DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2024 and 02/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 13 and 82 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, in line 5, “the mobile wireless communication system” should be “the mobile wireless communication network”.
Regarding claim 5, in last line, “number of symbols are less than” should be “number of symbols is less than”.
Regarding claim 13, in line 1, “the sub-channels comprises” should be “the sub-channels comprise”.
Regarding claim 82, in line 6, “the mobile wireless communication system” should be “the mobile wireless communication network”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 13, 14, 34, 39, 55, 67, 72 and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the sub carrier spacing" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the subbands" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the frequency resources" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the channel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 55 recites the limitation "the base station" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 67 recites the limitation "the channel" in line 2, and “this channel” in lines 16 and 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 72 recites the limitation "the current transmission" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 34, in lines 5-6, the phrases "such as", "e.g.", “like” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 39, in line 3, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 55, in lines 3, 9, 11, 13 and 19-21, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 72, in lines 6, 9, 11, 15 and 18, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 82, in line 13, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-13, 16, 27, 34, 39, 72 and 82-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2023/0022077).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches an apparatus configured for communicating in a mobile wireless communication network, the apparatus comprising a wireless interface for transceiving wireless signals in the mobile wireless communication network in an unlicensed band ([0029] mechanisms for a UE to gain access to a channel in unlicensed spectrum during a sub-slot of a current slot by performing a successful CCA and retain the channel across a slot boundary into an adjacent subsequent slot; [0065] The UE 115 may perform an LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may communicate over an unlicensed spectrum);
wherein the apparatus is configured for
communicating over a sidelink, SL, in the mobile wireless communication system, the sidelink providing for a plurality of time slots, each time slot comprising a slot duration ([0067] the UE 115 may transmit, to another UE (e.g., the UE 115 or the UE 700) based on the LBT/CCA 410 being successful, a TB via a first sub-PSSCH associated with the first sub-slot 340(1) of the slot 338(1); [0068] the UE 115 may transmit a TB in the leading sub-slot 340(1) and transmit padding in one or more subsequent sub-slots 340(2) and/or 340(3) up to a slot boundary 420 between the last sub-slot 340(3) of the current slot 338(1) and a subsequent slot 338(2). This may allow the UE 115 to maintain access to the channel for the subsequent slot 338(2); [0069] the UE 115 may transmit another TB via a PSSCH in the subsequent slot 338(2) without performing another LBT/CCA 410. By the UE 115 transmitting at least one TB within at least one sub-slot 340 of the current slot 338(1) followed by transmitting another TB in the adjacent slot 338(2) without performing another LBT/CCA 410; [0079] At 650 the UE 115a may transmit a TB to the UE 115b in a sub-PSSCH associated with a sub-slot of the current slot. The UE 115a may transmit the TB based on the successful CCA at 640. The UE 115a may retain the channel during the subsequent slot without performing another CCA; [0081] At 670, the UE 115a may transmit another TB in a slot PSSCH. In some instances, the UE 115b may retain the channel during the subsequent slot without performing another CCA),
wherein the apparatus is configured for using at least a first time interval of the slot duration, to perform a listen-before-talk, LBT, procedure to determine an availability of the time slot ([0065] The UE 115 may perform an LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may communicate over an unlicensed spectrum ... The UE 115 may first sense the communications channel at LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1) to determine if there are other devices using the channel prior to any transmission by the UE 115; [0078] At 640, the UE 115a may perform an LBT/CCA in the channel defined by the configuration transmitted by the BS at 620); and/or to use a second time interval of the slot duration for a wireless transmission based on the determined availability ([0066] the UE 115 may transmit in a sub-slot 340 based on a successful LBT/CCA 410; [0067] The UE 115 may gain access to the channel based on a successful LBT/CCA 410 and transmit the TB in the sub-slot 340(1) of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3) within the slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may transmit a TB in each sub-slot 340(1), 340(2), and 340(3), of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3) within the slot 338(1); [0079] At 650 the UE 115a may transmit a TB to the UE 115b in a sub-PSSCH associated with a sub-slot of the current slot. The UE 115a may transmit the TB based on the successful CCA at 640); and/or
