (3);
at least one fan (6) disposed in the housing (3), the fan (6) configured to pull air into the housing (3) through the plurality of vents (again, see (3b, 3a) and (3c); see the highlighted portions of Page 2, Page 3, and Page 4); and
a shutter (see (9, 109) in Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) disposed adjacent the plurality of vents (again, see (3b, 3a) and (3c)), the shutter (9, 109) selectively at least partially blocking the plurality of vents (again, see (3b, 3a) and (3c); and see the highlighted portions of Page 3, Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the shutter (9, 109) is disposed within the housing (3; see the highlighted portions of Page 5 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the shutter (9, 109) includes at least one tab (see (109) in Fig. 10) configured to extend outwardly from the housing (3) for engagement by the battery pack (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 5 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the shutter (9, 109) includes a comb-like portion (i.e., see any arbitrary portion of (109); and see the highlighted portions of Page 5 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the plurality of vents (again, see (3b, 3a) and (3c)) is a first plurality of vents (i.e., a plurality of vents associated with (3b, 3c, 2b, 2a)) and the shutter (9, 109) is a first shutter (i.e., see (9, 109) associated with (3b)), and wherein the battery charger (1) further comprises a second plurality of vents (i.e., a plurality of vents associated with (3a, 3c, 2b, 2a)) and a second shutter (i.e., see (9, 109) associated with (3a)) selectively at least partially blocking the second plurality of vents (i.e., the plurality of vents associated with (3a, 3c, 2b, 2a); again, see the highlighted portions of Page 3, Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the charger interface (i.e., a left or right charger interface for each of two battery packs (2)) is disposed at least partially between the first plurality of vents (i.e., the plurality of vents associated with (3b, 3c, 2b, 2a)) and the second plurality of vents (i.e., the plurality of vents associated with (3a, 3c, 2b, 2a); again, see the highlighted portions of Page 2, Page 3, and Page 4).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) a battery charger (1) for charging a battery pack (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 2), the battery charger (1) comprising:
a housing (3);
a charger interface (i.e., a left or right charger interface for each of two battery packs (2)) formed on the housing (3), the charger interface (i.e., left or right charger interface) configured to receive and charge the battery pack (2; see Fig. 1 for left or right battery packs (2));
a plurality of vents (i.e., see (3b, 3a), (3c)) defined in the housing (3) and configured to provide an airflow path defined through the battery pack (i.e., the left or right battery pack (2)) and the housing (3; again, see the highlighted portions of Page 2);
a shutter (see (9, 109) in Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) disposed adjacent the plurality of vents (again, see (3b, 3a) and (3c)), the shutter (9, 109) selectively at least partially blocking the airflow path (see the highlighted portions of Page 3, Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6);
an actuator (i.e., a motor; see Fig. 11) disposed within the housing (3) and configured to move the shutter (9, 109); and
a controller (5) disposed in the housing (3), the controller (5) configured to determine that the battery pack (2) has made an electrical connection with the charger interface (i.e., the left or right charger interface for each of two battery packs (2)), and
operate the actuator (i.e., the motor) to move the shutter (9, 109) at least partially out of the airflow path (i.e., to an open position; see the highlighted portions of Page 5 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the controller (5) is further configured to determine whether the battery pack (2) is of a first type (i.e., a battery pack with first properties) or of a second type (i.e., a battery pack with second properties), and
operate the actuator (i.e., the motor) to move the shutter (9, 109) to at least partially block the airflow path upon determining the battery pack (2) is of the second type (i.e., the battery pack with second properties; again, see the highlighted portions of Page 5 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the controller (5) is further configured to determine a charging level (i.e., an overcharge or temperature level) of the battery pack (2; see the highlighted portions of Page 2 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 16, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the controller (5) is further configured to operate the actuator (i.e., the motor) to move the shutter (9, 109) to at least partially block the airflow path upon determining the charging level (i.e., an overcharge or temperature level) has reached or exceeded a charging threshold value (again, see the highlighted portions of Page 2 and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the shutter (9, 109) is biased toward at least partially blocking the airflow path (i.e., the closed position; see (110) and the highlighted portions of Page 4, Page 5, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) a fan (6) disposed in the housing (3) and configured to generate an airflow that flows along the airflow path (see the highlighted portions of Page 2 and Page 3).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the controller (5) is further configured to determine a temperature of the battery pack (2), and
operate the actuator (i.e., the motor) to move the shutter (9, 109) to at least partially block the airflow path upon determining the temperature of the battery pack (2) is below a temperature threshold value (see the highlighted portions of Page 2, Page 4, and Page 6).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Shima discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, and Fig. 11) that the battery pack (2) is a power tool battery pack (see the highlighted portions of Page 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Namiki (US 2017 / 0331302), submitted by the applicant via the Information Disclosure Statement received 01 November 2024, and Tsai et al. (US 2008 / 0292910) both disclose moveable structures for opening and closing vents in a battery charger.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623