wherein the apparatus is configured for using at least a first slot duration, to perform a listen-before-talk, LBT, procedure to determine an availability of at least a part of a later second time slot ([0065] The UE 115 may perform an LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may communicate over an unlicensed spectrum ... The UE 115 may first sense the communications channel at LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1) to determine if there are other devices using the channel prior to any transmission by the UE 115; [0078] At 640, the UE 115a may perform an LBT/CCA in the channel defined by the configuration transmitted by the BS at 620), and/or to use the at least part of the later second time slot for a wireless transmission based on the determined availability ([0068] the UE 115 may transmit a TB in the leading sub-slot 340(1) and transmit padding in one or more subsequent sub-slots 340(2) and/or 340(3) up to a slot boundary 420 between the last sub-slot 340(3) of the current slot 338(1) and a subsequent slot 338(2). This may allow the UE 115 to maintain access to the channel for the subsequent slot 338(2); [0069] the UE 115 may transmit another TB via a PSSCH in the subsequent slot 338(2) without performing another LBT/CCA 410; [0081] At 670, the UE 115a may transmit another TB in a slot PSSCH. In some instances, the UE 115b may retain the channel during the subsequent slot without performing another CCA. For example, at 650 the UE 115a may transmit a first TB via a sub-PSSCH in the sub-slot and at 670 transmit a second TB via a PSSCH in the subsequent slot without performing another CCA).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for communicating in the mobile wireless communication network on one or more of the following: - a basis of time slots, where each time slot comprises a plurality of symbols across time, - a basis of symbols, where each symbol is associated with a defined symbol duration of time depending on the sub carrier spacing used for a resource pool, - a basis of a configured or preconfigured set of symbols ([0047] A sub-PSSCH may be a PSSCH mapped to a set of symbols of the sub-slot. As described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, a sub-slot may include a number of symbols within a slot. A slot may include a plurality of sub-slots, each sub-slot including a number of symbols; [0052] As will be described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, the slot 238 may be partitioned into multiple sub-slots. The sub-slots may be transmitted via PSSCH 230 using one or more symbols 255. In some examples, the PSSCH 230 may be transmitted via one or more time or frequency resources via one or more full or partial symbols 255; [0080] the UE 115b may receive, from the UE 115a, an instruction in a sub-PSSCH that instructs the UE 115b to receive another TB via the PSSCH associated with the subsequent slot. In this regard, the UE 115b may receive an instruction from the UE 115a in a sub-PSSCH that indicates timing of the slot boundary. ... The UE 115b may receive another TB from the UE 115a based on the received instruction. In some aspects, the UE 115b may detect the slot boundary and switch from monitoring the sub-slot RP to monitoring the slot RP).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for using the second time interval at least as a remainder of the slot duration after the first time interval ([0066] the UE 115 may transmit in a sub-slot 340 based on a successful LBT/CCA 410; [0067] The UE 115 may gain access to the channel based on a successful LBT/CCA 410 and transmit the TB in the sub-slot 340(1) of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3) within the slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may transmit a TB in each sub-slot 340(1), 340(2), and 340(3), of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3) within the slot 338(1); [0079] At 650 the UE 115a may transmit a TB to the UE 115b in a sub-PSSCH associated with a sub-slot of the current slot. The UE 115a may transmit the TB based on the successful CCA at 640).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for transmitting a mini-frame in the second time interval that comprises a reduced number of symbols when compared to a capacity of a time slot of the mobile wireless communication network ([0047] A sub-PSSCH may be a PSSCH mapped to a set of symbols of the sub-slot. As described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, a sub-slot may include a number of symbols within a slot. A slot may include a plurality of sub-slots, each sub-slot including a number of symbols; [0052] As will be described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, the slot 238 may be partitioned into multiple sub-slots. The sub-slots may be transmitted via PSSCH 230 using one or more symbols 255. In some examples, the PSSCH 230 may be transmitted via one or more time or frequency resources via one or more full or partial symbols 255).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu teaches the capacity of a time slot corresponds to a frame that comprises of one or more time slots; wherein a time slot comprises of one or more symbols; wherein the mini-frame comprises of one or more mini-slots; wherein a mini-slot or mini-frame comprises one or more symbols; wherein the number of symbols are less than that of the number of symbols in a time slot ([0040] A radio frame may be divided into a plurality of subframes, for example, about 10. Each subframe can be divided into slots, for example, about 2. Each slot may be further divided into mini-slots; [0047] A sub-PSSCH may be a PSSCH mapped to a set of symbols of the sub-slot. As described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, a sub-slot may include a number of symbols within a slot. A slot may include a plurality of sub-slots, each sub-slot including a number of symbols; [0052] As will be described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, the slot 238 may be partitioned into multiple sub-slots. The sub-slots may be transmitted via PSSCH 230 using one or more symbols 255. In some examples, the PSSCH 230 may be transmitted via one or more time or frequency resources via one or more full or partial symbols 255).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu teaches a mini-frame comprises one or more of: less OFDM symbols than the capacity of the time slot, any number of OFDM symbols from the set {1..13}, other mini-frames, where the total number of OFDM symbols does not exceed a slot boundary, a combination of a plurality of mini-frames to form a new, longer mini-frame ([0047] A sub-PSSCH may be a PSSCH mapped to a set of symbols of the sub-slot. As described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, a sub-slot may include a number of symbols within a slot. A slot may include a plurality of sub-slots, each sub-slot including a number of symbols; [0052] As will be described in detail below with reference to FIGS. 3-5, the slot 238 may be partitioned into multiple sub-slots. The sub-slots may be transmitted via PSSCH 230 using one or more symbols 255. In some examples, the PSSCH 230 may be transmitted via one or more time or frequency resources via one or more full or partial symbols 255).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for temporally aligning an end of the second time interval with an end of a time slot of the mobile wireless communication network ([0068] the UE 115 may transmit a TB in the leading sub-slot 340(1) and transmit padding in one or more subsequent sub-slots 340(2) and/or 340(3) up to a slot boundary 420 between the last sub-slot 340(3) of the current slot 338(1) and a subsequent slot 338(2). This may allow the UE 115 to maintain access to the channel for the subsequent slot 338(2); [0069] the UE 115 may transmit another TB via a PSSCH in the subsequent slot 338(2) without performing another LBT/CCA 410. By the UE 115 transmitting at least one TB within at least one sub-slot 340 of the current slot 338(1) followed by transmitting another TB in the adjacent slot 338(2) without performing another LBT/CCA 410).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for temporally aligning a beginning or an end of the second time interval with a predefined reference in the time slot ([0067] The UE 115 may gain access to the channel based on a successful LBT/CCA 410 and transmit the TB in the sub-slot 340(1) of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3) within the slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may transmit a TB in each sub-slot 340(1), 340(2), and 340(3), of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3) within the slot 338(1); [0068] [0068] In some aspects, the UE 115 may transmit padding in at least one sub-slot 340 of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3). For example, the UE 115 may transmit a TB that includes padding in at least one sub-slot 340. The padding may include random data. The padding may be transmitted by the UE 115 without a particular UE 115 destination ID. In some aspects, the padding may be transmitted in at least one sub-slot 340 (e.g., the last sub-slot 340(3) of the plurality of sub-slots 340(1) . . . 340(3))... the UE 115 may transmit a TB in the leading sub-slot 340(1) and transmit padding in one or more subsequent sub-slots 340(2) and/or 340(3) up to a slot boundary 420 (i.e., aligning the end of TB with the boundary) ; [0079] At 650 the UE 115a may transmit a TB to the UE 115b in a sub-PSSCH associated with a sub-slot of the current slot. The UE 115a may transmit the TB based on the successful CCA at 640).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured or preconfigured to transmit in one or more channels or sub-channels across frequency in the second time interval ([0048] The configuration may include, without limitation, resources associated with a sub-slot of a plurality of sub-slots, a starting subchannel index associated with the sub-slot, a number of subchannels associated with the sub-slot; [0051] the FDRA may be a number of bits in the first stage SCI-1 that may indicate a number of slots and a number of subchannels reserved for the reserved resources 225; [0070] FIG. 5 illustrates sub-slot 340 partitioning across multiple subchannels 552).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu teaches the sub-channels comprises one or more resource blocks across frequency, and/or wherein the channels or sub-channels are defined within one or more resource pools, and/or wherein the subbands are defined within a bandwidth part; wherein each channel, subchannel or subband comprises of one or more contiguous or non-contiguous resource blocks ([0050] the PSCCH 235 may be configured to occupy a number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) within a selected frequency. The frequency may include a single subchannel 250 (e.g., 10, 12, 15, 20, 25, or some other number of RBs within the subchannel 250); [0073] the UE 115 may receive a sub-slot resource pool (RP) and a slot RP configuration indicating a plurality of subchannels 552 in an unlicensed subband).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for carrying out sensing prior to perform LBT to determine a resource to be used for a transmission and/or for an initial transmission and/or to determine one or more future reserved resources, which is subject to re-evaluation, to be used for retransmissions, wherein the apparatus is configured to perform LBT to determine the availability of the resource for the transmission and/or the initial transmission and/or the one or more future reserved resources before the wireless transmission ([0065] The UE 115 may perform an LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may communicate over an unlicensed spectrum ... The UE 115 may first sense the communications channel at LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1) to determine if there are other devices using the channel prior to any transmission by the UE 115; [0078] the UE 115a may perform an LBT/CCA in the channel defined by the configuration transmitted by the BS at 620).
Regarding Claim 27, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for aggregating the first time slot and at least one second time slot to an aggregated set of time slots and for using the second time slot in combination with the second time interval of the first time slot for transmissions ([0068] the UE 115 may transmit a TB in the leading sub-slot 340(1) and transmit padding in one or more subsequent sub-slots 340(2) and/or 340(3) up to a slot boundary 420 between the last sub-slot 340(3) of the current slot 338(1) and a subsequent slot 338(2). This may allow the UE 115 to maintain access to the channel for the subsequent slot 338(2); [0069] the UE 115 may transmit another TB via a PSSCH in the subsequent slot 338(2) without performing another LBT/CCA 410; [0081] At 670, the UE 115a may transmit another TB in a slot PSSCH. In some instances, the UE 115b may retain the channel during the subsequent slot without performing another CCA. For example, at 650 the UE 115a may transmit a first TB via a sub-PSSCH in the sub-slot and at 670 transmit a second TB via a PSSCH in the subsequent slot without performing another CCA).
Regarding Claim 34, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for transmitting a plurality of frames during the second time interval, wherein the apparatus is configured for including into a later second frame one or more of: - a Physical Sidelink Control Channel, PSCCH, - a control within a data channel such as the PSSCH, e.g., comprised by a further stage SCI, like a 2ndor3rd stage SCI, MAC-CE, or RRC or PC5-RRC or any other higher layer signalling, that comprises control information that relates to an earlier first frame, wherein the apparatus is configured for generating the control information to comprise information to inform a sensing apparatus receiving the control information about a usual reservation information; and/or to inform the sensing apparatus about the slot aggregation; and/or slot format; and/or slot offset; and/or position of a further control information ([0050] a device in the wireless communication network 200 (e.g., a UE 115, a BS 105, or some other node) may convey SCI to another device (e.g., another UE 115, a BS 105, sidelink device or vehicle-to-everything (V2X) device, or other node). The SCI may be conveyed in one or more stages. The first stage SCI may be carried on the PSCCH while the second stage SCI may be carried on the corresponding PSSCH. For example, UE 115c may transmit a PSCCH/first stage SCI 235 (e.g., SCI-1) to each sidelink UE 115 in the network (e.g., UEs 115a and 115b) via the sidelink communication links 210. The PSCCH/first stage SCI-1 235 may indicate resources that are reserved by UE 115c for retransmissions (e.g., the SCI-1 may indicate the reserved resources 225 for retransmissions). Each sidelink UE 115 may decode the first stage SCI-1 to determine where the reserved resources 225 are located; [0057] The UE 115 may transmit the SCI including the sub-slot structure to the other UEs 115 in the leading sub-slot; [0062] In some aspects, the UE 115 may map an SCI to each sub-slot 340 of the slot 338. Splitting the SCI in two stages (first-stage SCI-1 and second-stage SCI-2) may allow UEs 115 to decode the first-stage SCI-1 for channel sensing purposes, such as determining the resources reserved by other transmissions. The second-stage SCI-2 may provide additional control information that allows the UE 115 to receive and decode a transmission. In this regard, the UE 115 may transmit the SCI-1 to another UE 115 in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). Referring to FIG. 3, the UE 115 may transmit the sub-slot structure to other UEs 115 in the sub-PSCCHs 328. The SCI-1 carried by the sub-PSCCH 328 may include a beta offset associated with an SCI-2 carried by sub-PSSCH 332).
Regarding Claim 39, Liu teaches prior to using the first time slot, the apparatus is configured for sensing the channel to check for an availability of at least two or more consecutive time slots, e.g., by evaluating a received Physical Sidelink Control Channel, PSCCH ([0050] UE 115c may transmit a PSCCH/first stage SCI 235 (e.g., SCI-1) to each sidelink UE 115 in the network (e.g., UEs 115a and 115b) via the sidelink communication links 210. The PSCCH/first stage SCI-1 235 may indicate resources that are reserved by UE 115c for retransmissions (e.g., the SCI-1 may indicate the reserved resources 225 for retransmissions). Each sidelink UE 115 may decode the first stage SCI-1 to determine where the reserved resources 225 are located; [0057] The UE 115 may transmit the SCI including the sub-slot structure to the other UEs 115 in the leading sub-slot; [0062] In some aspects, the UE 115 may map an SCI to each sub-slot 340 of the slot 338. Splitting the SCI in two stages (first-stage SCI-1 and second-stage SCI-2) may allow UEs 115 to decode the first-stage SCI-1 for channel sensing purposes, such as determining the resources reserved by other transmissions. The second-stage SCI-2 may provide additional control information that allows the UE 115 to receive and decode a transmission. In this regard, the UE 115 may transmit the SCI-1 to another UE 115 in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH). Referring to FIG. 3, the UE 115 may transmit the sub-slot structure to other UEs 115 in the sub-PSCCHs 328. The SCI-1 carried by the sub-PSCCH 328 may include a beta offset associated with an SCI-2 carried by sub-PSSCH 332).
Regarding Claim 72, Liu teaches wherein the apparatus is configured for transmitting a Control Information, SCI, indicating at least one of: an indication of the usage of slot aggregation, explicitly or implicitly; a back reference indicator; wherein a PSCCH within an aggregated later frame comprises a back reference, e.g., indicating a type of mini-frame structure used in an earlier frame; an indication of a number of symbols used to offset the transmission with respect to a slot structure, e.g., slot boundary, of the mobile wireless communication network; information indicating a length of transmission, e.g., to inform a receiving apparatus about how long the current transmission is going to be, so that it can implicitly identify the symbols that comprise a Demodulation Reference Signal DMRS, a Physical Sidelink Feedback Channel, PSFCH, etc.; information indicating one or more future transmissions, e.g., pre-reservations, information if a non-3GPP technology is present in this channel or neighbouring channels, information if a 3GPP RAT, e.g., another NR or LTE-system, is operating in this channel or neighbouring subchannels, an indication of a slot structure or slot format or frame format to be used; information indicating an LBT-timer; information indicating an LBT-counter ([0049] UE 115c may transmit SCI to UEs 115a and 115b via the sidelink control resources 220. The SCI may include an indication of resources reserved for retransmissions by UE 115c (e.g., the reserved resources 225). In some examples, UEs 115a and 115b may determine to reuse one or more of the reserved resources 225; [0051] The first stage SCI-1 may include one or more fields to indicate a location of the reserved resources 225. For example, the first stage SCI-1 may include, without limitation, one or more fields to convey a frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA), a time domain resource allocation (TDRA), a resource reservation period 245 (e.g., a period for repeating the SCI transmission and the corresponding reserved resources 225), a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for a second stage SCI-2 240, a beta offset value for the second stage SCI-2 240, a DMRS port (e.g., one bit indicating a number of data layers), a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) overhead indicator, a priority, one or more additional reserved bits; [0057] The UE 115 may transmit the SCI including the sub-slot structure to the other UEs 115 in the leading sub-slot 340(1)).
Regarding Claim 82, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 83, Liu teaches a computer-implemented method for operating an apparatus to communicate in a mobile wireless communication network, the apparatus comprising a wireless interface for transceiving wireless signals in the mobile wireless communication network; the method comprising: receiving the wireless transmission of the method of claim 82; and operating accordingly ([0029] mechanisms for a UE to gain access to a channel in unlicensed spectrum during a sub-slot of a current slot by performing a successful CCA and retain the channel across a slot boundary into an adjacent subsequent slot; [0065] The UE 115 may perform an LBT/CCA 410 during slot 338(1). In some aspects, the UE 115 may communicate over an unlicensed spectrum; [0080] At 660, the UE 115b may detect a slot boundary. In this regard, the UE 115b may detect a boundary between the sub-slot of the current slot and the subsequent slot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Sun et al. (US 2021/0092783).
Regarding Claim 14, Liu does not teach frequency resources are interlaced according to a configured or preconfigured scheme.
In an analogous art, Sun teaches frequency resources are interlaced according to a configured or preconfigured scheme ([0072] While FIG. 3B illustrates the frequency interlaces 308 spanning one slot or one RB 310 duration (e.g., the time period 314), the frequency interlaces 308 can span a longer duration, for example, 2, 3, or more slots or any suitable number of symbol 306 durations; [0078] The sidelink communication module 408 is configured to contend for a COT in a shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication with another UE (e.g., the UEs 115 and/or 215) by performing an LBT and/or transmit the sidelink communication (e.g., including PSSCH and PSCCH communications) in the COT upon winning the COT. The shared radio frequency band may be partitioned into a plurality of frequency interlaces of RBs. In some aspects, the sidelink communication module 408 is configured to select one or more frequency interlaces from the plurality of frequency interlaces to transmit the sidelink communication during the COT. In some aspects, the sidelink communication module 408 is configured to include COT sharing SCI in the PSSCH communication to enable another sidelink UE to opportunistically join the COT and utilize any time and/or frequency resource not occupied by the UE 400's sidelink communication. For instance, for interlace-based sharing, the COT sharing information may include information associated with available or unoccupied frequency interlaces in the COT, a duration of the COT, an end time of the COT, gap periods within the COT for a responding sidelink UE to perform an LBT prior to joining the COT, and/or a CAPC used for acquiring the COT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Sun’s method with Liu’s method so that it can allow other sidelink UEs to opportunistically utilize unoccupied time-domain and/or frequency-domain resources in the COT. Thus, the disclosed embodiments can improve spectrum utilization efficiency (Sun [0039]).
Claims 55 and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. in view of Hui et al. (US 2025/0024494).
Regarding Claim 55, Liu teaches the apparatus is configured for detecting an unavailability of the time slot associated with a frequency band for a transmission, e.g., by experiencing an LBT failure or a set of LBT failures e.g., defined by a (pre-) configured threshold, based on the LBT procedure ([0066] the UE 115 may perform a successful LBT/CCA 410 by sensing the energy in the channel and determining the sensed energy is below a CCA threshold. If the energy level in the channel is below the CCA threshold, then the UE 115 may transmit for a duration, which may be referred to as a channel occupancy time (COT)).
However, Liu does not teach executing one or more of the following actions in the case the channel was found to be unavailable: a later LBT procedure on a different second frequency band to determine an availability of the second frequency band for the wireless transmission, a switch between operating modes from Mode 2 to Mode 1, e.g. using assistance from the base station, a switch between operating modes from Mode 1 to Mode 2, e.g. when moving out of coverage of the base station, a switch from sidelink, e.g., PC5 interface, to conventional, e.g., Uu interface, using the base station for assistance and to route the transmission, a trigger of a request for inter-UE coordination information from another UE in order to acquire assistance in finding another suitable resource for the transmission, inform another UE about an LBT-failure or persistent LBT failures or about LBT failure of on a future reserved transmission, e.g. at T5 or T10, e.g., via luC message, e.g., using a luC collision indicator (Cl), a switch to a non-NR-U band, e.g., in case a failure threshold is met, a notification to a base station or UE or RSU on its next successful transmission about the number of LBT-failures, a drop of the transmission.
In an analogous art, Hui teaches executing one or more of the following actions in the case the channel was found to be unavailable: a later LBT procedure on a different second frequency band to determine an availability of the second frequency band for the wireless transmission, a switch between operating modes from Mode 2 to Mode 1, e.g. using assistance from the base station, a switch between operating modes from Mode 1 to Mode 2, e.g. when moving out of coverage of the base station, a switch from sidelink, e.g., PC5 interface, to conventional, e.g., Uu interface, using the base station for assistance and to route the transmission, a trigger of a request for inter-UE coordination information from another UE in order to acquire assistance in finding another suitable resource for the transmission, inform another UE about an LBT-failure or persistent LBT failures or about LBT failure of on a future reserved transmission, e.g. at T5 or T10, e.g., via luC message, e.g., using a luC collision indicator (Cl), a switch to a non-NR-U band, e.g., in case a failure threshold is met, a notification to a base station or UE or RSU on its next successful transmission about the number of LBT-failures, a drop of the transmission ([0447] The transmitting wireless device may not transmit the one or more sidelink transmissions via the one or more resources based on an LBT failure of the LBT procedure for the each of the one or more resources. ... the transmitting wireless device may not be able to transmit via each of the one or more resources based on the LBT failure. ... the transmitting wireless device may have to drop some/all of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The transmitting wireless device may not successfully deliver the transport block to the receiving wireless device due to that the some/all of the one or more resources have been dropped/skipped based on the LBT failure; [0488] the first wireless device may determine not to transmit (e.g., skip/drop) the one or more sidelink transmissions via the first resource based on the LBT failure of the first resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hui’s method with Liu’s method so that interference to the communications among other UEs can be avoided, and a new LBT procedure can be started at different resources to improve the performance of the sidelink communications.
Regarding Claim 67, Liu does not teach the apparatus is configured for reserving a plurality of resources within time slots on the channel for a plurality of transmissions and for performing the LBT for a first resource associated with a temporal first of the plurality of transmissions and to experience an LBT failure indicating an unavailability; wherein the apparatus is configured for releasing resources associated with one or more later transmissions.
In an analogous art, Hui teaches the apparatus is configured for reserving a plurality of resources within time slots on the channel for a plurality of transmissions and for performing the LBT for a first resource associated with a temporal first of the plurality of transmissions and to experience an LBT failure indicating an unavailability; wherein the apparatus is configured for releasing resources associated with one or more later transmissions ([0447] The transmitting wireless device may not transmit the one or more sidelink transmissions via the one or more resources based on an LBT failure of the LBT procedure for the each of the one or more resources. ... the transmitting wireless device may not be able to transmit via each of the one or more resources based on the LBT failure. ... the transmitting wireless device may have to drop some/all of the one or more sidelink transmissions. The transmitting wireless device may not successfully deliver the transport block to the receiving wireless device due to that the some/all of the one or more resources have been dropped/skipped based on the LBT failure; [0488] the first wireless device may determine not to transmit (e.g., skip/drop) the one or more sidelink transmissions via the first resource based on the LBT failure of the first resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hui’s method with Liu’s method so that interference to the communications among other UEs can be avoided, and a new LBT procedure can be started at different resources to improve the performance of the sidelink communications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roth et al. (US 2025/0106872) teaches sidelink channels for a sidelink system in an unlicensed band.
Hong et al. (US 2024/0349335) teaches method for sidelink communication in unlicensed band.
Jiao et al. (US 2023/0337281) teaches method of allowing SL device to effectively occupy channel resources in unlicensed spectrums.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413